DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 5-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant is correct, in that only Claims 1-4 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 5/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/30/2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 5-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-15 of copending Application No. 18714539 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite substantially the same claims as shown below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18072146 -> Claim 5
18714539 -> Claim 8
A method for encoding an image, the method comprising:
generating a prediction signal for an input signal;
[Claim 8] A method for encoding an image, the method comprising:
generating a prediction signal for an input signal;
generating an initial residual signal based on the input signal and the prediction signal;
calculating an initial residual signal, which is a difference value between the input signal and the prediction signal;
adjusting the initial residual signal based on a similarity between the initial residual signal and a neighbor residual signal that is a residual signal for a signal of a region adjacent to the input signal, wherein the similarity is based on atleast one of a distance or a sum of distances for the neighbor residual signal.
generating a transformed residual signal by transforming a value of the initial residual signal to have a size value within a preset range;
and encoding the adjusted residual signal.
And encoding the transformed residual signal,
*This limitation is similar to claim 6.
*This limitation is similar to claim 14
wherein the transformed residual signal is generated based on a period of a signal,
wherein the preset range is a range of the period of the signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7, 9-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 has been amended to include “adjusting the initial residual signal based on a similarity between the initial residual signal and neighbor residual signal value that is a residual signal for a signal of a region adjacent to the input signal, wherein the similarity is based on at least one of a distance or a sum of distances for the neighbor residual signal”. It should be noted that the original claim 13 recited “The method of claim 11, wherein the similarity is determined based on a sum of a distance for at least one of each of the neighbor residual signal.”
Since “the neighbor residual signal” is singular, the sum of distances would not exist. The scope of this limitation would only be “distance”
Claim 15 is rejected under similar grounds as claim 5.
Claims 6-7,9-12 and 14 are rejected as dependent upon a rejected claim.
NOTE: pg. 35 under eqn 4, it states ”Herein, a distance means a similarity, and a smaller distance value corresponds to a higher similarity to a neighbor residual signal.” And similarly recited under eqn 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 9-11 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20180017659) in view of HEVC-BASED DEBLOCKING FILTER WITH RAMP PRESERVATION PROPERTIES, hereafter referred to as Norkin.
Lee discloses 5. A method for encoding an image, the method comprising:
generating a prediction signal for an input signal;
generating an initial residual signal based on the input signal and the prediction signal;
adjusting the initial residual signal
encoding the adjusted residual signal. (Lee, pg. 3 bottom- pg. 4 top “The predicting unit 220 may generate a prediction signal by performing prediction on the digital hologram data1 on which the first conversion has been performed, and may acquire residual image data obtained by subtracting the digital hologram data on which the first conversion has been performed from the prediction signal2.
Specifically, the prediction unit 220 may perform inter prediction or intra prediction on the digital hologram data subjected to the first conversion to generate a prediction signal.
The second conversion unit 230 may compress the digital hologram data by performing HEVC encoding on the digital hologram data subjected to the first conversion. This process is called HEVC-based digital hologram data compression.
The second transform unit 230 may perform a second transform that transforms the residual image data using discrete cosine transform or discrete cosine transform3. Also, the second conversion unit 230 may apply the quantization to the digital hologram data subjected to the second conversion to calculate the conversion coefficient, and may generate the compressed bitstream using the arithmetic coding on the calculated conversion coefficient.4 Then, as a method for decoding compressed digital hologram data, a transform coefficient is first dequantized and a second inverse transform is performed to extract a reconstructed residual signal. And the predicted signal is added to the extracted residual signal to recover the first reconstructed image for the digital hologram data. A first reconstructed image can be obtained by using a deblocking filter and a sample adaptive offset.” ; Where the DCT (see footnote 3 above) is based on neighboring pixels within the 8x8 block, Taken from https://cs.stanford.edu/people/eroberts/courses/soco/projects/data-compression/lossy/jpeg/dct.htm
)
Lee discloses DCT followed by quantization, but fails to disclose “based on a similarity between the initial residual signal and neighbor residual signal value that is a residual signal for a signal of a region adjacent to the input signal, wherein the similarity is based on atleast one of a distance or a sum of distances for the neighbor residual signal; and”
Norkin discloses applying a HEVC deblocking filter after DCT for suppressing block artifacts (Norkin, Section 1,
) thus discloses “based on a similarity between the initial residual signal and neighbor residual signal value that is a residual signal for a signal of a region adjacent to the input signal, wherein the similarity is based on atleast one of a distance or a sum of distances for the neighbor residual signal; and” (Norkin, Section 2, pg. 2 bottom left column, shows that the deblocking filter uses distance between points to determine the strength of the filter(which adjusts the signal)
)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to use a deblocking filter as shown by Norkin after the DCT in Lee’s HEVC algorithm.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to remove blocking noise.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Norkin to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Lee in view of Norkin discloses 6. The method of claim 5, wherein the initial residual signal is generated by considering periodicity of the input signal and the prediction signal.(Lee, Abstract, “A digital hologram compression apparatus may comprise a first transformation part, a prediction part and a second conversion part. The first transformation part performs the first transformation to transform digital hologram data by using at least one of discrete sine transform (DST), discrete cosine transform (DCT), Fresnel transform and Fresnelet transform.”; “Here, the Fresnel transformation is a transformation method in which the wave of light from a light source to an observation point is modeled by diffraction, and can be expressed by Equation (1).
