DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 05/19/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1 , 2, 7, 8, 10-12, 17, 18 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and no claim has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 05/19/2026., with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 1 as
“(Currently amended) A method for deploying a Software-Defined Private Mobile Network (SD-PMN) for an entity in a particular geographic area, the method comprising:
for each physical location in a set of physical locations within the particular geographic area, deploying a Software-Defined Wide Area Network (SD-WAN) customer premise appliance,
wherein the SD-WAN customer premise appliance comprises a first SD-WAN edge router;
establishing, via a Radio Access Network (RAN), a set of connections between each SD-WAN customer premise appliance and at least one physical access point in a set of physical access points deployed in the particular geographic area,
wherein each physical access point has a connection to a central aggregation point, wherein the central aggregation point comprises a User Plane Function (UPF) and a second SD-WAN edge router,
wherein the UPF has a connection to the second SD-WAN edge router,
wherein an SD-WAN Point of Presence (SD- WAN PoP) comprises an SD-WAN gateway, wherein the second SD-WAN edge router has a connection to the SD-WAN gateway, and
wherein the established set of connections are used to provide a private mobile networking service for the particular geographic area,
and
establishing, by the first SD-WAN edge router, a Dynamic Multipath Optimization (DMPO) tunnel to the SD-WAN gateway,
wherein the DMPO tunnel is configured to provide dynamic path selection between the first SD-WAN edge router and the SD-WAN gateway.”
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See HYUN et al. (US 20230275833 A1; hereinafter as “HYUN”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SPRAGGINS et al. (US 20200067831 A1; hereinafter as “SPRAGGINS”) in view of HYUN et al. (US 20230275833 A1; hereinafter as “HYUN”, which has a priority date November 11, 2021).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to SPRAGGINS unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 1, SPRAGGINS teaches, A method for deploying a Software-Defined Private Mobile Network (SD-PMN) for an entity in a particular geographic area (==Campus 1 or Campus N in fig. 4) ( see fig. 4 software define network which connect Campus 1 campus 2 et with could computer in fig. 4): [0091]-[0095];
, the method comprising:
for each physical location in a set of physical locations within the particular geographic area (==Campus 1… Campus N in Fig. 4 ), deploying a Software-Defined Wide Area Network (SD-WAN) customer premise appliance (==Intelligent Edge On-Premise Function with SW-WAN control function);
establishing, via a Radio Access Network (RAN) (==RAN in Fig. 4), a set of connections between each SD- WAN customer premise appliance (==Intelligent Edge On-Premise Function with SW-WAN control function) and at least one physical access point in a set of physical access points deployed in the particular geographic area (see fig. 5: “The method 500 is performed by a mobile gateway implemented on one or more processors, e.g., the mobile gateway 106 of FIG. 1. The mobile gateway can be, e.g., an SBC configured for controlling telecommunications control plane signaling at an edge between an on-premises access network and a remote system comprising a centralized controller. ”: [0108]; “establishing, using an on-premises telecommunications network core of the mobile gateway, mobile data sessions for a plurality of mobile user devices and enabling communication between the mobile user devices through the on-premises telecommunications network core (502). The method 500 includes establishing, using a software-defined wide-area network (SD-WAN) controller, an SD-WAN overlay network for connecting the mobile user devices to an external telecommunications network (504). ”{109]; “the on-premises telecommunications core can, in some examples, include a 5G core comprising an access management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), and a user plane function (UPF). Then, the method 500 can include collaborating, using the SD-WAN controller, with the SMF to manage mobile connectivity control and policy. ”: [0113]).
wherein each physical access point has a connection to a central aggregation point (==Cloud controller Function in Fig. 3), wherein the central aggregation point (==Cloud controller Function in Fig. 3) comprises a User Plane Function (UPF) and a second SD-WAN edge router ( (==Cloud had UDP and S/P GW-C, S/PGW-S function (==a second SD-WAN Edge Router));
( “ In some examples, the on-premises telecommunications core 108 includes a 5G core comprising an access management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), and a user plane function (UPF). The SD-WAN controller 110 can be configured to collaborate with the SMF to manage mobile connectivity control and policy.”: [0031]; “ SD-WAN can be deployed with WAN edge devices placed at branch sites, and the devices can be centrally managed, with routing based on application policies and security rules that can be updated as network requirements change.”: [0027]);
and
wherein the established set of connections are used to provide a private mobile networking service for the particular geographic area ( “The SD-WAN controller 110 can be configured for establishing a tunnel over a data communications network with a remote system comprising a services gateway. Then, the mobile gateway 106 can be configured for exchanging controlling signaling with the remote system over the tunnel to establish the mobile data sessions. ”: [0029]; “The intelligent edge overlay can use various types of networks, e.g., MPLS, broadband Internet, and 4G/LTE networks to implement a secure control plane, e.g., for exchanging control messages. The mobile gateway 302 communicates with a remote system via a gateway, which can be referred to as an intelligent edge services gateway 304. The remote system can be, e.g., a cloud computing system including a cloud controller function 306. ”: [0082]; “ The method 500 includes providing quality of service (QoS) and route optimization for the mobile user devices using the SD-WAN overlay network (506). Providing QoS and route optimization for the mobile user devices using the SD-WAN overlay network can include prioritizing the mobile data sessions and re-routing the mobile data sessions over the SD-WAN overlay network to maintain QoS according to prioritizing the mobile data sessions.”: 0111]-[0112]).
