Amendments to the claims have been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues are fully addressed with the new rejections made to the newly provided amendments. Additionally, arguments relating to 2D matching are fully addressed with the remarks made to the amendments. Choi para 56 has been added to add additional clarity and address Applicants arguments fully. Choi 56; the image processor 106 provides a multi-step process by which 2D images are interpreted to determine the location and orientation of objects, such as transparent vessels. Also see 78; 80; which teaches 2d boundary boxes, the 2d boundary boxes relate to 2D objects as a single camera is used as opposed to 3D bounding boxes which Choi also teaches in para 241.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the 3D model of objects ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. One of ordinary skill in the art would not know with “object” is a new object or an object that was previously introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi US 20200306980.
Claim 1-13 and 27 subject to 101 rejections. Generating a model i.e. in memory.
1-13 and 27 withdrawn.
14. A robotic device, comprising:
a robotic arm having disposed thereon, a suction-based gripper configured to grasp a target object; 59; robotic arm and gripper adapted to pick up objects by suction gripper.
a perception system configured to capture one or more images of a plurality of two- dimensional (2D) object faces of objects in an environment of the robotic device; and Fig. 4B 104a and b.
at least one computing device configured to:
determine based, at least in part, on the captured one or more images, whether each of the plurality of 2D object faces matches a prototype object of a set of prototype objects stored in a memory of the robotic device, wherein each of the prototype objects in the set includes information for the prototype object; 90; the machine learning [memory] model may be trained to identify [match] objects in an image [2D rotating image to 3D Fig, 4A] by capturing images of many different arrangements of objects. [images are captured in 2D and stored in 2D and matched in 2D] Also 56; the image processor 106 provides a multi-step process by which 2D images are interpreted to determine the location and orientation of objects, such as transparent vessels.
generate a 3D model of the 3D information included in one or more of the prototype objects in the set of prototype objects that was determined to match one or more of the 2D object faces; 107-108; the object configuration classification model determines whether the objects in the cluster match a predefined set of configurations. the same model is used to perform the object and cluster detection (steps 604-608) and the object configuration classification (steps 610-612). The CNN may output may output confidence scores for a plurality of categories that the CNN is trained to recognize. The object configuration classification model may be an encoder-decoder architecture based on a CNN that generates instance or class segmentation masks [3D shape].
select based, at least in part, on the generated 3D model, one of the objects in the environment as a target object; and 108; the object configuration classification model may be programmed to perform the functions ascribed to it for objects [target] that are transparent or translucent.
control the robotic arm to grasp the target object. 154; Referring again to FIG. 10A, the method 1000 may further include selecting 1006 grasping parameters for the robotic arm 110 and gripper 112 (or other actuator and end effector) according to the position, width, and height of the object or oriented 2D bounding box from step 1004 as determined from one or more images alone or using size data based on classification of an object represented in the one or more images.
15. The robotic device of claim 14, wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to:
determine that a first 2D object face of the plurality of 2D object faces does not match any prototype object in the set of prototype objects; 269; does not result in the vessel determined 3912 to be empty according to subsequently captured images, an alert may be generated.
create a new prototype object for the first 2D object face that does not match any prototype object in the set; and 90; the machine learning model may be trained to identify objects in an image by capturing images of many different arrangements of objects (e.g., cups, plates, bowls, etc. with or without food and other debris) on a surface, such as a tray. Each arrangement of objects may be captured from many angles.
one or multiple cameras at different views. Fig.4b
add the new prototype object to the set of prototype objects. 90; For example, the machine learning model may be trained [saved to memory] to identify objects in an image by capturing images of many different arrangements of objects (e.g., cups, plates, bowls, etc. with or without food and other debris) on a surface, such as a tray
16. The robotic device of claim 15, wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to:
control the robotic arm to pick up the object associated with the first 2D object face; and 59; adapted to pick up objects; Also Fig.4A 2D vs Fig.4B 3D.
control the perception system to capture one or more images of the picked-up object, wherein the one or more images include at least one face of the object other than the first 2D object face, and 59; adapted to pick up objects; Also Fig.4A 2D vs Fig.4B 3D.
wherein the new prototype object is created based, at least in part, on the captured one or more images of the picked-up object. Fig. 13, 90 and 158; Some or all of steps 1008, 1010, and 1012 may be performed with feedback from the cameras 104 to verify that the fingers 114a, 114b of the gripper 112 are in fact positioned around the vessel and that the vessel does become gripped within the fingers 114a, 114b and remains gripped at least for some portion of the movement off of the surface 400.
17. The robotic device of claim 16, wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to control the robotic arm to rotate the picked-up object prior to capturing the one or more images of the picked-up object by the perception system. 158; step 1014 may further include invoking rotation of the gripper in order to invert the vessel.
