DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application no. 18/071,871, for a SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR A SUPPORT CLIP TO ATTACH A DECORATIVE ELEMENT, filed on 11/30/2022. This correspondence is in response to applicant's RCE filed on 7/27/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (U.S. Pat. 9,273,803) in view of Shen et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0135729).
Regarding claim 1, Adams teaches a support clip comprising: a first coiled end; an arcuate body portion extending from the first coiled end; a second coiled end extending from a point on the arcuate body portion that is distal from the first coiled end, with the second coiled end positioned at a point proximal to the first coiled end; and one or more support hooks positioned along the arcuate body portion between the first coiled end and the second coiled end, and extending outwardly from the arcuate body portion; but does not teach the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion, second coiled end terminating in a second bulbous portion and at least one of the one or more support hooks terminating in a third bulbous portion. Shen, however, teaches a support with the end terminating in a bulbous portion (210, 220) in order to stop a wire segment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion, second coiled end terminating in a second bulbous portion and at least one of the one or more support hooks terminating in a third bulbous portion in order to secure the clip to the support to further enhance gripping of the coiled ends.
[AltContent: textbox (2nd coiled end)][AltContent: textbox (1st coiled end)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Arcuate body)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 1, wherein the one or more support hooks extend outwardly from the arcuate body portion in a direction distal from the first coiled end and the second coiled end.
Regarding claim 4, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 1, wherein the one or more support hooks are formed of one or more substantially linear segments (right angles as discussed at col. 3, lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 5, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 1, wherein the one or more support hooks comprises two or more support hooks (col. 3, lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 6, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 1, wherein the arcuate body portion, the first coiled end, and the second coiled end are substantially co-planar.
Regarding claim 7, Adams teaches a support clip comprising: a first coiled end comprising a textured surface (9); an arcuate body portion extending from the first coiled end; a second coiled end extending from a point on the arcuate body portion that is distal from the first coiled end, with the second coiled end positioned at a point proximal to the first coiled end; and one or more support hooks positioned along the arcuate body portion between the first coiled end and the second coiled end, and extending outwardly from the arcuate body portion; but does not teach the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion. Shen, however, teaches a support with the end terminating in a bulbous portion (210, 220) in order to stop a wire segment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion in order to secure the clip to the support to further enhance gripping of the coiled ends.
Regarding claim 8, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 7, wherein the textured surface comprises a plurality of ridges.
Regarding claim 9, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 7, wherein the second coiled end further comprises a textured surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 7, wherein the one or more support hooks comprises two or more support hooks (col. 3, lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 11, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 7, wherein the arcuate body portion, the first coiled end, and the second coiled end are substantially co-planar.
Regarding claim 12, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 9, wherein the arcuate body portion, the first coiled end, and the second coiled end are substantially co-planar.
Regarding claim 13, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 7, wherein the one or more support hooks extend outwardly from the arcuate body portion in a direction distal from the first coiled end and the second coiled end.
Regarding claim 15, Adams teaches a method for manufacturing a support clip (see figure above) comprising: forming a support clip comprising: a first coiled end; an arcuate body portion extending from the first coiled end; a second coiled end and extending from a point on the arcuate body portion that is distal from the first coiled end, with the second coiled end positioned at a point proximal to the first coiled end; and one or more support hooks positioned along the arcuate body portion between the first coiled end and the second coiled end, and extending outwardly from the arcuate body portion; but does not teach the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion and the second coiled end terminating in a second bulbous portion. Shen, however, teaches a support with the end terminating in a bulbous portion (210, 220) in order to stop a wire segment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion and the second coiled end terminating in a second bulbous portion in order to secure the clip to the support to further enhance gripping of the coiled ends.
Regarding claim 16, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 15, wherein at least one of the first coiled end and the second coiled end further comprises a textured surface (9).
Regarding claim 17, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 15, wherein the arcuate body portion, the first coiled end, and the second coiled end are substantially co-planar.
Regarding claim 18, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 16, wherein the arcuate body portion, the first coiled end, and the second coiled end are substantially co-planar.
Regarding claim 19, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claim 15, wherein the one or more support hooks extend outwardly from the arcuate body portion in a direction distal from the first coiled end and the second coiled end.
Regarding claims 3, 14 and 20, Adams and Shen teach the clip of claims 1 and 7 and the method of claim 15, but does not teach the one or more support hooks extends outwardly from the arcuate body portion in substantially the same direction as the first coiled end and second coiled end. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the one or more support hooks extends outwardly from the arcuate body portion in substantially the same direction as the first coiled end and second coiled end in order to hold multiple items extending in the same direction for use in a wide variety of purposes, and further, as a matter of design choice since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of the component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art since the applicant has not shown how the chosen shape is critical.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 August 7, 2026