DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Wang does not teach “wherein the one or more turns of the first winding portion and the one or more turns of the second winding portion do not overlap each other in the vertical direction” as amended claim 1 and similar limitations in claims 25, 27 and 31. Applicant asserts that the first winding portion 21/22 and the second winding portion 31/32 ow Wang share the same region and therefore they overlap with each other in the vertical direction.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive, respectfully. As shown in FIG. 3 of Wang, upper coil portion 21 is connected to lower coil portion 22, collectively forming the first coil portion as claimed. Similarly, upper coil portion 31 is connected to lower coil portion 32 collectively forming the second coil portion as claimed. As clearly shown, upper turn portion 21a (annotated FIG. 3 below) of upper coil portion 21 is disposed right on top of the conducting member 24, and lower turn portion 22a is formed right below the conducting member 24 so that upper turn portion 21a and lower turn portion 22a are overlapping with each other and connected one another through the conducting member 24 (para. [0031]). Therefore, the upper outer turn 31a of the upper coil portion 31 cannot overlap with lower turn portion 22a of the lower coil portion 22. Similarly, upper turn portion 21a of the coil portion 21 cannot overlap with turn portion 32a of the lower coil portion 32a. Accordingly, Wang teaches “wherein the one or more turns of the first winding portion and the one or more turns of the second winding portion do not overlap each other in the vertical direction” as amended claim 1 and similar limitations in claims 25, 27 and 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 17-19, 21, 25, 26, 31, 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0343471 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Wang et al., hereinafter referred to as “Wang,” teaches a coil component (FIG. 3) comprising:
a body 4 including first and second side surfaces (faces F1 and F2, or face F2 and F1, annotated FIG. 3) perpendicular to a first direction (x axis direction) while opposing each other, third and fourth side surfaces (faces F3 and F4, or face F4 and F3) opposing each other while connecting the first and second side surfaces, and fifth and sixth surfaces (upper and lower surfaces) opposing each other in a vertical direction;
a first coil portion 2 (see FIG. 1) disposed in the body, and including a first winding portion (spiral portion of coil 21 and or 22) including one or more turns as well as first and second extension portions (portions 211 and 221 or portions 221 and 211) respectively connected to one end (outer end of coil 21 or 22) and the other end (the other of outer end of coil 21 or 22) of the first winding portion;
a second coil portion 3 disposed in the body, and including a second winding portion (spiral portion of coil 31 and or 32) including one or more turns disposed between the first side surface and the first winding portion, and third and fourth extension portions (portions 311 and 321 or portions 321 and 311) respectively connected to one end (outer end of coil 31 or 32) and the other end (the other of outer end of coil 31 or 32) of the second winding portion;
first and second external electrodes 232 disposed on the body and respectively connected to the first and second extension portions; and
third and fourth external electrodes 332 disposed on the body and respectively connected to the third and fourth extension portions,
wherein the first extension portion 211 or 221 of the first coil portion is disposed between the second winding portion (spiral portion of coil 31 or 32) and one of the third and fourth side surfaces F3 and F4, and is connected to the first external electrode on at least one of the first side surface
wherein the one or more turns of the first winding portion and the one or more turns of the second winding portion do not overlap each other in the vertical direction (paras. [0016], [0021], [0025] and [0031]).
With respect to claim 2, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein a second direction (y axis direction), which is perpendicular to the third side surface and the fourth side surface, is perpendicular to the first direction (para. [0027]).
With respect to claim 3, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 2, wherein the first extension portion and the second winding portion are disposed in the second direction (paras. [0021] and [0025]).
With respect to claim 4, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein, based on current flow of the first coil portion from the first extension portion toward the second extension portion, and current flow of the second coil portion from the third extension portion toward the fourth extension portion, positive coupling (same two arrows direction at area A3) between the first coil portion and the second coil portion occurs in a first region A3 including at least a region (a region around area A3) between the first and second winding portions (para. [0021], [0025] and [0026]).
