DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 6-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 32 recites, ”the common direct current bus in configured to connect”, which should be corrected to “the common direct current bus is configured to connect”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7, line 21 recites, ”the common direct current bus in configured to connect”, which should be corrected to “the common direct current bus is configured to connect”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port, and the fifth port is configured to receive the drive signal and the first switch component is configured to be forward conducted; and
when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port, and the fifth port does not receive the drive signal, the first diode is configured to be reversely cut off and the first switch component is configured to be forward cut off”, in lines 23-29 which render the claim indefinite.
In the above phrase, the same limitation is recited in the first part, “when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port” and two conflicting limitations are recited in the second part, “and the fifth port is configured to receive the drive signal and the first switch component is configured to be forward conducted” and “the fifth port does not receive the drive signal”.
For examination purposes, the above phrase is considered in the alternatives, “when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port, and the fifth port is configured to receive the drive signal and the first switch component is configured to be forward conducted;
when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port, and the fifth port does not receive the drive signal, the first diode is configured to be reversely cut off and the first switch component is configured to be forward cut off”. Claims 2-5 depend from Claim 1 and rejected due to dependency to a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kube (US 2018/0097390).
Regarding Claim 1, Kube discloses a fault protection apparatus, applied to a system based on a common direct current bus (Figures 1-7), the fault protection apparatus comprising:
a first diode (comprising DL, Figures 1, 2a, 2b);
a first switch component (comprising TE, Figures 1, 2a, 2b);
a control unit (comprising 11, Figures 1, 4);
a first port, wherein the first port is configured to be connected to one of a plurality of connections on a positive common direct current bus of the common direct current bus (a first port configured to be connected to one of a plurality of connections on DC bus coupled to positive terminal of inverter 4/load 5, Figure 1);
a second port, wherein the second port is configured to be connected to one of a plurality of connections on a negative common direct current bus of the common direct current bus (a second port configured to be connected to one of a plurality of connections on DC bus coupled to negative terminal of inverter 4/load 5, Figure 1);
a third port, wherein the third port is configured to be connected to a positive local bus of a branch on which the fault protection apparatus is located (a third port configured to be connected to DC bus coupled to positive terminal of battery 2, 3, Figure 1);
a fourth port, wherein the fourth port is configured to be connected to a negative local bus of the branch on which the fault protection apparatus is located (a fourth port configured to be connected to DC bus coupled to negative terminal of battery 2, 3, Figure 1); and
a fifth port, wherein one side of the fifth port is configured to be connected to a control terminal of the first switch component and the other side of the fifth port is configured to be connected to the control unit (a fifth port connected to the gate of TE and to the control unit 11, Figure 1);
the first diode and the first switch component are configured to be connected to a power system through the first port, the second port, the third port, and the fourth port (DL, TE configured to be connected to a battery 2, 3 and inverter 4/load 5, Figure 1), and the control unit is configured to send a drive signal to control the first switch component (Figures 1, 4, Paragraph 32); and
wherein the first diode is configured so that when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is lower than a voltage between the first port and the second port, the first diode is configured to be forward conducted (Figures 1, 2a, 2b, Paragraph 33, “.In the charging direction, the current ILAD flows into the battery 2. For this purpose, the transistors TE are blocked since, in the inverse operation, they have a higher resistance than the diodes DL..”);
when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port, and the fifth port is configured to receive the drive signal and the first switch component is configured to be forward conducted (Figures 1, 2a, 2b, Paragraph 33, “…when the transistors TE are in the discharging direction, that is to say, when current IELAD is flowing out of the battery 2, they are actuated so as to be in the conductive state. Since the diodes DL are polarized in the blocking direction, the current IELAD flows exclusively via the transistors TE…”); and
when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port, and the fifth port does not receive the drive signal, the first diode is configured to be reversely cut off and the first switch component is configured to be forward cut off wherein the fault protection apparatus is configured to implement bidirectional electric energy flow between the branch the local bus of the branch and the common direct current bus (when voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port diode DL is reverse biased/cutoff and TE is cutoff/switched off when not activated by the control signal at the gate/fifth port, Figure 1);
wherein the fault protection apparatus is configured to implement bidirectional electric energy flow between the branch the local bus of the branch and the common direct current bus (Figures 2a, 2b shows bidirectional current flow, Figure 2a shows forward current path from battery and Figure 2b shows reverse current flow to battery, Paragraph 33),
wherein the common direct current bus in configured to connect a plurality of fault protection apparatus, a plurality of direct current sources, and an inverter unit (common direct current bus connecting plurality of DL, TE, plurality of 3 and inverter unit in 4, Figures 1, 2a, 2b) and wherein a first capacitor is configured to be connected in parallel between the first port and the second port (comprising Czk, Figure 1).
