DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment / Status of claims
In the response of 6/1/2026, claims 31 and 37 have been amended. Claims 34-36 have been canceled. Claims 31-33 and 37-39 are pending.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 31 and 37, and associated remarks, are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections set forth in the previous office action.
The amendments to claims 31 and 37 (using claim 31 as representative) add the additional elements of communicatively coupling a parent pairing module in a contact center system with a load balancer in the contact center system; communicatively coupling each of a plurality of switches in the contact center system with the load balancer, the plurality of switches comprising a first switch, a second switch, and a third switch; communicatively coupling the first switch with a first child pairing module in the contact center system; communicatively coupling the second switch with a second child pairing module in the contact center system; communicatively coupling the third switch with a third child pairing module in the contact center system; communicatively coupling a parent pairing module in the contact center system with each of said child pairing modules; the load balancer providing to the parent pairing module; the parent pairing module providing information to at least the first child pairing module; an interactive response (IVR); connecting, via the first switch… comprising connecting… using a call distributed routing component in the first switch. When considering the claim as a whole, and these additional elements in combination, there is more than a generic tie to the technical environment provided and the additional elements serve to integrate the recited abstract idea (certain methods of organizing human activity - pairing tasks with agents is commercial activity and managing interactions between people) into a practical application.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Based on the amendments, an updated search was performed. Prior art was discovered during the search that renders these claims obvious. A phone call was placed to Mr. Rosenbloom, and on 8/7/2026 attorney and examiner discussed that new prior art had been located. They also discussed the claimed invention.
This is a non-final office action to set forth the discussed 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections and cite the additional prior art discovered. Based on the discussion, it is recommended to consider adding details from figure 3, page 13, line 20, through page 14, line 10 and line 17-22 concerning the coupling of the parent and child pairing modules, such as:
The parent pairing module 350 may be configured to receive all information about the incoming tasks 205 from the load balancer 210 and broadcast this information to some or all of the pairing modules 240A-240x. In such a configuration, some or all of the pairing modules 240A-240x may receive and store a copy of the information about all of the incoming tasks 205 that the parent pairing module 350 receives from the load balancer 210. The parent pairing module 350 may associate information about each of the incoming tasks 205 with a task identifier ("task ID") that uniquely identifies each task, SO the pairing modules 240A-240x that receive and store a copy of the information can retrieve the information later using a task ID for the relevant task.
Additionally, the parent pairing module 350 may receive historical assignment information from one of the pairing modules (e.g., pairing module 240A) and share the historical assignment information with the other pairing modules (e.g., pairing modules 240B-240x).
These types of details about the coupling of the parent and child pairing modules, and their interaction with the load balancer, may serve to distinguish over the cited prior art but would need to be further searched and considered based upon the filing.
Claim Objections
Claims 32 and 38 recite “calculating a difference between the score assigned to the first agent and the score assigned to the fist incoming task”. It appears fist should instead be first, and this is a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 32 and 38 recite:
using i) the pairing model, ii) the location information indicating the geographic location associated with the first incoming task, and iii) the IVR data associated with the first incoming task to assign a score to the first incoming task;
using the pairing model and the information concerning the first agent to assign a
score to the first agent;
calculating a difference between the score assigned to the first agent and the score
assigned to the first incoming task; and
using the calculated difference in a process for selecting a task-agent pair.
It is noted that this claim language was added by the amendments entered on 2/6/2025. Page 12 of the originally filed specification states: “With a BP strategy, tasks and agents may be given scores (e.g., percentiles or percentile ranges/bandwidths) according to a pairing model or other artificial intelligence data model, so that the new task may be matched, paired, or otherwise connected to a preferred agent.
In an L2 state, multiple tasks are allocated to the switch by the load balancer 210 and are waiting for connection to an agent. […]. However, if the pairing module implements a BP strategy, as in the L1 state described above, tasks and agents may be given percentiles (or percentile ranges/bandwidths, etc.) according to, for example, a model, such as an artificial intelligence model, so that an agent becoming available may be matched, paired, or otherwise connected to a preferred task.”
Examiner was unable to locate further discussion of scores or percentiles being assigned to agents or tasks in the originally filed disclosure. The above disclosure does not include further details of how such scores or percentiles are assigned to the task or agent using the pairing model and the data recited in the claims. Further, it does not include discussion of calculating a difference between the scores assigned and using the difference in a process for selecting a task-agent pair. Thus, claims 32 and 38 lack support in the original disclosure and are rejected as new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-33 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) in view of Kan et al. et al. (U.S. 9,462,127).
