DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I and dihydrolipoic acids (DHLAs) in the reply filed on August 20, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2012/0100075) in view of Wang et al. (Biomaterials, 2019).
Chang et al. discloses fluorescent gold nanoclusters comprising a dihydrolipoic acid ligand (DHLA) on the surface with a particular diameter of 0.5 – 3 nm and fluorescence emission wavelength in the range of 400 – 1000 nm (whole document, e.g., abstract). The interaction between the DHLA and gold nanocluster generates the fluorescence (¶ [0012]). The disclosed size and fluorescence emission ranges overlap with those claimed and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). The fluorescent gold nanoclusters can be used as bioprobes and/or applied in fluorescent biological label, clinical imaging as a contrast medium, clinical detection and clinical treatment (abstract). As shown in Figure 3 and discussed at ¶ [0051], biomolecules can be grafted onto the fluorescent gold nanoclusters.
The presence of at least a partial layer of α-glycerylphosphorylcholine (α-GPC) is not disclosed.
Wang et al. discloses that the surface chemistry of [the] nanoparticle largely determines the protein corona formation, which marks nanoparticles with biological identity, thereby determining their in vivo fate and biodistribution (p 1, col 2, ¶ 2). Zwitterionic polymers have been explored as antifouling surface chemistry but such polymers have limited solubility in organic polymers and poor dissolution even in some aqueous solutions due to the overwhelming network formation by the intermolecular charge relay (p 2, col 1, ¶ 1). Clustered zwitterionic moieties on the dendritic periphery not only provide more efficient sheltering effects than linear polymers but also minimize the incidence of intermolecular charge relay to dissolve readily in polar solvents and enable nanoparticle synthesis (p 2, col 1, ¶ 1). The zwitterionic Janus dendrimers (JDs) were prepared including one with glycerylphosphocholine (GPC; p 2, col 1, ¶ 4). Both the GPC and CB (carboxybetaine) coated surfaces significantly inhibited BSA (bovine serum albumin) adsorption and the GPC layer completely eliminated protein binding on the biosensor, indicating superior antifouling properties (p 5, col 1, ¶ 2). GPC mimics the component of the lipid bilayer plasma membrane and the GPC-JDs were more biocompatible, when compared with the CB-JDs, in the cell viability and hemolytic activity assays (p 5, col 2, ¶ 2). The GPC carrier was also able to transport the cargo inside the cells with higher efficiency and smoothly translocation from endosome/lysosome into the cytoplasm may also occur based on the cargo distribution beyond the endosome/lysosome compartments (p 5, col 2, ¶ 3). Nanocarriers with GPC antifouling surface can greatly prolong the in vivo pharmacokinetic profiles of protein cargo relative to PEGylated nanocarriers (¶ bridging p 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a GPC coating layer to the fluorescent nanoclusters comprising DHLA disclosed by Chang et al. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Wang et al. that such zwitterionic coatings provide antifouling properties to nanocarriers while also being biocompatible. The materials of Chang et al. have possible uses including as bioprobes and in clinical applications that render biocompatibility and lack of fouling important properties for the materials. A material with such properties can be provided by the use of GPC coating that mimics part of the lipid bilayer plasma membrane and applying them over the nanoclusters of Chang et al. will provide those properties to those fluorescent materials.
Claim(s) 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2012/0100075) in view of Mackiewicz (US 2019/0015526).
Chang et al. is discussed above.
The presence of at least a partial layer of α-glycerylphosphorylcholine (α-GPC) is not disclosed.
Mackiewicz discloses nanoparticles that comprise a covalently coupled stability agent molecules the comprise covalently coupled stabilizing agent molecules that improve the stability of the nanoparticle composites and allow for tight packing of lipids and/or membranes (whole document, e.g., abstract). That nanoparticle can comprise one or more aggregation inhibitors such as L-α-glycerylphosphatidylcholine (¶¶ [0144] and [0153]). A plurality of one or more aggregation inhibitors can form a membrane around the core (¶ [0154]), reading on a layer encapsulating at a portion of the structure contained within.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a layer of the aggregation inhibitors L-α-glycerylphosphatidylcholine to the fluorescent gold nanoclusters with DHLA disclosed by Chang et al. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Mackiewicz discloses that L-α-glycerylphosphatidylcholine acts as an aggregation inhibitor for nanoparticles and the presence of such a layer will prevent any further aggregations of the gold nanoclusters disclosed by Chang et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 9,101,672 in view of Wang et al. (Biomaterials, 2019) or Mackiewicz (US 2019/0015526). The claims of US’672 recite a method in which gold nanoclusters coated with dihydrolipoic acid are contacted with cultured cells (claim 1). The gold nanoclusters can be about 0.1 to 20 nm in particle size (claim 1).
The presence of at least a partial layer of α-glycerylphosphorylcholine (α-GPC) is not disclosed.
Wang et al. and Mackiewicz are discussed above.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a layer of glycerylphosphatidylcholine on the gold nanoclusters with DHLA claimed in US’672. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Wang et al. discloses this will result in a zwitterionic coatings provide antifouling properties to nanocarriers having such a coating while also being biocompatible while Mackiewicz discloses that L-α-glycerylphosphatidylcholine acts as an aggregation inhibitor for nanoparticles and the presence of such a layer will prevent any further aggregations of the gold nanoclusters. The overlapping size ranges for the cluster provide a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
The fluorescent nature of the nanoclusters of US’672 are not recited in the claims. However, that behavior arises from the structure and the presence of DHLP on gold nanoclusters results in a fluorescent material with at least an overlapping fluorescence emission as evidenced by Wang et al. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to "prove that subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess characteristic relied on" (205 USPQ 594, second column, first full paragraph).
Conclusion
/Nissa M Westerberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618