DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner submits that after further review of the prior art, the allowability of claims 1-5 is withdrawn in view of the teachings of Stellar et al. (US 2006/0224210). As a result, this action is made non-final. See rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pal (US 2018/0333574) in view Stellar et al. (US 2006/0224210) (hereinafter Stellar), further in view of Li et al. (US 2001/0008974) (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Pal discloses a device for relieving itching in a subject in need (Abstract; para. 11, 3rd sentence), said device comprising: a small housing body having a size and shape adapted to be held with hand (Figs. 1-5 all show embodiments of portable stimulator small enough to be held in hand); a skin contact surface having two or more electrodes on said surface (Fig. 4D, skin contact substrate 4281 with electrodes 4207 and 4209; para. 130); circuit means for generating pulsed electrical stimulation signals of selected amplitude and pulse rate at a selected frequency and delivering the electrical stimulation signals to the electrodes (Fig. 5, neuromodulation controller 504, current control circuitry 506; para. 17 describes modifying parameters such as amplitude and pulse rate between 250 Hz and 40 KHz).
Pal does not disclose two skin contact surfaces having different size located directly on said small housing body; two or more electrodes are on each said skin contact surface; heating means that can maintain the skin contact surface between 40-50 degrees Celsius.
Stellar, however, teaches an apparatus for stimulating muscles (Abstract) including two skin contact surfaces having different size located directly on a small housing body (Fig. 3 shows handheld device 10 with two different size skin contact surfaces at electrodes 18, 20; para. 23: “A first electrode 18 is mounted on the first end 14 of the housing 12, while a second electrode 20 is mounted on the second end 16 of the housing 12”; Abstract: “One of the electrodes has a relatively small contact area for targeting smaller muscles or muscle groups, while the other electrode has a relatively large contact area for targeting larger muscles or muscle groups”).
Taking into account Pal’s disclosure of two or more electrodes on a skin contact surface for treating itching, and Stellar’s disclosure of two skin contact surfaces having different size for targeting smaller and larger muscles or muscle groups as evidenced above, Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify Pal to include two skin contact surfaces having different size located directly on said small housing body; two or more electrodes are on each said skin contact surface. Making this modification would be useful for treating larger or smaller areas of tissue, as suggested by Stellar.
Furthermore, Li teaches a handheld apparatus for treatment of skin itch including heating means that can maintain the skin contact surface between 40-50 degrees Celsius (Abstract: “An apparatus and method that is effective for the treatment of skin itch and skin rash is disclosed. The apparatus is contained within a body which can be easily manipulated with one hand, and which is powered by a self-contained battery. Also contained within the body is a heating means… The temperature used depends upon the nature of skin discomfort, but is generally in the range between 49-62 degree C”; see Fig. 1 for depiction of handheld device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify modified Pal to include heating means that can maintain the skin contact surface between 40-50 degrees Celsius. Making this modification would be useful for providing effective treatment of skin itch, as taught by Li.
Regarding claim 2, Pal discloses the frequency is between 5 Hz and 300 Hz (para. 17).
Regarding claim 3, Pal discloses the circuit means can deliver the pulse with voltage between 10 and 60 volts to the electrodes (para. 210).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Pal in view of Salamone et al. (US 2016/0101166) (hereinafter Salamone).
Regarding claim 4, modified Pal does not teach a light stimulation means.
Salamone, however, teaches that a wide variety of treatment modalities for pruritus (itching) are reported, including UV-based phototherapy. These treatments are effective in pruritic conditions of a particular etiology, while others may show general but nonspecific benefit (para. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify modified Pal to include a light stimulation means by including UV-based phototherapy to provide an effective treatment modality for pruritus, as taught by Salamone.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Pal in view of Baxter et al. (US 2013/0197409) (hereinafter Baxter).
Regarding claim 5, modified Pal does not teach a vibration stimulation means.
Baxter, however, teaches a device comprising a vibration source (Abstract) for irritation sensation control such as itching (para. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify modified Pal to include a vibration stimulation means for irritation sensation control such as itching, as taught by Baxter.
Conclusion
/A.A.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796