DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed 05/28/2026.
Claims 1-10 and 12-30 are pending.
Claims 1, 20, and 23 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/28/2026 have been fully considered but the newly amended limitations have changed the scope of the claims. Applicant's amendment necessitated new citations to the amended limitations and a re-interpretation of the cited prior art based on the new scope. Rejections based on the previously cited prior art follow. The previously cited art by Blum is seen to teach an alternative form of a alternative recited limitation, and thus meets said claim limitation (please see prior art rejection below).
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 10, 12-15, 17-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German Patent Publication No. DE102014110867A1 to Hepkeskin (hereinafter Hepkeskin. English translation of DE102014110867A1 is included and cited in this office action), in view of US Patent Publication No. 2016/0328198 to Henderson et al., (hereinafter Henderson), and in further view of German Patent Publication No. DE202004016265U1 to Blum (hereinafter Blum. English translation of DE202004016265U1 is included and cited in this office action
Regarding claim 1, Hepkeskin teaches a method for setting up a first furniture drive via at least one electronic device, wherein the at first furniture drive comprises at least one memory unit (During a programming phase (i.e. setting up) of a cabinet system that uses actuators (i.e. furniture drive) with stored states (i.e. comprising memory) using a control unit (computer), thus p31, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), the method comprising:
in an assembly operator area of the at least one electronic device (Programming during an installation phase, using a control unit electronic device touchscreen, is being interpreted as an assembly operator area, such as by an installer operator, see P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), storing at least one digital data set relating to at least one static parameter for a furniture part (Data, such as programming done in an installation role, for a parameter, such as a state for an actuator or an reference authorization and state of a furniture component (part), are interpreted as a digital set relating to at least one at least one static parameter, with stored states, see p7, p18, p13, p36, 31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), in the at least one memory unit via the at least one electronic device (Stored in control unit electronic device, see P18, P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), and in an end user region of the at least one electronic device (Programming and control during any other time other than installation period using a control unit electronic device touchscreen, is being interpreted as an end user region, see P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), storing at least one digital data set in relation to at least one dynamic parameter for a furniture part (Data, such as programming at some other time, for changing a parameter, such as a state, is interpreted as a digital set relating to at least one at least one dynamic parameter, see P31, p33-34, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin) in the at least one memory unit via the at least one electronic device (Stored in control unit electronic device, see P18, P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), wherein the assembly operator area and the end user region are separate areas of the at least one electronic device (Device area used during an installation phase (i.e. operator area) and a device region used during another time (i.e. end user region), are separate areas, where installation would come before normal end user use and changes, see P31-32, 18, Fig. 1Hepkeskin), wherein the furniture part is a drawer or a flap (Cabinet doors (i.e. flaps ) and drawers, see Fig. 1, p15, p6-7, Hepkeskin), wherein the at least one static parameter for a furniture part includes a reference parameter, a synchronization parameter, a coupling parameter, a state parameter, or a collision parameter (States, where the states change based on a lock position operation, and programming reference authorization parameters, such as voice parameters, see P18, P36, P34, Hepkeskin), wherein the state parameter includes information of a state of the furniture part as being closed, open, locked or unlocked, relative to a further furniture part (At least locked and unlocked data (information) of furniture part, see P12, P11, Hepkeskin ).
While Hepkeskin teaches wherein an assembly operator area and an end user region are separate areas of at least one electronic device, in a sense of a device using areas for different purposes at different times, Henderson from the same or similar field of user devices associated with products including furniture, teaches also teaches an assembly operator area and an end user region are separate areas of at least one electronic device, in another sense of application areas separated by roles or features (A device with application area regions, such as specified features, functions, capabilities, etc., can be separated by having separate access credentials (logins) for different user’s roles, see P146-149, Henderson).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating separate area regions, as taught by Henderson.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better tailor and administer aspects of an application by restricting credentials to users in different roles and/or tailoring and restricting functionalities (see P146-149, Henderson).