As per claim 31, Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) teaches a method comprising:
communicatively coupling a parent pairing module in a contact center system with a load
balancer in the contact center system (See figure 1, column 5, lines 8-29, where there is an automatic call distributor (ACD) that is a type of load balancer included in the switch, and the switch is connected with the pairing module);
communicatively coupling each of a plurality of switches in the contact center system
with the load balancer, the plurality of switches comprising a first switch, a second switch, and a
third switch (See figure 1, column 4, line 63-column 5, line 29, wherein multiple switches are communicatively coupled to the central switch and an ACD is included in the central switch);
communicatively coupling the first switch with a first child pairing module in the contact
center system; communicatively coupling the second switch with a second child pairing module in the contact center system; communicatively coupling the third switch with a third child pairing module in the contact center system (See figure 1, column 4, line 63-column 5, line 29 and lines 48-66, where multiple child switches are connected to a central switch and where switches are communicatively coupled to pairing modules, such as them being integrated into the switch or remotely separated and distributed);
communicatively coupling a parent pairing module in the contact center system with each of said child pairing modules (See figure 1, column 4, line 63-column 5, line 29 and lines 48-66, where multiple child switches are connected to a central switch and where switches are communicatively coupled to pairing modules, such as them being integrated into the switch or remotely separated and distributed);
using task-agent assignment information regarding task-agent pairings that occurred
during a period of time to create or update a pairing model for use in assigning scores to incoming tasks and agents (See at least figures 6 and 7A-B, column 6, lines 60-67, column 7, lines 8-10, column 15, lines 34-43, and column 16, lines 47-67, where historical contact-agent outcome data is used to generate a payout matrix of the pairing model. The payout matrix has values and likelihoods (score) associated with the agent-contact interaction based on historical information for example), wherein
the task-agent assignment information comprises first task-agent assignment information regarding a first task-agent pairing that occurred during the period of time (See at least figures 6 and 7A-B, column 6, lines 60-67, column 7, lines 8-10, column 15, lines 34-43, and column 16, lines 47-67, where discusses historical contact-agent outcome data), and
the first task-agent assignment information comprises:
i) an agent identifier identifying the agent of the first task-agent pairing (See figure 6 and column 15, lines 38-43, including identifiers of which agent communicated with which contact),
ii) task type information identifying a type of task that was paired with the agent (See at least column 16, lines 41-65, where contact types are considered within the historical data), and
iii) outcome information indicating an outcome of the first task-agent pairing (See column 2, lines 28-32, column 15, lines 34-43, column 16, lines 41-46, which includes outcome information);
the load balancer providing to the parent pairing module, task information regarding incoming tasks comprising at least a first incoming task (See figures 1 and 6, column 5, lines 8-29 and 58-62, column 16, lines 7-30. See discussion above. The ACD / load balancer receives information and works with the pairing module using this and historical information);
the parent pairing module providing the task information received from the load balancer
to at least the first child pairing module (See figure 1, column 4, line 63-column 5, line 29 and lines 48-66, column 6, lines 1-5, where multiple child switches are connected to a central switch and where switches are communicatively coupled to pairing modules, such as them being integrated into the switch or remotely separated and distributed. Pairing modules may be components of one or more switches, such as at the multiple contact center, and may handle pairing for a particular contact. The central pairing module/switch passes and routes information to the contact center switches/pairing modules);
an interactive voice response (IVR) system providing to the first child pairing module IVR data associated with the first incoming task (See column 9, lines 20-31, where IVR data is collected and used in the determination of which agent to pair with the caller/contact.
requires for the upcoming interaction. See also column 10, lines 17-25, as examples showing this information is used by pairing modules. See figure 1, column 4, line 63-column 5, line 29 and lines 48-66, column 11, line 66-column 12, line 10, and columns 1-11, where multiple child switches are connected to a central switch and where switches are communicatively coupled to pairing modules);
the first child pairing module receiving other information associated with the first incoming task (See column 7, lines 3-9, 20-23, and 45-47, which discloses consumer data and contact type information being received);
after the first child pairing module receives the task information (See figures 4A, 6 and 7A-B), the IVR data, and the other information, the first child pairing module performing a task-agent pairing process, comprising:
obtaining information concerning at least agents logged into the first switch and waiting to be paired with an incoming task, the agents waiting to be paired with an incoming task comprising at least a first agent waiting to be paired with an incoming task (See column 3, lines 55-60, column 5, lines 30-46, column 21, lines 19-21 and line 60-column 22, line 5, where availability and agents logged in is determined);
using i) the pairing model, ii) the other information associated with the first incoming task, iii) the IVR data associated with the first incoming task, and iv) the information concerning the first agent waiting to be paired with an incoming task to establish a task-agent pairing (See figures 6 and 8-9, column 15, lines 34-40, column 16, lines 7-25 and 47-67, column 21, lines 35-66, column 22, lines 1-15, where received data and agent availability is considered alongside historical data to pair the contact with an agent using a pairing model (payout matrix, see above)); and
based on the established task-agent pairing, connecting, via the first switch, one of the incoming tasks with one of the agents waiting to be paired with an incoming task (See figures 1 and 8-9, column 5, lines 22-28 and 34-64, column 20, lines 59-column 21, lines 7, column 23, lines 17-34, where the selected agent-contact pairing is connected using the switch),
wherein connecting said one of the incoming tasks with said one of the agents via the first switch comprises connecting said one of the incoming tasks with said one of the agents using a call distribution routing component included in the first switch (See column 5, lines 8-29, where routing hardware is included to route contacts among the contact centers and to agents).
While Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) teaches the first child pairing module receiving other information associated with the first incoming task, it does not disclose receiving location information indicating a geographical location associated with the first incoming task and using the location information in the pairing process.
