DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application does not claim priority to any other application. For the purpose of examination, the effective filing date of the instant application regarding prior art is November 30th, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buibas et al. (US 2020/0020112 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, Buibas teaches:
A method comprising:
training a machine learning model based on a set of training images (See Buibas ¶ [0139] – machine learning techniques used to train classification algorithms/ neural networks based on image data);
detecting, by a scale, a first change in weight of a display area (As the specification defines a scale device as an electronic scale detecting changes in weight, see Buibas ¶ [0182] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] to detect item movement from a display shelf);
capturing, by a first camera, a first image of the display area (See Buibas ¶ [0134-0135] – using image data to determine a person in a store has interacted with an item in an item storage area);
detecting, by one or more processors, a first object in the first image (See Buibas ¶ [0134-0135] – using image data to determine a person in a store has interacted with an item in an item storage area), the first object having a value based on weight (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example);
segmenting, by the one or more processors, a portion of the first image corresponding to the detected first object (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items);
providing the segmented portion of the first image to the trained machine learning model (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items);
utilizing the trained machine learning model to identify the first object (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items);
associating, by the one or more processors, the detected first change in weight with the identified first object (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example);
determining, by the first camera, a transaction value associated with the identified first object based on the detected first change in weight and the first object value (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example, [0150-0152] – cameras detection of user interaction with items, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item and Fig. 13 – showing a rendition of a monitored display area and displaying prices [transaction value] of items selected by users); and
displaying, by a display, a rendition of the display area, the rendition containing a representation of the first object and the transaction value associated with the identified first object based on the detected first change in weight (See Buibas ¶ [0132-0134] – enables association of a person with products… a display that the system may utilize to show the person's list of items, i.e., shopping cart list and with which the person may pay for the items… a product shelf such as shelf may have weight sensors or motion sensors that assist in detecting that products are taken, moved, or replaced on the shelf… may receive and process data indicating the quantity of a product that is taken or dispensed, and may attribute this quantity to a person, for example to charge this quantity to the person's account, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item).
Regarding Claims 2, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the transaction value associated with the identified first object is based on at least one of a price of the identified first object, or a first object identifier (It is noted that these limitations do not further functionally limit the method of claim 1 and merely describe the transaction value associated with the identified first object, therefore, these limitations are considered non-functional descriptive material and are not given patentable weight, nonetheless, see Buibas Fig. 13 – showing recognize transaction value by item price and description).
Regarding Claims 3, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the first object comprises:
identifying, by the one or more processors, one or more features of the detected first object in the image (See Buibas ¶ [0278-0279] – using features of items in a 3D space to identify said items); and
identifying, by the one or more processors, the first object based on the one or more features (See Buibas ¶ [0278-0279] – using features of items in a 3D space to identify said items).
Regarding Claims 5, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the trained machine learning model is a deep learning neural network (As the specification of the instant application describes a deep learning neural network as comprising a convolution neural network, a recurrent neural network and a fully connected neural network, see Buibas ¶ [0135] – neural network employing any number of fully connected layers, convolutional layers, recurrent layers, or any other type of neurons or connections).
Regarding Claims 6, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein displaying the rendition of the display area comprises:
displaying a real-time captured image of the detected first object and displaying the transaction value associated with the identified first object with the real-time captured image of the detected first object (See Buibas ¶ [0215-0216] – real-time tracking of users as they interact with items around them and Fig. 13 – showing users interacting with items and displaying a price [transaction value] of each item).
Regarding Claims 7, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 6, further comprising:
capturing the real-time captured image of the detected first object from the first camera (See Buibas ¶ [0135] – using cameras to track interactions of users with items in a store and [0215-0216] – real-time tracking of users as they interact with items around them).
Regarding Claims 8, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 6, further comprising:
capturing the real-time captured image of the detected first object by a second camera (See Buibas ¶ [0135] – using cameras to track interactions of users with items in a store, [0157] – using multiple cameras and [0215-0216] – real-time tracking of users as they interact with items around them).
Regarding Claims 9, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein displaying the rendition of the display area comprises:
displaying a virtualized rendition of the display area, the virtualized rendition comprising a virtualized rendition of the detected first object and displaying the transaction value associated with the identified first object in an associated manner with the virtualized rendition of the detected first object (See Buibas Fig. 13 – showing users interacting with items and displaying a price [transaction value] of each item, wherein the price is associated with each item in the same dialog box respective of said items).
