DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on March 2, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, and 14-19. Applicant’s amendment to the claims has overcome the previous rejection of record under 35 U.S.C. 102 by Choi.
Claim Objections
Claims 1,7, 15, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 7 of claim 1 should recite “an electrically conductive material”.
Line 21 of claim 7 should recite “an electrically conductive material”.
Line 5 of claim 15 should “the electrically insulative material”.
Line 4 of claim 17 should replace “the electrically insulative material”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the battery module further comprises an insulating part which is disposed between the front cover and the busbar assembly" in lines 3-5. This limitation indefinite, because line 16 of claim 7 already recites “an insulating part disposed between the casing and the busbar assembly”. The insulating part in claims 7 and 17 will be interpreted as the same insulating part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20110183194 A1 (Lee ‘194).
Regarding claim 1, Lee ‘194 teaches a flame blocking unit (a first sealing portion 60; [0045]) comprising: an expansion terminal (first nut 64; [0045]) which is connected to an internal terminal of a battery module (nut 64 is connected to the first terminal connector 22 via the first terminal body 21; [0045] - [0047] & Fig. 1b) via an opening part that is formed in a casing of the battery module (the cap plate 51 of the cap assembly 50, which is coupled to the case 40, includes an opening where the electrode terminal 20 and the first sealing portion 60 are present; [0043] – [0045]) and which transmits electric power (the first nut 64 connected to the first terminal body 21 of the battery 100 is capable of transmitting electric power; [0026]); and a blocking plate filling a gap between the expansion terminal and the opening part (a first upper insulator 63 is coupled to the terminal body 21 of the electrode terminal 20 and pressed against the top surface of the cap plate 51; [0051] & Fig. 1b), wherein the blocking plate is formed of an electrically insulative material (the upper insulator 63, like the insulation layer 65 is made of an insulative material; [0052] – [0053]), wherein the casing is formed of an electrically conductive material (the cap plate 51 is made of a conductive material, because an insulation layer is formed below to prevent electrical shorts from occurring; [0054]),
where in the expansion terminal is provided with a through-hole through which a fastener when connecting the internal terminal to the expansion terminal passes (the first nut 64 is provided with a through hole for which the first terminal body 21 is inserted, wherein the first terminal body connects the first nut 64 to the terminal connector 22 via the first terminal body 21; [0047] & Fig. 1b), and the blocking plate is in close contact with the opening part of the casing by a force that couples the fastener to a fastener groove (the first upper insulator 63 is coupled to the terminal body 21 of the electrode terminal 20 and pressed against the top surface of the cap plate 51 when the terminal body 21 is present in the groove channel between the seal gasket 61, the upper insulator 63, and the nut 64; [0043] – [0045], [0051] – [0052], & Fig. 1b),
wherein the fastener groove is formed on an insulating part in the casing (the groove channel is formed on the seal gasket 61, the upper insulator 63, and the nut 64, the insulating part in the casing corresponding to the seal gasket 61; Fig. 1b).
Regarding claim 3, Lee ‘194 teaches the flame blocking unit of claim 1, wherein the blocking plate is formed such that an area of the blocking plate is larger than an area of the opening part so that the blocking plate covers the opening part from an outside of the casing (as shown in Fig. 1b, the upper insulator 63 has a plate part that has an area larger than an area of the opening formed in the cap plate 51 that covers the opening from an outside of the cap assembly 50 coupled to the case 40; Fig. 1b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20110183194 A1 (Lee ‘194) in view of US 20050170238 A1 (Abu-Isa ‘238).
Regarding claim 2, Lee ‘194 teaches the flame blocking unit of claim 1, but does not disclose that the blocking plate is formed by performing an insert injection molding such that the blocking plate surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the expansion terminal, and is formed of a high heat resistant material having a volume change within 25% when the high heat resistant material is exposed at a temperature equal to or more than 200°C for 72 hours.
