Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 10, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner (D461,027) in view of Clark et al. (5,868,447).
RE claims 1 and 10, Gardner (D461,027) discloses a waste collection assembly (see Figs. 1-21), comprising: a collector configured to collect and transmit waste having: a body (see Exhibit A) formed by an outer and inner surface; a channel; a surface having positioned along the bottom front surface of the said collector; a pole adaptor (see Exhibit A) having a coupler position; a receptacle (see Fig. 7) configured secure the waste transmitted through the channel; at least one coupler (see Exhibit A) configured to secure said receptacle to the terminal portion of said collector; and a pole (see Exhibit A) configured to be secured with said pole adaptor through said coupler position, but does not specifically show a forked surface having a plurality of tines positioned along the bottom front surface of the said collector. However, Figs. 1-3 of Clark et al. (5,868,447) teach a forked surface having a plurality of tines (60, 60) (see Col. 3, lines 43-65) positioned along the bottom front surface of the said collector. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plurality of tines on the along the bottom front surface of the said collector of Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) as taught Clark et al. (5,868,447) to allow the tines to penetrate the waste and to effectively collect the waste.
RE claims 2 and 11, Fig. 7 of Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) shows a waste bag, but does not specifically teach a plastic bag. However, Clark et al. (5,868,447) teaches a waste bag (90, 92) being made of plastic (from Col. 2, line 65, to Col. 3, line 10). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plastic material on the waste bag of Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) as taught Clark et al. (5,868,447) to provide a light bag to a user.
RE claims 4, 5, and 13, Figs. 7 and 9 of Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) show a lower guide extension (see Exhibit A) positioned on the bottom portion of the collector and configured to extend into said receptacle and an upper guide extension (see Exhibit A) positioned on the top portion of the collector and configured to extend into said receptacle.
Exhibit A
[AltContent: textbox (Lower guide extension (RE claim 4))][AltContent: textbox (Upper guide extension (RE claims 4 & 5) )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Elongated pole)][AltContent: textbox (Body )][AltContent: textbox (Channel )][AltContent: textbox (Pole adaptor)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Front bottom surface)]
RE claim 6, Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) shows that said collector, coupler, pole adaptor and said pole comprise a unitary integral component.
RE claims 9 and 16, Fig. 8 of Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) displays
said pole is secured with said pole adaptor and positioned at approximately about 40 degree (measured), which is between 30 degree and 60 degree) angle relative to said collector when positioned along a horizontal axis.
Claims 2, 3, 11, 12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner (D461,027) and Clark et al. (5,868,447) and further in view of Willis (4,149,745).
RE claims 3, 13, 17, and 18, Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027), as presented above, discloses all the structural elements as recited except having a catch positioned along the bottom surface of said collector body and configured to secure said plastic bag to the terminal portion of said collector and at least one notch positioned on the upper surface of said body and configured to secure said plastic bag to the terminal portion of said collector. However, Figs. 1 and 2 of Willis (4,149,745) teaches a catch (36, 38) positioned along the bottom surface and at least one notch (46, 48) positioned on the upper surface of said body. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a catch (36, 38) positioned along the bottom surface and at least one notch (46, 48) positioned on the upper surface of said body of Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) as taught by Willis (4,149,745) to provide as a means to secure the bag.
RE claims 2 and 11, Fig. 7 of Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) shows a waste bag, but does not specifically teach a plastic bag. However, Fig. 1 of Willis (4,149,745) teaches a waste plastic bag (11) (see Col. 3, lines 13-30). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plastic bag on the Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) as taught Willis (4,149,745) to provide a light bag to a user.
RE claim 19, Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) shows that said collector, coupler, pole adaptor and said pole comprise a unitary integral component.
Claims 7, 8, 14, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner (D461,027) and Clark et al. (5,868,447) and further in view of Northrop et al. (US 2011/0049917).
RE claims 7, 8, 14, and 20, Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027), as presented above, shows a pole, but does not show a telescoping pole or handle. However, Fig. 7 of Northrop et al. (US 2011/0049917) teaches a waste collector having a pole adaptor with an inner thread (52) and a telescoping handle or pole (16). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a thread connection on the adaptor and a telescoping pole on the Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) as taught by Northrop et al. (US 2011/0049917) to provide a convenience to assemble or disassemble to a user.
RE claim 15, Fig. 8 of Gardner waste collection assembly (D461,027) shows that an integral pole adaptor positioned on the top surface of said collector and extending beyond the terminal plane of said channel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651