DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FREEMAN-POWELL (US 20220141383 A1).
Regarding claim 1, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses a display system for a vehicle comprising:
a first camera in connection with the vehicle, wherein the first camera is configured to output unprocessed image data;
[0076] A second imaging device C2 (claimed “a first camera”) is disposed on the towing vehicle V2 and oriented in a rear-facing direction. And the towing vehicle camera C2 generates second image data DIMG2 corresponding to a towing vehicle image IMG2.
a second camera configured to output a first processed image data; and
[0074] A first imaging device C1 (claimed “a second camera”) is disposed on the towed vehicle V1 and oriented in a rear-facing direction.
[0075] C1 outputs a first signal SIN1 comprising said first image data DIMG1 corresponding to the towed vehicle image IMG1. A towed vehicle image IMG1 is shown in FIG. 3A by way of example.
a display controller in communication with the first camera via a conductive interface and the second camera via a wireless interface, wherein the controller is configured to:
[0086] The towing vehicle V2 comprises a display screen 28 on which the towed vehicle image IMG1, the towing vehicle image IMG2 (received from the towed vehicle camera C1 and the towing vehicle camera C2 respectively) and the composite image IMG3 can be selectively displayed. for The towed vehicle camera C1 is connected to a transmitter 22 configured to transmit the first image data DIMG1 as a radio frequency (RF) (claimed “wireless interface”) first signal SIN1 to a receiver 24 provided in the towing vehicle V2. And The second signal SIN2 comprising the second image data DIMG2 is input to the controller 10 via the one or more input(s) 14. The connection between the controller 10 and the towing vehicle camera C2 is a wired connection (claimed “conductive interface”)).
receive the unprocessed image data from the first camera;
[0092] the controller 10 receives the second image frame IMG2-F(t-4) from the towing vehicle camera C2
receive the first processed image data from the second camera;
[0075] C1 outputs a first signal SIN1 comprising said first image data DIMG1 corresponding to the towed vehicle image IMG1. A towed vehicle image IMG1 is shown in FIG. 3A by way of example.
generate second processed image data from the unprocessed image data; and
in FIG. 4A, first a window W1 is defined within the identified periphery P1 in image IMG2 considered as “second processed image data”).
selectively output the first processed image data and the second processed image data into a combined video stream output to a display device.
[0092]-[0096] and Fig. 4B for the iMG1 is superimposed on IMG2 in W1 area (the Pip IMG2 and IMG1 considered as “second processed image data”). in fact,
for The controller 10 outputs the corresponding first and second image frames IMG1-F(t-4), IMG2-F(t-4) to be combined to form the composite image IMG3. It will be understood that the first image frame IMG1-F(t-4) is buffered in this example, and the second image frame IMG2-F(t-4) is unbuffered.
Regarding claim 3, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display device in connection with the vehicle and in communication with the display controller via a display interface.
[0086] The towing vehicle V2 comprises a display screen 28 on which the towed vehicle image IMG1, the towing vehicle image IMG2 (received from the towed vehicle camera C1 and the towing vehicle camera C2 respectively) and the composite image IMG3 can be selectively displayed. for The towed vehicle camera C1 is connected to a transmitter 22 configured to transmit the first image data DIMG1 as a radio frequency (RF) first signal SIN1 to a receiver 24 provided in the towing vehicle V2.
And The second signal SIN2 comprising the second image data DIMG2 is input to the controller 10 via the one or more input(s) 14. The connection between the controller 10 and the towing vehicle camera C2 is a wired connection.
Regarding claim 4, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the system according to claim 3, wherein the display controller is interposed between the display device and the first camera along the conductive interface.
[0086] The second signal SIN2 comprising the second image data DIMG2 is input to the controller 10 via the one or more input(s) 14. The connection between the controller 10 and the towing vehicle camera C2 is a wired connection (claimed “conductive interface”)).
Regarding claim 5, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the display controller further comprises:
a first processing circuit configured to generate the second processed image data; and
[0101] Example controllers 10 have been described comprising at least one electronic processor 12 configured to execute electronic instructions stored within at least one memory device 18, which when executed causes the electronic processor(s) 12 to carry out the method as herein described. However, it is contemplated that the present invention is not limited to being implemented by way of programmable processing devices, and that at least some of, and in some embodiments all of, the functionality and or method steps of the present invention may equally be implemented by way of non-programmable hardware, such as by way of non-programmable ASIC, Boolean logic circuitry, etc.
a second processing circuit configured to control the output of the first processed image data and the second processed image data to a display device of the vehicle.
[00926] for The controller 10 outputs the corresponding first and second image frames IMG1-F(t-4), IMG2-F(t-4) to be combined to form the composite image IMG3. It will be understood that the first image frame IMG1-F(t-4) is buffered in this example, and the second image frame IMG2-F(t-4) is unbuffered.
Regarding claim 6, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the system according to claim 5, wherein the first processing circuit is an image signal processor (ISP) and the second processing circuit is a digital signal processor (DSP).
[0084] The, or each, electronic processor 12 may comprise any suitable electronic processor (e.g., a microprocessor, a microcontroller, an ASIC, etc.) that is configured to execute electronic instructions.
