DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, 15-18, 20-22, 24, 28, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins et al. (US 20150141962 A1) in view of Heinecke et al. (US 20140066882 A1)in further view Tully et al. (US 20070239121 A1) in further view of Moon et al. (KR 101853309 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Collins embodiment of Fig 18, hereinafter Collins-18 discloses a catheter assembly, comprising: a catheter (multi-port indwelling catheter, Claim 4) having two or more extension legs (intravenous lines 1403, Fig 14), wherein each extension leg (1403) is in fluid communication with at least one lumen (lumen of shaft as seen in Fig 14) extending along a catheter tube (shaft of catheter, Fig 14); and an extension leg securement apparatus (line securing system 1800, Fig 18A) attached to each of the two or more extension legs (1403) ([0103]), the extension leg securement apparatus (1800) including an extension leg organizer (base 1803, Fig 18B)and two or more channels (concave portions 1815, Fig 18B) configured to individually receive the two or more extension legs therein (1403)([0103]: “(…) base 1803 can comprise a plurality of concave portions 1815, each one configured to receive and secure an intravenous line 1403 (…)”)
Collins-18 is silent wherein the extension leg organizer having a first wire aperture; an extension leg ring having a second wire aperture, the extension leg ring coupled with the extension leg organizer and extending around the two or more extension legs as a group, and a bendable wire coupled between the extension leg ring and the extension leg organizer, wherein a first end of the bendable wire is received in the first wire aperture and a second end of the bendable wire is received in the second wire aperture.
Heinecke teaches assembly, comprising: a catheter (medical article 60, such as a catheter system, Fig 1), comprising an extension leg ring (flap 106 in second position forms a closed loop, Fig 1) coupled with the extension leg organizer (arm 130 and proximal portion 144 including one or more grooves 148, Fig 2) and extending around the two or more extension legs as a group (Fig1).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins with a ring coupled to the extension leg organizer as taught by Heinecke for the purpose of further securing the extension legs of the catheter ([0172]-[0174]).
Collins-18/Heinecke are silent wherein the extension leg organizer having a first wire aperture an extension leg ring having a second wire aperture, and a bendable wire coupled between the extension leg ring and the extension leg organizer, wherein a first end of the bendable wire is received in the first wire aperture and a second end of the bendable wire is received in the second wire aperture.
Tully teaches an extension leg ring (ring 402, Fig 14); a bendable wire (elastic cord 404, Fig 14) coupled between the extension leg ring (ring 402) and the extension leg organizer (ring 403, Fig 14).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins-18/Heinecke with similar bendable wire as taught by Tully for the purpose of adjusting the position of the lines when needed ([0041])
Collins-18/Heinecke /Tully are silent the extension leg organizer having a first wire aperture an extension leg ring having a second wire aperture, wherein a first end of the bendable wire is received in the first wire aperture and a second end of the bendable wire is received in the second wire aperture.
Moon teaches an extension leg organizer (mechanism 10, Fig 1) having a first wire aperture (2000, Annotated Fig 2) an extension leg ring ( clamp 41, Fig 1) having a second wire aperture (2001, Annotated Fig 2), wherein a first end (2002, Annotated Fig 2) of the bendable wire (strap 51, Fig 2) is received in the first wire aperture (2000, Annotated Fig 2) and a second end (2003, Annotated Fig 2) of the bendable wire (51) is received in the second wire aperture (2001, Annotated Fig 2).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins-18/Heinecke /Tully with similar retractable wire and openings on their respective mating elements as taught by Moon for the purpose of being easy to maintain its shape and has excellent contact feel ([0067]).
Regarding claim 2, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the assembly according to claim 1. Collins-18 discloses wherein each channel (1815) is coupled with one of the two or more extension legs (1403) via a press fit, a snap fit, or an interference fit (interference fit between 1815 and lines 1403 preventing movement due to friction; [0103]: “Similar to the line couplings 1709 described in FIG. 17, the base 1803 can be made of a gripping material, such as, for example, silicone. The gripping material can be configured to prevent movement of the intravenous line 1403 relative to each concave portion 1815 of the base 1803” ).
