DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16, 18-19 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leon (U.S. 2018/0359259 hereinafter Leon) in view of Park et al. (U.S. 2011/0164823 hereinafter Park) in further view of Mohindra (U.S. 8,970,544 hereinafter Mohindra).
As Claim 1, Leon teaches a method for detecting a click on an icon, comprising:
acquiring an original image comprising a target icon (Leon (¶0179 line 8-11, fig. 16B), user device displays a graphical representation of virtual instance with plurality of icons), wherein the target icon is the icon rendered on the webpage (Leon (¶114 line 1-5), integrated control and data interface provides a single user interface. Leon (¶0063 line 1-4), features and services are implemented as web services);
wherein a value of a pixel point in the two-dimensional mask image represents whether the pixel point corresponds to the target icon (Leon (¶0179 line 17-21), system stores an image map with pixel coordinates of selectable display elements);
determining first position information of a click operation on a control corresponding to the target icon (Leon (¶0179 line 8-11 and 15-17), user device displays a graphical presentation of the virtual instance (a control) in which one or more icons are displayed. System recognizes pixel coordinates of where the touch event occurred), wherein the target icon is disposed on the control, and the control is displayed at a preset position (Leon (¶0179 line 8-11 and 15-17), user device displays a graphical presentation of the virtual instance (a control) in which one or more icons are displayed. System recognizes pixel coordinates of where the touch event occurred) of an interface window of the webpage (Leon (¶114 line 1-5), integrated control and data interface provides a single user interface. Leon (¶0063 line 1-4), features and services are implemented as web services );
determining whether the first position information and a value of a pixel point corresponding to the first position information in the two-dimensional mask image satisfy a set condition (Leon (¶0179 line 17-18), system determines whether the touched coordinates are corresponding t the pixel coordinates of the application icon); and
in response to determining that the first position information and the value of the pixel point corresponding to the first position information in the two-dimensional mask image satisfy the set condition (Leon (¶0179 line 17-18), system determines whether the touched coordinates are corresponding to the pixel coordinates of the application icon), determining that the target icon is clicked and controlling the target icon to execute a service logic corresponding to the click operation (Leon (¶0179 line 17-18, ¶0180 line 1-3), when touch input location corresponds to the application icon coordinates, the application is opened).
wherein determining the first position information of the click operation on the control corresponding to the target icon comprises: (Leon (¶0179 line 15-17), system recognizes pixel coordinates of where the touch event occurred);
Leon does not explicitly disclose:
segmenting the original image into a foreground and a background to obtain a two-dimensional mask image,
Park teaches:
segmenting the original image into a foreground (Park (¶0035 line 5-6), edge different image is converted into a foreground image), foreground object image is extracted from original image) and a background (Park (¶0038 line 1-2, fig. 3 item 304), background image is separated from the frame image) to obtain a two-dimensional mask image (Park (¶0035 line 8-11), foreground object is obtained by removing noise),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an icon image on the foreground of Leon instead be a foreground image taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to “extract a moving foreground object from a real-time video sequence, and be effectively applied to applications such as background object separation in computer vision, security surveillance, and robot movement monitoring” (Park (¶0019)).
Leon in view of Park does not explicitly disclose:
acquiring second position information of the click operation in an interface window
determining a transformation matrix between the interface window and the control where the target icon is located; and
transforming the second position information according to the transformation matrix to obtain the first position information of the click operation on the control where the target icon is located.
wherein transforming the second position information according to the transformation matrix to obtain the first position information of the click operation on the control where the target icon is located comprises:
determining a dot product of the second position information and an inverse matrix of the transformation matrix to obtain the first position information of the click operation on the control where the target icon is located.
Mohindra teaches:
acquiring second position information of the click operation in an interface window (Mohindra (col. 1 line 61-65), measured voltage Y)
determining a transformation matrix (Mohindra (col. 1 line 61-64), system obtains excitation matrix E) between the interface window (Mohindra (col. 1 line 43-46), interface window includes 20 drive lines and 15 sense lines) and the control where the target icon is located (Mohindra (col. 1 line 61-64), X, Y coordinates are calculated from a dot product of inverse matrix E with voltages Y); and
transforming the second position information (Mohindra (col. 1 line 61-65), measured voltage Y) according to the transformation matrix to obtain the first position information of the click operation on the control where the target icon is located (Mohindra (col. 1 line 61-64), X, Y coordinates are calculated from a dot product of inverse matrix E with voltages Y).
wherein transforming the second position information according to the transformation matrix to obtain the first position information of the click operation on the control where the target icon is located comprises:
determining a dot product of the second position information and an inverse matrix of the transformation matrix to obtain the first position information of the click operation on the control where the target icon is located (Mohindra (col. 1 line 61-64), X, Y coordinates are calculated from a dot product of inverse matrix E with voltages Y).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify second touch position of Leon in view of Park instead be a measured voltage of Mohindra, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to solve the problem of “the finger is typically larger than the pacing of X-Y grid lines in the layers of a mutual capacitance touch screen” (Mohindra (col. 1 line 26-28)).
