DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 21 Jan 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the rejection of claim 1 as unpatentable under 35 USC § 103 over Wu et al. (US 2012/0094172) in view of Scharkowski et al. (US 2020/0153124), Applicant argues that the newly-added limitation of “wherein the first main plate has a substantially constant thickness” is not taught by the cited references, because the multilayer metallic strip 4 of Wu et al. is shown in Fig. 4 as having a thinner region in the vicinity of the reinforcing element 6.
Reproduction of Fig. 4 of Wu et al..
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, and notes that while the Illustration presented in Fig. 4 of Wu et al. shows a thin region, this figure is not necessarily drawn to scale, and it is therefore impossible to ascertain how much thinner the thin region is from the rest of the multilayer strip. Additionally, it is unclear how uniform the thickness of the strip would need to be to be considered “substantially constant” when the claim is read in light of the instant specification. As such, the Examiner submits that Wu et al.’s multiplayer strip can be considered to be substantially constant in thickness under a reasonably broad interpretation of the phrase “substantially constant.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially constant thickness” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially constant” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 2-11 are similarly rejected as they incorporate all of the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2012/0094172) in view of Scharkowski et al. (US 2020/0153124).
As to claim 1, Wu et al. discloses a secondary battery comprising:
an electrode assembly (see e.g. battery core 3, [0065]-[0066[ and Fig. 2) having a first electrode tab and a second electrode tab (see e.g. positive tab and negative tab, [0068]-[0069] and Fig. 2) exposed to opposite sides, respectively, of the electrode assembly (see e.g. Fig. 2, showing tabs extending from opposite ends of battery core 3, which reads on an electrode assembly);
a first current collector (see e.g. flexible connecting plate 12a, which is coupled to the positive electrode tab of battery core 3, [0071] and Fig. 2) coupled to the first electrode tab of the electrode assembly;
a case (see e.g. housing 4, [0064] and Fig. 2) accommodating the electrode assembly and the first current collector and having the opposite sides opened (see e.g. Fig. 2, housing 4 accommodates battery core 3 and connecting plate 12a and is open on both ends);
a first cap plate (see e.g. upper cover plate 42a, [0064] and Fig. 2) sealing an opening of one side, from among the opposite sides, of the case; and
a first terminal (see e.g. terminal 11, [0071] and Fig. 2) coupled to the first current collector and exposed to an outside of the first cap plate (see e.g. [0071], stating that terminal 11 is connected to connecting plate 12a, which reads on the first current collector, and Fig. 2, showing terminal 11 exposed to the outside of housing 4),
wherein the first current collector is inside the case of the secondary battery (see e.g. Fig. 2, connecting plate 12a is inside housing 4).
Wu et al. describes the first current collector 12a as being flexible (see e.g. [0071]), but otherwise does not particularly limit the structure of the connector. Wu et al. does not disclose a secondary battery wherein the first current collector includes a first main plate on which a multi-layered metal thin film is overlapped, and a first sub-plate surrounding both ends of the first main plate in a longitudinal direction, respectively, and wherein the first main plate has a substantially constant thickness.
Scharkowski et al. teaches a flexible first current collector (see e.g. connector 10, Scharkowski et al.: [0062] and Fig. 7) for connecting battery cells that comprises a first main plate (see e.g. strip 4, Scharkowski et al.: [0053], Fig. 7) on which a multi-layered metal thin film is overlapped (see e.g. Scharkowski et al.: [0016]-[0017] and [0053], which states that strip 4 may be a multi-layered metal laminate strip). Scharkowski et al.’s first current collector further includes a first sub-plate (see e.g. reinforcing element 6, Scharkowski et al.: [0054] and Fig. 3b) that surrounds both ends of the first main plate in a longitudinal direction, respectively. Additionally, Scharkowski et al.’s first main plate has a thickness that can be considered to be substantially constant under a reasonably broad interpretation of the term “substantially constant” (see the “Response to Arguments” section above).
Scharkowski et al.’s first current collector is intended to connect contact parts by welding the first sub-plate to a connecting part (see e.g. Scharkowski et al.: [0033]-[0034]). An advantage of Scharkowski et al.’s first current collector design is that it allows the flexible first main plate (metallic strip) to be joined to a connecting part while the first sub-plate (reinforcing element) protects the first main plate during welding to yield a cost-effective connector having sufficient strength for connection to electrical components (see e.g. Scharkowski et al.: [0003]-[0004], [0008]-[0011]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of Wu et al. by replacing Wu et al.’s flexible connector with the flexible first current collector taught by Wu et al., which includes a first main plate on which a multi-layered metal thin film is overlapped, and a first sub-plate surrounding both ends of the first main plate in a longitudinal direction, respectively, and has a first main plate with a substantially constant thickness. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Scharkowski et al. teaches that it is a cost-effective flexible connector that provides sufficient strength for connection to electrical components.
