DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/08/2026 regarding claims 1, 6, 8, 10-15, 17-21 and 26-32 in the remarks are fully considered but moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Note: Objection to dependent claims 5, 6, 22 and 24 as containing allowable subject matter are withdrawn in view of the newly found prior art(s), details shown below. Examiner attempted to reach applicant to discuss this prior to issuing an office action with no response.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 8, 15, 19, 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0413940) in view of Park (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0235454) and further in view of Matsumura (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0172230), hereinafter referred to as Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0116256) and Zhou (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0319591).
As per claim 1:
Matsumura teaches a method (see abstract) comprising:
identifying a configuration associated with a bandwidth part (BWP) (see paragraph [0172], UE may be configured with a PDCCH/PDSCH transmission scheme by using higher layer signaling. Paragraph [0197] discloses information related to a transmission scheme common to a PDSCH and a PDCCH may be configured for each BWP/CC. Thus, it is evident that transmission scheme of PDCCH is configured for each PWP/CC), wherein the configuration is to configure a user equipment (UE) to operate according to a first single frequency network (SFN) scheme for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) within the BWP (Paragraph [0182] discloses one or more PDCCH transmission schemes configured for the UE may be supported. Example schemes include [0187], (scheme 2-4): HST-SFN PDCCH and paragraph [0188] (scheme 2-5): HST-SFN PDCCH (TRP-pre-compensation scheme). As explained earlier in paragraph [0197], information related to a transmission scheme common to a PDSCH and a PDCCH may be configured for each BWP/CC. Thus, it is evident that transmission scheme of PDCCH is configured for each PWP/CC).
Matsumura does not clearly disclose receiving a first medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) to indicate a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state associated with a control resource set (CORESET);
and receiving the PDCCH based on the configuration, the first state, and the second state.
Park teaches receiving a first medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) to indicate a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state associated with a control resource set (CORESET) (see paragraph [0057], the UE 120 may receive configuration information including one or more TCI states associated with a CORESET via a semi-static signaling such as MAC-CE));
and receiving the PDCCH based on the configuration, the first state, and the second state (paragraph [0057] discloses since the configuration information may indicate among the quantity of TCI states configured in the wireless network, the one or more TCI states associated with the CORESET, the UE can determine which TCI state(s) are to be used for PDCCH decoding. For example, the PDCCH may be transmitted to the UE 120 using the first TCI state associated with the first TRP and a second TCI state associated with the second TRP).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the configuration information indicating the respective TCI states associated with the CORESET (as disclosed in Park) into Matsumura as a way of enabling the UE to determine subsequent PDCCH transmission from respective TRPs (please see paragraphs [0057]-[0058] of Park).
Matsumura and Park do not teach determining, based on the first MAC-CE, whether to activate a TCI codepoint with the first TCI state and the second TCI state.
Matsumura’230 determining, based on the first MAC-CE, whether to activate a TCI codepoint with the first TCI state and the second TCI state (see paragraph [0134], when two TCI states are activated for a certain codepoint of a TCI field in a DCI for scheduling a PDSCH by a MAC-CE, this may indicate that the two TCI states correspond to different TRPs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the activation of two TCI states for a certain codepoint (as disclosed in Matsumura’230) into both Matsumura and Park as a way of associating the respective TCI states to different TRPs (please see paragraph [0134] of Matsumura’230). Therefore, by applying the respective TCI states, the UE can appropriately perform, by judging resource allocation (for example, rate matching) and subcarrier spacing to be applied, even when an SSB and CSI-RS are transmitted from different TRPs (please see paragraph [0136] of Matsumura’230).
The combination of Matsumura, Park and Matsumura’230 do not clearly teach
identifying an indication in a second MAC-CE or a downlink control information (DCI) to switch activation of the TCI codepoint to the first TCI state and the second TCI state;
switching activation of the TCI codepoint based on the indication;
performing a channel estimation procedure to determine a Doppler shift based on the TCI codepoint.
