DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed February 13, 2026 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 112(b) rejection previously set-forth in the Final Office Action mailed on 11/13/2025. Currently, claims 1, 11, 19-20 have been amended, and claim 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the base member" in line 10. The recitation renders the scope of the claim as indefinite because it is unclear to Examiner whether this base member is different from the first base member previously recited in the claim or if they are the same structure. For examination purposes, Examiner will treat both base members as the same structure on the apparatus. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huszar (E.P. Application No. 2796103 B1), and further in view of Honour (U.S. Application No. 20070219551 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Huszar discloses an apparatus comprising:
(a) a catheter shaft assembly (110) (pa. 0048 & Fig. 1A) having a proximal end and a distal end, the catheter shaft assembly defining a longitudinal axis (see annotated of Fig. 1A below) (pa. 0085); and
(b) an end effector (120, specifically only a right side of the end effector seen in Fig. 11B) associated with the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly (pa. 0048), the end effector being asymmetric relative to the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 11B) and comprising a first flex circuit assembly (pa. 0031, 0046 & Figs. 3A-3E), the first flex circuit assembly comprising:
(i) a base member (155-j) extending distally from the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly along the longitudinal axis (pa. 0109),
(ii) a plurality of first obliquely extending members (1610-a) extending obliquely from the base member (pa. 0109) to one side of the longitudinal axis (again, Examiner is only relying on the right side of the end effector, including all the components/structures located on only that side of the end effector), the first obliquely extending members being configured to transition between a first configuration (a collapsed state) (pa. 0046) and a second configuration (an expanded state) (pa. 0046), the first obliquely extending members being configured to fit within an outer sheath (115) in the first configuration (pa. 0052), the first extending members being configured to expand outwardly away from the longitudinal axis in the second configuration when exposed distally relative to the distal end of the outer sheath (see Fig. 1A),
(iii) a plurality of first electrodes positioned on at least some of the first obliquely extending members (pa. 0046), the first electrodes being positioned to contact one or both of tissue or blood (pa. 0056), and
a tail member (135) proximal of the base member (pa. 0051), the tail member comprising a plurality of first electrode termination pads (a positive, negative, and ground terminal) in electrical communication with the plurality of first electrodes (via a first bus and a second bus, pa. 0056).
However, Huszar does not teach the tail member being wrapped about the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly.
Honour, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a catheter shaft assembly comprising a flexible printed circuit (34) with a plurality of electrical traces (36) and a connection point/termination pad (48) at its proximal end in electrical communication with a plurality of electrodes (44) and to other flexible circuits (pa. 0064-0065 & Figs. 2-2A), wherein the proximal end of the flexible printed circuit may be fixed longitudinally to the shaft (46), or it may be helically or spirally wrapped around the shaft (pa. 0104 & Fig. 17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wrapped the tail member of Van to the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly, as taught by Honour, in order to provide greater flexibility to the overall shaft when the catheter is being bent or otherwise manipulated during a procedure (Honour, pa. 0104).
Regarding claim 2, Huszar/Honour combination discloses the first flex circuit assembly further comprising an offset member (see arrow on annotated Fig. 11B of Huszar below), the offset member being laterally offset from the base member, the first obliquely extending members extending from the base member to the offset member.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Huszar/Honour combination discloses the offset member being oriented parallel with the base member and the longitudinal axis (see dashed line denoting the longitudinal axis on the annotated Fig. 11B of Huszar below claim 2).
Regarding claim 5, Huszar/Honour combination discloses the offset member being longitudinally offset relative to the base member (see annotated Fig. 11B of Huszar below claim 2).
Regarding claim 6, Huszar/Honour combination discloses the offset member, the base member, and two of the first obliquely extending members together defining a parallelogram shape (Huszar, see Fig. 11B).
Regarding claim 7, Huszar/Honour combination discloses the offset member, the base member, and two of the first obliquely extending members together defining a plurality of openings (1615-a) (Huszar, pa. 0109).
Regarding claim 8, Huszar/Honour combination discloses the first obliquely extending members being obliquely oriented relative to the longitudinal axis (Huszar, see Fig. 11B).
