DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 11/30/2022 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show essential elements as described in the specification (i.e. “a first winding WICK1 and a second winding WICK2. The first winding WICK1 has a first turn WIN1, a second turn WIN2 and an n-th turn WIN3”). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meguro et al. (hereinafter Meguro), Japanese Patent JP2009277802A.
Regarding Claim 1, Meguro teaches, a common mode choke (Fig. 9), comprising
a first coil (41a) with a winding from a first (T1, Fig.4), a second (T2, Fig. 4) to an n-th turn (TF),
wherein a coupling between the first turn (T1) and the second turn (T2) is different from a coupling between the second turn and the n-th turn (TF),
and wherein n is a number 2. (Meguro: Figs. 1, 4-13, machine translation, para. [0022], [0044], [0045], [0057]).
Regarding Claim 2, Meguro further teaches, comprising a second coil (41b) having a winding with a first, a second ... and an n-th turn. (Meguro: Figs. 1, 4-13, machine translation, para. [0022], [0044], [0045], [0057]).
Regarding Claim 3 and similarly claims 4 and 5, Meguro further teaches, wherein a coupling between the first turn and the second turn of the second coil is different from a coupling between the second turn and the n-th turn of the second coil. (Meguro: Figs. 1, 4-13, machine translation, para. [0022], [0044], [0045], [0057]).
Regarding Claim 6, Meguro further teaches, wherein the first turn, the second turn and the n-th turn have different lengths. (Meguro: Figs. 1, 4-13, machine translation, para. [0022], [0044], [0045], [0057]).
Regarding Claim 7 and similarly claims 8 and 9, Meguro further teaches, wherein the first coil comprises a magnetic core (“magnetic core 104” [0046]) around which the winding of the first coil is wound. (Meguro: Figs. 1, 4-13, machine translation, para. [0022], [0044], [0045], [0046]).
Regarding Claim 10, Meguro further teaches, wherein the magnetic core of the first coil and/or the winding of the first coil is conical or trapezoidal in shape. (Meguro: Figs. 1, 4-13, machine translation, para. [0046]).
Regarding Claim 11, Meguro further teaches, comprising a second coil (41b) formed symmetrically or anti-symmetrically with respect to the first coil (41a). (Meguro: Figs. 1, 4-13, machine translation, para. [0022], [0044], [0045], [0057]).
Regarding Claim 14, Meguro further teaches, comprising four terminals (“fixed to a tangle terminal (not shown) provided on the winding core 10” [0030]) for interconnection with an external circuit environment, wherein the common mode choke is configured as an SMD component (Fig. 9, Fig. 13 comprise SMD components). (Meguro: Figs. 1, 4-13, machine translation, para. [0022], [0044], [0045], [0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meguro, as applied to claim 1, in view of Sakamoto et al. (hereinafter Sakamoto), U.S. Patent 5,878,132.
Regarding Claim 12, Meguro is silent on the material of the conductive wire. (Meguro: Figs. 1, 4-13, machine translation, para. [0022], [0044], [0045], [0057]).
Meguro does not explicitly teach, wherein windings are made of a material selected from copper or an alloy with copper as main component, silver or an alloy with silver as main component.
However, Sakamoto (Fig. 7) teaches, wherein windings are made of a material selected from copper (“[t]he conductor may be copper”) or an alloy with copper as main component, silver or an alloy with silver as main component. (Sakamoto: Fig. 7, col. 5, lines 10-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the conductive wire of Meguro to include the copper wire of Sakamoto, the motivation being it is obvious to try since a finite group exist of economical conductor material. Therefore, the limitations of Claim 12 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Meguro in view of Sakamoto further teaches, wherein coil cores consist of a material selected from - a magnetic material, Ferrite (“ferrite”; col. 2, lines 5-6), MnZn, NiZn, iron powder, an organic material enriched with a magnetic material, and - a material comprising one of these materials as a major constituent, the motivation being “a chosen low dielectric-constant material which preferably has the dielectric constant K is ten (10) or less” (col. 2, 4-7). (Sakamoto: Fig. 7, col. 2, lines 4-7).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ogawa et al. (JP H10172832 A) and Sato (JP 2004047942 A).
Conclusion
/MALCOLM BARNES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
3/26/2026