Kan et al. et al. (U.S. 9,462,127) disclose receiving location information indicating a geographical location associated with the first incoming task and using the location information in the pairing process (See at least column 10, lines 10-16, column 15, lines 35-56, where zip code is included in the caller data that is received and used in the computational matching of callers and agents.
Both Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) and Kan et al. et al. (U.S. 9,462,127) disclose matching callers and agents in a call center environment using information about the caller and agent (historical and current) with a pairing module. Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) discloses using contact data and attributes, including demographic and other data. Kan et al. et al. (U.S. 9,462,127) specifically discloses using location information (zip code). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to use location data of Kan et al. et al. (U.S. 9,462,127) in the contact/customer data of Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) in order to better estimate the probable outcome of each match by combining and using all available data in the created computer model that matches each agent with each caller and increase optimal interactions, such as the generation of a sale, the duration of contact, or the likelihood of generating an interaction that a customer finds satisfying. See column 15, lines 36-40 and 54-59 of Kan et al. et al. (U.S. 9,462,127).
As per claim 32, the combination of Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) and Kan et al. et al. (U.S. 9,462,127) disclose using i) the pairing model, ii) the location information indicating the geographic location associated with the first incoming task, iii) the IVR data associated with the first incoming task, and iv) the information concerning the first agent to establish a task-agent pairing as set forth above.
Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) discloses using i) the pairing model, ii) the other information associated with the first incoming task, iii) the IVR data associated with the first incoming task to assign a score to the first incoming task (See figures 6 and 8-9, column 15, lines 34-40, column 16, lines 7-25 and 47-67, column 21, lines 35-66, column 22, lines 1-15, where received data is considered alongside historical data to generate a payout matrix of the pairing model. The payout matrix has values and likelihoods (score) associated with the agent-contact interaction
See also column 6, lines 60-67, column 7, lines 8-10);
Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) does not disclose and Kan et al. et al. (U.S. 9,462,127) discloses:
using i) the pairing model, ii) the location information indicating the geographic location associated with the first incoming task, and iii) data associated with the first incoming task to assign a score to the first incoming task (See figure 4, column 8, lines 3-20, column 9, lines 7-31, and column 10, lines 1-8, discussing engines that use historic and current data to pair tasks and agents. See column 22, line 4-15, column 28, lines 21-43, where performance sensitivity is determined and a percentile or ranking is obtained);
using the pairing model and the information concerning the first agent to assign a score to the first agent (See at least column 21, line 49-column 22, line 3, column 28, lines 43-60, where agent performance is evaluated to determine a ranking or percentile);
calculating a difference between the score assigned to the first agent and the score assigned to the first incoming task; and using the calculated difference in a process for selecting a task-agent pair (See figure 7 and 8A-B, column 22, lines 15-30, column 27, lines 38-57, column 28, line 64-column 29, line 27, where these rankings are compared to each other and thresholds and used to select the customer-agent pair). It is noted that the prior art is applied based on the broadest reasonable understanding from page 12 of the specification.
Both Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) and Kan et al. et al. (U.S. 9,462,127) disclose matching callers and agents in a call center environment using information about the caller and agent (historical and current) with a pairing module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to use the comparison of percentiles and rankings of Kan et al. et al. (U.S. 9,462,127) in the task-agent pairing of Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) in order to increase optimal interactions by considering agent performance and task sensitivity to the agent, the optimal interactions including the generation of a sale, the duration of contact, or the likelihood of generating an interaction that a customer finds satisfying. See column 15, lines 36-40 and 54-59 of Kan et al. et al. (U.S. 9,462,127).
As per claim 33, Kan et al. (U.S. 9,930,180) teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, at the parent pairing module, historical assignment information from the
second child pairing module; and transmitting the received historical assignment information from the parent pairing module to at least the third child pairing module (Per the BRI on the top of page 14, see column 4, lines 63-column 5, lines 7, column 7, lines 3-12, column 15, lines 30-55 and line 64-column 16, line 5, and column 23, lines 17-34, where historical assignment and outcome data is collected at the central and contact centers and used across the contact center system).
Claims 37-39 recite substantially similar limitations to claims 31-33 and are therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chisti (US 10,116,795) teaches a task assignment system in a call center environment that considers a task-agent pairing model and expected performance, including use of historic data, call type, agent status in a system with a load balancer and switch.
Wu (US 10,491,748) discusses geographic routing in a call center environment, as well as intelligent routing of tasks and calls in a call center environment.
Chisti (US 9,300,802) teaches a task assignment system in a call center environment that considers a task-agent pairing model, including use of historic data, IVR data, call type, agent status in a system with a load balancer and switch.
Kan (US 10027812) teaches a task assignment system in a call center environment that considers a task-agent pairing model, including use of historic data, call type, and agent status.
Dunn (US 2018/0293530) discusses a pairing module with central and local dispatch of tasks and using historical agent-task data to pair incoming requests.
McCormack (US 2015/0365342) discusses routing work requests in a call center environment including switches, load balancing functions, IVR units and an assignment module that considers attributes of the work request and availability of agents in the assignments.
/BETH V BOSWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3625