Regarding the recited “photovoltaic” system in the preamble, it is noted that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987), and furthermore it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Kube does not specifically disclose additional inverter units to have plurality of inverter units and a second capacitor is configured to be connected in parallel between the third port and the fourth port.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the fault protection apparatus of Kube, additional inverter unit to have plurality of first inverter units such that plurality of load devices can be power via dedicated inverter units and to provide an additional capacitor to suppress transients to provide stable voltage/signal between the respective ports.
Regarding Claim 2, Kube discloses the fault protection apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first diode further comprises: a plurality of diodes configured to be connected in parallel (a first DL and a second DL connected in parallel, Figures 1, 2a, 2b); and the first switch component further comprises: a plurality of switch components configured to be connected in parallel (a first TE and a second TE connected in parallel, Figures 1, 2a, 2b).
Regarding Claim 3, Kube discloses the fault protection apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first switch component is either an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) or a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) (IGBTs TE, Figures 1, 2a, 2b, IGBTs, TE and MOSFETs, TE, Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 4, Kube discloses the fault protection apparatus according to Claim 3, wherein when the first switch component is the MOSFET, a body diode in the MOSFET is the first diode or a body diode is a diode in the first diode (TE, MOSFETs connected in parallel, Figure 7, Paragraph 33, “…if the transistors are configured as MOSFETs, intrinsic diodes (also known as body diodes) of the transistors TE can be used”).
Regarding Claim 5, Kube discloses the fault protection apparatus according to Claim 3, wherein an anode of the first diode is configured to be connected to the first port, a cathode of the first diode is configured to be connected to the third port (anode of DL connected to the first port and cathode of DL connected to the third port, Figure 1), an emitter of the IGBT or a source of the MOSFET is configured to be connected to the first port, a collector of the IGBT or a drain of the MOSFET is configured to be connected to the third port (emitter of TE connected to the first port and collector of TE connected to the third port, Figure 1), and the second port is configured to be connected to the fourth port (second port is configured to be connected to the fourth port via 8, Figure 1); or
a cathode of the first diode is configured to be connected to the second port, an anode of the first diode is configured to be connected to the fourth port, a collector of the IGBT or a drain of the MOSFET is configured to be connected to the second port, an emitter of the IGBT or a source of the MOSFET is configured to be connected to the fourth port (Figure 1 shows TE, DL connection between the first port and third port, and 8 in Figure 1 replaced by TE, DL for the corresponding current directions, have the cathode of DL connected to the second port and anode of DL connected to the fourth port, collector of TE connected to the second port, emitter of TE connected to the fourth port, Paragraph 32, “…..The essential difference from the embodiment of FIG. 4 is that the relay 8 was replaced by a parallel connection of several transistors TE…”), and the first port is configured to be connected to the third port (first port is configured to connected to the third port via TE, DL, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Kube discloses a fault protection apparatus, applied to system based on a common direct current bus(Figures 1-7), the fault protection apparatus comprising:
a second diode (comprising DL, Figures 1, 2a, 2b),
a sixth port, wherein the sixth port is configured to be connected to one of a plurality of connections on a positive common direct current bus of the common direct current bus (a sixth port configured to be connected to one of a plurality of connections on DC bus coupled to positive terminal of inverter 4/load 5, Figure 1);
a seventh port, wherein the seventh port is configured to be connected to one of a plurality of connections on a negative common direct current bus of the common direct current bus (a seventh port configured to be connected to one of a plurality of connections on DC bus coupled to negative terminal of inverter 4/load 5, Figure 1);