Hepkeskin does not explicitly teach wherein an at least one dynamic parameter for a furniture part includes information related to a storage space or content designation of a furniture part, or an at least one static parameter for the furniture part includes the state parameter, and the at least one dynamic parameter for the furniture part includes information as to when the state parameter of the furniture part shall be changed from a closed state to an opened state, or from the opened state to the closed state.
However, Blum from the same or similar field of devices and furniture control, teaches a parameter for a furniture part includes information related to a storage space or content designation of a furniture part (A data indicative of a parameter in the form of information and identification of material that fills (i.e. a contents of) a furniture part, see P8, p3, p14, p6, p7-10, Blum).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating information related to a storage space or content designation of a furniture part, as taught by Blum.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better maintain a information of the contents of a piece of furniture that can store objects, so as to better provide a more well rounded user experience by the system being able to access said information in order to provide extra functionality based on the parameter, such as by providing a specified control function or information feedback (see p6, p3-8, P14, Blum).
Regarding claim 2, Hepkeskin teaches a method for setting up a furniture arrangement via at least one electronic device, wherein the furniture arrangement comprises a furniture part positioned in a moveable manner on a furniture carcass, and a first furniture drive with at least one memory unit (During a programming phase (i.e. setting up) of a cabinet system with a body (i.e. carcass) that accepts drawers that use actuators to open and close (i.e. furniture drive and part with movable manner on a carcass) with stored states (i.e. comprising memory) using a control unit (computer), thus p31, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), wherein the first furniture part can be arranged by furniture drive in at least two operating positions relative to the furniture carcass (Drawer and/or door parts of furniture in at least open and closed states relative to cabinet body, see P31-32, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), the method comprising:
in an assembly operator area of the at least one electronic device (Programming during an installation phase, using a control unit electronic device touchscreen, is being interpreted as an assembly operator area, such as by an installer operator, see P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), storing at least one digital data set in relation to at least one static parameter for the furniture part (Data, such as programming done in an installation role, for a parameter, such as a state for an actuator or an reference authorization and state of a furniture component, are interpreted as a digital set relating to at least one at least one static parameter, with stored states, see p7, p18, p13, p36, 31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin) Stored in control unit electronic device, see P18, P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin) and in an end user region of the at least one electronic device (Programming during at any other time other than installation period using a control unit electronic device touchscreen, is being interpreted as an end user region, see P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), storing at least one digital data set in relation to at least one dynamic parameter for the furniture part (Data, such as programming at some other time, for changing a parameter, such as a state, is interpreted as a digital set relating to at least one at least one dynamic parameter, see P31, p33-34, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin) in the at least one memory unit via the at least one electronic device (Stored in control unit electronic device, see P18, P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), wherein the assembly operator area and the end user region are separate areas of the at least one electronic device (Device area used during an installation phase (i.e. operator area) and a device region used during another time (i.e. end user region), are separate areas, where installation would come before normal end user use and changes, see P31-32, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), wherein the furniture part is a drawer or a flap (Cabinet doors (i.e. flaps ) and drawers, see Fig. 1, p15, p6-7, Hepkeskin), wherein the at least one static parameter for the furniture part includes a reference parameter, a synchronization parameter, a coupling parameter, a state parameter, or a collision parameter (States, where the states change based on a lock position operation, and programming reference authorization parameters, such as voice parameters, see P18, P36, P34, Hepkeskin), wherein the state parameter includes information of a state of the furniture part as being closed, open, locked or unlocked, relative to a further furniture part (At least locked and unlocked data (information) of furniture part, see P12, P11, Hepkeskin ).
While Hepkeskin teaches wherein an assembly operator area and an end user region are separate areas of at least one electronic device, in a sense of a device using areas for different purposes at different times, Henderson from the same or similar field of user devices associated with products including furniture, teaches also teaches an assembly operator area and an end user region are separate areas of at least one electronic device, in another sense of application areas separated by roles or features (A device with application area regions, such as specified features, functions, capabilities, etc., can be separated by having separate access credentials (logins) for different user’s roles, see P146-149, Henderson).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating separate area regions, as taught by Henderson.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better tailor and administer aspects of an application by restricting credentials to users in different roles and/or tailoring and restricting functionalities (see P146-149, Henderson).