Regarding claim 7, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the conductive interface connection is a wired connection.
[0086] The second signal SIN2 comprising the second image data DIMG2 is input to the controller 10 via the one or more input(s) 14. The connection between the controller 10 and the towing vehicle camera C2 is a wired connection (claimed “conductive interface”)).
Regarding claim 8, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the unprocessed image data comprises first raw image data captured by the first camera.
[0074] A first imaging device C1 is disposed on the towed vehicle V1 and oriented in a rear-facing direction.
[0075] C1 outputs a first signal SIN1 comprising said first image data DIMG1 corresponding to the towed vehicle image IMG1. A towed vehicle image IMG1 is shown in FIG. 3A by way of example.
Regarding claim 9, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the first processed image data comprises encoded image data converted from second raw image data captured by the second camera.
[0092] for [0074] A first imaging device C1 is disposed on the towed vehicle V1 and oriented in a rear-facing direction.
[0075] C1 outputs a first signal SIN1 comprising said first image data DIMG1 corresponding to the towed vehicle image IMG1. A towed vehicle image IMG1 is shown in FIG. 3A by way of example.
Regarding claim 10, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the unprocessed image data is directly communicated to the display controller as a raw stream of unprocessed image frames.
[0011] The first and second imaging devices may have different connections to the controller, depending on the installation in the vehicle. For example, one imaging device may be hardwired to the controller, and the other imaging device may have a wireless connection to the controller (for example over a vehicle network).
[0086] for In the present embodiment, however, a wireless connection is established between the controller 10 and the towed vehicle camera C1.
Regarding claim 11, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses a method for displaying image data in a vehicle from a plurality of cameras, the method comprising:
capturing first unprocessed image data with a local camera;
receiving the unprocessed image data from the local camera;
[0092] the controller 10 receives the second image frame IMG2-F(t-4) from the towing vehicle camera C2
wirelessly receiving the first encoded image data with a display controller;
[0086] The towing vehicle V2 comprises a display screen 28 on which the towed vehicle image IMG1, the towing vehicle image IMG2 (received from the towed vehicle camera C1 and the towing vehicle camera C2 respectively) and the composite image IMG3 can be selectively displayed. for The towed vehicle camera C1 is connected to a transmitter 22 configured to transmit the first image data DIMG1 as a radio frequency (RF) (claimed “wireless interface”) first signal SIN1 to a receiver 24 provided in the towing vehicle V2. And The second signal SIN2 comprising the second image data DIMG2 is input to the controller 10 via the one or more input(s) 14. The connection between the controller 10 and the towing vehicle camera C2 is a wired connection (claimed “conductive interface”)).
generating second encoded image data from the unprocessed image data with the display controller; and
Fig. 4A for the iMG1 is resized and displayed in W1 (the resized IMG 1 is considered as “second processed image data”)
selectively combining the first processed image data and the second processed image data into a combined video stream; and
[0092]-[0096] and Fig. 4B for the iMG1 is superimposed on IMG2 in W1 area (the Pip IMG2 and IMG1 considered as “second processed image data”). in fact,
The controller 10 outputs the corresponding first and second image frames IMG1-F(t-4), IMG2-F(t-4) to be combined to form the composite image IMG3. It will be understood that the first image frame IMG1-F(t-4) is buffered in this example, and the second image frame IMG2-F(t-4) is unbuffered.
outputting the combined video stream to a display device.
Fig. 4B
Regarding claim 12, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the combined video stream is output to a vehicle display via a display interface.
[0086] The towing vehicle V2 comprises a display screen 28 on which the towed vehicle image IMG1, the towing vehicle image IMG2 (received from the towed vehicle camera C1 and the towing vehicle camera C2 respectively) and the composite image IMG3 can be selectively displayed. for The towed vehicle camera C1 is connected to a transmitter 22 configured to transmit the first image data DIMG1 as a radio frequency (RF) first signal SIN1 to a receiver 24 provided in the towing vehicle V2.
And The second signal SIN2 comprising the second image data DIMG2 is input to the controller 10 via the one or more input(s) 14. The connection between the controller 10 and the towing vehicle camera C2 is a wired connection.
Regarding claim 13, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the encoded image data is captured by a remote camera.
Fig. 19 for rearward facing vision camera (for capturing video image data that is displayed on a display of the vehicle for viewing by the driver of the vehicle during a reversing maneuver)
Regarding claim 14, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the method according to claim 13, further comprising:
capturing second unprocessed image data via the remote camera; and
Fig. 19 for the forward-facing camera module (having image processing circuitry incorporated therein) and a rearward facing vision camera
generating first encoded image data from the second unprocessed image data.
[0011] The first and second imaging devices may have different connections to the controller, depending on the installation in the vehicle. For example, one imaging device may be hardwired to the controller, and the other imaging device may have a wireless connection to the controller (for example over a vehicle network).
[0086] for In the present embodiment, however, a wireless connection is established between the controller 10 and the towed vehicle camera C1.
Regarding claim 15, HAYASHI discloses the method according to claim 14, further comprising:
wirelessly communicating the first encoded image data to the display controller.