Regarding claim 3, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the assembly according to claim 1. Collins-18 discloses wherein each channel (1815) is configured to inhibit longitudinal displacement of the one of the two or more extension legs (1403) coupled therewith (Movement of extension leg 1403 is being prevented; [0103]: “Similar to the line couplings 1709 described in FIG. 17, the base 1803 can be made of a gripping material, such as, for example, silicone. The gripping material can be configured to prevent movement of the intravenous line 1403 relative to each concave portion 1815 of the base 1803” ).
Regarding claim 4, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the assembly according to claim 1. Collins-18 discloses wherein the extension leg organizer (1803) is configured to: be bent by a clinician during use into a curved shape, and maintain the curved shape thereafter ([0103]: “Similar to the line couplings 1709 described in FIG. 17, the base 1803 can be made of a gripping material, such as, for example, silicone. The gripping material can be configured to prevent movement of the intravenous line 1403 relative to each concave portion 1815 of the base 1803; therefore when legs are inserted the silicone concave surface of the base will bend outwards slightly to accommodate the line).
Regarding claim 6, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the assembly according to claim 1. Collins-18 is silent wherein the extension leg ring is disposed distal the extension leg organizer.
Heinecke teaches an extension leg ring (flap 106 in second position forms a closed loop, Fig 1) is disposed distal the extension leg organizer (arm 130 and proximal portion 144 including one or more grooves 148, Fig 2) (Fig 1 shows flap 106 in a distal position relative to the arm 130 and grooves 148).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the position of the extension leg ring of device of Collins-18/Collins-12 to be distal from the extension leg organizer as taught by Heinecke to provide sufficient security to inhibit lateral, longitudinal, and/or vertical movement of the medical article ([0158]; [0167]).
Regarding claim 7, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the assembly according to claim 5. Collins-18 is silent wherein the extension leg ring includes a slot configured to individually receive the two or more extension legs therethrough.
Collins embodiment of Fig 12, hereinafter Collins-12 teaches wherein the extension leg ring includes a slot (slot 1, Annotated Fig 1) configured to individually receive the two or more extension legs therethrough ([0075]: “(…)The clamp 1200 can be made from a variety of plastic or foam materials, so long as it is flexible or resilient enough to detachably attach to the intravenous extension tube (…) the clamp 1200 can be made to have an adjustable diameter to accommodate a range of intravenous extension tube sizes.”); Since the diameter of the clamp could be adjusted, clamp 1200 is structurally capable of accommodating more than one extension legs; its diameter could be adjusted to fit the legs total diameter).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon with the materials and appropriate diameter of the C- clamp as taught by Collins-12 for the purpose of providing flexibility and enough space to accommodate the extension legs ([0075]).
Regarding claim 8, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon/Collins-12 discloses the assembly according to claim 7. Collins-18 is silent wherein the slot defines a width that is less than a diameter of the each of the two or more extension legs.
Collins-12 teaches wherein the slot (Slot 1, Annotated Fig 1) defines a width that is less than a diameter of the each of the two or more extension legs ([0075]: Slot 1 defines a width that is less than the diameter of each leg; clamp is then deflected each time a leg is inserted into it, increasing the width of the slot temporarily to allow insertion of the leg into aperture 1209)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon/Collins-12 with similar material of the ring and width of the slot as taught by Collins-12 for to have an adjustable slot that permits insertion of the legs and physically prevent their accidental removal ([0075]).
Regarding claim 9, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon/Collins-12 discloses the assembly according to claim 8. Collins-18 is silent wherein: the extension leg ring includes a first arm extending along a first partial circumference of the extension leg ring and a second arm extending along a second partial circumference of the extension leg ring, the second partial circumference disposed opposite the first partial circumference, and at least one of the first arm or the second arm is deflectable so as to increase the width of the slot.