Shahmohammadian teaches identifying an indication in a second MAC-CE or a downlink control information (DCI) to switch activation of the TCI codepoint to the first TCI state and the second TCI state (see paragraph [0114], UE may be activated with a TCI codepoint having up to two TCI states. Therefore, with an assumption of one TCI state per TRP, a UE may accordingly determine which transmission-dynamic case is being used and address the case-specific Doppler shift for channel estimation as long as the QCL source of Doppler shift is appropriately indicated in the DCI);
switching activation of the TCI codepoint based on the indication (as explained earlier in paragraph [0114], UE may be activated with a TCI codepoint having up to two TCI states. In the frequency-offset pre-compensation as depicted in figures 10A-10C, the carrier frequency of the received signal remains the same in the dynamic switching cases of figures 9A-C);
performing a channel estimation procedure to determine a Doppler shift based on the TCI codepoint (see paragraph [0114], with the assignment of one TCI state per TRP, the UE may accordingly determine which transmission-dynamic case is being used and address the Doppler-shift for channel estimation. Note: The codepoint as disclosed in paragraph [0114] are used for activating the TCI states).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the use of TCI codepoint(s) as disclosed in Matsumura, Park and Matsumura’230 as a way of enabling the UE to determine which transmission dynamic is being used and address the case-specific Doppler shift for channel estimation (please see paragraph [0114] of Shahmohammadian).
Matsumura, Park, Matsumura’230 and Shahmohammadian do not teach the determined Doppler shift utilized in decoding the PDCCH.
Zhou teaches the determined Doppler shift utilized in decoding the PDCCH (see paragraph [0044], the UE may decode a downlink transmission from a base station using a TCI state. Said TCI state may indicate a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread. Said downlink transmission include PDCCH, please see paragraph [0095]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the decoding a downlink transmission using a TCI state (as disclosed in Zhou) as a way of determine one or more properties of the reference signal such as Doppler shift and QCL rules (please see paragraph [0044] of Zhou).
As per claim 8:
Matsumura teaches one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed, cause processing circuitry (see Figure 10, user terminal 20 comprising processor 1001, memory 1002) to:
identifying a configuration associated with a bandwidth part (BWP) (see paragraph [0172], UE may be configured with a PDCCH/PDSCH transmission scheme by using higher layer signaling. Paragraph [0197] discloses information related to a transmission scheme common to a PDSCH and a PDCCH may be configured for each BWP/CC. Thus, it is evident that transmission scheme of PDCCH is configured for each PWP/CC), wherein the configuration is to configure a user equipment (UE) to operate according to a first single frequency network (SFN) scheme for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) within the BWP (Paragraph [0182] discloses one or more PDCCH transmission schemes configured for the UE may be supported. Example schemes include [0187], (scheme 2-4): HST-SFN PDCCH and paragraph [0188] (scheme 2-5): HST-SFN PDCCH (TRP-pre-compensation scheme). As explained earlier in paragraph [0197], information related to a transmission scheme common to a PDSCH and a PDCCH may be configured for each BWP/CC. Thus, it is evident that transmission scheme of PDCCH is configured for each PWP/CC).
Matsumura does not clearly disclose receive a first medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) to indicate a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state associated with a control resource set (CORESET);
and receive a signal based on the first state, and the second state.
Park teaches receive a first medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) to indicate a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state associated with a control resource set (CORESET) (see paragraph [0057], the UE 120 may receive configuration information including one or more TCI states associated with a CORESET via a semi-static signaling such as MAC-CE));
and receive a signal based on the first state, and the second state (paragraph [0057] discloses since the configuration information may indicate among the quantity of TCI states configured in the wireless network, the one or more TCI states associated with the CORESET, the UE can determine which TCI state(s) are to be used for PDCCH decoding. For example, the PDCCH may be transmitted to the UE 120 using the first TCI state associated with the first TRP and a second TCI state associated with the second TRP).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the configuration information indicating the respective TCI states associated with the CORESET (as disclosed in Park) into Matsumura as a way of enabling the UE to determine subsequent PDCCH transmission from respective TRPs (please see paragraphs [0057]-[0058] of Park).
Matsumura and Park do not teach determine, based on the first MAC-CE, whether to activate a TCI codepoint with the first TCI state and the second TCI state.
