DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Surveillance System Correlating Generated With Stored Identifying Electronic Signatures With Unknown Target Handling
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite a database configured to store targets indexed by electronic signatures, with each electronic signature stored in unique association with at least one target stored in the database
The specification as filed, however, fails to provide an adequate written description of indexing or otherwise a database indexed by electronic signatures.
The word “index” and concepts associated therewith are absent from the instant specification. At best, the database 26 is disclosed as including generalized data associations between electronic signatures/identifiers and corresponding targets to permit searching the database for matching identifiers/signatures.
Moreover, Applicant failed to show support in their instant specification for the amended claim limitations in direct contradiction to the requirements of MPEP 2163(II)(A) and 2163.04. Furthermore, the support for these limitations is not apparent. Thus, the amended limitations relating to the “database configured to store targets indexed by electronic signatures” are not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-6 are rejected due to their dependency upon claim 16.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite a database configured to store targets indexed by electronic signatures, with each electronic signature stored in unique association with at least one target stored in the database
The term “indexed” and its use in the expression above is unclear. Indeed, indexing a database has neither been fully disclosed nor is this term fully understood.
Claims 2-6 are rejected due to their dependency upon claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gurwicz does not disclose a correlation circuitry configured to determine a correlation between identifying electronic signatures and one of a known target or unknown target of the database. In particular, it is argued that Gurwicz is limited to comparing images of reference and candidate objects and that Gurwicz’s enrichment of signatures using WiFi or Bluetooth signals is not equivalent to correlating the electronic signatures and a known target of the database because such WiFi and Bluetooth signals are supplemental metadata rather than a core identification mechanism.
In response, Gurwicz is not so limited as Applicant suggests. Indeed, Gurwicz specifically teaches that identifying electronic signatures are not mere supplemental metadata but can be used as the core (independent) identification mechanism.
{See Fig. 5, each algorithmic module calculates a similarity score (correlation) between the signatures of the RO (reference object) and CO including electronic signature correlation via the Bluetooth Signature Unit 535, [0085]-[0093] including IPSSM unit 425 and WiFi Signature Unit 440 that compares electronic signatures to calculate a similarity score. See also [0169], [0173], [0189]-[0201] and particularly [0193] disclosing that:
[0193] In an embodiment, if a WiFi device is associated
with an RO or CO then the WiFi data of the WiFi device may
be used to generate a signature of the RO or CO. For example,
the MAC address of a WiFi device may be associated with an
RO and, when determining whether or not a CO is similar to
the RO (e.g., when calculating a similarity score for the CO),
the MAC address of the RO may be compared to a MAC
address associated with the CO. Other parameters ( e.g., signal
strength, bandwidth and burst patterns) may be used in
calculating a similarity score for the CO. Accordingly, WiFi
signals may be used to generate an independent and informative
signature that would help discriminating between
objects. In other embodiments, a WiFi signature generated as
described may be incorporated in a similarity signature
described herein. (emphasis added)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Gurwicz (US 2014/0328512 A1) and Balaoro (US 20220374855 A1).
Claim 1
In regards to claim 1, Gurwicz discloses a surveillance system comprising:
one or more collection devices positioned proximate one or more of a home business, or neighborhood {see below sites for the sensors}, each of the one or more collection devices comprising:
at least one sensor configured to collect electronic signals from proximal electronic devices {see [0189]-[0192], Fig. 30 wherein surveillance system 3000 includes a set of sensors/collection devices such as WiFi access points and/or Bluetooth modules that provide enriched data to the server computer 3020, wherein the collected electronic signals include including identifying data such as Bluetooth signal identification and unique MAC addresses, as well as signal strength or other attributes of properties of the device emitting the electronic signals being collected; See also [0195], [0198]-[0202] including RF receivers (sensor/collection devices) collecting messages related to social networks};
a communication circuitry to transmit collected electronic signals {Fig. 30 including network 3015 that transmits collected electronic signals to sever computer 3020 and analysis server 3050, [0213]-[0215]. See also [0189]-[0192], [0198]. See also Fig. 2 cameras stream video to the system 201}; and
an intelligence device configured to receive the collected electronic signals {Fig. 30 orchestration engine server 3040, analysis server 3050 receive the collected electronic signals as per above cites. See also Fig. 5, step 525 orchestration engine receives various signals, [0093]. See also [0195],}, and comprising:
a database configured to store targets indexed by electronic signatures, with each electronic signature stored in unique association with at least one target stored in the database {See [0059], [0069]-[0071], [0079], [0091]-[0101], [0109]-[0110], [0166], [0189]-[0201] including data associations in a database associating objects with various types of signatures including the object’s image, WiFi electronic signatures, Bluetooth electronic signatures, etc. thereby permitting a search of the (indexed) database to match detected electronic signatures with a unique electronic signature of the target}, and
a correlation circuitry {orchestration engine server 3040, Figs. 4, 30 and cites above and below}; configured to:
generate an identifying electronic signature for the proximate electronic devices from which the electronic signals are collected {Fig. 4, [0083]-[0089], step 415; Fig. 5, create signatures step 530, [0094], [0189]-[0201]},
determine a correlation between the identifying electronic signature and one or more electronic signatures associated with one or more known targets stored in the database {See Fig. 5, each algorithmic module calculates a similarity score (correlation) between the signatures of the RO (reference object) and CO including electronic signature correlation via the Bluetooth Signature Unit 535, [0085]-[0093] including IPSSM unit 425 and WiFi Signature Unit 440 that compares electronic signatures to calculate a similarity score. See also [0169], [0173], [0189]-[0201] and particularly [0193] quoted above in which electronic signatures can be used independently as a core identification mechanism};
As indicated in strikethrough font above, Gurwicz is not relied upon to teach the unknown target handling procedures while noting that the database components thereof are primarily taught by Gurwicz and supplemented by Balaoro.