Ao to claim 2, Wu et al. in view of Scharkowski et al. teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein in the first current collector (see e.g. connecting plate 12a, Wu et al.: [0071]) and connector 10, Scharkowski et al.: [0062]), a first sub-plate of one side is in contact with and welded to the first electrode tab, and a first sub-plate of the other side is in contact with and welded to the first terminal (see e.g. Wu et al.: Fig. 2, one side of connecting plate 12a is in contact with the tabs of battery core 3 and the other side is in contact with positive terminal 11. see also Scharkowski et al.: [0033]-[0034], teaching that connector 10 is intended to connect contact parts by welding a reinforcing part that reads on the claimed first sub-plate).
As to claim 3, Wu et al. in view of Scharkowski et al. teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the first current collector comprises:
a connection part (see e.g. connector 10, Scharkowski et al.: [0062]) formed of the first main plate (see e.g. strip 4, Scharkowski et al.: [0053], Fig. 7);
a first tab coupling part (see e.g. part 6a, Scharkowski et al.: [0054], Fig. 7) extending outwardly from one end of the connection part, comprising the first main plate and the first sub-plate surrounding the first main plate (see e.g. part 6a surrounds strip 4, which reads on the first sub-plate), and coupled to the first electrode tab (see e.g. Wu et al.: Fig. 2, connecting plate 12a is coupled to the tabs of battery core 3); and
a first terminal coupling part extending outwardly from another end of the connection part (see e.g. Scharkowski et al.: Fig. 3b, part 6, which reads on the first coupling parts, extends from both ends of connector 10), comprising the first main plate and the first sub-plate surrounding the first main plate (see e.g. part 6a surrounds strip 4, which reads on the first sub-plate), and coupled to the first terminal (see e.g. Wu et al.: Fig. 2, connecting plate 12a is coupled to positive terminal 11).
As to claim 4, Wu et al. in view of Scharkowski et al. teaches the secondary battery of claim 3, wherein in the first current collector, a surface on which the first tab coupling part is in contact with and welded to the first electrode tab is the same as a surface on which the first terminal coupling part is in contact with and welded to the first terminal (see e.g. Scharkowski et al.: Fig. 3b, the surfaces of the first tab coupling parts 6 of both ends of first current collector 10 are substantially the same. See also Wu et al.; Fig. 2, showing that connecting plate 12a is coupled to the tabs of battery core 3 at one end and connected to positive terminal 11 at the other end), and the connection part is bent at least once (see e.g. Wu et al.: Fig. 2, connecting plate 12a, which reads on a connection part, is bent).
As to claim 5, Wu et al. in view of Scharkowski et al. teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first sub-plate is 2 to 5 times a thickness of a metal thin film of the first main plate (see e.g. Scharkowski et al.: [0012], reinforcing element 6, which reads on the claimed first sub-plate, has a thickness that is at least 1.5 to 2 times the thickness of an inner layer of the strip, which reads on 1.5 to twice the thickness of an inner layer of the strip. This abuts and thereby renders obvious the instantly-claimed range of 2-5 times the thickness of the first main plate).
As to claim 6, Wu et al. in view of Scharkowski et al. teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the first main plate (see e.g. strip 4, Scharkowski et al.: [0053]) is compressed in a state in which 4 to 10 sheets of a metal thin film of 0.05 mm to 0.2 mm are overlapped (see e.g. Scharkowski et al.: [0003], teaching sheets with a thickness of 0.1 mm and Fig. 4, showing an embodiment in which strip 4 comprises 7 sheets. Scharkowski et al.’s strip 4 is laminated and therefore can be considered to be compressed).
As to claim 7, Wu et al. in view of Scharkowski et al. teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the first terminal comprises:
a first inner terminal plate inside the first cap plate (see e.g. cover plate 42a, which reads on a cap plate, and positive terminal 11, a portion of which reads on a first inner terminal plate and is inside cover plate 42a, Wu et al.: Fig. 2 and see Illustration 1 below);
a first outer terminal plate outside the first cap plate (see e.g. Wu et al.: Fig. 2 and Illustration 2, a portion of positive terminal 11 lies outside cover plate 42a and thereby reads on the first outer terminal plate); and
a first terminal pillar coupled to the first inner terminal plate and the first cap plate from an inside, passing through the first cap plate, and coupled to the first outer terminal plate from the outside of the first cap plate (see e.g. Wu et al.: Fig. 2 and Illustration 1 below, showing a portion that reads on a first terminal pillar coupled to a first outer terminal plate and a first inner terminal plate and which passes through cover plate 42a).