As Claim 2, besides Claim 1, Leon in view of Park in further view of Mohindra teaches wherein segmenting the original image into the foreground and the background to obtain the two-dimensional mask image comprises:
performing gradation processing on the original image to obtain a grayscale image (Park (¶0040), the grayscale frame image and the grayscale reference background image are manipulated to provide edge information); and
segmenting the grayscale image into the foreground (Park (¶0035 line 5-6), edge different image) and the background (Park (¶0043, ¶0044), edge difference image is produced from the background grayscale image and the grayscale frame image) to obtain the two-dimensional mask image (Park (¶0035 line 5-6), edge different image is converted into a foreground image).
As Claim 4, besides Claim 21, Leon in view of Park in further view of Mohindra teaches wherein the method further comprises:
traversing pixel points in the two-dimensional mask image (Park (¶0041), edge image is produced by summing the differential values of the frame image and edge information of the reference background image);
in a first case where a value of a traversed pixel point satisfies a first condition, setting a value of a position corresponding to the pixel point in the empty bit array to be the first set value (Park (¶0043, ¶0044), edge difference image having a value greater or equal to the preset reference value are thresholding and scale-transformed); and
in a second case where the value of the traversed pixel point satisfies a second condition, setting the value of the position corresponding to the pixel point in the empty bit array to be a second set value (Park (¶0043, ¶0044), edge difference image having a value greater or equal to the preset reference value are thresholding and scale-transformed);
wherein the first condition is that the pixel point is the foreground, and the second condition is that the pixel point is the background (Park (¶0044), foreground object image free from background objects and noise is extracted through thresholding and scale transformation).
As Claim 5, besides Claim 21, Leon in view of Park in further view of Mohindra teaches after creating the bit array according to the two-dimensional mask image and the dimension information of the original image, further comprising:
deleting the original image and the dimension information from a memory (Park (¶0034 ), system removes the reference background image and the noise image so that foreground image can be extracted).
As Claim 8, Leon teaches an electronic device, comprising:
at least one processing apparatus (Leon (¶0212 line 8), a processor); and
a storage apparatus configured to store at least one program (Leon (¶0212 line 10), memory);
The rest of limitations are rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
As Claim 9 and 11-12, the Claims are rejected for the same reasons as Claim 2 and 4-5, respectively.
As Claim 15-16 and 18-19, the Claims are rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1-2 and 4-5, respectively.
As Claim 21, besides Claim 1, Leon in view of Park in further view of Mohindra teaches
wherein after segmenting the original image into the foreground and the background to obtain the two-dimensional mask image, further comprising:
creating a bit array according to the two-dimensional mask image and dimension information of the original image (Park (¶0043, ¶0044), edge difference image having a value greater or equal to the preset reference value are thresholding and scale-transformed); and
wherein determining whether the first position information and the value of the pixel point corresponding to the first position information in the two-dimensional mask image satisfy the set condition comprises:
determining whether a value of a position corresponding to the first position information in the bit array is a first set value (Park (¶0043, ¶0044), edge difference image having a value greater or equal to the preset reference value are thresholding and scale-transformed).
As Claim 22 and 23, the Claims are rejected for the same reasons as Claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Based on 35 U.S.C. §103:
As Claim 1, Applicants argue that Mohindra does not disclose “a logical interactive unit displayed … in the webpage on the screen … aims to detect the relative coordinates … of the click on the control” (third paragraph after Regarding Mohindra of page 11 in the remarks).
Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive. Leon teaches displaying controls/icons as webpage. Mohindra teaches “determining a dot product of the second position information and an inverse matrix of the transformation matrix to obtain the first position information of the click operation on the control where the target icon is located” (Mohindra (col. 1 line 61-64), X, Y coordinates are calculated from a dot product of inverse matrix E with voltages Y).
As Claim 1, Applicants argue that Mohindra’ s touch screen does not equate to the “control” (third paragraph after Regarding Mohindra of page 11 in the remarks).
Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive. Leon (¶0179 line 13-14) teaches a touch screen interface with an icon application. Mohindra discloses the method to detect touched locations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NHAT HUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2147