[0011] The first and second imaging devices may have different connections to the controller, depending on the installation in the vehicle. For example, one imaging device may be hardwired to the controller, and the other imaging device may have a wireless connection to the controller (for example over a vehicle network).
[0086] for In the present embodiment, however, a wireless connection is established between the controller 10 and the towed vehicle camera C1.
Regarding claim 16, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising:
generating the second processed image data via an image signal processor (ISP) of the display controller.
[0084] The, or each, electronic processor 12 may comprise any suitable electronic processor (e.g., a microprocessor, a microcontroller, an ASIC, etc.) that is configured to execute electronic instructions.
Regarding claim 17, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising:
controlling the output of the combined video stream via a digital signal processor (DSP) of the display controller.
[0084] The, or each, electronic processor 12 may comprise any suitable electronic processor (e.g., a microprocessor, a microcontroller, an ASIC, etc.) that is configured to execute electronic instructions.
Regarding claim 18, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the system according to claim 11, wherein the unprocessed image data is received from the local camera via a wired interface.
[0086] The towing vehicle V2 comprises a display screen 28 on which the towed vehicle image IMG1, the towing vehicle image IMG2 (received from the towed vehicle camera C1 and the towing vehicle camera C2 respectively) and the composite image IMG3 can be selectively displayed. for The towed vehicle camera C1 is connected to a transmitter 22 configured to transmit the first image data DIMG1 as a radio frequency (RF) first signal SIN1 to a receiver 24 provided in the towing vehicle V2.
And The second signal SIN2 comprising the second image data DIMG2 is input to the controller 10 via the one or more input(s) 14. The connection between the controller 10 and the towing vehicle camera C2 is a wired connection.
Regarding claim 19, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses the system according to claim 11, wherein the unprocessed image data is directly communicated to the display controller as a raw stream of unprocessed image frames.
[0011] The first and second imaging devices may have different connections to the controller, depending on the installation in the vehicle. For example, one imaging device may be hardwired to the controller, and the other imaging device may have a wireless connection to the controller (for example over a vehicle network).
[0086] for In the present embodiment, however, a wireless connection is established between the controller 10 and the towed vehicle camera C1.
Regarding claim 20, FREEMAN-POWELL discloses a display system for a vehicle comprising:
a first camera in connection with the vehicle, wherein the first camera is configured to output unprocessed image data;
[0076] A second imaging device C2 (claimed “a first camera”) is disposed on the towing vehicle V2 and oriented in a rear-facing direction. And the towing vehicle camera C2 generates second image data DIMG2 corresponding to a towing vehicle image IMG2.
a second camera configured to output a first processed image data; and
[0074] A first imaging device C1 (claimed “a second camera”) is disposed on the towed vehicle V1 and oriented in a rear-facing direction.
[0075] C1 outputs a first signal SIN1 comprising said first image data DIMG1 corresponding to the towed vehicle image IMG1. A towed vehicle image IMG1 is shown in FIG. 3A by way of example.
conductive interface and the second camera via a wireless interface, wherein the controller is configured to:
[0086] The towing vehicle V2 comprises a display screen 28 on which the towed vehicle image IMG1, the towing vehicle image IMG2 (received from the towed vehicle camera C1 and the towing vehicle camera C2 respectively) and the composite image IMG3 can be selectively displayed. for The towed vehicle camera C1 is connected to a transmitter 22 configured to transmit the first image data DIMG1 as a radio frequency (RF) (claimed “wireless interface”) first signal SIN1 to a receiver 24 provided in the towing vehicle V2.
And The second signal SIN2 comprising the second image data DIMG2 is input to the controller 10 via the one or more input(s) 14. The connection between the controller 10 and the towing vehicle camera C2 is a wired connection (claimed “conductive interface”)).
receive the unprocessed image data from the first camera, wherein the unprocessed image data is directly communicated to the display controller as a raw stream of unprocessed image frames;
[0092] the controller 10 receives the second image frame IMG2-F(t-4) from the towing vehicle camera C2
receive the first processed image data from the second camera;
[0075] C1 outputs a first signal SIN1 comprising said first image data DIMG1 corresponding to the towed vehicle image IMG1. A towed vehicle image IMG1 is shown in FIG. 3A by way of example.
generate second processed image data from the unprocessed image data; and
in FIG. 4A, first a window W1 is defined within the identified periphery P1 in image IMG2 considered as “second processed image data”).
selectively combine the first processed image data and the second processed image data into a combined video stream output to a display device, wherein the display device is in connection with the vehicle and in communication with the display controller via a display interface.
[0092]-[0096] and Fig. 4B for the iMG1 is superimposed on IMG2 in W1 area (the Pip IMG2 and IMG1 considered as “second processed image data”). in fact,
for The controller 10 outputs the corresponding first and second image frames IMG1-F(t-4), IMG2-F(t-4) to be combined to form the composite image IMG3. It will be understood that the first image frame IMG1-F(t-4) is buffered in this example, and the second image frame IMG2-F(t-4) is unbuffered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAMIRA MONSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422