Hepkeskin does not explicitly teach wherein an at least one dynamic parameter for a furniture part includes information related to a storage space or content designation of a furniture part, or an at least one static parameter for the furniture part includes the state parameter, and the at least one dynamic parameter for the furniture part includes information as to when the state parameter of the furniture part shall be changed from a closed state to an opened state, or from the opened state to the closed state.
However, Blum from the same or similar field of devices and furniture control, teaches a parameter for a furniture part includes information related to a storage space or content designation of a furniture part (A data indicative of a parameter in the form of information and identification of material that fills (i.e. a contents of) a furniture part, see P8, p3, p14, p6, p7-10, Blum).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating information related to a storage space or content designation of a furniture part, as taught by Blum.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better maintain a information of the contents of a piece of furniture that can store objects, so as to better provide a more well rounded user experience by the system being able to access said information in order to provide extra functionality based on the parameter, such as by providing a specified control function or information feedback (see p6, p3-8, P14, Blum).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches wherein the at least one electronic device and the first furniture drive are arranged spatially separate from each other (Control unit and furniture have some space between them, see Fig. 1, P31, Hepkeskin).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Henderson further teaches (claim 4) wherein an at least one electronic device includes a first electronic device, wherein an assembly operator area and an end user region are both installed on the first electronic device and are separated from each separate logins or separate apps on the first electronic device (A device with application area regions, such as specified features, functions, capabilities, etc., can be separated by having separate access credentials (logins) for different user’s roles, see P146-149, Henderson).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating separate area regions, as taught by Henderson.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better tailor and administer aspects of an application by restricting credentials to users in different roles and/or tailoring and restricting functionalities (see P146-149, Henderson).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches further comprising operating an assembly operator area or an end user region based on a verbal voice command given by a user or based on a command given in a tactile manner (Voice commands and touchscreen (tactile) can be used, see P33, P31, Hepkeskin).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches wherein at least one static parameter is a state parameter, and wherein the method further comprises changing the state parameter depending on at least one operating position (States, where the states change based on a lock position operation, and programming reference voice parameters, see P18, P36, P34, Hepkeskin).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches wherein in an assembly operator area: the first furniture drive is coupled to a second furniture drive or is synchronized via a reference drive to be carried out by a user (Programming of additional actuators coupled to furniture, see P36, p31, Hepkeskin); the first furniture drive is initialized via a reference drive to be carried out by a user, the first furniture drive is coupled to at least one command transmitter, a collision avoidance is stored in the at least one memory unit via a reference drive to be carried out by a user, or the first furniture drive, at least one command transmitter or at least one data transmission device are added to a network (At least an input that is interpreted as a command transmitter is assigned (added) to the network encompassing the furniture system and its control during an installation programming, see P7, Hepkeskin).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin wherein in an assembly operator area: at least one network address, at least one link key or at least one naming is assigned or allocated (Fingerprints can be linked to authorized users in a programming phase, and is interpreted as a link key assigned or allocated,, see p36, Hepkeskin); at least one current state, at least one piece of log information or at least one piece of operating information of a first furniture drive is read out, or at least one command transmitter or data transmission device is read out (At least a naming of authorized users are assigned, or state a current state, see P31, p11, Hepkeskin), at least one additional furniture drive, at least one data transmission device or at least one command transmitter is added to form a network; a first furniture drive, at least one data transmission device or at least one command transmitter is reset, unlocked or locked or set active or inactive, at least one update of the at least one electronic device, of the first furniture drive, of a command transmitter or of a data transmission device is updated or at least one operating manual or help dialog for configuration is displayed (At least locked and unlocked data, see P12, P11, Hepkeskin ).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches wherein in an end user region: at least one current state of a first furniture drive is read out; the first furniture drive, at least one data transmission device or at least one command transmitter is set active or inactive or is unlocked or locked; at least one support access is made possible, or at least one update of the at least one electronic device, first furniture drive, a command transmitter or a data transmission device is updated; or at least one operating manual or help dialog for configuration is displayed (At least current state must be read out, and lock unlock, see P11-12, P31, Hepkeskin).