Matsumura’230 determine, based on the first MAC-CE, whether to activate a TCI codepoint with the first TCI state and the second TCI state (see paragraph [0134], when two TCI states are activated for a certain codepoint of a TCI field in a DCI for scheduling a PDSCH by a MAC-CE, this may indicate that the two TCI states correspond to different TRPs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the activation of two TCI states for a certain codepoint (as disclosed in Matsumura’230) into both Matsumura and Park as a way of associating the respective TCI states to different TRPs (please see paragraph [0134] of Matsumura’230). Therefore, by applying the respective TCI states, the UE can appropriately perform, by judging resource allocation (for example, rate matching) and subcarrier spacing to be applied, even when an SSB and CSI-RS are transmitted from different TRPs (please see paragraph [0136] of Matsumura’230).
The combination of Matsumura, Park and Matsumura’230 do not clearly teach
identify an indication in a second MAC-CE or a downlink control information (DCI) to switch activation of the TCI codepoint to the first TCI state and the second TCI state;
activate the first TCI state and the second TCI state for the CORESET based on the second MAC-CE;
perform a channel estimation procedure to determine a Doppler shift based on the TCI codepoint.
Shahmohammadian teaches identify an indication in a second MAC-CE or a downlink control information (DCI) to switch activation of the TCI codepoint to the first TCI state and the second TCI state (see paragraph [0114], UE may be activated with a TCI codepoint having up to two TCI states. Therefore, with an assumption of one TCI state per TRP, a UE may accordingly determine which transmission-dynamic case is being used and address the case-specific Doppler shift for channel estimation as long as the QCL source of Doppler shift is appropriately indicated in the DCI);
activate the first TCI state and the second TCI state for the CORESET based on the second MAC-CE (as explained earlier in paragraph [0114], UE may be activated with a TCI codepoint having up to two TCI states. In the frequency-offset pre-compensation as depicted in figures 10A-10C, the carrier frequency of the received signal remains the same in the dynamic switching cases of figures 9A-C);
perform a channel estimation procedure to determine a Doppler shift based on the TCI codepoint (see paragraph [0114], with the assignment of one TCI state per TRP, the UE may accordingly determine which transmission-dynamic case is being used and address the Doppler-shift for channel estimation. Note: The codepoint as disclosed in paragraph [0114] are used for activating the TCI states).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the use of TCI codepoint(s) as disclosed in Matsumura, Park and Matsumura’230 as a way of enabling the UE to determine which transmission dynamic is being used and address the case-specific Doppler shift for channel estimation (please see paragraph [0114] of Shahmohammadian).
Matsumura, Park, Matsumura’230 and Shahmohammadian do not teach the determined Doppler shift utilized in decoding the PDCCH.
Zhou teaches the determined Doppler shift utilized in decoding the PDCCH (see paragraph [0044], the UE may decode a downlink transmission from a base station using a TCI state. Said TCI state may indicate a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread. Said downlink transmission include PDCCH, please see paragraph [0095]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the decoding a downlink transmission using a TCI state (as disclosed in Zhou) as a way of determine one or more properties of the reference signal such as Doppler shift and QCL rules (please see paragraph [0044] of Zhou).
As per claim 15:
Matsumura teaches an apparatus (see Figure 10, base station 10) comprising:
the processing circuitry (see Figure 10, processor 1001) to:
identify a configuration associated with a bandwidth part (BWP) (see paragraph [0172], UE may be configured with a PDCCH/PDSCH transmission scheme by using higher layer signaling. Paragraph [0197] discloses information related to a transmission scheme common to a PDSCH and a PDCCH may be configured for each BWP/CC. Thus, it is evident that transmission scheme of PDCCH is configured for each PWP/CC), wherein the configuration is to configure a user equipment (UE) to operate according to a first single frequency network (SFN) scheme for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) within the BWP (Paragraph [0182] discloses one or more PDCCH transmission schemes configured for the UE may be supported. Example schemes include [0187], (scheme 2-4): HST-SFN PDCCH and paragraph [0188] (scheme 2-5): HST-SFN PDCCH (TRP-pre-compensation scheme). As explained earlier in paragraph [0197], information related to a transmission scheme common to a PDSCH and a PDCCH may be configured for each BWP/CC. Thus, it is evident that transmission scheme of PDCCH is configured for each PWP/CC);
and interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry (see Figure 10, communication apparatus 1004 coupled to processor 1007), the interface circuitry to enable communication (see paragraph [0359], transmitting/receiving antennas 130 (230) may be implemented by the communication apparatus).
Matsumura does not clearly disclose receive a first medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) to indicate a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state associated with a control resource set (CORESET);
and receive the PDCCH based on the configuration, the first state, and the second state.