an eighth port, wherein the eighth port is configured to be connected to a positive local bus of a branch on which the fault protection apparatus is located (an eighth port configured to be connected to DC bus coupled to positive terminal of battery 2, 3, Figure 1); and
a ninth port, wherein the ninth port is configured to be connected to a negative local bus of the branch on which the fault protection apparatus is located (a ninth port configured to be connected to DC bus coupled to negative terminal of battery 2, 3, Figure 1), and the second diode is configured to be connected to a power system through the sixth port, the seventh port, the eighth port, and the ninth port (DL configured to be connected to a battery 2, 3 and inverter 4/load 5 through the sixth, seventh, eighth and the ninth ports, Figure 1); and
wherein the second diode is configured so that when a voltage between the eighth port and the ninth port is lower than a voltage between the sixth port and the seventh port, the second diode is configured to be forward conducted (Figures 1, 2a, 2b, Paragraph 33, “.In the charging direction, the current ILAD flows into the battery 2. For this purpose, the transistors TE are blocked since, in the inverse operation, they have a higher resistance than the diodes DL..”); and
when a voltage between the eighth port and the ninth port is higher than a voltage between the sixth port and the seventh port, the second diode is configured to be reversely cut off (Figures 1, 2a, 2b, Paragraph 33, “…when the transistors TE are in the discharging direction, that is to say, when current IELAD is flowing out of the battery 2, they are actuated so as to be in the conductive state. Since the diodes DL are polarized in the blocking direction, the current IELAD flows exclusively via the transistors TE…”),
wherein the fault protection apparatus is configured to implement bidirectional electric energy flow between the branch the local bus of the branch and the common direct current bus (Figures 2a, 2b shows bidirectional current flow, Figure 2a shows forward current path from battery and Figure 2b shows reverse current flow to battery, Paragraph 33);
wherein the common direct current bus in configured to connect a plurality of fault protection apparatus, a plurality of direct current sources, and an inverter unit (common direct current bus connecting plurality of DL, TE, plurality of 3 and inverter unit in 4, Figures 1, 2a, 2b) and wherein a third capacitor is configured to be connected in parallel between the sixth port and the seventh port (comprising Czk, Figure 1).
Regarding the recited “photovoltaic” system in the preamble, it is noted that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987), and furthermore it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Kube does not specifically disclose additional inverter units to have plurality of inverter units and a fourth capacitor is configured to be connected in parallel between the eighth port and the nineth port.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the fault protection apparatus of Kube, additional inverter unit to have plurality of first inverter units such that plurality of load devices can be power via dedicated inverter units and to provide an additional capacitor to suppress transients to provide stable voltage/signal between the respective ports.
Regarding Claim 8, Kube discloses the fault protection apparatus according to Claim 7, wherein the second diode further comprises: a plurality of diodes configured to be connected in parallel (a first DL and a second DL connected in parallel, Figures 1, 2a, 2b).
Regarding Claim 9, Kube discloses the fault protection apparatus according to Claim 7, wherein an anode of the second diode is configured to be connected to the sixth port, a cathode of the second diode is configured to be connected to the eighth port, and the seventh port is configured to be connected to the ninth port (anode of DL connected to the sixth port and cathode of DL connected to the seventh port, Figure 1); or a cathode of the second diode is configured to be connected to the seventh port, an anode of the second diode is configured to be connected to the ninth port (Figure 1 shows TE, DL connection between the first port and third port, and 8 in Figure 1 replaced by TE, DL for the corresponding current directions, have the cathode of DL connected to the second port and anode of DL connected to the fourth port, collector of TE connected to the second port, emitter of TE connected to the fourth port, Paragraph 32, “…..The essential difference from the embodiment of FIG. 4 is that the relay 8 was replaced by a parallel connection of several transistors TE…”), and the sixth port is configured to be connected to the eighth port (sixth port is configured to connected to the eighth port via TE, DL, Figure 1).
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemaru et al. (US 2016/0181799) in view of Kube (US 2018/0097390).
