DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/01/22. These drawings are approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a mathematical scheduling algorithm. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because steps such as dividing the elevators into sub-groups, receiving a service call, and using forecast times to select an elevator are considered generic or conventional computer routine activities. Additionally, comparing forecast times of multiple elevators in order to select the elevator that can provide a service call in less amount of time is an insignificant post-solution activity, since it is considered a conventional activity in controlling traffic flow in elevator systems. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as a whole they do not provide an inventive concept to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.
The claims should be amended to recite a specific technical improvement in the operation of the elevator system or recite limitations directed to the generation of control signals for the operation of the different mechanical components that formed the elevator system. Applicant must avoid reciting a computer performing routine activities such as receiving data, evaluating the received information, and selecting something based on the evaluation of data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hikita (US Patent 6360849).
The preamble of claim 1 is directed to a method for controlling a passenger flow in a building, wherein said method is performed by a group controller (as stated in line 3 of claim 1). Claim 8 includes a preamble directed to a “group controller” performing a series of method steps. Even though the first line in each claim gives the impression they belong to two different statutory categories of invention (process and machine/apparatus), the body of the both claims recite the same series of method steps (same algorithm). Therefore, claims 1-7 and 8-14 will be grouped together and treated as duplicate of each other for the purposes of an art rejection.
Claims 1 and 8, Hikita teaches a method for controlling passenger flow in a building that includes a plurality of elevators, the method is performed by group controller 1 and comprises: Dividing the plurality of elevators into sub-groups controlled by car controllers 2A and 2B, each sub-group (upper car and lower car) is contained in a single shaft (#A, #B); receiving a service call (Fig. 3, step S30); selecting a sub-group (shaft) among the sub-groups of elevators and generating an indication of the selected sub-group for the service call (Fig. 3, S33); selecting a first candidate elevator car (upper car or lower car) to provide the service call within a set time (Fig. 3, S33 as well as col. 4 lines 23-47); evaluating a second candidate (elevator car) to provide the service call withing a set time (Fig. 3, S34-S35); selecting the second candidate if the second elevator car can provide the service is less time than the first candidate (see col. 4 lines 61-67 and col. 5 lines 1-2); and continuing the evaluation of what car can provide the requested service call until the a selection is locked (fig. 3, S36-S7, col. 5 lines 3-14).
Claims 2 and 9, Hikita teaches selecting the sub-group based on at least a destination floor indicated in the service call (see for example the description of figures 2A-2C in col. 5 lines 34-67 and col. 6 lines 1-24).
Claims 3 and 10, Hikita teaches generating a control signal by the group controller 1 to sub-controllers 2A/2B to cause an indication of a selected locked elevator (see the description given in col. 3 lines 66-67 and col. 4 lines 1-17).
Claims 4 and 11, Hikita teaches the indication of a selected locked elevator car is generated by an elevator indicator (Fig. 1, see for example units 1F-1H).
Claims 5 and 12, Hikita teaches at least one characteristic being used to decide to lock a candidate elevator for responding to a service call, said characteristic is a predefined advance indication time related to the time before the elevator control 1 locks the candidate elevator (see for example the description given in col. 5 lines 49-58).
Claims 6 and 13, Hikita teaches dividing the plurality of elevators cars into sub-groups controlled by sub-controllers 2A/2B in a static configuration since the division does not change once the elevator system commence operation.
Claims 7 and 14, Hikita teaches a generation of the indication of the sub-group (shaft) by outputting the indication using display controller 1H and hall lanterns 4A/4B.
Claim 15, Hikita teaches a group controller 1 (computer) outputting command signals to sub-group elevator car controllers 2A/2B, the group controller 1 includes a plurality of computing units 1B-1H as well as a communication interface 1A for automatically controlling operation of a plurality of elevators based on data transmission from a call registerer 3. Computer code is inherently used by group controller 1 to automatically control the flow of passengers using a plurality of elevators cars.
Claim 16, Hikita teaches an elevator system comprising a group of elevators (as shown in figures 2A-2C and a group controller 1 which performs the algorithm recited in claim 8 which is taught by Hikita as described in the rejection of claims 1 and 8 above.
Conclusion
Applicant is advised that should claims 1-7 be found allowable in the future, claims 8-14 will be objected to (if they are not amended) under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). As described above, 35 USC 102 (a)(1) rejection, the body of claims 1-7 and claims 8-14 include the same algorithm. The only difference between the two sets of claims is the information included in the preamble of said claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The documents cited in the attached PTO-892, especially US Publication 2018/0346282, describe other controllers/methods for controlling passenger flow in a building that includes a plurality of elevators divided into groups.
/RINA I DUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846