Abu-Isa ‘238 discloses a battery case having base and cover portions and optionally internal structural components made of an intumescent flame retardant polymeric composition that includes a base polymer and a fire resistant additive to produce a moldable material with good physical properties that burns at a slow rate, has a low heat release rate, and has intumescence to provide fire and heat shielding ([0017]). Flame retardant materials may be used for the battery case and for internal structural components, such as support plates, terminal edge protectors and terminal covers ([0017]). Further, the intumescent flame retardant polymeric compositions that are thermoplastic molding compositions can be injection molded, or otherwise suitably molded and shaped to a desired geometry or configuration for a battery component by thermal processes ([0017]). The flame retardant polymeric materials for the battery case act as a fire shield, and when exposed to intense fire, will not melt and drip, and will not burn through even after prolonged flame exposure ([0017]). Because the polymeric material will act as a true fire shield, it will not allow fire to go through and spread to neighboring objects ([0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the upper insulator 63, corresponding to the blocking plate of the flame blocking unit, as taught by Lee ‘194, is formed by performing an insert injection molding such that the blocking plate surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the expansion terminal, and is formed of a high heat resistant material having a volume change within 25% when the high heat resistant material is exposed at a temperature equal to or more than 200°C for 72 hours, as suggested by Abu-Isa ‘238, wherein the blocking plate acts as a fire shield and prevents the spread of fire to neighboring objects.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20110183194 A1 (Lee ‘194) in view of US 20130130100 A1 (Kurata ‘100).
Regarding claim 4, Lee ‘194 teaches the flame blocking unit of claim 1, wherein the blocking plate comprises:
a plate part formed such that an area of the plate part is larger than an area of the opening part so that the blocking plate covers the opening part from an outside of the casing (as shown in Fig. 1b of Lee ‘194, the horizontal plate part of the upper insulator 63 is larger than an area of the opening formed in the cap plate 51 that covers the opening from an outside of the cap plate 51); and
a fitting part which is formed on a surface where the plate part and the casing are in contact with each other and which protrudes such that the fitting part corresponds to an inner surface shape of the opening part (as shown in Fig. 1b of Lee ‘194, a vertical portion of the upper insulator 63 extends downward from the horizontal plate part and contacts the inner surface of the opening formed in the cap plate 51).
Lee ‘194 discloses that the first nut 64 is disposed on the upper insulator 63 at a center thereof on the upper surface plate part, however, Lee ‘194 does not disclose an expansion terminal accommodating part which is positioned at a center of the plate part and which is formed in a hole shape that accommodates the expansion terminal therein.
Kurata ‘100 discloses a closed type rectangular nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery, wherein a positive electrode terminal 63 ([0115]) is connected to a positive electrode internal lead 70 through an insulating gasket 65 ([0134]). As shown in Fig. 23, the flange section 65b of the insulating gasket 65 has an accommodating portion sized and shaped to accommodate the head section 63 b of the positive electrode terminal 63 ([0133]).
Therefore, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the shape of the upper insulator 63 of the first sealing portion 60, as taught by Lee ‘194, corresponding to the blocking plate, to have a flange section 65b formed that is sized and shaped to accommodate the first nut 64 in a hole shaped opening formed therein, as suggested by Kurata ‘100, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claims 7, 9, 10, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210265705 A1 (Min ‘705) in view of US 20110183194 A1 (Lee ‘194) and US 20120276427 A1 (Kim ‘427), and further in view of US 20050170238 A1 (Abu-Isa ‘238).
Regarding claim 7, Min ‘705 teaches a battery pack (a battery pack including a battery module connected through a terminal connecting structure; [0002]) comprising: a battery module (battery module 100; [0037]) in which an internal terminal is exposed at an opening part (the battery module 100 may include terminal busbars 153 located on both outermost sides of the busbars fixed to the busbar frame 155 are exposed at an opening part, as shown in Fig. 1; [0041]);
wherein the battery module comprises: a battery assembly comprising a plurality of battery cells (a cell assembly comprising a plurality of battery cells; [0039]):
a busbar assembly comprising the internal terminal (busbar assembly 150 having terminal busbars 153 located on both outermost sides of the busbars fixed to the busbar frame 155; [0037] - [0041]) which is connected to the battery assembly and which transmits electric power (the electrode lead of the cell assembly may be electrically connected to the busbar 151 through a slit formed in the busbar frame 155; [0037]); and
a casing which accommodates the battery assembly and the busbar assembly therein (a module case 135 that accommodates the cell assembly and forms the exterior of the battery module 100, wherein an insulating frame 160 having an insulating cover 163 and an outer cover 165 located outside the busbar assembly 150; [0037]; Figs. 1 & 2) and in which the opening part is formed (the opening part is formed, as shown in Fig. 2, in the insulating frame 160, wherein terminal busbar 153 is exposed at the opening part, as shown in Fig. 1);
an insulating part disposed between the casing and the busbar assembly (the insulating frame 160 may include an insulating cover 163 formed between the outer cover 165 and the busbar assembly 150; [0037] & Fig. 2).