18. The robotic device of claim 14, further comprising:
a user interface configured to enable a user to provide user input describing prototype objects to include in the set of prototype objects, wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to: 90; A human operator then evaluates the images and draws polygons around each object present in the image, including partially occluded objects.
populate the set of prototype objects with prototype objects based on the user input. [0122] The object configuration classifier may be trained using either a manual or automated approach. For a manual approach, objects can be manually placed in poses (by a human) which are then iteratively captured by one or multiple cameras at different views.
19. The robotic device of claim 14, wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to:
receive, from a computing system, input describing prototype objects to include in the set of prototype objects; and 90; A human operator then evaluates the images and draws polygons around each object present in the image, including partially occluded objects.
populate the set of prototype objects with prototype objects based on the user input. [0122] The object configuration classifier may be trained using either a manual or automated approach. For a manual approach, objects can be manually placed in poses (by a human) which are then iteratively captured by one or multiple cameras at different views.
20. The robotic device of claim 14, wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to:
determine a set of pickable objects based, at least in part, on the generated 3D model of Fig. 19 group 400
select a target object from the set of pickable objects; and Fig.19 P from group 400.
control the robotic arm to grasp the target object. Fig. 19, 112
21. The robotic device of claim 20, wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to:
determine a desired orientation of the target object; and 154; step 1014 may further include invoking rotation of the gripper in order to invert the vessel, for dish rack.
place the target object in the desired orientation at a target location. 158; placing the vessel on a dish rack for cleaning.
22. The robotic device of claim 21, wherein determining the desired orientation of the target object is based, at least in part, on the target location.158; step 1014 may further include invoking rotation of the gripper in order to invert the vessel, such as when placing the vessel on a dish rack for cleaning.
24. The robotic device of claim 21, wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to:
determine a stability estimate associated with placing a side of the target object on a surface, wherein determining the desired orientation of the target object is based, at least in part, on the stability estimate. 136; Oriented 2D bounding boxes estimate an angle of rotation [stability based on center of mass and balance point] for the box relative to the x and y axes of the image,
25. The robotic device of claim 24, wherein determining the stability estimate comprises:
calculating a ratio of dimensions of the side of the target object; and 136-139; 136; Typical 2D bounding boxes are rectangles of different sizes and aspect ratios. Their edges are parallel to the x-axis and y-axis of the images M1, M2.
determining the stability estimate based, at least in part, on the ratio. 136; Oriented 2D bounding boxes estimate an angle of rotation [stability based on center of mass and balance point] for the box relative to the x and y axes of the image,
26. The robotic device of claim 21, wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to:
control the robotic arm to orient the target object based on the desired orientation.158; step 1014 may further include invoking rotation of the gripper in order to invert the vessel, such as when placing the vessel on a dish rack for cleaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim above, and further in view of Tang US2022/0383538.
23. Choi teaches all of the limitations of claim 22 but does not teach, wherein the target location includes a conveyor, and wherein determining the desired orientation of the target object comprises determining to align a longest axis of the target object with a length dimension of the conveyor. However, Tang US2022/0383538 para 21 teaches it is desirable to orient the objects 16 in a certain manner, such as align the objects 16 in the same direction [longest axis], for example, on the conveyor 24, that will require the robot 12 to turn or rotate the object 16 after it is picked up. For these types of robotic systems it is not only necessary to determine the center of the object 16 to be picked up, but it is also necessary to determine the orientation of the object 16 being picked up so that the robot 12 can rotate the object 16 and align it with the desired orientation when the robot 12 places the object 16 on the conveyor 24. Thus, all of the objects 16 can be aligned in the same direction on the conveyor 24 or even placed standing up on the conveyor 24. It is noted that determining the orientation of the object 16 requires more complexity than determining just the center of the object 16, and as such requires significantly more neural network training.
Therefore, it was well known at the time the invention was filed and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings with a reasonable expectation of success in order to place objects with rotation compensation such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious.
28. The robotic device of claim 14, wherein the one or more 2D object faces includes a first 2D object face and a second 2D object face; Fig. 11A and 11B different angles different faces. [it is noted that all 3D objects have multiple 2D faces W1, W2, …]
the set of prototype objects stored in the memory of the robotic device comprises:150; . An entry 1104 corresponding to the classification may be identified 1022 in a database and dimensions corresponding to the classification may be retrieved 1024 from the database 1102, such as a database storing dimensions of different classes of cups as shown in FIG. 11C.
Also; 137; A machine learning model may be trained [stored in memory]
a first prototype object including first 3D information for the first prototype object; Fig. 11C #1102 first cup. [Also, 11A cups can be the same shape but different object i.e. multiple cups]
a second prototype object including second 3D information for the second prototype object, Fig. 11C #1102 second cup. [could be different objects same shape]
the second 3D information being different from the first 3D information; and Fig. 11C #1102 first and second cups are different.
the 3D model of objects is generated using the first 3D information and the second 3D information based on the first prototype object being determined to match the first 2D object face and the second prototype object being determined to match the second 2D object face.Fig.19 P is the 3d model of objects generated based on the cups matching 2D face of cups in fig.7 and 11.
Conclusion
/SIHAR A KARWAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3664