Collins-12 teaches wherein: the extension leg ring (adhesive clamp 1200, Fig 12A) includes a first arm (2, Annotated Fig 1) extending along a first partial circumference (4, Annotated Fig 1) of the extension leg ring (1200) and a second arm (3, Annotated Fig 1) extending along a second partial circumference (5, Annotated Fig 1) of the extension leg ring (1200), the second partial circumference (5) disposed opposite the first partial circumference (4)(See Annotated Fig 1), and at least one of the first arm (2) or the second arm (3) is deflectable so as to increase the width of the slot (1, Annotated Fig 1) ([0075]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon/Collins-12 with similar material of the ring and width of the slot as taught by Collins-12 to have an adjustable slot that permits insertion of the legs and physically prevent their accidental removal ([0075]).
Regarding claim 11, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the assembly according to claim 1. Collins-18 is silent wherein the bendable wire is configured to: be bent by a clinician during use to define a position and an orientation of the extension leg organizer with respect to the extension leg ring, and maintain the position and the orientation of the extension leg organizer with respect to the extension leg ring.
Tully teaches wherein the bendable wire (404) is configured to: be bent by a clinician during use to define a position and an orientation of the extension leg organizer (403)with respect to the extension leg ring (402), and maintain the position and the orientation of the extension leg organizer (403) with respect to the extension leg ring (402) ([0041]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the wire of device Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon with to be bendable as taught by Tully for the purpose of adjusting the position of the lines when needed ([0041])
Regarding claim 15, Collins embodiment of Fig 18, hereinafter Collins-18 discloses a catheter extension leg securement apparatus (line securing system 1800, Fig 18A), comprising: an extension leg organizer (base 1803, Fig 18B) having two or more channels (concave portions 1815, Fig 18B) configured to individually receive two or more extension legs (intravenous lines 1403, Fig 14) of a catheter (multi-port indwelling catheter, Claim 4) therein ([0103]: “(…) base 1803 can comprise a plurality of concave portions 1815, each one configured to receive and secure an intravenous line 1403 (…)”).
Collins-18 is silent regarding the extension leg organizer having a first wire aperture and an extension leg ring having a second wire aperture, the extension leg ring coupled with the extension leg organizer and extending around the two or more extension legs as a group; and a bendable wire coupled between the extension leg ring and the extension leg organizer, wherein a first end of the bendable wire is received in the first wire aperture and a second end of the bendable wire is received in the second wire aperture.
Heinecke teaches assembly, comprising: a catheter (medical article 60, such as a catheter system, Fig 1), comprising an extension leg ring (flap 106 in second position forms a closed loop, Fig 1) coupled with the extension leg organizer (arm 130 and proximal portion 144 including one or more grooves 148, Fig 2) and extending around the two or more extension legs as a group (Fig1).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins with a ring coupled to the extension leg organizer as taught by Heinecke for the purpose of further securing the extension legs of the catheter ([0172]-[0174]).
Collins-18/Heinecke are silent wherein the extension leg organizer having a first wire aperture an extension leg ring having a second wire aperture, and a bendable wire coupled between the extension leg ring and the extension leg organizer, wherein a first end of the bendable wire is received in the first wire aperture and a second end of the bendable wire is received in the second wire aperture.
Tully teaches an extension leg ring (ring 402, Fig 14); a bendable wire (elastic cord 404, Fig 14) coupled between the extension leg ring (ring 402) and the extension leg organizer (ring 403, Fig 14).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins-18/Heinecke with similar bendable wire as taught by Tully for the purpose of adjusting the position of the lines when needed ([0041]).
Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully are silent the extension leg organizer having a first wire aperture an extension leg ring having a second wire aperture, wherein a first end of the bendable wire is received in the first wire aperture and a second end of the bendable wire is received in the second wire aperture.