Regarding Claim 11, Kanemaru discloses a photovoltaic system (Figures 1-21), comprising:
a common direct current bus (20, Figures 1, 14, see also Figures 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 12, 13 and 15-17, 19 used in the description for the details of the operation of Figures 1, 14),
a plurality of first fault protection apparatuses (comprising 2A, 3A, 100A, 2B, 3B, 100B, 2C, 3C, 100C, Figures 1, 14), wherein each first fault protection apparatus comprises a first diode (5, Figures 14-17, 19, Paragraph 51), a first switch component (2, Figures 1, 14), and a control unit (100, Figures 1, 14);
a plurality of first direct current source units (1A, 1B, 1C, Figures 1, 14), and
an first inverter unit (4, Figures 1, 14), wherein a branch on which each first direct current source unit or the first inverter unit is located is configured to be connected to the common direct current bus by using a respective first fault protection apparatus (1A, 1B, 1C connected to 20 by using a respective 2, 3, 5,100, Figure 14); and
when each first diode is configured to be forward conducted, the common direct current bus is configured to supply power to the branch (when 5 is forward conducted common direct current bus receives power from DC source and supply to inverter unit, Figure 14, Paragraphs 44-45, 51); and
when each control unit is configured to control each first switch component to be conducted, the branch is configured to supply energy to the common direct current bus (when the first switch 2 is closed/forward conducting, branch supply energy from the DC source 1 to the common direct current bus 20, Figure 14, Paragraph 51); or
when each first diode is configured to be cut off, and each control unit is configured to control the first switch component to be forward cut off, the branch is configured to be disconnected from the common direct current bus (when the switch is reversely cutoff and switch is open, each branch is disconnected from the common direct current bus 20, Figure 14, Paragraph 51),
wherein the plurality of fault protection apparatus are configured to implement bidirectional electric energy flow (Paragraphs 44-45, 51).
Kanemaru does not specifically disclose additional inverter unit to have plurality of inverter units and does not specifically disclose the switch component being configured to be forward conducting and/or reversely cutoff and comprising limitations of a first to a fifth port and a capacitor configured as recited.
Kube discloses a fault protection apparatus, applied to a system based on a common direct current bus (Figures 1-7), the fault protection apparatus comprising: a first diode (comprising DL, Figures 1, 2a, 2b), a first switch component (comprising TE, Figures 1, 2a, 2b), and a control unit (comprising 11, Figures 1, 4);
the first diode and the first switch component are configured to be connected to a power system through the first port, the second port, the third port, and the fourth port (DL, TE configured to be connected to a battery 2, 3 and inverter 4/load 5, Figure 1), and the control unit is configured to send a drive signal to a fifth port to control the first switch component (Figures 1, 4, Paragraph 32); and
when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is lower than a voltage between the first port and the second port, the first diode is configured to be forward conducted (Figures 1, 2a, 2b, Paragraph 33, “.In the charging direction, the current ILAD flows into the battery 2. For this purpose, the transistors TE are blocked since, in the inverse operation, they have a higher resistance than the diodes DL..”); when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port, and the fifth port is configured to receive the drive signal and the first switch component is configured to be forward conducted (Figures 1, 2a, 2b, Paragraph 33, “…when the transistors TE are in the discharging direction, that is to say, when current IELAD is flowing out of the battery 2, they are actuated so as to be in the conductive state. Since the diodes DL are polarized in the blocking direction, the current IELAD flows exclusively via the transistors TE…”); when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port, and the fifth port does not receive the drive signal, the first diode is configured to be reversely cut off and the first switch component is configured to be forward cut off (when voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port diode DL is reverse biased/cutoff and TE is cutoff/switched off when activated by the control signal at the gate/fifth port, Figure 1), wherein the fault protection apparatus is configured to implement bidirectional electric energy flow between the branch the local bus of the branch and the common direct current bus (Figures 2a, 2b shows bidirectional current flow, Figure 2a shows forward current path from battery and Figure 2b shows reverse current flow to battery, Paragraph 33);
wherein the fault protection apparatus further comprises:
the first port, wherein the first port is configured to be connected to the positive common direct current bus of the common direct current bus (a first port configured to be connected to one of a plurality of connections on DC bus coupled to positive terminal of inverter 4/load 5, Figure 1);
the second port, wherein the second port is configured to be connected to the negative common direct current bus of the common direct current bus (a second port configured to be connected to one of a plurality of connections on DC bus coupled to negative terminal of inverter 4/load 5, Figure 1);
the third port, wherein the third port is configured to be connected to a positive local bus of a branch on which the fault protection apparatus is located (a third port configured to be connected to DC bus coupled to positive terminal of battery 2, 3, Figure 1);
the fourth port, wherein the fourth port is configured to be connected to a negative local bus of the branch on which the fault protection apparatus is located (a fourth port configured to be connected to DC bus coupled to negative terminal of battery 2, 3, Figure 1); and
the fifth port, wherein one side of the fifth port is configured to be connected to a control terminal of the first switch component and the other side of the fifth port is configured to be connected to the control unit (a fifth port connected to the gate of TE and to the control unit 11, Figure 1); and
wherein a first capacitor is configured to be connected in parallel between the first port and the second port (comprising Czk, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the photovoltaic system of Kanemaru, additional inverter unit to have plurality of first inverter units such that plurality of load devices can be power via dedicated inverter units, and provide the switch component of Kanemaru, having a switch and diode configuration and port connections and a capacitor connection as taught by Kube such that current flow can be controlled in both forward and reverse directions (configured for bidirectional current flow, including ports configured for forward and reverse current flow and switch control) during normal operation and during fault conditions and to provide an additional capacitor in the combination to suppress transients to provide stable voltage/signal between the respective ports.