Regarding Claims 10, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
storing, by the one or more processors, one or more of data identifying the object, the first image, the representation of the first object, or the transaction value associated with the identified first object (See Buibas ¶ [0156] – calibrating images of user and item interaction in a store, calibrating said images based on multiple parameters and using said calibrated images to determine the types of user/ item interactions as said user and items move from one camera field of view to another, thereby showing data storage by example and Fig. 13 – showing users interacting with items and displaying a price [transaction value] of each item).
Regarding Claims 11, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 10, further comprising:
detecting, by the scale, a second change in weight;
upon detecting the second change in weight, capturing, by the first imaging camera, a second image (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – shelves have weight sensors, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item, wherein a weight sensor is place under each item, Fig. 21 – showing a plurality of items, thereby showing a plurality of weight sensors);
detecting, by the one or more processors, a second object in the second image, the second object not being in the first image (See Buibas ¶ [0186] – recognizing a “put” action of an item on a shelf that was not previously in that location) and having a value based on weight (See Buibas ¶ [0182] – a weight sensor may be placed under each item in the case to detect when the item is removed and data from the weight sensor may be transmitted to processor. Any type or types of sensors may be used to detect or confirm that a user takes an item. Detection of removal of a product, using any type of sensor, may be combined with tracking of a person using cameras in order to attribute the taking of a product to a specific user);
identifying, by the one or more processors, the second object (See Buibas Fig. 21 – identifying item (111) as a soda can);
segmenting, by the one or more processors, a portion of the second image corresponding to the detected second object (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items);
providing the segmented portion of the second image to the trained machine learning model (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items);
utilizing the trained machine learning model to identify the second object (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items);
associating, by the one or more processors, the detected second change in weight with the identified second object;
determining, by the first camera, a transaction value associated with the identified second object based on the detected second change in weight and the second object value (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example, [0150-0152] – cameras detection of user interaction with items, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item and Fig. 13 – showing a rendition of a monitored display area and displaying prices [transaction value] of items selected by users); and
displaying, by the display, a rendition of the display area, the rendition containing a representation of the second object and the transaction value associated with the identified second object based on the detected second change in weight (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item, wherein a weight sensor is place under each item, [0184] – displaying on a display at the exit of a store, a message [rendition] of items interacted with and charging an amount [transaction value] to a user associated with said item interaction and Fig. 21 – showing a plurality of items, thereby showing a plurality of weight sensors).
Regarding Claims 12, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 11, wherein capturing the second image occurs in response to detecting a presence of the second object entering a field of view (FOV) of the first camera (See Buibas ¶ [0156] – image calibration based on item tracking from one camera field of view to another).
Regarding Claims 13, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein detecting the first change in weight of the display area comprises:
detecting the first change in weight of the display area after a steady state condition is satisfied (It is noted that these limitations are conditional as they require that a steady state condition is satisfied. These limitations are not necessarily invoke based on the conditional nature of said limitations, therefore these limitations are not given patentable weight).
Regarding Claims 14, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the steady state condition is one or more of a threshold time window or a threshold amount of weight increase (These limitations do not further functionally limit the method of claim 13 and merely describe the steady state condition [which is conditional and not given patentable weight], therefore, these limitations are considered non-functional descriptive material and are not given patentable weight).
Regarding Claims 15, Buibas teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein detecting the first change in weight of the display area after the steady state condition comprises removing spurious measured weight values from the scale (It is noted that these limitations are conditional as they require that a steady state condition is satisfied, as well as dependency on conditional claim 13. These limitations are not necessarily invoke based on the conditional nature of said limitations, therefore these limitations are not given patentable weight).
