DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s Amendment filed October 9, 2025 (hereinafter “10/09/25 Amendment") has been entered, and fully considered. In the 10/09/25 Amendment, claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-15, & 17-20 were amended, claims 4, 12, & 16 were cancelled, and claims 21-23 were newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-15, & 17-23 are now pending in the application.
3. The 10/09/25 Amendment has overcome the claim objections, and the rejections under §§ 112(b), 102, & 103 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 07/15/25 (“07/15/25 Action”).
4. New claim objections, and new rejections under §§ 102 & 103 are set forth herein. Additionally, newly added claims 21-23 are each objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
5. Because a new interpretation of “positive locking connection” has been applied in the rejection of dependent claims 3, 11, & 15 that was not applied in the 07/15/25 Action, this action constitutes a second Non-Final Action.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 9, 14, & 21-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. In claim 9, line 13, the recitation of “an accessory, which is guided through the tubular configuration of the head part” should instead recite --an accessory, which is configured to be guided through the tubular configuration of the head part-- since ….
b. In claim 14, the recitation of “A surgical instrument…” in the preamble should instead recite --The surgical instrument--.
c. In claim 21, lines 13-15, the recitation of “or with the tubular configuration of the head part guided in the tubular configuration of the housing the head part has a through hole” should instead recite --or with the tubular configuration of the head part guided in the tubular configuration of the housing, the head part has a through hole--.
d. In claim 22, lines 13-15, the recitation of “or with the tubular configuration of the head part guided in the tubular configuration of the housing the head part has a through hole” should instead recite --or with the tubular configuration of the head part guided in the tubular configuration of the housing, the head part has a through hole--.
e. In claim 22, lines 21-22, the recitation of “wherein the accessory, which is guided through the tubular configuration of the head part is also guided through the housing” should instead recite --wherein the accessory, which is configured to be guided through the tubular configuration of the head part is also configured to be guided through the housing--.
f. In claim 23, lines 13-15, the recitation of “or with the tubular configuration of the head part guided in the tubular configuration of the housing the head part has a through hole” should instead recite --or with the tubular configuration of the head part guided in the tubular configuration of the housing, the head part has a through hole--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 14, 15, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0190575 to Mast et al. (“Mast”).
9. Regarding claim 1, and with reference to FIG. 4 of Mast (provided below), Mast discloses a connection device for a surgical instrument [(100)], comprising:
a housing [core (410) - ¶[0032]; FIG. 4] having a tubular configuration [core (410) is tubular - FIG. 4], the housing tubular configuration extending to a housing distal end [the entirety of core (410) is tubular - FIG. 4];
a head part [collar (416) - ¶[0032]; FIG. 4] having a tubular configuration [collar (416) is tubular - FIG. 4];
a head part coupling, which is arranged at the housing and is configured for a mechanical coupling of the head part [(416)] to the housing [(410)] distal end, wherein the head part coupling comprises a pin element [any of pins (412) - ¶[0032]; FIG. 4], which is configured to non-displaceably fix the head part [(416)] to the housing [(410)], and a weld seam, wherein the pin element [(412)] is fixed non-detachably to the housing [(410)] via the weld seam and the fixed pin element non-displaceably fixes the tubular configuration of the head part [(416)] to the tubular configuration of the housing [(410)] [see ¶[0032] (“Collar 416 is coupled to core 410. In one embodiment, pins 412 couple collar 416 to core 410 and are welded or otherwise affixed in place”); see also FIGS. 5A-5B].
10. Regarding claim 2, Mast discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Mast further discloses wherein the pin element [(412)] extends through the housing [(410)] through a hole and meshes with a formation [hole] in the head part [(416)] [see ¶[0032]; FIG. 4].
11. Regarding claim 3, Mast discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Mast further discloses wherein the pin element connects the head part to the housing with a positive-locking connection [NOTE: pin (412) extends transversely to a longitudinal axis of housing (401) (FIG. 4); this configuration is consistent with Applicant’s description of the connection in the Specification - see, e.g., Applicant’s published Specification (U.S. 2023/0181249) at ¶[0031] (“According to a preferred embodiment the pin element may be oriented transversely to a longitudinal axis of the housing. A positive-locking connection is advantageously possible in this manner, since the pin element is oriented transversely to a loading direction during an insertion or a removal of the surgical instrument into or out of the body region”)].
12. Regarding claim 5, Mast discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Mast further discloses wherein the head part [(416)] is configured to guide an accessory through the head part [(416)] [¶[0033] - broadly, the mechanism allowing the retractor arms to be opened and closed].
13. Regarding claim 6, Mast discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Mast further discloses wherein the pin element [(412)] is oriented transversely to a longitudinal axis of the housing [(410)] [clearly shown in FIG. 4].