Regarding Claim 12, combination of Kanemaru and Kube discloses the photovoltaic system according to Claim 11, wherein each first diode further comprises: a plurality of diodes, configured to be connected in parallel (a first DL and a second DL connected in parallel, Figures 1, 2a, 2b of Kube in the combination); and each first switch component further comprises: a plurality of switch configured to be connected in parallel components (Kube, a first TE and a second TE connected in parallel, Figures 1, 2a, 2b of Kube in the combination).
Regarding Claim 13, combination of Kanemaru and Kube discloses the photovoltaic system according to Claim 11, wherein each first switch component is either an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) or a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) (Kube, IGBTs TE, Figures 1, 2a, 2b, IGBTs, TE and MOSFETs, TE, Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 14, combination of Kanemaru and Kube discloses the photovoltaic system according to Claim 13, wherein when each first switch component is the MOSFET, a body diode in the MOSFET is the first diode, or a body diode is a diode in the first diode (Kube, TE, MOSFETs connected in parallel, Figure 7, Paragraph 33, “…if the transistors are configured as MOSFETs, intrinsic diodes (also known as body diodes) of the transistors TE can be used”).
Regarding Claim 15, combination of Kanemaru and Kube discloses the photovoltaic system according to Claim 11, wherein each first fault protection apparatus is configured to be connected between a positive local bus of the branch on which each first direct current source unit or each first inverter unit is located and a positive common direct current bus of the common direct current bus (2,3,5,100 including elements in the positive local bus, Figure 14); or each first fault protection apparatus is configured to be connected between a negative local bus of the branch on which the first direct current source unit or the first inverter unit is located and a negative common direct current bus of the common direct current bus (2,3,5,100 including elements in the negative local bus, Figure 14).
Claim 16 basically recites each fault protection apparatus of Claim 15 including the limitations of Claim 3 and Claim 5, and Kube in the combination discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of Claims 3, 5 above.
Claims 17-19 basically recite the photovoltaic system according to Claim 11, further comprising second set of elements as recited in Claim 11, 12, 15 respectively, except for excluding the switch component and control unit in the fault protection apparatus, and corresponding limitations including the excluded limitations.
Combination of Kanemaru and Kube does not specifically disclose the additional/second set of limitations recited in Claims 17-18. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the combination partly duplicate elements (simplified additional set of same limitations), to meet the requirements of the different types of loads.
Claim 20 basically recite the photovoltaic system according to Claim 19, wherein each second fault protection apparatus further comprises corresponding limitations of Claim 7, lines 6-16 and Claim 9 combined. Combination of Kanemaru and Kube discloses the limitation of Claim 7, lines 6-16 and Claim 9 as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or rendered moot in view of new grounds of rejection addressing the new/amended limitations (102 rejection of Claims 1-5, 7-9 are changed to 103 rejection).
Regarding Applicant arguments, on Pages 1-2 of the Remarks, examiner respectfully notes that the referred portion of the instant application is in Paragraph 8 of the originally filed Specification (PE2E version), not Paragraph 9 as Applicant indicated. Paragraph 23 has similar description as Paragraph 8.
Applicant arguments, on Pages 1-2 of the Remarks toward amended limitations of Claim 1, lines 20-29 and Paragraph 9 of the instant application as support for the amendments, examiner respectfully notes that the amended limitations are not same as that in Paragraph 8 (for example, all alternatives “or” in the original claim amended to “and” and thus change the scope of the claim, and differ from Paragraph 8 description) and the argued upon limitations are subject to 112 rejection as discussed above. It is further respectfully noted that Claim does not limit by any specific range/value when the fifth port receives the drive signal or does not receive the drive signal to overcome the prior art.