Park teaches receive a first medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) to indicate a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state associated with a control resource set (CORESET) (see paragraph [0057], the UE 120 may receive configuration information including one or more TCI states associated with a CORESET via a semi-static signaling such as MAC-CE));
and receive the PDCCH based on the configuration, the first state, and the second state (paragraph [0057] discloses since the configuration information may indicate among the quantity of TCI states configured in the wireless network, the one or more TCI states associated with the CORESET, the UE can determine which TCI state(s) are to be used for PDCCH decoding. For example, the PDCCH may be transmitted to the UE 120 using the first TCI state associated with the first TRP and a second TCI state associated with the second TRP).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the configuration information indicating the respective TCI states associated with the CORESET (as disclosed in Park) into Matsumura as a way of enabling the UE to determine subsequent PDCCH transmission from respective TRPs (please see paragraphs [0057]-[0058] of Park).
Matsumura and Park do not teach determine, based on the first MAC-CE, whether to activate a TCI codepoint with the first TCI state and the second TCI state.
Matsumura’230 determine, based on the first MAC-CE, whether to activate a TCI codepoint with the first TCI state and the second TCI state (see paragraph [0134], when two TCI states are activated for a certain codepoint of a TCI field in a DCI for scheduling a PDSCH by a MAC-CE, this may indicate that the two TCI states correspond to different TRPs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the activation of two TCI states for a certain codepoint (as disclosed in Matsumura’230) into both Matsumura and Park as a way of associating the respective TCI states to different TRPs (please see paragraph [0134] of Matsumura’230). Therefore, by applying the respective TCI states, the UE can appropriately perform, by judging resource allocation (for example, rate matching) and subcarrier spacing to be applied, even when an SSB and CSI-RS are transmitted from different TRPs (please see paragraph [0136] of Matsumura’230).
The combination of Matsumura, Park and Matsumura’230 do not clearly teach
identify an indication in a second MAC-CE or a downlink control information (DCI) to switch activation of the TCI codepoint to the first TCI state and the second TCI state;
switch activation of the TCI codepoint based on the indication;
perform a channel estimation procedure to determine a Doppler shift based on the TCI codepoint.
Shahmohammadian teaches identify an indication in a second MAC-CE or a downlink control information (DCI) to switch activation of the TCI codepoint to the first TCI state and the second TCI state (see paragraph [0114], UE may be activated with a TCI codepoint having up to two TCI states. Therefore, with an assumption of one TCI state per TRP, a UE may accordingly determine which transmission-dynamic case is being used and address the case-specific Doppler shift for channel estimation as long as the QCL source of Doppler shift is appropriately indicated in the DCI);
switch activation of the TCI codepoint based on the indication (as explained earlier in paragraph [0114], UE may be activated with a TCI codepoint having up to two TCI states. In the frequency-offset pre-compensation as depicted in figures 10A-10C, the carrier frequency of the received signal remains the same in the dynamic switching cases of figures 9A-C);
perform a channel estimation procedure to determine a Doppler shift based on the TCI codepoint (see paragraph [0114], with the assignment of one TCI state per TRP, the UE may accordingly determine which transmission-dynamic case is being used and address the Doppler-shift for channel estimation. Note: The codepoint as disclosed in paragraph [0114] are used for activating the TCI states).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the use of TCI codepoint(s) as disclosed in Matsumura, Park and Matsumura’230 as a way of enabling the UE to determine which transmission dynamic is being used and address the case-specific Doppler shift for channel estimation (please see paragraph [0114] of Shahmohammadian).
Matsumura, Park, Matsumura’230 and Shahmohammadian do not teach the determined Doppler shift utilized in decoding the PDCCH.
Zhou teaches the determined Doppler shift utilized in decoding the PDCCH (see paragraph [0044], the UE may decode a downlink transmission from a base station using a TCI state. Said TCI state may indicate a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread. Said downlink transmission include PDCCH, please see paragraph [0095]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the decoding a downlink transmission using a TCI state (as disclosed in Zhou) as a way of determine one or more properties of the reference signal such as Doppler shift and QCL rules (please see paragraph [0044] of Zhou).
As per claim 19:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsaumura’230, Shahmohammadian and Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the configuration is to configure the apparatus to operate high speed vehicle-single frequency network (HSV-SFN) pre-compensation (Matsumura, please see paragraphs [0117]-[0119], discloses an HST pre-compensation scheme).