Regarding claim 9, Huszar/Honour combination discloses the first obliquely extending members including a proximal-most first obliquely extending member, the proximal-most first obliquely extending member defining an oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis (Huszar, see Fig. 11B).
Regarding claim 10, Huszar/Honour combination discloses the oblique angle ranging from approximately 90 degrees to approximately 170 degrees (Huszar, pa. 0036).
Regarding claim 17, Huszar discloses the end effector further comprising a second flex circuit assembly (120, specifically a left side of the end effector seen in Fig. 11B), the second flex circuit assembly comprising:
a plurality of second obliquely extending members (1610-a) (pa. 0109), the second obliquely extending members of the second flex circuit assembly being configured to transition in a third configuration (a collapsed state) (pa. 0046) and a fourth configuration (i.e., an expanded state) (pa. 0046), the second obliquely extending members of the second flex circuit assembly being configured to fit within the outer sheath in the third configuration (pa. 0052), the second obliquely extending members of the second flex circuit assembly being configured to expand outwardly away from the longitudinal axis in the fourth configuration when exposed distally relative to the distal end of the outer sheath (See Fig. 1A), and
a plurality of second electrodes positioned on at least some of the second extending members of the second flex circuit assembly (pa. 0046), the second electrodes of the second flex circuit assembly being positioned to contact one or both of tissue or blood (pa. 0056).
Regarding claim 18, Huszar/Honour combination discloses the base member and the plurality of first obliquely extending members being configured to extend along a flat plane when exposed distally relative to the distal end of the outer sheath (Huszar, pa. 0076).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Huszar and Honour, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Basu (W.O. Application No. 2021053460 A2).
Regarding claim 11, Huszar discloses the end effector may include sensor elements (pa. 0176).
However, Huszar/Honour combination do not disclose one or more position sensors and the plurality of first electrodes being disposed on opposite planar surfaces of each first obliquely extending member.
Basu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a catheter system comprising an end effector (200) with a plurality of position sensors (290) (pa. 0036) on a first surface (214) and a plurality of electrodes on a second surface (216) (pa. 0046 & Figs. 3-5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the sensor element of Huszar with the position sensor taught by Basu in order to determine the position of the end effector of the catheter within the patient. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to have provided the position sensors of Basu on an opposite surface of the electrodes of Huszar since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 12, Huszar discloses the end effector, including the first flex circuit, may include sensor elements (pa. 0176).
However, Huszar/Honour combination do not explicitly disclose a position sensor.
Basu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a catheter system comprising an end effector (200) with a plurality of position sensors (290) (pa. 0036).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the sensor element of Huszar with the position sensor taught by Basu in order to determine the position of the end effector of the catheter within the patient.
Regarding claim 13, Huszar discloses the end effector may include sensor elements (pa. 0176).
However, Huszar/Honour combination do not disclose the end effector comprising one or more temperature sensors.
Basu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a catheter system comprising an end effector (200) with a plurality of temperature sensors (240) (pa. 0045 & Fig. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the sensor element of Huszar with the temperature sensor taught by Basu in order to sense the temperature of tissue that contacts the end effector.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Huszar and Honour, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crow (W.O. Application No. 2017070559 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Huszar/Honour combination discloses the first flex circuit assembly further comprising:
(i) a first flex circuit subassembly, the first flex circuit subassembly including:
(A) a first flexible substrate (1605-a) (Huszar, pa. 0109), and
(B) at least some of the first electrodes of the plurality of first electrodes being positioned along the first flexible substrate (Huszar, pa. 0145).
However, they do not disclose the first flex circuit comprising a second flex circuit subassembly.
Crow, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a flex circuit assembly (130) (pa. 0093) comprising a first flex circuit subassembly (i.e., a first layer of a multilayered conductive flexible framework 165, pa. 000111) including a first flexible substrate (166) and a plurality of electrodes (163-1) are positioned along the first flexible substrate (pa. 00108-00109 & Fig. 4A-4C).