Henderson further teaches displaying at least help or support (Help and support on a user device, see p99, Henderson)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating help and support, as taught by Henderson.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better convey to aa user needed information that may help resolve an encountered issue (see P99, Henderson).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin wherein the first furniture drive comprises at least one fixing device for fixing the first furniture drive to a furniture carcass, at least one positioning device, with which at least one moveable furniture part is moveable relative to the furniture carcass, and at least one drive unit, with which the at least one positioning device can be driven (A connection device fixes doors and drawers actuator drives to a cupboard and positions these in an open or closed position by control unit, see p1, Fig. 1, p27, Hepkeskin).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches further comprising configuring an entire furniture arrangement in an assembly operator area or in an end user region (A cabinet furniture assembly can be programmed in an installation or at any time, thus this is interpreted as an entire arrangement being configured, see P31, Hepkeskin).
Regarding claim 18, Hepkeskin teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having a program stored thereon for causing a (Program, see P31, Hepkeskin) computing unit (control unit (computing unit), see p31, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin) to execute the method according to claim 1 (rejected on the same grounds of at least claim 1) using a memory unit which is or can be brought into a data connection with the computing unit (stored states (i.e. comprising memory), thus a memory unit, see P18, P31, Hepkeskin).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches wherein an assembly operator area evoked computing unit can be displayed on a first electronic device, and an end user region evoked by computing unit can be displayed on a second electronic device that is spatially separate from the first electronic device, or the assembly operator area and the end user region can be displayed on the same electronic device (An electronic device control unit with touchscreen display used during an installation of a furniture system and for making changes and control at any other time, thus an operator area and end user region installed in the same electronic device, see P31-32, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin)
Regarding claim 20, Hepkeskin teaches a furniture arrangement comprising a furniture carcass (A cabinet system with a body (i.e. carcass), see p31, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin); a furniture drive having at least one memory unit and a furniture part movably positioned on the furniture carcass, wherein the furniture part can be arranged in at least two operating positions relative to the furniture carcass by the furniture drive and at least one electronic device, (A cabinet system with a body (i.e. carcass) that accepts drawers that use actuators to open and close (i.e. furniture drive and part with movable manner on a carcass) with stored states (i.e. comprising memory) using a control unit (computer), thus p31, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), wherein the at least one memory unit (Stored in control unit electronic device, see P18, P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin) configured such that: in an assembly operator area of the at least one electronic device (Programming during an installation phase, using a control unit electronic device touchscreen, is being interpreted as an assembly operator area, such as by an installer operator, see P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), at least one digital data set relating to at least one static parameter for the furniture part (Data, such as programming done in an installation role, for a parameter, such as a state for an actuator or an reference authorization and state of a furniture component, are interpreted as a digital set relating to at least one at least one static parameter, with stored states, see p7, p18, p13, p36, 31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin) the at least one memory unit via the at least one electronic device(Programming during an installation period, using a control unit electronic device touchscreen, is being interpreted as an assembly operator area, such as by an installer operator, see P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin); and in an end user region of the at least one electronic device (Programming during at any other time other than installation period using a control unit electronic device touchscreen, is being interpreted as an end user region, see P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), at least one digital data set relating to at least one dynamic parameter for the furniture part (Data, such as programming at some other time, for changing a parameter, such as a state, is interpreted as a digital set relating to at least one at least one dynamic parameter, see P31, p33-34, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin) is stored in the at least one memory unit (Stored in control unit electronic device, see P18, P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin) via the at least one electronic device (Data, such as programming at some other time, for changing a parameter, such as a state, is interpreted as a digital set relating to at least one at least one dynamic parameter, see P31, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), wherein the assembly operator area and the end user region are separate areas of the at least one electronic device (Device area used during an installation phase (i.e. operator area) and a device region used during another time (i.e. end user region), are separate areas, where installation would come before normal end user use and changes, see P31-32, 18, Fig. 1Hepkeskin), wherein the furniture part is a drawer or a flap (Cabinet doors (i.e. flaps ) and drawers, see Fig. 1, p15, p6-7, Hepkeskin), wherein the at least one static parameter for the furniture part includes a reference parameter, a synchronization parameter, a coupling parameter, a state parameter, or a collision parameter (States, where the states change based on a lock position operation, and programming reference authorization parameters, such as voice parameters, see P18, P36, P34, Hepkeskin), wherein the state parameter includes information of a state of the furniture part as being closed, open, locked or unlocked, relative to a further furniture part part (At least locked and unlocked data (information) of furniture part, see P12, P11, Hepkeskin ).