[Equation 1]
Here, (i, j) and (x, y), i and j are pixel sizes in the horizontal and vertical directions of the digital hologram data, x and y are pixel sizes in the horizontal and vertical directions of the converted data, The distance between the digital hologram data and the hologram restoration plane.”, Note: all 4 techniques consider periodicity; For example see Fresnel eqn above with the periodicity of pi/lambda ;
From https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fresnel_diffraction
; DCT would have a periodicity of 8x8 pixel blocks)
Lee in view of Norkin discloses 7. The method of claim 6, wherein a size of the initial residual signal is generated so as not to exceed a maximum value of a period range of the input signal and the prediction signal. (see claim 6 above, The Fresnel equation limits the range to j*PI / Lambda*z)
Lee in view of Norkin discloses 9. The method of claim 5, wherein the adjusting of the initial residual signal adjusts the initial residual signal based on at least one of a number of neighbor residual signals that are referred to, a direction of referring to a neighbor residual signal, a reference distance, and a reference point. (see claim 8; Note : Interpreting this claim is the disjunctive form (i.e. A or B or C or D.). If Applicant believes is should be interpreted conjunctive form (i.e. at least one A and at least one B and at least one C and altheas one D), please state so on the record.)
Lee in view of Norkin discloses 10. The method of claim 9, wherein the reference point is determined based on at least one of a position of a signal and a value of a signal. (see claim 8, addressed the alternative)
Lee in view of Norkin discloses 11. The method of claim 9, wherein the adjusting of the initial residual signal determines whether or not to adjust the initial residual signal based on a similarity between the neighbor residual signal and each of the adjusted residual signal that is generated by adjusting the initial residual signal based on the initial residual signal and periodicity of the signal. (see claim 8, where the residual is modified based on the equation shown above, where the periodicity is 8x8)
Lee in view of Norkin discloses 14. The method of claim 5, comprising: decoding the adjusted residual signal that is encoded; generating an initial reconstructed signal based on the prediction signal and the adjusted residual signal; and generating a transformed reconstructed signal by transforming a value of the initial reconstructed signal to have a size value in a preset range, wherein the generating of the transformed reconstructed signal generates the transformed reconstructed signal from the value of the initial reconstructed signal by using a clipping function that has a minimum value of the preset range and a maximum value of the preset range as input values. (Lee, “The second transform unit 230 may perform a second transform that transforms the residual image data using discrete cosine transform or discrete cosine transform5. Also, the second conversion unit 230 may apply the quantization to the digital hologram data subjected to the second conversion to calculate the conversion coefficient, and may generate the compressed bitstream using the arithmetic coding on the calculated conversion coefficient. Then, as a method for decoding compressed digital hologram data, a transform coefficient is first dequantized and a second inverse transform is performed to extract a reconstructed residual signal. And the predicted signal is added to the extracted residual signal to recover the first reconstructed image for the digital hologram data. A first reconstructed image can be obtained by using a deblocking filter and a sample adaptive offset.”)
Claim 15 is rejected under similar grounds as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming any 35 USC 112 rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GANDHI THIRUGNANAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 First limitation
2 Second limitation
3 Third limitation – Note: DCT is a lossy compression techniques, most commonly known for JPEG compression
4 Fourth limitation
5 Third limitation – Note: DCT is a lossy compression techniques, most commonly known for JPEG compression