With respect to claim 5, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein, based on current flow of the first coil portion from the first extension portion toward the second extension portion, and current flow of the second coil portion from the third extension portion toward the fourth extension portion, negative coupling (opposite arrows direction at area A1 and or A2) between the first coil portion and the second coil portion occurs in a second region A1 or A2 including at least a region (region around area A1 or A2) between the first extension portion and the second winding portion (para. [0021], [0025] and [0026]).
With respect to claim 6, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein, based on current flow of the first coil portion from the first extension portion toward the second extension portion, and current flow of the second coil portion toward the fourth extension portion from the third extension portion, coupling between the first coil portion and the second coil portion occurring in a second region including at least a region between the first extension portion and the second winding portion opposite occuring in a first region (the other of area A1 or A2) including at least a region (region around area A1 or A2) between the first and second winding portions (para. [0021], [0025] and [0026]).
With respect to claim 7, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 6, wherein an interval (space between coils 21 and 31 in area A3) between the first winding portion and the second winding portion in the first region is wider than an interval (space between extension portion 211 and coil 31 around area A2, or space between extension 221 and coil 32 in area A1) the first extension portion and the second winding portion in the second region (para. [0021], [0025] and [0026]).
With respect to claim 9, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 6, wherein, in the second region, the first extension portion has an inner side surface having a shape conforming to a shape of an external side surface adjacent to the second winding portion (paras. [0021] and [0025]).
With respect to claim 10, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 9, wherein the first extension portion has a shape conforming to both a curved region (curve portion connected to pillar 331 or 231) and a planar region (straight portion) on the external side surface adjacent to the second winding portion (paras. [0021] and [0025]).
With respect to claim 11, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 2, wherein the fourth extension portion 321 extends to at least one of the second side surface
With respect to claim 12, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 11, wherein the fourth extension portion and the first winding portion are disposed in the second direction (paras. [0021] and [0025]).
With respect to claim 17, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 1, further comprising a support member 1 supporting the first and second coil portions,
wherein the first coil portion is disposed on upper and lower surfaces of the support member, and
the second coil portion is disposed on the upper and lower surfaces (surfaces 11 and 12, or surfaces 12 and 11) of the support member (para. [0018]).
With respect to claim 18, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 17, wherein the first and third extension portions 311 or 321 are disposed on the upper surface of the support member, and
the second and fourth extension portions (the other of 311 or 321) are disposed on the lower surface of the support member (paras. [0018], [0021] and [0025]).
With respect to claim 19, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 18, wherein the second extension portion 221 is connected to the second external electrode on at least one of the first side surface
With respect to claim 21, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 18, wherein lengths of the first and second extension portions are different from each other in the first direction (para. [0021]). Length of extension 221 is longer than length of extension 221.
With respect to claim 25, Wang teaches a coil component 1 (FIG. 3) comprising:
a body 4 including first and second side surfaces (faces F1 and F2, or face F2 and F1, annotated FIG. 3) perpendicular to a first direction (x axis direction) while opposing each other, third and fourth side surfaces (faces F3 and F4, or face F4 and F3) opposing each other while connecting the first and second side surfaces, and fifth and sixth surfaces (upper and lower surfaces) opposing each other in a vertical direction;
a first coil portion 2 (see FIG. 1) disposed in the body, including a first winding portion including one or more turns (spiral portion of coil 21 and or 22) as well as first and second extension portions (portions 211 and 221 or portions 221 and 211), respectively connected to one end (outer end of coil 21 or 22) and the other end (the other of outer end of coil 21 or 22) of the first winding portion;
a second coil portion 3 disposed in the body, and including a second winding portion (spiral portion of coil 31 and or 32) including one or more turns disposed between the first winding portion and the first side surface, and third and fourth extension portions (portions 311 and 321 or portions 321 and 311) respectively connected to one end (outer end of coil 31 or 32) and the other end (the other of outer end of coil 31 or 32) of the second winding portion;
first and second external electrodes 232 disposed on the body and respectively connected to the first and second extension portions; and
third and fourth external electrodes 332 disposed on the body and respectively connected to the third and fourth extension portions,
wherein the first extension portion extends toward at least one of the first side surface
wherein, based on current flow of the first coil portion from the first extension portion toward the second extension portion, and current flow of the second coil portion from the third extension portion toward the fourth extension portion, opposite coupling (annotated arrows directions on coils 2 and 3 above, “current flowing…in opposite direction” para. [0026]) between the first and second coil portions occurs in at least two regions among a plurality of regions (e.g. annotated areas A1 and A2 above) between the first and second coil portions, and
wherein the one or more turns of the first winding portion and the one or more turns of the second winding portion do not overlap each other in the vertical direction (paras. [0016], [0021], [0025] and [0031]).