As per claim 26:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian and Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration is received via a radio resource control communication (Matsumura, paragraph [0110], scheme 1 and/or 2 NW pre-compensation based on the RRC information/MAC-CE).
As per claim 27:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian and Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first SFN scheme comprises a high speed vehicle (HSV) scheme with pre-compensation (Matsumura, see paragraph [0188], (scheme 2-5), HST-SFN PDCCH TRP pre-compensation scheme).
4. Claims 10, 14, 17 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian, Zhou and Matsumura (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0279869), hereinafter referred to as Matsumura’869.
As per claim 10:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian and Zhou teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 8 with the exception of:
wherein the MAC-CE indicates quasi co-location (QCL) properties for the first TCI state and the second TCI state.
Matsumura’869 teaches wherein the MAC-CE indicates quasi co-location (QCL) properties for the first TCI state and the second TCI state (see paragraph [0152], UE is provided with simultaneous TCI update list and an antenna port QCL provided by TCI states with the same activated TCI state ID value).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate activation of TCI states associated with the same CORESET ID (as disclosed in Matsumura) as a way of enabling the UE to determine a PDSCH from the SFN using multi-TRP (please see paragraph [0141 of Matsumura’869).
As per claim 14:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian and Zhou teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 8 with the exception of:
wherein high speed vehicle-single frequency network (HSV-SEN) pre-compensation is utilized for receiving the signal.
Matsumura’869 teaches wherein high speed vehicle-single frequency network (HSV-SEN) pre-compensation is utilized for receiving the signal (see paragraph [0233], discloses an HST NW pre-compensation scheme. Paragraphs [0127]-[0128] discloses UE receiving TRS and DMRS using schemes 1 or 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the Doppler pre-compensation scheme (as disclosed in Matsmura’869) as a way of forming a beam towards the direction of travel on the movement path and a TRP for forming a beam towards the direction opposite to the direction of travel on the movement path (please see paragraph [0139] of Matsumura’869).
As per claim 17:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian and Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 15 with the exception of:
wherein the transmission indicates quasi co-location (QCL) properties for the first TCI state and the second TCI state.
Matsumura’869 wherein the transmission indicates quasi co-location (QCL) properties for the first TCI state and the second TCI state (see paragraph [0152], UE is provided with simultaneous TCI update list and an antenna port QCL provided by TCI states with the same activated TCI state ID value).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate activation of TCI states associated with the same CORESET ID (as disclosed in Matsumura) as a way of enabling the UE to determine a PDSCH from the SFN using multi-TRP (please see paragraph [0141 of Matsumura’869).
Claim 29 is rejected in the same scope as claim 14.
5. Claims 11, 12, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian, Zhou, Wang (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0373248).
As per claim 11:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian, Zhou teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 8 with the exception of:
wherein the first MAC-CE includes a first Doppler shift and a first Doppler spread for the first TCI state, and wherein the first MAC-CE drops a second Doppler shift and a second Doppler spread for the second TCI state.
Wang teaches wherein the first MAC-CE includes a first Doppler shift and a first Doppler spread for the first TCI state, and wherein the first MAC-CE drops a second Doppler shift and a second Doppler spread for the second TCI state (see paragraph [0039], the MAC CE further contain a TCI state Idi,j field. Paragraph [0046] disclose each TCI state Idi,j may be used for indicating QCL-TypeA information, and/or QCL-TypeB information, and/or QCL-TypeC information, and/or QCL-TypeE information. The QCL-TypeA may include but not limited to Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay and delay spread, paragraph [0047]. Paragraphs [0048]-[0049] disclose said MAC CE has all TCI state Idi,j fields for each TCI. Therefore, said TCI Idi,j fields indicates Doppler shift and Doppler spread of the respective TCI states).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of MAC CE containing TCI state ID field (as disclosed in Wang) as a way of effectively achieving the indication of the downlink common beam information and/or the uplink common beam information (please see paragraph [0047] of Wang).
As per claim 12:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian, Zhou teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 8 with the exception of:
wherein the first quasi co-location (QCL) properties the first TCI state comprise QCL-TypeA properties, and wherein second QCL properties for the second TCI state comprise QCL properties of average delay and delay spread.