14. Regarding claim 9, Mast discloses a surgical instrument comprising:
a connection device comprising:
a housing [core (410) - ¶[0032]; FIG. 4] having a tubular configuration [core (410) is tubular - FIG. 4], the housing extending to a housing distal end [the distal end of core (410)];
a head part [collar (416) - ¶[0032]; FIG. 4] having a tubular configuration [collar (416) is tubular - FIG. 4];
a head part coupling, which is arranged at the housing and is configured for a mechanical coupling of the head part [(416)] to the housing [(410)] distal end, wherein the head part coupling comprises a pin element [any of pins (412) - ¶[0032]; FIG. 4], which is configured to non-displaceably fix the head part [(416) to the housing [(410)], and a weld seam, wherein the pin element [(412)] is fixed non-detachably to the housing [(410)] via the weld seam and the fixed pin element [(412)] non-displaceably fixes the tubular configuration of the head part [(416)] to the tubular configuration of the housing [(410)] [see ¶[0032] (“Collar 416 is coupled to core 410. In one embodiment, pins 412 couple collar 416 to core 410 and are welded or otherwise affixed in place”); see also FIGS. 5A-5B]; and
an accessory, which is guided through the tubular configuration of the head part [(416)] [¶[0033] - broadly, the mechanism allowing the retractor arms to be opened and closed].
15. Regarding claim 14, Mast discloses all of the limitations of claim 9 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Mast further discloses wherein the pin element [(412)] extends through the housing [(410)] through a hole and meshes with a formation [hole] of the head part [(416)] [see ¶[0032]; FIG. 4].
16. Regarding claim 15, Mast discloses all of the limitations of claim 9 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Mast further discloses wherein the pin element connects the head part to the housing with a positive-locking connection [NOTE: pin (412) extends transversely to a longitudinal axis of housing (401) (FIG. 4); this configuration is consistent with Applicant’s description of the connection in the Specification - see, e.g., Applicant’s published Specification (U.S. 2023/0181249) at ¶[0031] (“According to a preferred embodiment the pin element may be oriented transversely to a longitudinal axis of the housing. A positive-locking connection is advantageously possible in this manner, since the pin element is oriented transversely to a loading direction during an insertion or a removal of the surgical instrument into or out of the body region”)].
17. Regarding claim 18, Mast discloses all of the limitations of claim 9 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Mast further discloses wherein the pin element [(412)] is oriented transversely to a longitudinal axis of the housing [(410)] [clearly shown in FIG. 4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
20. Claims 7 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mast in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0344304 to Lindenmann et al. ("Lindenmann").
21. Regarding claims 7 & 19, Mast discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 & 9, respectively, for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Mast does not, however, disclose:
[claim 7] wherein the head part contains ceramic or is made of ceramic.
[claim 19] wherein the head part comprises a ceramic.
Lindenmann, in a similar field of endeavor, relates to instrument couplings [Abstract], and teaches that ceramic was a known, art-recognized, exemplary material suitable for use in surgical applications [see ¶[0164] (“The devices disclosed herein can be constructed from any of a variety of known materials. Exemplary materials include those which are suitable for use in surgical applications, including metals such as stainless steel, titanium, nickel, cobalt-chromium, or alloys and combinations thereof, polymers such as PEEK, ceramics, carbon fiber, and so forth. The various components of the devices disclosed herein can be rigid or flexible”)].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Mast such that the head part contains ceramic or is made of ceramic, or comprises ceramic, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
22. Claims 8, 17 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mast in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0287322 to Solsberg et al. ("Solsberg”).
23. Regarding claims 8 & 20, Mast discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 & 9, respectively, for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
24. Regarding claim 17, Mast discloses all of the limitations of claim 9 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Mast does not, however, disclose:
[claims 8 & 20] wherein the connection device is configured for a resectoscope; and
[claim 17] wherein the accessory comprises a monopolarly and/or bipolarly operable accessory.
Solsberg, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches tools, kits, methods and systems to access the facet joint and to permit medical procedures to be performed in the vicinity of the facet joint [e.g., ¶[0012]]. More particularly, Solsberg teaches a multipurpose device that may function as a tissue resector, trocar, drill, access device, retractor, irrigator and/or RF ablation electrode [e.g., ¶[0082]].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Mast such that the device be configured for a resectoscope, and usable with RF ablation electrode, since such a modification would provide the benefit/advantage of allowing various applications to be performed by a single device during a procedure without having to stop a procedure to change devices, thereby facilitating the device for a provider, and decreasing an overall procedure time.
25. Claims 10, 11, & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mast in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0198244 to Spivey et al. ("Spivey").