While SPRAGGINS teaches, using the established set of connections to provide a private mobile networking service for the particular geographic area; SPRAGGINS does not expressively disclose:
wherein the SD-WAN customer premise appliance comprises a first SD-WAN edge router;
wherein the UPF has a connection to the second SD-WAN edge router,
wherein an SD-WAN Point of Presence (SD- WAN PoP) comprises an SD-WAN gateway, wherein the second SD-WAN edge router has a connection to the SD-WAN gateway, and
establishing, by the first SD-WAN edge router, a Dynamic Multipath Optimization (DMPO) tunnel to the SD-WAN gateway,
wherein the DMPO tunnel is configured to provide dynamic path selection between the first SD-WAN edge router and the SD-WAN gateway.
HYUN, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the SD-WAN customer premise appliance comprises a first SD-WAN edge router (see fig. 1, Fig. 2A-2E, SD-WAN customer premise Edge (CPE) 213, 215 : [0040]; which can had MPLS Router PE : [0057] );
wherein the UPF has a connection to the second SD-WAN edge router (==SD-WAN Gate 211 in connected to SD-WAN controller 205); UPF is connected to SD-WAN Gaeway/Router 211 : [0043]; “ the SD-WAN GW 211 may receive packets from a user plane function (UPF). The SD-WAN GW 211 may identify a slice through which the packets are transmitted, based on a transport IP address of the UPF or metadata included in the packets. The SD-WAN GW 211 may identify a path in a data network section, based on information (e.g., SLA of the slice) of the identified slice and the metadata. The SD-WAN GW 211 may transmit packets by the identified path (e.g., Internet or MPLS).”: [0049]),
wherein an SD-WAN Point of Presence (SD- WAN PoP) comprises an SD-WAN gateway (see SD-WAN Gateway 211 or SW-WAN Gateway 219 is connected to SD-WAN Controller: ),
wherein the second SD-WAN edge router has a connection to the SD-WAN gateway (see fig. 2A-2D where SD-WAN Gate is connect to SW-WAN Edge CPE gateway with MPLS function: ), and
establishing, by the first SD-WAN edge router, a Dynamic Multipath Optimization (DMPO) tunnel to the SD-WAN gateway (establish IPSec/DMPO tunnel with MPLS switching capability among SD-WAN Gate and SD-WAN Edge CPE : [0040]; “ Referring to FIG. 2A, an Internet protocol security (IPsec) tunnel between the SD-WAN edge 209 and the SD-WAN GW 211 and an IPsec tunnel between the SD-WAN GW 211 and the SD-WAN edge 213 or 215 may be provided. Also, the IPsec tunnel between the SD-WAN edge 209 and the SD-WAN edge 213 or 215 may be provided”[0046]; “ Referring to FIG. 2B, since the SD-WAN edge 209 is replaced with a legacy customer premise equipment (CPE) 217 (or is a general device without an SD-WAN client), only an Internet protocol security (IPsec) tunnel between the SD-WAN GW 211 and the SD-WAN edge 213 or 215 may be provided. According to an embodiment, in the case of uplink, the SD-WAN GW 211 may identify slice information, based on a source IP address of packets received from a user plane function (UPF) and port information. The SD-WAN GW 211 may identify a path in a data network section, based on the identified slice information. The SD-WAN GW 211 may transmit packets through the identified path (e.g., the Internet or multiprotocol label switching (MPLS).”: [0055]),
wherein the DMPO tunnel is configured to provide dynamic path selection between the first SD-WAN edge router and the SD-WAN gateway (IPSec tunnel between SD-WAN GW 211 and SD-WAN Edge 213/215 is : [0040], [0055]; [0089).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SPRAGGINS to include the above recited limitations as taught by HYUN. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide end-to-end service level agreement (SLA) and security, by interlocking network slicing and a software defined wide area network (SD-WAN) in a communication system. (HYUN: [0015]).
Regarding claim 2, SPRAGGINS in view of HYUN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, SPRAGGINS teaches, wherein the first SD-WAN edge router is enabled with one of a Long Term Evolution (LTE) Subscriber Identity Module (SIM1,a fourth generation (4G1 SIM, and a fifth generation (5G1 SIM ( “ SD-WAN can be deployed with WAN edge devices placed at branch sites, and the devices can be centrally managed, with routing based on application policies and security rules that can be updated as network requirements change ”: [0027]; “ on-premises telecommunications core comprises a 5G core comprising an access management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), and a user plane function (UPF). The SD-WAN controller can be configured to collaborate with the SMF to manage mobile connectivity control and policy. ”: [0013]; 4G, 5G network access : [0060]).