Crow further teaches a second flex circuit subassembly (i.e. a second layer of the multilayered conductive flexible framework) including a second flexible substrate (166), the second flexible substrate being secured in apposition with the first flexible substrate to form a multi-layer laminate (pa. 00111), and one or more electrical features (162-1) configured to generate signals, the one or more electrical features being positioned along the second flexible substrate (pa. 00105).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first flex circuit of Huszar to go from a single layer to a multilayered flex circuit as taught by Crow for the purpose of providing enhanced functionality of sensing and ablation within a smaller space by stacking the conductive layers. Furthermore, whether the flex circuit is single or multi-layered, both are known variants that will yield the same predictable results of providing a flexible substrate for electrodes while allowing for electrical communication/transportation of signals.
Regarding claim 16, Huszar/Honour combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claims 1 and 15 discussed above.
However, they do not disclose the first flex circuit assembly further comprising a third flex circuit subassembly.
Crow, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the flex circuit assembly further comprising a third flex circuit subassembly (i.e., a third layer of the multilayered conductive flexible framework) (pa. 00111), the third flex circuit subassembly including:
a third flexible substrate (166), the third flexible substrate being secured in apposition with the second flexible substrate to form the multi-layer laminate, with the second flexible substrate being interposed between the first flexible substrate and the third flexible substrate (pa. 00111), and
at least some additional electrodes (163-3) of the plurality of first electrodes being positioned along the third flexible substrate (pa. 00106-00107).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first flex circuit of Huszar to go from a single layer to a multilayered flex circuit as taught by Crow for the purpose of providing enhanced functionality of sensing and ablation within a smaller space by stacking the conductive layers. Furthermore, whether the flex circuit is single or multi-layered, both are known variants that will yield the same predictable results of providing a flexible substrate for electrodes while allowing for electrical communication/transportation of signals.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van (E.P. Application No. 3998975 B1) and further in view of Honour (U.S. Application No. 20070219551 A1).
Regarding independent claim 19, Van discloses an apparatus (100) comprising:
(a) a catheter shaft assembly (150) (pa. 0016 & Figs. 1-2B) having a proximal end and a distal end, the catheter shaft assembly defining a longitudinal axis (LA) (pa. 0017); and
(b) an end effector (200) associated with the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly (pa. 0016), the end effector comprising:
(i) a first flex circuit assembly (on an individual/first leaflet 210, as seen in Fig. 3) (pa. 0024, 0034), the first flex circuit assembly comprising:
(A) a first base member (240) extending distally from the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly (pa. 0025 & Fig. 4),
(B) a first plurality of first obliquely extending members (242) extending obliquely from the base member (pa. 0025), the first obliquely extending members being configured to fit within an outer sheath (122) (pa. 0016) in a first configuration (a retracted state, see Fig. 2A) and to expand outwardly away from the longitudinal axis in a second configuration (an expanded state, see Fig. 2B) when exposed distally relative to the distal end of the outer sheath (pa. 0016-0017), the first base member and the first obliquely extending members being configured to extend along a first flat plane when exposed distally relative to the distal end of the outer sheath (pa. 0020 & Fig. 3),
(C) a first plurality of first electrodes (250, 260) positioned on the first obliquely extending members (pa. 0029), the first electrodes being positioned to contact one or both of tissue or blood (pa. 0029), and
(D) a first tail member (proximal portion of the individual/first leaflet structure) proximal of the base member, wherein the first tail member is connected to the distal end of the catheter shaft (pa. 0024); and
(ii) a second flex circuit assembly (on an individual/second leaflet 210, as seen in Fig. 3) (pa. 0024, 0034), the second flex circuit assembly comprising:
(A) a second base member (240) extending distally from the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly (pa. 0025 & Fig. 4),
(B) a second plurality of second obliquely extending members (242) extending obliquely from the second base member (pa. 0025), the second obliquely extending members being configured to fit within the outer sheath (pa. 0016) in a third configuration (a retracted state, see Fig. 2A) and to expand outwardly away from the longitudinal axis in a fourth configuration (an expanded state, see Fig. 2B) when exposed distally relative to the distal end of the outer sheath (pa. 0016-0017), the second base member and the second obliquely extending members being configured to extend along a second flat plane when exposed distally relative to the distal end of the outer sheath (pa. 0020 & Fig. 3),
(C) a second plurality of second electrodes (250, 260) positioned on the second obliquely extending members (pa. 0029), the second electrodes being positioned to contact one or both of tissue or blood (pa. 0029), and
(D) a second tail member (proximal portion of the individual/second leaflet structure) proximal of the base member, the first and second flex circuit assemblies being connected to each other only at the first and second tail members such that the first and second base members are configured to be deflectable away from each other (pa. 0024).