Moon teaches an extension leg organizer (mechanism 10, Fig 1) having a first wire aperture (2000, Annotated Fig 2) an extension leg ring ( clamp 41, Fig 1) having a second wire aperture (2001, Annotated Fig 2), wherein a first end (2002, Annotated Fig 2) of the bendable wire (strap 51, Fig 2) is received in the first wire aperture (2000, Annotated Fig 2) and a second end (2003, Annotated Fig 2) of the bendable wire (51) is received in the second wire aperture (2001, Annotated Fig 2).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully with similar retractable wire and openings on their respective mating elements as taught by Moon for the purpose of being easy to maintain its shape and has excellent contact feel ([0067]).
Regarding claim 16, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the apparatus according to claim 15. Collins-18 discloses wherein each channel (1815) is configured to couple with one of the two or more extension legs (1403) via a press fit, a snap fit, or an interference fit (interference fit between 1815 and lines 1403 preventing movement due to friction; [0103]: “Similar to the line couplings 1709 described in FIG. 17, the base 1803 can be made of a gripping material, such as, for example, silicone. The gripping material can be configured to prevent movement of the intravenous line 1403 relative to each concave portion 1815 of the base 1803”).
Regarding claim 17, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the apparatus according to claim 15. Collins-18 discloses wherein each channel (1815) is configured to inhibit longitudinal displacement of the one of the two or more extension legs (1403) coupled therewith (Movement of extension leg 1403 is being prevented; [0103]: “Similar to the line couplings 1709 described in FIG. 17, the base 1803 can be made of a gripping material, such as, for example, silicone. The gripping material can be configured to prevent movement of the intravenous line 1403 relative to each concave portion 1815 of the base 1803” ).
Regarding claim 18, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the apparatus according to claim 15. Collins-18 discloses wherein the extension leg organizer (1803) is configured to: be bent by a clinician during use into a curved shape, and maintain the curved shape thereafter ([0103]: “Similar to the line couplings 1709 described in FIG. 17, the base 1803 can be made of a gripping material, such as, for example, silicone. The gripping material can be configured to prevent movement of the intravenous line 1403 relative to each concave portion 1815 of the base 1803; therefore when legs are inserted the silicone concave surface of the base will bend outwards slightly to accommodate the line).
Regarding claim 20, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the apparatus according to claim 15. Collins-18 is silent wherein the extension leg ring includes a slot configured to individually receive the two or more extension legs therethrough.
Collins-12 discloses the extension leg ring (1200) includes a slot (slot 1, Annotated Fig 1) configured to individually receive the two or more extension legs therethrough ([0075]: “(…)The clamp 1200 can be made from a variety of plastic or foam materials, so long as it is flexible or resilient enough to detachably attach to the intravenous extension tube (…) the clamp 1200 can be made to have an adjustable diameter to accommodate a range of intravenous extension tube sizes.”); Since the diameter of the clamp could be adjusted, clamp 1200 is structurally capable of accommodating more than one extension legs; its diameter could be adjusted to fit the legs total diameter).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon with the materials and appropriate diameter of the C-clamp as taught by Collins-12 for the purpose of providing flexibility and enough space to accommodate the extension legs ([0075]).
Regarding claim 21, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon/Collins-12 discloses the apparatus according to claim 20. Collins-18 is silent wherein the slot defines a width that is less than a diameter of each of the two or more extension legs.
Collins-12 teaches wherein the slot (Slot 1, Annotated Fig 1) defines a width that is less than a diameter of each of the two or more extension legs ([0075]: Slot 1 defines a width that is less than the diameter of each leg; clamp is then deflected each time a leg is inserted into it, increasing the width of the slot temporarily to allow insertion of the leg into aperture 1209).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins-18/Collins-12 with similar material of the ring and width of the slot as taught by Collins-12 for to have an adjustable slot that permits insertion of the legs and physically prevent their accidental removal ([0075]).
Regarding claim 22, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon/Collins-12 discloses the apparatus according to claim 21. Collins-18 is silent wherein: the extension leg ring includes a first arm extending along a first partial circumference of the extension leg ring and a second arm extending along a second partial circumference of the extension leg ring, the second partial circumference disposed opposite the first partial circumference, and at least one of the first arm or the second arm is deflectable so as to increase the width of the slot.