Wang teaches wherein the first quasi co-location (QCL) properties the first TCI state comprise QCL-TypeA properties, and wherein second QCL properties for the second TCI state comprise QCL properties of average delay and delay spread (see paragraph [0039], the MAC CE further contain a TCI state Idi,j field. Paragraph [0046] disclose each TCI state Idi,j may be used for indicating QCL-TypeA information, and/or QCL-TypeB information, and/or QCL-TypeC information, and/or QCL-TypeE information. The QCL-TypeA may include but not limited to Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay and delay spread, paragraph [0047]. Paragraphs [0048]-[0049] disclose said MAC CE has all TCI state Idi,j fields for each TCI. Therefore, said TCI Idi,j fields indicates Doppler shift and Doppler spread of the respective TCI states).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of MAC CE containing TCI state ID field (as disclosed in Wang) as a way of effectively achieving the indication of the downlink common beam information and/or the uplink common beam information (please see paragraph [0047] of Wang).
As per claim 13:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian, Zhou teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 12 with the exception of:
wherein the QCL-TypeA properties comprise QCL properties of average delay, delay spread, Doppler shift, and Doppler spread.
Wang teaches wherein the QCL-TypeA properties comprise QCL properties of average delay, delay spread, Doppler shift, and Doppler spread (see paragraph [0047], The QCL-TypeA may include but not limited to Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay and delay spread).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of MAC CE containing TCI state ID field (as disclosed in Wang) as a way of effectively achieving the indication of the downlink common beam information and/or the uplink common beam information (please see paragraph [0047] of Wang).
Claim 20 is rejected in the same scope as claim 12.
6. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Liu (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0349284).
As per claim 18:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 15 with the exception of:
wherein configuration includes a radio control resource control (RRC) parameter based on the BWP.
Liu teaches wherein configuration includes a radio control resource control (RRC) parameter based on the BWP (see paragraph [0170], base station may configure a UE one or more CORESETs for each DL BWP in a serving cell. For example, RRC parameter ControlResourceSetZero is used to configure CORESET 0 for an initial DL BWP).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the configured CORESET based on RRC parameter (as disclosed in Liu) as a way of enabling the UE to determine on which resources to expect the PDCCH transmission (please see paragraph [0175] of Liu).
7. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Bai (US PG Pub. No. 2026/0012970).
As per claim 21:
Matsumura teaches a method (see abstract) comprising:
generating, for transmission to a user equipment (UE), configuration associated with a bandwidth part (BWP) (see paragraph [0172], UE may be configured with a PDCCH/PDSCH transmission scheme by using higher layer signaling. Paragraph [0197] discloses information related to a transmission scheme common to a PDSCH and a PDCCH may be configured for each BWP/CC. Thus, it is evident that transmission scheme of PDCCH is configured for each PWP/CC), wherein the configuration is to configure a user equipment to operate according to a single frequency network (SFN) scheme within the BWP (Paragraph [0182] discloses one or more PDCCH transmission schemes configured for the UE may be supported. Example schemes include [0187], (scheme 2-4): HST-SFN PDCCH and paragraph [0188] (scheme 2-5): HST-SFN PDCCH (TRP-pre-compensation scheme). As explained earlier in paragraph [0197], information related to a transmission scheme common to a PDSCH and a PDCCH may be configured for each BWP/CC. Thus, it is evident that transmission scheme of PDCCH is configured for each PWP/CC).
Matsumura does not clearly disclose and generating, for transmission to the UE, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that indicates a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state associated with a control resource set (CORESET).
Park teaches and generating, for transmission to the UE, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that indicates a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state associated with a control resource set (CORESET) (see paragraph [0057], the base station 110 may transmit and the UE may configuration information including one or more TCI states associated with a CORESET via semi-static signaling (e.g., via RRC, MAC-CE and/or the like)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the configuration information indicating the respective TCI states associated with the CORESET (as disclosed in Park) into Matsumura as a way of enabling the UE to determine subsequent PDCCH transmission from respective TRPs (please see paragraphs [0057]-[0058] of Park).
The combination of Matsumura and Park do not clearly teach receiving, from the UE, an indication that the UE supports dynamic switching and wherein the MAC-CE indicates the first TCI state and the second TCI state based on the indication that the UE supports dynamic switching.