Illustration 1: Reproduction with modification of Fig. 2 of Wu et al..
As to claim 8, Wu et al. in view of Scharkowski et al. teaches the secondary battery of claim 7, wherein in the first current collector (see e.g. connector 10, Scharkowski et al.: [0062]), the first sub-plate is coupled to one surface of the first inner terminal plate by welding (see e.g. Scharkowski et al.: [0033]-[0034], the contacting elements of Scharkowski et al., which read on the claimed first sub-plate, are connected to contact parts via welding).
As to claim 9, Wu et al. in view of Scharkowski et al. teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, further comprising: a second current collector (see e.g. connecting plate 12b, Wu et al.: [0072] and Fig. 2) coupled to the second electrode tab of the electrode assembly (see e.g. Wu et al.: Fig. 2, connecting plate 12b is coupled to the bottom tabs of battery core 3);
a second cap plate sealing an opening of the other side of the case (see e.g. lower cover plate 42b, which seals the lower opening of housing 4, Wu et al.: Fig. 2); and
a second terminal (see e.g. negative terminal 21, Wu et al.: [0072] and Fig. 2) coupled to the second current collector and exposed to the outside of the second cap plate (see e.g. Wu et al.: Fig. 2, negative terminal 21 is coupled to connecting plate 12b and exposed to the outside of lower cover plate 42b).
As to claim 10, Wu et al. in view of Scharkowski et al. teaches the secondary battery of claim 9, including a second current collector (see e.g. connecting plate 12b, Wu et al.: [0072] and Fig. 2).
Wu et al. in view of Scharkowski et al. as applied above does not teach a secondary battery wherein the second current collector comprises: a second main plate on which a multi-layered metal thin film is overlapped; and a second sub-plate surrounding both ends of the second main plate in a longitudinal direction, respectively.
Scharkowski et al. teaches a flexible second current collector (see e.g. connector 10, Scharkowski et al.: [0062] and Fig. 7) for connecting battery cells that comprises a second main plate (see e.g. strip 4, Scharkowski et al.: [0053], Fig. 7) on which a multi-layered metal thin film is overlapped (see e.g. Scharkowski et al.: [0016]-[0017] and [0053], which states that strip 4 may be a multi-layered metal laminate strip). Scharkowski et al.’s second current collector further includes a second sub-plate (see e.g. reinforcing element 6, Scharkowski et al.: [0054] and Fig. 3b) that surrounds both ends of the second main plate in a longitudinal direction, respectively. Additionally, Scharkowski et al.’s second main plate has a thickness that can be considered to be substantially constant under a reasonably broad interpretation of the term “substantially constant” (see the “Response to Arguments” section above).
Scharkowski et al.’s second current collector is intended to connect contact parts by welding the second sub-plate to a connecting part (see e.g. Scharkowski et al.: [0033]-[0034]). An advantage of Scharkowski et al.’s second current collector design is that it allows the flexible second main plate (metallic strip) to be joined to a connecting part while the second sub-plate (reinforcing element) protects the second main plate during welding to yield a cost-effective connector having sufficient strength for connection to electrical components (see e.g. Scharkowski et al.: [0003]-[0004], [0008]-[0011]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of Wu et al. by replacing Wu et al.’s flexible connector with the flexible second current collector taught by Wu et al., which includes a second main plate on which a multi-layered metal thin film is overlapped, and a second sub-plate surrounding both ends of the second main plate in a longitudinal direction, respectively, and has a second main plate with a substantially constant thickness. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Scharkowski et al. teaches that it is a cost-effective flexible connector that provides sufficient strength for connection to electrical components.
As to claim 11, Wu et al. in view of Scharkowski et al. teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first sub-plate (see e.g. reinforcing element 6, Scharkowski et al.: [0054]) is 0.1 mm or more (see e.g. Sharkowski: [0003], reinforcing element 6 which reads on the first sub-plate has a thickness that is at least 1.5 to 2 times the thickness of the first main plate. As the first main plate is composed of sheets each having a thickness of up to 0.1 mm, Scharkowski et al.’s first sub-plate must have a thickness that may be 0.1 mm or more).
Conclusion
/A.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723