However, Van is silent on the first tail member comprising a plurality of first electrode termination pads in electrical communication with the plurality of first electrodes; and the first tail member specifically being wrapped about the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly.
Honour, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a catheter shaft assembly comprising a flexible printed circuit (34) with a plurality of electrical traces (36) and a connection point/termination pad (48) at its proximal end in electrical communication with a plurality of electrodes (44) and to other flexible circuits (pa. 0064-0065 & Figs. 2-2A), wherein the proximal end of the flexible printed circuit may be fixed longitudinally to the shaft (46), or it may be helically or spirally wrapped around the shaft (pa. 0104 & Fig. 17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the termination pads of Honour in the first tail of Van for the purpose of allowing reliable electrical interconnection between the plurality of electrodes as well as the second flex circuit of Van. Moreover, it would have been obvious to have wrapped the tail member of Van to the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly, as taught by Honour, in order to provide greater flexibility to the overall shaft when the catheter is being bent or otherwise manipulated during a procedure (Honour, pa. 0104).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crow (W.O. Application No. 2017070559 A1), in view of Huszar (E.P. Application No. 2796103 B1), in view of Honour (U.S. Application No. 20070219551 A1), and further in view of Thomas (E.P. Application No. 2699151B1).
Regarding independent claim 20, Crow discloses an apparatus comprising:
(a) a catheter shaft assembly (107) (pa. 0085 & Fig. 1A) having a proximal end and a distal end, the catheter shaft assembly defining a longitudinal axis (aa) (pa. 0085); and
(b) an end effector (110, 470, 500) associated with the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly (pa. 000181-00182 & Figs. 18G-19A), the end effector comprising a flex circuit assembly (130) (pa. 0093 & Figs. 3A-3E), the flex circuit assembly comprising:
a plurality of longitudinally extending portions (471-1, 471-2) (pa. 00181 & Fig. 18G),
a plurality of extending portions (474-1, 474-2, ..., 474-6) extending perpendicular between the longitudinally extending portions (pa. 00181), the extending portions being configured to transition between a first configuration (i.e., a retracted state inside a delivery catheter/introducer during delivery/removal) (pa. 0086) and a second configuration (i.e., an expanded state) (0086), the extending portions being configured to fit within an outer sheath (i.e., the delivery catheter/introducer) in the first configuration, the extending portions being configured to expand outwardly away from the longitudinal axis in the second configuration when exposed distally relative to the distal end of the outer sheath (see Fig. 1A),
one or more predefined buckling regions (i.e., created during construction of the extending portions and the longitudinally extending portions by using materials that allow for foldability), the predefined buckling regions being configured to buckle in response to retraction of the end effector into the outer sheath (pa. 0086),
a plurality of electrodes (502-1, 502-2, ... , 502- 16) positioned on at least some of the extending portions (pa. 00182), the electrodes being positioned to contact one or both of tissue or blood (pa. 00190), and
(v) a tail member (516) proximal of the base member (pa. 00182), the tail member comprising a plurality of first electrode termination pads (520-1, 520-2, ... , 520-9) in electrical communication with the plurality of first electrodes (via electrical traces 518, pa. 00185).
However, Crow does not disclose the first extending members being in an oblique orientation.
Huszar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a catheter assembly comprising an end effector with a central axis spline (1630) (analogous to the base member) and a plurality of splines (1610) (analogous to the extending members) (pa. 0104, 0106 & Fig. 11A), wherein the splines may extend in a straight horizontal orientation (as seen in Fig. 13D) or may extend from the central axis spline at an oblique angle in the range of 0 degrees to 90 degrees (pa. 0036).