With respect to claim 26, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 25, wherein coupling between the first and second coil portions opposite to coupling occurring in a second region (area A1 or A2) including at least a region (region around area A1 or A2) between the first extension portion and the second winding portion occurs in a first region (the other of area A1 or A2) including at least a region (region around area A1 or A2) between the first and second winding portions (para. [0021], [0025] and [0026]).
With respect to claim 31, Wang teaches a coil component (FIG. 3) comprising:
a body 4 including first and second side surfaces (faces F1 and F2, or face F2 and F1, annotated FIG. 3) opposing each other, third and fourth side surfaces (faces F3 and F4, or face F4 and F3) opposing each other while connecting the first and second side surfaces, and fifth and sixth surfaces (upper and lower surfaces) opposing each other in a vertical direction;
a first coil portion 2 (see FIG. 1) disposed in the body and including a first winding portion (spiral portion of coil 21 and or 22);
a second coil portion 3 disposed in the body and including a second winding portion (spiral portion of coil 31 and or 32) disposed between the first side surface and the first winding portion;
first and second external electrodes 232 disposed on the body and connected to the first coil portion; and
third and fourth external electrodes 332 disposed on the body and connected to the second coil portion,
wherein a path along the first coil portion from one of the first and second external electrodes to another of the first and second external electrodes, and a path along the second coil portion from one of the third and fourth external electrodes to another of the third and fourth external electrodes, are in a same direction (same two arrow direction as area A3, annotated FIG. 3) at a region A3 between center portions CP of the first and second winding portions and are in opposite directions (opposite two arrows directions at areas A1 and or A2) at a region A1 and or A2 between the center portion of one of the first and second winding portions and one of the third and fourth surfaces, and
wherein the one or more turns of the first winding portion and the one or more turns of the second winding portion do not overlap each other in the vertical direction (paras. [0016], [0021], [0025] and [0031]).
With respect to claim 32, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 31, wherein the first and second external electrodes are closer to one of the third and fourth surfaces than the third and fourth external electrodes (paras. [0021] and [0025]).
With respect to claim 34, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 31, further comprising a support member 1,
wherein the first winding portion includes one winding portion (spiral portion of coil 21 and or 22) disposed on an upper surface 11 or 12 of the support member and another winding portion (the other of spiral portion of coil 21 and or 22) disposed on a lower surface (the other of surface 11 or 12) of the support member and connected to the one winding portion of the first winding portion, and
the second winding portion includes one winding portion (spiral portion of coil 31 and or 32) disposed on the upper surface of the support member and another winding portion (the other of spiral portion of coil 31 and or 32) disposed on the lower surface of the support member and connected to the one winding portion of the second winding portion (paras. [0018] and [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, as applied to claims 7, 17 and 18 above, in view of Hou et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0211767 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 7. Wang does not expressly teach an interval between the first extension portion and the second winding portion in the second region is substantially equal to an interval between adjacent turns in the second winding portion.
