DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are currently presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizumori et al USPPN 2010/0138758, in view of Rawson et al USPPN 2011/0245937.
Regarding claim 1, Mizumori teaches A system for integrating pollution absorbing structures into a simulation model comprising: a simulation module, a pollutant module, and one or more computers comprising one or more processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable media, the one or more non-transitory computer readable media comprising program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to: (Figures 32-33, 35and 39, [0079]-[0080], a computer is used to simulate the environmental load of machines)
generate, by the simulation module, a simulation environment that includes a toolbar, … and a simulation canvas; (Figures 1-2, 6-12, [0079]-[0080],a simulation environment including a tool bar and simulation canvas is used to simulate the environmental load of the machines)
Mizumori does not explicitly recite a simulation model library, generate, by the pollutant module, a pollution absorption model library comprising one or more pollutant equipment models configured to absorb various types of pollutant emissions; execute, by the one or more processors, an interface connection between the pollutant module and the simulation module; and add, by the one or more processors, the pollution absorption model library to the simulation model library upon the execution of the interface connection.
Rawson teaches a simulation model library, ([0042]-[0043] models and sub models are stored in the system with interrelationships of each model)
generate, by the pollutant module, a pollution absorption model library comprising one or more pollutant equipment models configured to absorb various types of pollutant emissions; ([0042]-[0043] a pollution emission for the emitting of pollution, air separation, carbon capture and carbon transport model for the absorption of pollution are used in the connected system)
execute, by the one or more processors, an interface connection between the pollutant module and the simulation module; and ([0042]-[0045] the interrelationship and interoperability data between all of the modules is executed by the model)
add, by the one or more processors, the pollution absorption model library to the simulation model library upon the execution of the interface connection. ([0042]-[0045], [0071] the data is added to the storage when simulated)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Mizumori with Rawson as the references deal pollution simulation of machinery, in order to implement a system that contains simulation libraries for pollutant and absorption of the pollutant, executing the interface between the models, adding the models to the simulation library, loading of the laws for the location of the pollution source, mitigating pollution, and using a SCADA system. Rawson would modify Mizumori by containing simulation libraries for pollutant and absorption of the pollutant, executing the interface between the models, adding the models to the simulation library, loading of the laws for the location of the pollution source, mitigating pollution, and using a SCADA system. The benefit of doing so is by detailing a plurality of interoperability data and by using modeling techniques described herein, the model may be used to build, retrofit and/or operate a plant capable of capturing variable levels of CO2 and capable of interoperating with other systems so as to efficiently transport and use the captured CO2. The design may then be used to produce drawings, such as CAD drawings, piping layouts, manufacturing instruction lists, bill of materials (BOM), and so forth, suitable for building, optimizing or retrofitting the ASU. The dynamic capabilities of the model allow the model to be tailored to a plurality of conditions, both regulatory, technical as well as economic. (Rawson [0042], [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mizumori and Rawson teach the limitations of claim 1. Mizumori also teaches wherein the toolbar comprises various buttons icons, and/or actuators to customize and/or store simulations built on the simulation canvas. (Figures 1-12, 14-31. Buttons to customize the simulation canvas are shown)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mizumori and Rawson teach the limitations of claim 2. Mizumori also teaches wherein the simulation model library and the pollution absorption model library each comprise one or more model components that include icons that represent real equipment in a manufacturing process. (Figures 3-5, 7-12, icons of equipment are shown)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mizumori and Rawson teach the limitations of claim 3. Mizumori also teaches wherein each of the one or more model components can be assigned various parameters that include equations that represent one or more of flowrate, temperature, pressure, and any conventional parameter found within a manufacturing facility that can be modeled mathematically. (Figure 12, [0103], [0118]-[0128] total weights, sorting ratios and fuel consumption are conventional parameters that are modeled based on a mathematical formula)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mizumori and Rawson teach the limitations of claim 4. Mizumori also teaches wherein a connection between two or more model components of the one or more model components results in a simulated structure; and (Figure 12, [0042]-[0045], [0101]-[0102], the connection and interoperability of the components is modeled)
wherein upon the connection to each other on the simulation canvas, the simulation module is configured to analyze an effect that each of the one or more model components have on the simulated structure as well as an effect each of the one or more model components have on each other. (Figure 12, 14-20, [0118]-[0128], [0136], [0140] the effect of distance and operation time shows the effect of total fuel consumption of all of the components.)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mizumori and Rawson teach the limitations of claim 1. Mizumori does not explicitly recite a geography module, wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media further comprise program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to: generate, by the geography module, a graphical user interface configured to enable a user to input a geographic region where an actual system represented by a simulated model is and/or will be built; and execute, by the geography module, an automatic loading of the one or more pollutant equipment models into the pollution absorption model library that comply with emission laws in the geographic region.