Regarding claim 3, SPRAGGINS in view of HYUN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, SPRAGGINS teaches, wherein the set of connections comprise one of a Long Term Evolution (LTE} connection, a fourth generation (4G1 connection, and a fifth generation (5G connection via a Citizens Broadband Radio Service(CBRS
Regarding claim 4, SPRAGGINS in view of HYUN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, SPRAGGINS teaches, wherein the entity comprises a municipality, the particular geographic area comprises a geographic area occupied by the municipality, and the set of physical locations comprises a set of homes within the geographic area occupied by the municipality (see fig. 4: Campus 1, Campus 2, : [0099]; “As shown in FIG. 3, one or more mobile gateways can be deployed at various on-premises locations, such as data centers, campuses, branches, and remote sites. FIG. 3 illustrates a mobile gateway 302 as an intelligent edge on-premise function, which can be implemented on the system 100 of FIG. 1. ”:[0081]).
Regarding claim 5, SPRAGGINS in view of HYUN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, SPRAGGINS teaches, wherein the connection between each physical access point and the central aggregation point comprises a General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) gateway is configured for exchanging controlling signaling with the remote system over the tunnel to establish the mobile data sessions.”: [0010]; “ the method 500 includes establishing, using the SD-WAN controller, a tunnel over a data communications network with a remote system comprising a services gateway, and exchanging controlling signaling with the remote system over the tunnel to establish the mobile data sessions.
[0111] The method 500 includes providing quality of service (QoS) and route optimization for the mobile user devices using the SD-WAN overlay network (506). Providing QoS and route optimization for the mobile user devices using the SD-WAN overlay network can include prioritizing the mobile data sessions and re-routing the mobile data sessions over the SD-WAN overlay network to maintain QoS according to prioritizing the mobile data sessions. ”:[0110]-[0111]).
Regarding claim 6, SPRAGGINS in view of HYUN teaches the invention of claim 5 as set forth above. Further, SPRAGGINS teaches, wherein the set of physical access points (i) receive data message traffic from the SD-WAN customer premise appliances as radio waves, (ii) convert the received radio waves to bits and bytes , and (iii) encapsulate the converted bits and bytes to send to the UPF via the GTP tunnel (“ SD-WAN controller is configured for establishing a tunnel over a data communications network with a remote system comprising a services gateway, and the mobile gateway is configured for exchanging controlling signaling with the remote system over the tunnel to establish the mobile data sessions. ”: [0010]; “The SD-WAN controller 110 can be configured for establishing a tunnel over a data communications network with a remote system comprising a services gateway. Then, the mobile gateway 106 can be configured for exchanging controlling signaling with the remote system over the tunnel to establish the mobile data sessions. ”:[0029]).
Regarding claim 7, SPRAGGINS in view of HYUN teaches the invention of claim 6 as set forth above. Further, SPRAGGINS teaches, wherein upon receiving the encapsulated bits and bytes from the set of physical access points, the UPF decapsulates the encapsulated bits and bytes and forwards the data message traffic as Internet Protocol (IP) data message to the second SD-WAN edge router at the central aggregation point ( “In some examples, the on-premises telecommunications core comprises a 5G core comprising an access management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), and a user plane function (UPF). The SD-WAN controller can be configured to collaborate with the SMF to manage mobile connectivity control and policy. ”: [0013]; “The UPF 144 is configured to support packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, quality of service (QoS) handling. In some examples, the UPF 144 is configured to act as an external session point of interconnect and an anchor point for radio access mobility. ”{0043]).
Regarding claim 8, SPRAGGINS in view of HYUN teaches the invention of claim 7 as set forth above. Further, HYUN teaches, wherein the second SD-WAN edge router forwards the IP data message traffic to the SD-WAN gateway located at the SD-WAN PoP the Dynamic Multipath Optimization (DMPO) tunnel established by the first SD- WAN edge router to the SD-WAN gateway (see fig. 2A-2D: IpSec tunnel between SD-WAN Gateway 211 and SD-WAN Edge CPE 213/215).
Regarding claim 9, SPRAGGINS in view of HYUN teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, SPRAGGINS teaches, wherein the SD-WAN PoP further comprises a control plane for the SD-PMN ( “ the mobile gateway comprises a session border controller (SBC). The SBC can be configured for controlling telecommunications control plane signaling at an edge between an on-premises access network and a remote system comprising a centralized controller. ”:[0009]; “ the mobile gateway 106 is a session border controller (SBC) or includes an SBC. For example, an SBC can be configured for controlling telecommunications control plane signaling at an edge between an on-premises access network and a remote system comprising a centralized controller. The SBC can enable service providers to deliver real-time communications services across Internet Protocol (IP) network borders by offering functions for security, interoperability, reliability and quality, regulatory compliance, and revenue/cost optimization. ”:[0028]).
Regarding claim 11-19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-9.
Regarding claim 20 , SPRAGGINS in view of HYUN teaches the invention of claim 18 as set forth above. Further, HYUN teaches, wherein the SD-WAN PoP provides optimized Internet connectivity for the SD-PMN (see fig. 2A-2E with SD-WAN and SD-WAD EDGE CPE is optimized for traffic: : [0047]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411