26. Regarding claim 10, Mast teaches a process for fixing a connection device, the process comprising the steps of:
providing the connection device, wherein the connection device comprises:
a housing [core (410) - ¶[0032]; FIG. 4] having a tubular configuration [core (410) is tubular - FIG. 4], the housing tubular configuration extending to a housing distal end [the entirety of core (410) is tubular - FIG. 4],
a head part [collar (416) - ¶[0032]; FIG. 4] having a tubular configuration [collar (416) is tubular - FIG. 4], and
a head part coupling which is arranged at the housing and is configured for a mechanical coupling of the head part [(416)] to the housing [(410)] distal end, wherein the head part coupling comprises a pin element [any of pins (412) - ¶[0032]; FIG. 4], which is configured to non-displaceably fix the housing [(410)] to the head part [(416)], and a weld seam, wherein the weld seam is configured to non-detachably fix the pin element [(412)] to the housing [(410)] via the weld seam [see ¶[0032] (“Collar 416 is coupled to core 410. In one embodiment, pins 412 couple collar 416 to core 410 and are welded or otherwise affixed in place”); see also FIGS. 5A-5B]; and
fixing the pin element [(412)] non-detachably to the housing [(410)] by the weld seam… such that the fixed pin element [(412)] non-displaceably fixes the tubular configuration of the head part [(416)] to the tubular configuration of the housing [(410) [¶[0032]].
LASER WELDING
While, as noted above, Mast teaches fixing the pin element [(412)] non-detachably to the housing [(410)] by means of welding [¶[0032]], Mast does not explicitly teach:
fixing the pin element [(412)] non-detachably to the housing [(410)] by the weld seam by a laser welding.
Spivey, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches that it was known to laser weld a fastener pin in place [see ¶[0045] (“In various embodiments, the fastener may comprise a pin welded to the blade members 108, 110 and/or clevis 112 at the pivot point. For example, the pin (not shown) may be laser welded”)].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Mast such that the pin element be non-detachably fixed to the housing by means of a laser welding, since such a particular known welding technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (as demonstrated by Spivey), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known welding technique to the known method of Mast (which likewise uses welding), and the results (attachment of the pin element to the housing) would have been entirely predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
27. Regarding claim 11, the combination of Mast and Spivey teaches all of the limitations of claim 10 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Mast further teaches configuring the pin and the head part such that the non-displaceable fixation of the housing to the head part is comprised by a positive-locking connection of the head part to the housing [NOTE: pin (412) extends transversely to a longitudinal axis of housing (401) (FIG. 4); this configuration is consistent with Applicant’s description of the connection in the Specification - see, e.g., Applicant’s published Specification (U.S. 2023/0181249) at ¶[0031] (“According to a preferred embodiment the pin element may be oriented transversely to a longitudinal axis of the housing. A positive-locking connection is advantageously possible in this manner, since the pin element is oriented transversely to a loading direction during an insertion or a removal of the surgical instrument into or out of the body region”)].
28. Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mast and Spivey teaches all of the limitations of claim 10 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Mast further teaches wherein the tubular configuration of the head part [(416)] is configured to guide an accessory through the head part [(416)] [¶[0033] - broadly, the mechanism allowing the retractor arms to be opened and closed].
Allowable Subject Matter
29. Claims 21-23 are each objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
30. Claim 21, which depends from independent claim 1, further requires the limitations:
wherein the housing comprises a shaft of the surgical instrument,
wherein the head part contains ceramic or is made of ceramic and forms a distal head of the connection device and is configured to guide the surgical instrument through a section of a body of a patient,
wherein the tubular configuration of the housing and the tubular configuration of the head part engage with a tubular overlap, with the tubular configuration of the housing guided in the tubular configuration of the head part or the tubular configuration of the head part guided in the tubular configuration of the housing,
wherein the head part coupling is provided at the tubular overlap,
wherein with the tubular configuration of the head part guided in the tubular configuration of the housing, the housing has a through hole and the pin extends through the housing through hole to mesh with a formation in the head part or with the tubular configuration of the head part guided in the tubular configuration of the housing the head part has a through hole and the pin extends through the head part through hole to mesh with a formation in the housing,
wherein the pin element is oriented transversely to a longitudinal axis of the housing, and
wherein the pin element connects the head part to the housing with a positive-locking connection.
Neither Mast, nor the other references of record, either alone or in combination, fairly teach or suggest the foregoing limitations, namely the head part forming a distal head of the connection device and being configured to guide the surgical instrument through a section of a body of a patient. As such, dependent claim 21 is patentable over the references of record.
31. Claim 22, which depends from independent claim 9, includes similar limitations to those of claim 21, and would therefore be allowable for the same reasons.
32. Claim 23, which depends from independent claim 10, includes similar limitations to those of claim 21, and would therefore be allowable for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
33. As noted above, the 10/09/25 Amendment has overcome the claim objections, and the rejections under §§ 112(b), 102, & 103 previously set forth in the 07/15/25 Action. More particularly, Mast has been applied under § 102 to demonstrate the breadth of independent claims 1, 9, & 10.
34. New claim objections, and new rejections under §§ 102 & 103 are set forth herein.
35. Because a new interpretation of “positive locking connection” has been applied in the rejection of dependent claims 3, 11, & 15 that was not applied in the 08/27/25 Action, this action constitutes a second Non-Final Action.
36. Finally, as noted above, claims 21-23 are each objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Bradford C. Blaise/Examiner, Art Unit 3794