While Hepkeskin teaches wherein an assembly operator area and an end user region are separate areas of at least one electronic device, in a sense of a device using areas for different purposes at different times, Henderson from the same or similar field of user devices associated with products including furniture, teaches also teaches an assembly operator area and an end user region are separate areas of at least one electronic device, in another sense of application areas separated by roles or features (A device with application area regions, such as specified features, functions, capabilities, etc., can be separated by having separate access credentials (logins) for different user’s roles, see P146-149, Henderson).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating separate area regions, as taught by Henderson.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better tailor and administer aspects of an application by restricting credentials to users in different roles and/or tailoring and restricting functionalities (see P146-149, Henderson).
Hepkeskin does not explicitly teach wherein an at least one dynamic parameter for a furniture part includes information related to a storage space or content designation of a furniture part, or an at least one static parameter for the furniture part includes the state parameter, and the at least one dynamic parameter for the furniture part includes information as to when the state parameter of the furniture part shall be changed from a closed state to an opened state, or from the opened state to the closed state.
However, Blum from the same or similar field of devices and furniture control, teaches a parameter for a furniture part includes information related to a storage space or content designation of a furniture part (A data indicative of a parameter in the form of information and identification of material that fills (i.e. a contents of) a furniture part, see P8, p3, p14, p6, p7-10, Blum).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating information related to a storage space or content designation of a furniture part, as taught by Blum.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better maintain a information of the contents of a piece of furniture that can store objects, so as to better provide a more well rounded user experience by the system being able to access said information in order to provide extra functionality based on the parameter, such as by providing a specified control function or information feedback (see p6, p3-8, P14, Blum).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches wherein the furniture drive comprises: at least one fixing device for fixing the furniture drive to a furniture carcass (A cabinet system with a body (i.e. carcass) that has doors and drawers, thus fixed to the cabinet body, see Fig. 1, p31, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin); at least one positioning device, with which furniture part can be moved relative to the furniture carcass (A cabinet system with a body (i.e. carcass) that accepts drawers that use actuators to open and close (i.e. furniture drive and part with movable manner on a carcass) with stored states (i.e. comprising memory) using a control unit (computer), thus p31, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin); at least one drive unit , by means of which the at least one positioning device can be at least one computing unit or at least one data forwarding device actuators (i.e. furniture drive) with stored states (i.e. comprising memory) using a control unit (computer), thus p31, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin and at least one memory unit, wherein the at least one memory unit is configured such that at least one digital data set relating to at least one static parameter for the furniture part or the at least one dynamic parameter for the furniture partcan be stored in the at least one memory unit (Data, such as programming, for a parameter, such as a state, is interpreted as a digital set relating to at least one at least one dynamic parameter, with stored states see P31, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin) via at least one electronic device (At least a connection device fixes doors and drawers actuator drives to a cupboard and positions these in an open or closed position by control unit, see p1, Fig. 1, p27, Hepkeskin).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teachesall the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepskin further teaches an assembly operator area and the end user region (Device area used during an installation phase and device region used during another time, see P31, Hepkeskin)