Balaoro is an analogous reference from the same field of surveillance. See abstract, Figs. 2A, C, G illustrating a store surveillance system the identifies customers and merchants and tracks their locations including reader devices 1322 that receives RFID, NFC, Bluetooth etc. signals as per [0318]-[0319], tracking engines 144, 146 and 148.
Balaora also teaches:
a database configured to store targets indexed by electronic signatures, with each electronic signature stored in unique association with at least one target stored in the database {See datastore 1444, [0057], [0394]-[0403] which includes storing identifying information including electronic signatures that also meets this claim element or is at least consistent with combinable with Gurwicz’s primary disclosure of the database}; and
a correlation circuitry {Fig. 3 including identify 310, 315 individuals and objects using sensing data, Fig. 7, step 710 identify individual, fig. 1, server computing devices 1302, 1310, severs 1404 are circuitry that implements such correlations}; configured to:
generate an identifying electronic signature for the proximate electronic devices from which the electronic signals are collected {Fig. 7, receive sensor data 705, receive additional information step 720, [0260]-[0263] including communication data that can determine the identity of the individual or object as matching an identify of an individual or object, NFC tags, RFID tags, etc. each of which is considered to be an identifying electronic signature},
determine a correlation between identifying electronic signatures and one of a known target or unknown target of the database {Fig. 7, step 720, 725 where additional data including communication data, NFC tag, RFID tag, identifying information provided by the customer device that can be used singly or in combination to identify a person or object, [0260]-[0263]};
classify the identifying electronic signature as associated with an unknown target when no correlation is determined between the identifying electronic signature and the one or more electronic signatures associated with the one or more known targets stored in the database {Fig. 7, steps 725, NO path to Step 735, in which the additional data does not clarify or confirm the identification such that the target is classified as an unknown target, [0260]-[0264]}, and
save the unknown target in association with the identifying electronic signature to the database when no correlation is determined between the identifying electronic signature and the one or more electronic signatures stored in association with the one or more known targets stored in the database {Fig. 7, step 735 [0265]-[0269] in which a temporary identifier for the unknown target is converted to a long-term identifier and stored for future reference such that additional identifying information may be collected in the future to positively identify the unknown target}.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Gurwicz’s surveillance system such that the correlation circuitry classifies the identifying electronic signature as associated with an unknown target when no correlation is determined between the identifying electronic signature and the one or more electronic signatures associated with the one or more known targets stored in the database and saves the unknown target in association with the identifying electronic signature to the database when no correlation is determined between the identifying electronic signature and the one or more electronic signatures stored in association with the one or more known targets stored in the database because doing so collects additional identifying information in the database such that in the future the system may positively identify the previously unknown target as motivated by Balaoro in [0265], because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 2
In regards to claim 2, Gurwicz discloses wherein one or more of the one or more collection devices further comprises
one or more of a sensor or camera configured to capture one or more of an image, a series of images, or video {Figs. 2, 3, including cameras 220, cameras stream video to the system step 201, [0061], [0215]}, and
wherein the intelligence device utilizes the collected electronic signals and one or more of the one or more of an image, a series of images, or video to correlate one or more of the one or more of an image, a series of images, or video with one or more of the collected electronic signals {Fig. 4 including Face Signature Unit 430 and Bluetooth signature unit 435, and orchestration engine 415, [0085]-[0089] that merges/correlates similarity scores from the Face SU (image) with Bluetooth signature unit 435. See also
Fig. 5, each algorithmic module calculates a similarity score (correlation) between the signatures of the RO (reference object) and CO including electronic signature correlation via the Bluetooth Signature Unit 535, and face signature unit SU 430 and combines/correlates them in 555, [0093]-[0099]. See also [0213]-[0215]}.