Regarding Applicant’s Arguments, on Page 2 of the Remarks toward the first capacitor of Kube, examiner respectfully notes that the first capacitor Czk in Figure 1 of Kube is configured to be connected in parallel between the first port and the second port as shown in Figure 1.
Regarding Applicant’s Arguments, on Page 3 of the Remarks toward the limitation of a second capacitor, examiner respectfully notes that Kube having the first capacitor, providing a second one on the local/source side would be obvious for the same benefits.
Regarding Applicant’s Arguments, on Page 3 of the Remarks toward Claims 7 and 11 and dependent Claims 2-5, 8-9 and 12-20 directed toward the arguments toward Claim 1, please see the response to arguments toward Claim 1 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kubouchi (US 9,893,606) discloses a fault protection apparatus, applied to a system based on a common direct current bus (comprising bidirectional protection switch apparatus 201 applied to three level chopper system, Figures 1-20), the fault protection apparatus comprising:
a first diode (comprising 303, 304, Figures 3-4); a first switch component (comprising 301, 302, Figures 3-4); a control unit (comprising 1b (1a, 1d), Figures 3-4);
a first port (comprising Po, Figure 3), wherein the first port is configured to be connected to a positive common direct current bus of the common direct current bus (Po configured to be connected to DC bus coupled to positive terminal of inverter 91/load 9, Figure 3);
a second port (comprising No, Figure 3), wherein the second port is configured to be connected to a negative common direct current bus of the common direct current bus (No configured to be connected to DC bus coupled to negative terminal of inverter 91/load 9, Figure 3);
a third port (comprising N1, Figure 3), wherein the third port is configured to be connected to a positive local bus of a branch on which the fault protection apparatus is located (N1 Po configured to be connected to DC bus coupled to positive terminal of DC source 8, Figure 3);
a fourth port (comprising N2, Figure 3), wherein the fourth port is configured to be connected to a negative local bus of the branch on which the fault protection apparatus is located (N2 configured to be connected to DC bus coupled to negative terminal of DC source 8, Figure 3); and a fifth port (comprising port coupled to gate/control terminal of 301, 302, Figure 3), wherein one side of the fifth port is configured to be connected to a control terminal of the first switch component and the other side of the fifth port is configured to be connected to the control unit (fifth port connected to the gate of 301, 302 and to the control unit 1b (1c, 1d), Figures 3-4, Column 10, lines 17-24);
the first diode and the first switch component are configured to be connected to a power system through the first port, the second port, the third port, and the fourth port (303, 304 and 301, 302 configured to be connected to the power system comprising DC source 8 and load 9, Figure 3), and the control unit is configured to send a drive signal to control the first switch component (Column 10, lines 17-24, Column 13, lines 9-11); and when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is lower than a voltage between the first port and the second port, the first diode is configured to be forward conducted (Figure 3, Column 13, lines 53-60, “…the switch 101 is turned on while the switch 102 is turned off such that a capacitor 402 is charged. In this state, the IGBT 302 of the protection switch 201a becomes forward biased, and hence it is required that the gate of the IGBT 302 be turned on to allow a current to flow therein. On the other hand, the IGBT 301 becoming reversely biased may be turned off or on since a current flows through the diode 303”); or when a voltage between the third port and the fourth port is higher than a voltage between the first port and the second port, and the fifth port is configured to receive the drive signal and the first switch component is configured to be forward conducted (Figure 3, Column 13, lines 61-67, “…switch 101 is turned off while the switch 102 is turned on such that a capacitor 401 is charged. In this state, the IGBT 301 of the protection switch 201a becomes forward biased, and hence it is required that the gate of the IGBT 301 be turned on to allow a current to flow therein. On the other hand, the IGBT 302 becoming reversely biased may be turned off or on since a current flows through the diode 304”);
Morioka (US 2020/0366282) discloses a current flow control device in Figure 1 comprising plurality of switching units and diode circuits (10a, 10a, 10a, 10b comprising MOSFETs and diodes in parallel) connected in parallel between a power source and load (10a, 10a, 10a, 10b connected in parallel between power source 20 and load 30).
/LUCY M THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 2/11/2026 /CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838