Collins-12 teaches wherein: the extension leg ring (adhesive clamp 1200, Fig 12A) includes a first arm (2, Annotated Fig 1) extending along a first partial circumference (4, Annotated Fig 1) of the extension leg ring (1200) and a second arm (3, Annotated Fig 1) extending along a second partial circumference (5, Annotated Fig 1) of the extension leg ring (1200), the second partial circumference (5) disposed opposite the first partial circumference (4)(See Annotated Fig 1), and at least one of the first arm (2) or the second arm (3) is deflectable so as to increase the width of the slot (1, Annotated Fig 1)([0075]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Collins-18/Collins-12 with similar material of the ring and width of the slot as taught by Collins-12 for to have an adjustable slot that permits insertion of the legs and physically prevent their accidental removal ([0075]).
Regarding claim 24, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the assembly according to claim 15. Collins-18 is silent wherein the bendable wire is configured to: be bent by a clinician during use to define a position and an orientation of the extension leg organizer with respect to the extension leg ring, and maintain the position and the orientation of the extension leg organizer with respect to the extension leg ring.
Tully teaches wherein the bendable wire (404) is configured to: be bent by a clinician during use to define a position and an orientation of the extension leg organizer (403)with respect to the extension leg ring (402), and maintain the position and the orientation of the extension leg organizer (403) with respect to the extension leg ring (402) ([0041]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the wire of device Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon with to be bendable as taught by Tully for the purpose of adjusting the position of the lines when needed ([0041])
Regarding claim 28 Collins embodiment of Fig 18, hereinafter Collins-18 discloses a method of using a catheter(multi-port indwelling catheter, Claim 4), comprising: coupling two or more extension legs (intravenous lines 1403, Fig 14) of the catheter with extension leg organizer (base 1803, Fig 18B), the extension leg organizer (1803) including two or more channels (concave portions 1815, Fig 18B) configured to receive the two or more extension legs therein (1403)([0103]: “(…) base 1803 can comprise a plurality of concave portions 1815, each one configured to receive and secure an intravenous line 1403 (…)”);
Collins-18 is silent regarding the extension leg organizer including a first wire aperture; disposing the two or more extension legs within an extension leg ring including a second wire aperture, the extension leg ring coupled with the extension leg organizer via a bendable wire, wherein a first end of the bendable wire is received in the first wire aperture and a second end of the bendable wire is received in the second wire aperture; and bending the bendable wire to define a position and an orientation of the extension leg organizer with respect to the extension leg ring.
Heinecke teaches a method of using a catheter (medical article 60, such as a catheter system, Fig 1), comprising: coupling two or more extension legs (three input catheters 62, Fig 1) of the catheter (60) with extension leg organizer (arm 130 and proximal portion 144 including one or more grooves 148, Fig 2), the extension leg organizer (130+144) including two or more channels (grooves 148, Fig 2) configured to receive the two or more extension legs (62) therein; and disposing the two or more extension legs (62) within an extension leg ring (flap 106 in second position forms a closed loop, Fig 1) coupled with the extension leg organizer (130+144) (organizer 130+144 is coupled to extension ring 106 by means of base 110).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the method of Collins with a ring coupled to the extension leg organizer as taught by Heinecke for the purpose of further securing the extension legs of the catheter ([0172]-[0174])
Collins-18/Heinecke are silent regarding the extension leg organizer including a first wire aperture; the extension leg ring including a second wire aperture, the extension leg ring coupled with the extension leg organizer via a bendable wire, wherein a first end of the bendable wire is received in the first wire aperture and a second end of the bendable wire is received in the second wire aperture; and bending the bendable wire to define a position and an orientation of the extension leg organizer with respect to the extension leg ring.