Regarding Claims 16, Buibas teaches:
A system comprising:
a scale, the scale detecting a first change in weight of a display area (As the specification defines a scale device as an electronic scale detecting changes in weight, see Buibas ¶ [0182] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] to detect item movement from a display shelf);
a first camera, the first camera capturing a first image featuring the display area (See Buibas ¶ [0134-0135] – using image data to determine a person in a store has interacted with an item in an item storage area);
one or more processors, the one or more processors:
(i) training a machine learning model based on a set of training images (See Buibas ¶ [0139] – machine learning techniques used to train classification algorithms/ neural networks based on image data),
(ii) detecting the first object in the first image, the first object having a value based on weight (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example),
(iii) identifying one or more features of the detected first object in the image (See Buibas ¶ [0278-0279] – using features of items in a 3D space to identify said items),
(iv) identifying the first object based on the one or more features (See Buibas ¶ [0278-0279] – using features of items in a 3D space to identify said items),
(v) segmenting a portion of the first image corresponding to the detected first object (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items),
(vi) providing the segmented portion of the first image to the trained machine learning model (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items),
(vii) utilizing the trained machine learning model to identify the first object, the trained machine learning model being a deep learning neural network (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items and As the specification of the instant application describes a deep learning neural network as comprising a convolution neural network, a recurrent neural network and a fully connected neural network, see Buibas ¶ [0135] – neural network employing any number of fully connected layers, convolutional layers, recurrent layers, or any other type of neurons or connections),
(viii) associating the detected first change in weight with the identified first object (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example),
(ix) determining a transaction value associated with the identified first object based on the detected first change in weight and the second object value (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example, [0150-0152] – cameras detection of user interaction with items, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item and Fig. 13 – showing a rendition of a monitored display area and displaying prices [transaction value] of items selected by users); and
a display, the display displaying a rendition of the display area, the rendition containing a representation of the first object and the transaction value associated with the identified first object based on the detected first change in weight (See Buibas ¶ [0132-0134] – enables association of a person with products… a display that the system may utilize to show the person's list of items, i.e., shopping cart list and with which the person may pay for the items… a product shelf such as shelf may have weight sensors or motion sensors that assist in detecting that products are taken, moved, or replaced on the shelf… may receive and process data indicating the quantity of a product that is taken or dispensed, and may attribute this quantity to a person, for example to charge this quantity to the person's account, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item, Fig. 13 – showing a rendition of a monitored display area and displaying prices [transaction value] of items selected by users).
Regarding Claims 18, Buibas teaches:
The system of claim 16, wherein:
the scale is further caused to detect a second change in weight;
the first camera is further caused to capture a second image upon the detection of the second change in weight (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – shelves have weight sensors, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item, wherein a weight sensor is place under each item, Fig. 21 – showing a plurality of items, thereby showing a plurality of weight sensor);
the one or more processors are further caused to:
(i) store one or more of data identifying the object, the first image, the representation of the first object, or the transaction value associated with the identified first object (See Buibas ¶ [0156] – calibrating images of user and item interaction in a store, calibrating said images based on multiple parameters and using said calibrated images to determine the types of user/ item interactions as said user and items move from one camera field of view to another, thereby showing data storage by example and Fig. 13 – showing users interacting with items and displaying a price [transaction value] of each item);
(ii) detect a second object in the second image, the second object not being in the first image (See Buibas ¶ [0186] – recognizing a “put” action of an item on a shelf that was not previously in that location) and having a value based on weight (See Buibas ¶ [0182] – a weight sensor may be placed under each item in the case to detect when the item is removed and data from the weight sensor may be transmitted to processor. Any type or types of sensors may be used to detect or confirm that a user takes an item. Detection of removal of a product, using any type of sensor, may be combined with tracking of a person using cameras in order to attribute the taking of a product to a specific user),
(iii) identify one or more features of the detected second object in the image (See Buibas ¶ [0278-0279] – using features of items in a 3D space to identify said items),
(iv) identify the second object based on the one or more features (See Buibas ¶ [0278-0279] – using features of items in a 3D space to identify said items),
(v) segment a portion of the second image corresponding to the detected seco object (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items),
(vi) provide the segmented portion of the second image to the trained machine learning model (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items),
(vii) utilize the trained machine learning model to identify the second object (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items),
(viii) associate the detected second change in weight with the identified second object (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example and [0182] – a weight sensor may be placed under each item in the case to detect when the item is removed and data from the weight sensor may be transmitted to processor. Any type or types of sensors may be used to detect or confirm that a user takes an item. Detection of removal of a product, using any type of sensor, may be combined with tracking of a person using cameras in order to attribute the taking of a product to a specific user),
(ix) determine a transaction value associated with the identified second object based on the detected second change in weight and the second object value (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example, [0150-0152] – cameras detection of user interaction with items, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item and Fig. 13 – showing a rendition of a monitored display area and displaying prices [transaction value] of items selected by users); and
the display is further caused to display a rendition of the display area, the rendition containing a representation of the second object and the transaction value associated with the identified second object based on the detected second change in weight (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item, wherein a weight sensor is place under each item, [0184] – displaying on a display at the exit of a store, a message [rendition] of items interacted with and charging an amount [transaction value] to a user associated with said item interaction and Fig. 21 – showing a plurality of items, thereby showing a plurality of weight sensors).