Rawson teaches a geography module, wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media further comprise program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to: ([0042]-[0043], [0071] a computer is used; [0044] including where the plant is to meet state and federal regulations)
generate, by the geography module, a graphical user interface configured to enable a user to input a geographic region where an actual system represented by a simulated model is and/or will be built; and execute, by the geography module, an automatic loading of the one or more pollutant equipment models into the pollution absorption model library that comply with emission laws in the geographic region. ([0044] where the plant is located, has an effect on model variables and models used to meet state and federal regulations)
See motivation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mizumori and Rawson teach the limitations of claim 6. Mizumori does not explicitly recite wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media further comprise program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to: execute, by the geography module, an automatic determination of a geographical location where the simulated model is being executed; and execute, by the geography module, the automatic loading of one or more pollutant equipment models into the pollution absorption model library based on the geographical location.
Rawson teaches wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media further comprise program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to: execute, by the geography module, an automatic determination of a geographical location where the simulated model is being executed; and execute, by the geography module, the automatic loading of one or more pollutant equipment models into the pollution absorption model library based on the geographical location. ([0044], [0071]-[0074], an automatic determination of location is used and then equipment that meets federal and state regulations are loaded into the simulation)
See motivation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Mizumori and Rawson teach the limitations of claim 1. Mizumori also teaches wherein the simulation model library and the pollution absorption model library each comprise one or more model components that include icons that represent real equipment in a manufacturing process; (Figures 12 and 14, icons that represent real equipment are used)
Mizumori does not explicitly recite wherein the one or more model components in the simulation model library include one or more emission producing components; wherein the one or more model components in the pollution absorption model library include one or more pollutant absorbing components; wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media further comprise program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to: import, by the one or more processors, the one or more pollutant absorbing components into the simulation canvas; and wherein the one or more pollutant absorbing components remain passive on the simulation canvas until connected to the one or more emission producing components.
Rawson teaches wherein the one or more model components in the simulation model library include one or more emission producing components; ([0042]-[0045], carbon emission components are used in the model)
wherein the one or more model components in the pollution absorption model library include one or more pollutant absorbing components; ([0042]-[0045], an air separation, sulfur recovery, carbon capture and carbon transport model are used)
wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media further comprise program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to: import, by the one or more processors, the one or more pollutant absorbing components into the simulation canvas; and ([0042]-[0045], a computer is used to bring in all the pollutant absorbing components)
wherein the one or more pollutant absorbing components remain passive on the simulation canvas until connected to the one or more emission producing components. (Figures 8 and 9, ([0042]-[0045], more components are brought in to make sure that requirements are met, they are unused until they are brought into the simulation)
See motivation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mizumori and Rawson teach the limitations of claim 8. Mizumori also teaches wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media further comprise program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to: execute, by the one or more processors, a simulation comprising only the one or more emission producing components if the one or more pollutant absorbing components are not connected to the one or more emission producing components on the simulation canvas; and (Figure 6 and 19-20, a simulation with only one component can be simulated)
display, by the one or more processors, only resulting emissions and/or unmitigated pollutants on the simulation canvas of the one or more emission producing components if the one or more pollutant absorbing components are not connected. (Figure 6, 19-20 and 30, when the selected machines are simulated, their total output is displayed, this follows for only one machine if only one machine is selected from the drop down menus)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mizumori and Rawson teach the limitations of claim 9. Mizumori does not explicitly recite wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media further comprise program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to: display, by the one or more processors, mitigated emissions and/or mitigated pollutants on the simulation canvas if the one or more emission producing components and the one or more pollutant absorbing components are connected.
Rawson teaches wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media further comprise program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers to: display, by the one or more processors, mitigated emissions and/or mitigated pollutants on the simulation canvas if the one or more emission producing components and the one or more pollutant absorbing components are connected. ([0042]-[0045], [0050]-[0052], sulfur and gas collection models are used on a computer which would include the display of the values)
See the motivation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Mizumori and Rawson teach the limitations of claim 10. Mizumori does not explicitly recite wherein the simulation module is configured to interface with one or more supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) systems in order to control one or more actual components in a manufacturing process represented by the one or more model components on the simulation canvas.
Rawson teaches wherein the simulation module is configured to interface with one or more supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) systems in order to control one or more actual components in a manufacturing process represented by the one or more model components on the simulation canvas. ([0057] a SCADA system is used)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mizumori and Rawson teach the limitations of claim 11. Mizumori also teaches wherein the pollutant module is configured to categorize and/or sum all pollutants generated by the simulation. (Figure 14, [0097], [0114]-[0117] a total pollution generate is calculated)
In regards to claim 13, it is the system embodiment of claim 2 with similar limitations to claim 2, and is such rejected using the same reasoning found in claim 2.
In regards to claim 14, it is the system embodiment of claim 3 with similar limitations to claim 3, and is such rejected using the same reasoning found in claim 3.
In regards to claim 15, it is the system embodiment of claim 5 with similar limitations to claim 5, and is such rejected using the same reasoning found in claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sarkisian et al. USPPN 2011/0191071: Also teaches the use of a carbon footprint analysis tool with a tool bar and GUI with read outs of values from each connected structure.
/MICHAEL EDWARD COCCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188