Tully teaches a method comprising an extension leg ring (ring 402, Fig 14), a bendable wire (elastic cord 404, Fig 14), an extension leg organizer (ring 403, Fig 14); the extension leg ring (402) coupled with the extension leg organizer (403) via a bendable wire (404) (Fig 14) and bending the bendable wire (404) to define a position and an orientation of the extension leg organizer (403) with respect to the extension leg ring (402) ([0041]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the coupling of method of Collins-18/Heinecke with similar coupling through a bendable wire as taught by Tully for the purpose of adjusting the position of the lines when needed ([0041]).
Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully are silent regarding the extension leg organizer including a first wire aperture; the extension leg ring including a second wire aperture, wherein a first end of the bendable wire is received in the first wire aperture and a second end of the bendable wire is received in the second wire aperture.
Moon teaches a method comprising an extension leg organizer (fluid tube organizing device 10a, Fig 2) including a first wire aperture (2000, Annotated Fig 2) an extension leg ring ( clamp 41, Fig 1) including a second wire aperture (2001, Annotated Fig 2), wherein a first end (2002, Annotated Fig 2) of the bendable wire (strap 51, Fig 2) is received in the first wire aperture (2000, Annotated Fig 2) and a second end (2003, Annotated Fig 2) of the bendable wire (51) is received in the second wire aperture (2001, Annotated Fig 2)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the coupling mechanism of method of Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully with similar wire mechanism and openings on their respective mating elements as taught by Moon to having a metal coupling able to easily maintain its shape and has excellent contact feel ([0067]).
Regarding claim 30, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon discloses the method according to claim 28. Collins-18 is silent wherein: the extension leg ring includes a slot configured to individually receive the two or more extension legs therethrough, the slot defines a width that is less than a diameter of each of the two or more extension legs, and disposing the two or more extension legs within an extension leg ring includes displacing the two or more extension legs through the slot.
Collins embodiment of Fig 12A, hereinafter Collins-12 teaches an extension leg securement the extension leg ring (1200) includes a slot (slot 1, Annotated Fig 1) the configured to individually receive the extension leg (1403) therethrough, the slot defines a width (Annotated Fig 1) that is less than a diameter of each of the two or more extension legs ([0075]: Slot 1 defines a width that is less than the diameter of each leg; clamp is then deflected each time a leg is inserted into it, increasing the width of the slot temporarily to permit insertion of the leg into aperture 1209), and disposing the extension leg (1403) within an extension leg ring (1200) includes displacing the extension leg through the slot ([0075]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the extension ring of the method of Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon with a similar extension leg ring as taught by embodiment of Fig 12A of Collins for the purpose of further securing the catheter lines ([0078]).
Regarding claim 31, Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon/Collins-12 discloses the method according to claim 30. Collins-18 is silent wherein: the extension leg ring includes a first arm extending along a first partial circumference of the extension leg ring and a second arm extending along a second partial circumference disposed opposite the first partial circumference, at least one of the first arm or the second arm is deflectable so as to increase the width of the slot, and displacing the two or more extension legs through the slot includes deflecting the at least one of the first arm or the second arm.
Collins-12 teaches the extension leg ring (1200) includes a first arm (2, Annotated Fig 1) extending along a first partial circumference (4, Annotated Fig 1) of the extension leg ring (1200) and a second arm (3, Annotated Fig 1) extending along a second partial circumference (5, Annotated Fig 1) disposed opposite the first partial circumference (4, Annotated Fig 1), at least one of the first arm (2, Annotated Fig 1) or the second arm (3, Annotated Fig 1) is deflectable so as to increase the width of the slot (width of slot 1, Annotated Fig 1), and displacing the two or more extension legs (1403) through the slot (slot 1, Annotated Fig 1) includes deflecting the at least one of the first arm (width of slot 2, Annotated Fig 1) or the second arm (3, Annotated Fig 1) ([0075]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the method of Collins-18/Heinecke/Tully/Moon/Collins-12 with similar material of the ring and width of the slot as taught by Collins-12 to have an adjustable slot that permits insertion of the legs and physically prevent their accidental removal ([0075]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, 15-18, 20-22, 24, 28, and 30-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUILLERMO G PAZ ESTEVEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/Lauren P Farrar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783