DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a Final Office Action for application no. 18/071,871 for a SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR A SUPPORT CLIP TO ATTACH TO A DECORATIVE ELEMENT, filed on 11/30/2022. This correspondence is in response to applicant's reply filed on 6/16/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (U.S. Pat. 9,273,803) in view of Goodfellow et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,737,527).
Regarding claim 1, Adams teaches a support clip comprising: a first coiled end; an arcuate body portion extending from the first coiled end; a second coiled end extending from a point on the arcuate body portion that is distal from the first coiled end, with the second coiled end positioned at a point proximal to the first coiled end; and one or more support hooks positioned along the arcuate body portion between the first coiled end and the second coiled end, and extending outwardly from the arcuate body portion, but does not teach the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion; the second coiled end terminating in a second bulbous portion and at least one of the one or more support hooks terminating in a third bulbous portion. Goodfellow, however, teaches a hook (32) with an end terminating in a bulbous portion (40) in order to restrain items on the hook. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the clip of Adams comprising the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion; the second coiled end terminating in a second bulbous portion and at least one of the one or more support hooks terminating in a third bulbous portion in order to retain objects on the coiled ends and hooks and to prevent them from being dislodged easily, in view of Goodfellow.
.
[AltContent: textbox (1st coiled end)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd coiled end)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Arcuate body portion)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Support hook)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 1, wherein the one or more support hooks extend outwardly from the arcuate body portion in a direction distal from the first coiled end and the second coiled end.
Regarding claim 3, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 1, wherein the one or more support hooks extends outwardly from the arcuate body portion in substantially the same direction as the first coiled end and second coiled end.
Regarding claim 4, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 1, wherein the one or more support hooks are formed of one or more substantially linear segments (right angles as discussed at col. 3, lines 11-13 would comprise linear segments).
Regarding claim 5, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 1, wherein the one or more support hooks comprises two or more support hooks (col. 3, lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 6, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 1, wherein the arcuate body portion, the first coiled end, and the second coiled end are substantially co-planar.
Regarding claim 7, Adams teaches a support clip (see figure above) comprising: a first coiled end comprising a textured surface (9); an arcuate body portion extending from the first coiled end; a second coiled end extending from a point on the arcuate body portion that is distal from the first coiled end, with the second coiled end positioned at a point proximal to the first coiled end; and one or more support hooks positioned along the arcuate body portion between the first coiled end and the second coiled end, and extending outwardly from the arcuate body portion; but does not teach the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion and the second coiled end terminating in a second bulbous portion. Goodfellow, however, teaches a hook (32) with an end terminating in a bulbous portion (40) in order to restrain items on the hook. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the clip of Adams comprising the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion and the second coiled end terminating in a second bulbous in order to retain objects on the coiled ends and to prevent them from being dislodged easily, in view of Goodfellow.
Regarding claim 8, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 7, wherein the textured surface comprises a plurality of ridges.
Regarding claim 9, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 7, wherein the second coiled end further comprises a textured surface (9).
Regarding claim 10, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 7, wherein the one or more support hooks comprises two or more support hooks (col. 3, lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 11, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 7, wherein the arcuate body portion, the first coiled end, and the second coiled end are substantially co-planar.
Regarding claim 12, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 9, wherein the arcuate body portion, the first coiled end, and the second coiled end are substantially co-planar.
Regarding claim 13, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 7, wherein the one or more support hooks extend outwardly from the arcuate body portion in a direction distal from the first coiled end and the second coiled end.
Regarding claim 14, Adams and Goodfellow teach the clip of claim 7, wherein the support hook extends outwardly from the arcuate body portion in substantially the same direction as the first coiled end and second coiled end.
Regarding claim 15, Adams teaches a method for manufacturing a support clip comprising: forming a support clip (see figure above) comprising: a first coiled end; an arcuate body portion extending from the first coiled end; a second coiled end extending from a point on the arcuate body portion that is distal from the first coiled end, with the second coiled end positioned at a point proximal to the first coiled end; and one or more support hooks positioned along the arcuate body portion between the first coiled end and the second coiled end, and extending outwardly from the arcuate body portion, but does not teach the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion and the second coiled end terminating in a second bulbous portion. Goodfellow, however, teaches a hook (32) with an end terminating in a bulbous portion (40) in order to restrain items on the hook. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the clip of Adams comprising the first coiled end terminating in a first bulbous portion and the second coiled end terminating in a second bulbous in order to retain objects on the coiled ends and to prevent them from being dislodged easily, in view of Goodfellow.
Regarding claim 16, Adams and Goodfellow teach the method of claim 15, wherein at least one of the first coiled end and the second coiled end further comprises a textured surface (9).
Regarding claim 17, Adams and Goodfellow teach the method of claim 15, wherein the arcuate body portion, the first coiled end, and the second coiled end are substantially co-planar.
Regarding claim 18, Adams and Goodfellow teach the method of claim 16, wherein the arcuate body portion, the first coiled end, and the second coiled end are substantially co-planar.
Regarding claim 19, Adams and Goodfellow teach the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more support hooks extend outwardly from the arcuate body portion in a direction distal from the first coiled end and the second coiled end.
Regarding claim 20, Adams and Goodfellow teach the method of claim 15, wherein the support hook extends outwardly from the arcuate body portion in substantially a same direction as the first coiled end and second coiled end.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NKEISHA SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 June 28, 2024