Regarding Claims 19, Buibas teaches:
A tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions, the instructions, when executed by one or more processors of a computer system, cause the computer system to (See Buibas ¶ [0128] – the system operating from instructions stored in a non-transitory computer-readable media):
train a machine learning model based on a set of training images (See Buibas ¶ [0139] – machine learning techniques used to train classification algorithms/ neural networks based on image data);
receive, from a scale, a detected first changed in weight of a display area;
receive, from a first camera, a first image of the display area See Buibas ¶ [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item);
detect a first object in the first image, the first object having a value based on weight (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example);
identify one or more features of the detected first object in the image (See Buibas ¶ [0278-0279] – using features of items in a 3D space to identify said items),
identify the first object based on the one or more features (See Buibas ¶ [0278-0279] – using features of items in a 3D space to identify said items),
segment a portion of the first image corresponding to the detected first object (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items),
provide the segmented portion of the first image to the trained machine learning model (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items), and
utilize the trained machine learning model to identify the first object, the trained machine learning model being a deep learning neural network (See Buibas ¶ [0280-0282] – using example crops of images comprising interactions of users and items to train a neural network [machine learning model] to classify and identify said items and As the specification of the instant application describes a deep learning neural network as comprising a convolution neural network, a recurrent neural network and a fully connected neural network, see Buibas ¶ [0135] – neural network employing any number of fully connected layers, convolutional layers, recurrent layers, or any other type of neurons or connections);
associate the detected first change in weight with the identified first object (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example);
determine a transaction value associated with the identified first object based on the detected first change in weight and the first object value (See Buibas ¶ [0133] – using weight sensors to detect a quantity of product that is taken of dispensed from a shelf, thereby showing a change in weight by example, [0150-0152] – cameras detection of user interaction with items, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item and Fig. 13 – showing a rendition of a monitored display area and displaying prices [transaction value] of items selected by users);
generate a rendition of the display area, the rendition containing a representation of the first object and the transaction value associated with the identified first object based on the detected first change in weight (See Buibas ¶ [0132-0134] – enables association of a person with products… a display that the system may utilize to show the person's list of items, i.e., shopping cart list and with which the person may pay for the items… a product shelf such as shelf may have weight sensors or motion sensors that assist in detecting that products are taken, moved, or replaced on the shelf… may receive and process data indicating the quantity of a product that is taken or dispensed, and may attribute this quantity to a person, for example to charge this quantity to the person's account, [0182-0183] – using weight sensors [electronic scales] and cameras to detect item movement from a display shelf and charge an account of a user [transaction] that took said item, Fig. 13 – showing a rendition of a monitored display area and displaying prices [transaction value] of items selected by users); and
transmit the rendition to a display device (See Buibas ¶ [0134] – transmitting a determination based on an interaction between a user and an item [rendition] to a display).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102:
There are no amendments to the claims of the instant application and the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 of claims 1-3, 5-16 and 18-19 is maintained.
The applicant’s arguments do not consider all of the previously cited sections of Buibas, which have been updated in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 to reflect the amendments to the claims as they are currently limited.
Contrary to the applicant’s assertion that Buibas fails to teach “displaying, by a display, a rendition of the display area, the rendition containing a representation of the first object and the transaction value associated with the identified first object based on the detected first change in weight” as recited in claim 1 (and similarly claims 16 and 19), these features remain to be taught by Buibas. The applicant’s arguments fail to consider all of the previously cited sections of Buibas by only arguing against ¶ [0133] and Fig. 13 while ignoring ¶ [0182-0183]. Nonetheless, at ¶ [0134-0135] in light of [0113] teaches theses limitations. Further, in Figs. 2, 213 and 213b, (referenced in [0134]) clearly show the message displaying a representation of the first object (text description) and the transaction value (price of soda can).
Applicant argues that static pricing based on weight changes does not read on the limitation. Examiner disagrees. Buibas teaches a weight change that cause a pricing event, which would under BRI be a first change in weight. Examiner suggests adding language to address Applicant’s want for dynamic weight change pricing of multiple purchases.
Dependent claims 2-3, 5-15 and 18, for their dependency on rejected base claims 1, 16 or 19, respectively, remain rejected as well for reasons noted above in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102.
The applicant is generally reminded that prior art must be considered in its entirety (MPEP 2141.02 (VI)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW S WERONSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/MICHAEL JARED WALKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627