DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I in the reply filed on 03 August 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McKinnon et al (U.S. 2020/0275976). McKinnon discloses (par. 0257) a processor; and a memory storing data for processing by the processor, the data, when processed, causes the processor to (par. 0232-0233): receive a set of inputs for a surgical procedure for a patient; determine one or more potential plans for the surgical procedure based at least in part on the set of inputs and a machine learning model; receive a selection of a plan from the one or more potential plans; determine a plurality of surgical instruments corresponding to the plan from the selection; and provide an output that indicates the plurality of surgical instruments to load in a surgical tray (par. 0279).
Regarding claim 2, McKinnon discloses (par. 0279) the data stored in the memory that, when processed causes the processor to provide the output that indicates the plurality of surgical instruments to load in the surgical tray further causes the system to: display, via a user interface, a suggestion of the plurality of surgical instruments to load in the surgical tray.
Regarding claim 3, McKinnon discloses (par. 0279) the data stored in the memory that, when processed causes the processor to provide the output that indicates the plurality of surgical instruments to load in the surgical tray further causes the system to: load the plurality of surgical instruments into the surgical tray.
Regarding claim 4, McKinnon discloses (par. 0228) the data stored in the memory that, when processed causes the processor to determine the one or more potential plans for the surgical procedure further causes the system to: compare the set of inputs for the surgical procedure with historical data of previously performed surgical procedures to determine the one or more potential plans based at least in part on a similarity index.
Regarding claim 5, McKinnon discloses (par. 0228) the memory stores further data for processing by the processor that, when processed, causes the processor to: display, via a user interface, one or more similarity index values for each of the one or more potential plans.
Regarding claim 6, McKinnon discloses (par. 0231) the historical data of previously performed surgical procedures comprises at least procedure and instrument flow and abnormalities for the previously performed surgical procedures.
Regarding claim 7, McKinnon discloses (par. 0265) the similarity index comprises at least a three-dimensional model.
Regarding claim 8, McKinnon discloses (par. 0207) the memory stores further data for processing by the processor that, when processed, causes the processor to: provide a position suggestion for the surgical procedure for the patient corresponding to the plan from the selection.
Regarding claim 9, McKinnon discloses (par. 0279) the memory stores further data for processing by the processor that, when processed, causes the processor to: receive one or more changes to the plan from the selection, wherein the plurality of surgical instruments to load in the surgical tray are determined based at least in part on the one or more changes.
Regarding claim 10, McKinnon discloses (par. 0176) the memory stores further data for processing by the processor that, when processed, causes the processor to: provide a cut sectional view for the surgical procedure for the patient based at least in part on the set of inputs; and provide one or more cut sectional views for the one or more potential plans based at least in part on historical surgical data corresponding to the one or more potential plans, wherein the selection of the plan from the one or more potential plans is received based at least in part on a comparison of the cut sectional view for the surgical procedure and the one or more cut sectional views for the one or more potential plans.
Regarding claim 11, McKinnon discloses (par. 0199) the memory stores further data for processing by the processor that, when processed, causes the processor to: receive feedback after the surgical procedure for the patient is performed based at least in part on the output that indicates the plurality of surgical instruments to load in the surgical tray.
Regarding claim 12, McKinnon discloses (par. 0199) the feedback is used, in part, to train the machine learning model.
Regarding claim 13, McKinnon discloses (par. 0233) the one or more potential plans are determined based at least in part on a disease state corresponding to the surgical procedure for a patient.
Regarding claim 14, McKinnon discloses (par. 0229) the set of inputs for the surgical procedure comprises at least patient demographic data.
Regarding claim 15, McKinnon discloses (par. 0279) the output that indicates the plurality of surgical instruments to load in the surgical tray comprises an order for loading the plurality of surgical instruments in the surgical tray.
Conclusion
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792