Blum further teaches wherein a storing of the at least one digital data set is performed via at least one data transmission device spatially separate from the at least one electronic (Data stored in memory in a separate device receiving data transmitted to it and separate from an input electronic device, for example memory 12 on transmission receiving device 7 storing added dataset from an input electronic device such as 15, see P23, Fig. 1, P14, Blum).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating memory on a device separate from an electronic, as taught by Blum.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better maintain a needed data near a device that uses the data in an system (see Fig. 1, P14, Blum).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Blum further teaches wherein a data communication between at least one electronic device and first furniture drive is bidirectional (Bidirectional between a device 16 and control driving furniture, see P21, 20, Fig. 1, Blum).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating bidirectional communication, as taught by Blum.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better transmit and receive data between devices as needed, such as for issuing commands and receiving information or feedback (see Fig. 1, 21, Blum).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hepkeskin, in view of Henderson, in further view of Blum and in further view of US Patent Publication No 2019/0355077 to Ahmed, (hereinafter Ahmed)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Henderson further implies wherein an at least one electronic device includes a first electronic device and a second electronic device, an assembly operator area is installed on the first electronic device, and an end user region is installed on the second electronic device which is spatially separate from the first electronic device (Different users with different accesses to functionalities accessing an app with the implication of users, such as an assembler or user, employing their devices to access the app, see Fig. 10-11, Fig. 14, p3, P146-149, Henderson).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating separate devices for different roles, as suggested by Henderson.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to more conveniently access an application without having to share a device, while tailoring and administering aspects of an application by restricting credentials to users in different roles and/or tailoring and restricting functionalities (see p3, P146-149, Henderson).
However, Ahmed from the same or similar field of service applications, more explicitly teaches wherein an at least one electronic device includes a first electronic device and a second electronic device, an area is installed on the first electronic device, and a region is installed on the second electronic device which is spatially separate from the first electronic device (A first device with a first app area for a first user and a second device for a app region, thus deices are spatially separate, see Fig. 1, p65-66, p14-15, 40, Ahmed)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating separate devices, as suggested by Ahmed.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to more conveniently access an application without having to share a device (see Fig. 1, p65-66, p29, p14-15, 40, Ahmed; p3, P146-149, Henderson).
Claims 8 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hepkeskin, in view of Henderson, in further view of Blum,and in further view of US Patent Publication No 2020/0221863 to Laing, (hereinafter Laing)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches wherein at least one electronic device communicates with a first furniture drive (Control unit device controls cabinet actuators, thus there is communication, see Fig. 1, P31).
Hepkeskin does not explicitly teach communicating with a furniture device via Bluetooth Low Energy
However, Laing from the same or similar field of controlled furniture teaches communicating with a furniture device via Bluetooth Low Energy (A device can communicate for control with a furniture device via Bluetooth BLE, see P32, Laing)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating communicating using bluetooth ble, as taught by Laing.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to more conveniently interact with a system without needing to be tethered by a cable of a wired communications, and by using a known communications protocol that is readily available (see P32, Laing).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches wherein at least one electronic device communicates with a first furniture drive (Control unit device controls cabinet actuators, thus there is communication, see Fig. 1, P31).
Hepkeskin does not explicitly teach wherein at least one data forwarding device comprises at least one Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) module for data communication with at least one device via BLE or at least one ESB module for data communication with at least one command transmitter, at least one data transmission device or at least one additional furniture drive via ESB.
However, Laing from the same or similar field of controlled furniture teaches wherein at least one data forwarding device comprises at least one Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) module for data communication with at least one device via BLE or at least one ESB module for data communication with at least one command transmitter, at least one data transmission device or at least one additional furniture drive via ESB (A device can communicate for forwarding control with a furniture device via Bluetooth BLE, see P32, Laing)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating communicating using bluetooth ble, as taught by Laing.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to more conveniently interact with a system without needing to be tethered by a cable of a wired communications, and by using a known communications protocol that is readily available (see P32, Laing).