Hou et al., hereinafter referred to as “Hou,” teaches a coil component 300 (FIGs. 3A-3F), wherein an interval (space between extension 320A and inductor 308) between the first extension portion 320A and the second winding portion 308 in the second region (region around winding portion 308) is substantially equal to an interval (pitches of turns of inductor 308) between adjacent turns in the second winding portion (para. [0030]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the intervals between different elements as taught by Hou to the coil component of Wang to provide the required reverse coupling between the first and second coils to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 20, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 18. Wang does not expressly teach the third extension portion is connected to the third external electrode on at least one of the first side surface and the fourth side surface of the body, and the fourth extension portion is connected to the fourth external electrode on at least one of the second side surface and the fourth side surface of the body.
Hou teaches a coil component 300 (FIGs. 3A-3F), wherein the third extension portion 316A is connected to the third external electrode 304C on
With respect to claim 22, Wang teaches the coil component of claim 17. Wang does not expressly teach in the first and second coil portions, those disposed on the upper surface of the support member is symmetrical to those disposed on the lower surface of the support member, based on the support member.
Hou teaches a coil component 300 (FIGs. 3A-3F), wherein in the first and second coil portions 306 and 308, those disposed on the upper surface of the support member is symmetrical to those disposed on the lower surface of the support member, based on the support member (para. [0030]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the symmetrical coils as taught by Hou to the coil component of Wang the required reverse coupling between the first and second coils to meet design requirements.
Claims 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Hou.
With respect to claim 27, Wang teaches a coil component (FIG. 3)comprising:
a body 4 including first and second side surfaces (faces F1 and F2, or face F2 and F1, annotated FIG. 3) perpendicular to a first direction (x axis direction) while opposing each other, third and fourth side surfaces (faces F3 and F4, or face F4 and F3) opposing each other while connecting the first and second side surfaces, and fifth and sixth surfaces (upper and lower surfaces) opposing each other in a vertical direction;
a first coil portion 2 (see FIG. 1) disposed in the body and including a first winding portion (spiral portion of coil 21 and or 22) including one or more turns;;
a second coil portion 3 disposed in the body and including a second winding portion (spiral portion of coil 31 and or 32) including one or more turns;
first and second external electrodes 232 disposed on exterior surfaces (upper and or lower surfaces) of the body and connected to the first coil portion; and
third and fourth external electrodes 332 disposed on the exterior surfaces (upper and or lower surfaces) the body and connected to the second coil portion;
wherein the one or more turns of the first winding portion and the one or more turns of the second winding portion do not overlap each other in the vertical direction (paras. [0016], [0021], [0025] and [0031]). Wang does not expressly teach
wherein one of the first and second external electrodes 232 is closer to the second winding portion than one of the third and fourth external electrodes and farther to the first winding portion than the one of the third and fourth external electrodes, and
another of the first and second external electrodes is closer to the first winding portion than another of the third and fourth external electrodes and farther to the second winding portion than the another of the third and fourth external electrodes.
Hou teaches a coil component 300 (FIGs. 3A-3F),
wherein one of the first
another of the first and second external electrodes 304C is closer to the first winding 306 portion than another of the third
With respect to claim 28, Wang in view of Hou teaches the coil component of claim 27, wherein
the second winding portion is disposed between the first winding portion and the first side surface, and the first winding portion is disposed between the second winding portion and the second side surface (Wang, paras. [0018], [0022] and [0028].
With respect to claim 29, Wang in view of Hou teaches the coil component of claim 28, wherein the first and second external electrodes are closer to one of the third and fourth surfaces than the third and fourth external electrodes (Wang, paras. [0021] and [0025]).
With respect to claim 30, Wang in view of Hou teaches the coil component of claim 27, further comprising a support member 11,
wherein the first winding portion includes one winding portion (spiral portion of coil 21 and or 22) disposed on an upper surface 11 or 12 of the support member and another winding portion (the other of spiral portion of coil 21 and or 22) disposed on a lower surface (the other of surface 11 or 12) of the support member and connected to the one winding portion of the first winding portion, and
the second winding portion includes one winding portion (spiral portion of coil 31 and or 32) disposed on the upper surface of the support member and another winding portion (the other of spiral portion of coil 31 and or 32) disposed on the lower surface of the support member and connected to the one winding portion of the second winding portion (paras. [0018] and [0022]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837