It would have been prima facie obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the perpendicular extending members of Crow with the oblique extending members of Huszar since applicant has not disclosed that the oblique extending members solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the perpendicular extending members. Furthermore, either design would yield the same predictable results of providing a flexible member where electrodes may be disposed on.
However, Crow/Huszar combination do not teach the tail member being wrapped about the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly.
Honour, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a catheter shaft assembly comprising a flexible printed circuit (34) with a plurality of electrical traces (36) and a connection point/pad (48) at its proximal end (pa. 0064-0065 & Figs. 2-2A), wherein the proximal end of the flexible printed circuit may be fixed longitudinally to the shaft (46), or it may be helically or spirally wrapped around the shaft (pa. 0104 & Fig. 17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wrapped the tail member of Crow to the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly, as taught by Honour, in order to provide greater flexibility to the overall shaft when the catheter is being bent or otherwise manipulated during a procedure (Honour, pa. 0104).
However, Crow/Huszar/Honour combination do not teach the one or more predefined buckling regions comprising a distal recess defined between the two distal-most obliquely extending portions and one of the plurality of longitudinally extending portions, or an internal recess at an intersection of one of the obliquely extending portions and one of the plurality of longitudinally extending portions.
Thomas, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a catheter assembly (10) with a distal end effector (12) comprising a plurality of splines (14) (pa. 0011 & Fig. 2) and an outer sheath (22), wherein the splines include a proximal spline portions (62), a medial spline portions (64), and a distal spline portions (66) (see Fig. 7). In order for the splines to compress/fold into the outer sheath (see Figs. 5-6), a plurality of buckle points (102), depicted as an inwardly curved notches/recesses in Fig. 23A, may be disposed at any location along the proximal, medial, and/or the distal spline portions (pa. 0032).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the inwardly curved notches/recesses taught by Thomas to the buckling regions of Crow, specifically either between the two distal-most obliquely extending portions and one of the plurality of longitudinally extending portions, or at an intersection of one of the obliquely extending portions and one of the plurality of longitudinally extending portions, for the purpose of providing inflection points that provide the end effector with improved matching of the contours of the interior of the outer sheath.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to newly amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that none of the cited references, whether considered alone or in any combination, discloses or suggests the features of the claim language. However, Examiner disagrees.
While Examiner concedes that the Crow reference does not properly disclose all the newly amended features, the combination of Huszar in view of Honour do. As described in the action above, the Huszar reference is able to disclose an end effector associated with the distal end of the catheter shaft assembly, the end effector being asymmetric relative to the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 11B, where the right side of the end effector is not symmetrical to the left side), and a plurality of first obliquely extending members extending obliquely from the base member to one side of the longitudinal axis (Examiner is only relying on the right side of the end effector, including all the components/structures located on only that side of the end effector. Furthermore, the claim language is broad and does not require that the first obliquely extending members extend from the base member from only one side of the longitudinal axis). Therefore, these new interpretations of the Huszar reference reject all the new limitations of claim 1.
With respect to the rejection 103 of claims 19-20 under Crow, Huszar, and Honour have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, Applicant’s amendments to claim 19 to further require a second tail member, wherein the first and second flex circuit assemblies being connected to each other only at the first and second tail members such that the first and second base members are configured to be deflectable away from each other is defined over Crow, Huszar, and Honour given that they do not contemplate this claimed structure. Similarly with claim 20, the combination of the previously cited references to do not teach the one or more predefined buckling regions comprising a distal recess defined between the two distal-most obliquely extending portions and one of the plurality of longitudinally extending portions, or an internal recess at an intersection of one of the obliquely extending portions and one of the plurality of longitudinally extending portions. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, the following new grounds of rejection have been set forth in the action above:
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van (E.P. Application No. 3998975 B1) and further in view of Honour (U.S. Application No. 20070219551 A1).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crow (W.O. Application No. 2017070559 A1), in view of Huszar (E.P. Application No. 2796103 B1), in view of Honour (U.S. Application No. 20070219551 A1), and further in view of Thomas (E.P. Application No. 2699151B1).
It is the Examiner’s position that the newly filed rejections based on the combination of references are tenable for at least the reasoning set forth in the action above.
Conclusion
/A.V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/Ronald Hupczey, Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794