Claims 16, 21, 22, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hepkeskin, in further view of Blum, in view of Henderson, in further view of Laing, and in further view of US Patent Publication No. 2021/0035555 to Hille (hereinafter Hille)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, Blum, and Liang teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin does not explicitly teach wherein a first furniture drive comprises at least one data forwarding device, wherein the method further comprises determining or storing in the at least one memory unit at least one static parameter of a second furniture drive, at least one dynamic parameter of the second furniture drive or at least one piece of information relating to a network in which the first furniture drive is located.
However, Hille from the same or similar field of furniture control and operation, teaches wherein a first furniture drive comprises at least one data forwarding device, wherein the method further comprises determining or storing in the at least one memory unit at least one static parameter of a second furniture drive, at least one dynamic parameter of the second furniture drive or at least one piece of information relating to a network in which the first furniture drive is located (A forwarding device, such as an access point/router, used in a system with a drive and an additional drive, with sending data set commands to furniture determined, see P60, P73, Hille).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating a forwarding device, as taught by Hille.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to more conveniently interact with a system through a routing device without needing to be tethered by a cable of a wired communications transmission using transmission less susceptible to noise interference (see P58, Fig. 1, P60, Hille).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin does not explicitly teach wherein a further comprising at least one data transmission device or at least one command transmitter for transmitting at least one digital data set or at least one digital command.
However, Hille from the same or similar field of furniture control and operation, teaches wherein a further comprising at least one data transmission device or at least one command transmitter for transmitting at least one digital data set or at least one digital command (A device, such as an access point/router, used in a system with a drive, in sending data set commands to furniture, thus at least a command transmitter and/or data transmission device, see P60, P73, Hille).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating a transmission device, as taught by Hille.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to more conveniently interact with a system through a routing device that is able to route signals from ne device to another in a network of connected devices (see P58, Fig. 1, P60, Hille).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, Blum, and Hille teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin wherein the at least one command transmitter comprises the at least one electronic device, a remote switch element, a data transmission device, a furniture lock, a household appliance or an additional furniture drive (A control unit electronic device is used for at least a command setting transmitter and furniture lock as in for locking furniture, see P31,P7, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, Blum, and Hille teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hille further teaches wherein the determining and storing is performed via a data forwarding device of the second furniture drive, or wherein the at least one piece of information relating to the network in which the first furniture drive is located includes at least one digital data set (Transmission of, digital data, control, etc., between an electronic device via access point to furniture can be via wireless signal, see P60, Fig. 1, 73, Abs., Hille)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating wireless transmitting and comparison for operation determination, as taught by Hille.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to more conveniently interact with a system without needing to be tethered by a cable of a wired communications transmission using transmission less susceptible to noise interference, and to provide a more simplified, less computationally heavy means of recognizing a control desired to be implemented (see P2, P74, P58, Fig. 1, P60, Hille).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches wherein at least one electronic device includes a mobile terminal, a smartphone or a computer (Cabinet system that uses actuators using a control unit (computer), thus p31, 18, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin), and is spatially separate from the furniture drive (Control unit and furniture have some space between them, see Fig. 1, P31, Hepkeskin)
Hepkeskin does not explicitly teach wherein the furniture drive and the at least one electronic device each comprise at least one data forwarding device.