Claim 3
In regards to claim 3, Gurwicz discloses wherein one or more of the one or more collection devices is located at a known location, and wherein the intelligence device correlates the known location of the one or more collection devices with one or more of the collected electronic signals received by the one or more collection devices {see [0180]-[0182] in which each camera may have a GPS and may including positioning information in data being provided to the server. Wifi device location information is also provided [0191]. As such that the locations of the Wfi collection device and cameras are known and provided to the server/intelligence device such that wherein the intelligence device correlates the known location of the one or more collection devices with one or more of the collected electronic signals received by the one or more collection devices. Further as to correlation see [0192]-[0198], [0223]}.
Claim 4
In regards to claim 4, Gurwicz discloses wherein correlation between the known location and the one or more collected electronic signals indicates a target at an atypical location {See the position/location correlation mapped in claim 3 that correlates between the known location of the sensors (camera, Wifi collection point) and the electronic signal(s) it collects to determine location of the suspect RO/CO As to atypical location see [0056], [0061]-[0065] in which the RO may be a person who entered an unauthorized/restricted area or left a security check point location without permission such that the target person is at an “atypical” location which is well within the BRI of atypical location since Applicant defines this term as being “different than normal” in [0055], [0084], [0087] of the published version of the instant application}.
Claim 5
In regards to claim 5, Gurwicz discloses wherein at least some of the one or more collection devices include a global positioning system (GPS) device for determining a location thereof {see [0180]-[0182] in which each camera may have a GPS and may including positioning information in data being provided to the server. Wifi device location information is also provided [0191].}
Claim 6
In regards to claim 6, Gurwicz discloses wherein one or more of the one or more collection devices includes an automated license plate reader (ALPR) to capture license plate numbers and/or other vehicle characteristics, and wherein the intelligence device correlates a capture license plate number with one or more of the collected electronic signals { Figs. 4, 6 discloses a LPR (license plate reader) system that scans for vehicles based on its license plate and can be used in conjunction with the face signature to track a suspect leaving a search area to escape in a vehicle and leaving the vehicle such that the orchestrated search can continue at the vehicle exit point, [0100]. see also [0186]-[0191], [0221] including LPR module 420 that correlates captures licensed plate numbers and orchestration engine 415, [0085]-[0089] that merges/correlates similarity scores from the License plate module, Face SU (image) and Bluetooth signature unit 435. See also Fig. 5, each algorithmic module calculates a similarity score (correlation) between the signatures of the RO (reference object) and CO including electronic signature correlation via the Bluetooth Signature Unit 535, License plates signatures via LPR module 420, and face signature unit SU 430 and combines/correlates them in 555, [0093]-[0099]}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang {C. YANG AND A. P. SAMPLE, "EM-ID: TAG-LESS IDENTIFICATION OF ELECTRICAL DEVICES VIA ELECTROMAGNETIC EMISSIONS," 2016 IEEE INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON RFID (RFID), ORLANDO, FL, USA, 2016, PP. 1-8, DOI: 10.1109/RFID.2016.7488014} is a newly discovered X-type reference that discloses generating identifying electronic signatures from the EM (electromagnetic emissions), determining correlations with known electronic signatures, classifying and uniquely identifying electronic signatures and their correlations with particular devices (device identification) using a database storing targets indexed by electronic signatures stored in unique associations with a target in the database. See Fig. 2 copied below.
Neff US 20210192943 A1disclosing storing a record for unknown targets. See fig. 9, [0059].
Kleinbeck US 20200120266 A1displays and stores indications of unknown RF signals that cannot be identified based on a comparison with a database of stored RF signal properties. See Fig. 3, particularly steps 320, 326, [0165]-[0166].
US 20210326563 A1 discloses using both cameras and wireless detector devices to identify and track perpetrators of a crimes. See fig. 3 and 7 copied below.
D. Zhu, H. Sun and D. Wu, "Fusion of Wireless Signal and Computer Vision for Identification and Tracking," 2021 28th International Conference on Telecommunications (ICT), London, United Kingdom, published in IEEE Explore 23 August 2021, pp. 1-7, doi: 10.1109/ICT52184.2021.9511529 discloses using both wireless signatures and visual signatures to track objects. See Fig. 1.
/MICHAEL ROBERT CAMMARATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667