Bai teaches receiving, from the UE, an indication that the UE supports dynamic switching (see paragraph [0130], step 405, the UE 115-c transmits capability information to the base station 105-C. Said capability information indicate that the UE supports dynamic switching between modes (e.g., for a set of defined channels or reference signals)) and wherein the MAC-CE indicates the first TCI state and the second TCI state based on the indication that the UE supports dynamic switching (see paragraph [0131], step 410, the base station 105-c may transmit a TCI mode switch signaling via a MAC-CE, DCI or the link to the UE 115-c. The mode switch signaling may indicate for UE 115-c to switch between joint TCI state mode and separate TCI mode for uplink transmission and downlink reception).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission the of UE capability information indicating the support for dynamic switching of TCI states (as disclosed in Bai) into both Matsumura and Park as a way of enabling the UE to determine whether to apply joint TCI state for uplink and downlink or separate TCI states for uplink and downlink (please see paragraph [0133] of Bai).
8. Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Matsumura’230, Shahmohammadian, Zhou and Wang.
As per claim 30:
Matsumura in view of Park teaches the apparatus of claim 15 with the exception of:
wherein Doppler shift and Doppler spread are dropped for the second TCI state.
Wang teaches wherein Doppler shift and Doppler spread are dropped for the second TCI state (see paragraph [0039], the MAC CE further contain a TCI state Idi,j field. Paragraph [0046] disclose each TCI state Idi,j may be used for indicating QCL-TypeA information, and/or QCL-TypeB information, and/or QCL-TypeC information, and/or QCL-TypeE information. The QCL-TypeA may include but not limited to Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay and delay spread, paragraph [0047]. Paragraphs [0048]-[0049] disclose said MAC CE has all TCI state Idi,j fields for each TCI. Therefore, said TCI Idi,j fields indicates Doppler shift and Doppler spread of the respective TCI states).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of MAC CE containing TCI state ID field (as disclosed in Wang) as a way of effectively achieving the indication of the downlink common beam information and/or the uplink common beam information (please see paragraph [0047] of Wang).
9. Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Bai and Wang
As per claim 31:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Bai teaches the method of claim 21 with the exception of:
wherein the first TCI state includes average delay, delay spread, Doppler shift, and Doppler spread, and wherein the second TCI state includes average delay and delay spread.
Wang teaches wherein the first TCI state includes average delay, delay spread, Doppler shift, and Doppler spread, and wherein the second TCI state includes average delay and delay spread (see paragraph [0039], the MAC CE further contain a TCI state Idi,j field. Paragraph [0046] disclose each TCI state Idi,j may be used for indicating QCL-TypeA information, and/or QCL-TypeB information, and/or QCL-TypeC information, and/or QCL-TypeE information. The QCL-TypeA may include but not limited to Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay and delay spread, paragraph [0047]. Paragraphs [0048]-[0049] disclose said MAC CE has all TCI state Idi,j fields for each TCI. Therefore, said TCI Idi,j fields indicates Doppler shift and Doppler spread of the respective TCI states).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of MAC CE containing TCI state ID field (as disclosed in Wang) as a way of effectively achieving the indication of the downlink common beam information and/or the uplink common beam information (please see paragraph [0047] of Wang).
As per claim 32:
Matsumura in view of Park and further in view of Bai teaches the method of claim 21 with the exception of:
wherein the configuration indicates that Doppler shift and Doppler spread are to be dropped for the second TCI state.
Wang teaches wherein the configuration indicates that Doppler shift and Doppler spread are to be dropped for the second TCI state (see paragraph [0039], the MAC CE further contain a TCI state Idi,j field. Paragraph [0046] disclose each TCI state Idi,j may be used for indicating QCL-TypeA information, and/or QCL-TypeB information, and/or QCL-TypeC information, and/or QCL-TypeE information. The QCL-TypeA may include but not limited to Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay and delay spread, paragraph [0047]. Paragraphs [0048]-[0049] disclose said MAC CE has all TCI state Idi,j fields for each TCI. Therefore, said TCI Idi,j fields indicates Doppler shift and Doppler spread of the respective TCI states).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of MAC CE containing TCI state ID field (as disclosed in Wang) as a way of effectively achieving the indication of the downlink common beam information and/or the uplink common beam information (please see paragraph [0047] of Wang).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474