However, Hille from the same or similar field of furniture control and operation, teaches wherein the furniture drive and the at least one electronic device each comprise at least one data forwarding device. (A forwarding device, such as an access point/router, used in a system with a drive and an additional drive, with sending data set commands to furniture determined, see P60, P73, Hille,
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by Hepkeskin and incorporating wireless transmitting and a forwarding device, as taught by Hille.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to more conveniently interact with a system without needing to be tethered by a cable of a wired communications transmission using transmission less susceptible to noise interference, and to more conveniently interact with a system through a routing device without needing to be tethered by a cable of a wired communications transmission using transmission less susceptible to noise interference (see P58, Fig. 1, P60, Hille).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hepkeskin, in view of Henderson, in further view of Blum, in further view of Laing, and in further view of Hille.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, Blum,and Laing all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkeskin further teaches data set stored in at least one memory unit (Stored in control unit electronic device, see P18, P31, Fig. 1, Hepkeskin)
Hepkeskin does not explicitly teach wherein at least one digital command of the at least one command transmitter or of the at least one data transmission device can be transmitted to the at least one data forwarding device of the furniture drive (Transmission of, digital data, control, etc., between an electronic device via access point to furniture can be via wireless signal, see P60, Fig. 1, 73, Abs., Hille), wherein at least one computing unit is configured to compare at least one digital command with at least one digital data set, and the at least one computing unit is configured to make a selection for executing the at least one digital command depending on a result of the comparison
However, Hille from the same or similar field of furniture control and operation, teaches wherein at least one digital command of the at least one command transmitter or of the at least one data transmission device can be transmitted to the at least one data forwarding device of the furniture drive (Transmission of, digital data, control, etc., between an electronic device via access point to furniture can be via wireless signal, see P60, Fig. 1, 73, Abs., Hille), wherein at least one computing unit is configured to compare at least one digital command with at least one digital data set, and the at least one computing unit is configured to make a selection for executing the at least one digital command depending on a result of the comparison (A comparison of an input command with a reference can be the basis of operating control, see P2, p76, Hille).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating wireless transmitting and comparison for operation determination, as taught by Hille.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to more conveniently interact with a system without needing to be tethered by a cable of a wired communications transmission using transmission less susceptible to noise interference, and to provide a more simplified, less computationally heavy means of recognizing a control desired to be implemented (see P2, P74, P58, Fig. 1, P60, Hille).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hepkeskin, in view of Henderson, and in further view of US Patent Publication No 2014/0211973 to Wang et al., (hereinafter Wang)
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepskin further teaches an assembly operator area and the end user region (Device area used
during an installation phase and device region used during another time, see P31, Hepkeskin)
Hepkeskin does not explicitly teach a data communication between at least one electronic device and at least one furniture drive is enabled in encrypted form and/or during defined time windows.
However, Wang from the same or similar field of user devices, teaches a data communication between at least one electronic device and at least one furniture drive is enabled in encrypted form and/or during defined time windows (Communications between devices use encryption, see P18-19, Wang).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating communication encryption, as taught by Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide a secured communications channel that can help prevent unwanted intrusion that can compromise a communication or its transmitted data (see P117-18, Wang).
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hepkeskin, in view of Henderson, in view of Blum, and in further view of Hille.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepkensin does not explicitly teach *wherein at least one electronic device communicates with an at least one data transmission device via WiFi or WAN, or the at least one data transmission device communicates with a first furniture drive via ESB.
However, Hille from the same or similar field of furniture control and operation teaches wherein wherein at least one electronic device communicates with an at least one data transmission device via WiFi or WAN, or the at least one data transmission device communicates with a first furniture drive via ESB (An electronic device, such as mobile device, communicates digital data with at least one data transmission device, such as an access point, via wlan where wan is being interpreted as a wireless area network, Bluetooth, etc., see P60, 93, Fig. 1, Hille).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating wireless transmitting, as taught by Hille.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to more conveniently interact with a system through a routing device without needing to be tethered by a cable of a wired communications transmission using transmission less susceptible to noise interference (see P58, Fig. 1, P60, Hille).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Hepkeskin, Henderson, and Blum teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Hepleskin does not explicitly teach comprising determining with at least one electronic device information of a second furniture drive, or information of a network in which the first furniture drive is mapped, by connecting with a first furniture drive or a data transmission device.
However, Hille from the same or similar field of furniture control and operation teaches comprising determining with at least one electronic device information of a second furniture drive, or information of a network in which the first furniture drive is mapped, by connecting with a first furniture drive or a data transmission device (An electronic control device determines a set of data for control of a drive and an additional drive in a network, see P31, P81, P73, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Hille).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the furniture control as described by the combination including Hepkeskin and incorporating determining a data set, as taught by Hille.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better control a system by use of pertinent data or data analysis (see P31, P81, P73, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Hille).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schramm et al., US Patent No. 11,259,641, teaches furniture motion with multiple actuators that includes synchronization of motion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILIO J SAAVEDRA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117