Min ‘705 does not disclose a flame blocking unit comprising an expansion terminal which is connected to the internal terminal via the opening part,
wherein the flame blocking unit comprises:
an expansion terminal which is connected to the internal terminal via the opening part and which transmits electric power; and
a blocking plate filling a gap between the expansion terminal and the opening part,
a fastener which is coupled to the fastener groove and which connects the internal terminal to the expansion terminal,
wherein the blocking plate is formed of an electrically insulative material,
wherein the casing is formed of an electrically conductive material,
wherein the through-holes through which the fastener passes are respectively formed in the internal terminal and the expansion terminal,
wherein the fastener is coupled to the fastener groove by passing through the through-holes of the internal terminal and the expansion terminal, and the blocking plate is in close contact with the opening part of the casing by a force that couples the fastener to the groove.
Lee ‘194 teaches a flame blocking unit (a first sealing portion 60; [0045]) comprising: an expansion terminal (first nut 64; [0045]) which is connected to an internal terminal of a battery module (nut 64 is connected to the first terminal connector 22 via the first terminal body 21 in the battery shown in Fig. 1; [0045] - [0047]) via the opening part (the cap plate 51 of the cap assembly 50, which is coupled to the case 40, includes an opening where the electrode terminal 20 and the first sealing portion 60 are present; [0043] – [0045]) and which transmits electric power (the first nut 64 connected to the first terminal body 21 of the battery 100 is capable of transmitting electric power; [0026]); and a blocking plate filling a gap between the expansion terminal and the opening part (a first upper insulator 63 is coupled to the terminal body 21 of the electrode terminal 20 and pressed against the top surface of the cap plate 51; [0051] & Fig. 1b),
a fastener which is coupled to the fastener groove and which connects the internal terminal to the expansion terminal (the first nut 64 is provided with a through hole for which the first terminal body 21 is inserted, wherein the first terminal body connects the first nut 64 to the terminal connector 22 via the first terminal body 21; [0047] & Fig. 1b),
wherein the blocking plate is formed of an electrically insulative material (the upper insulator 63, like the insulation layer 65 is made of an insulative material; [0052] – [0053]),
wherein the casing is formed of an electrically conductive material (the cap plate 51 is made of a conductive material, because an insulation layer is formed below to prevent electrical shorts from occurring; [0054]),
wherein the fastener is coupled to the fastener groove by passing through the through-hole of the expansion terminal (the first upper insulator 63 is coupled to the terminal body 21 of the electrode terminal 20 and pressed against the top surface of the cap plate 51 when the terminal body 21 is present in the groove channel between the seal gasket 61, the upper insulator 63, and the nut 64; [0043] – [0045], [0051] – [0052], & Fig. 1b), and the blocking plate is in close contact with the opening part of the casing by a force that couples the fastener to a fastener groove (the first upper insulator 63 is coupled to the terminal body 21 of the electrode terminal 20 and pressed against the top surface of the cap plate 51 when the terminal body 21 is present in the groove channel between the seal gasket 61, the upper insulator 63, and the nut 64; [0043] – [0045], [0051] – [0052], & Fig. 1b).
Lee ‘194 does not disclose a through-hole in the internal terminal, corresponding to the terminal connector 22.
Kim ‘427 discloses a penetration hole 412 of the first electrode lead tab 51, wherein an internal end of the first electrode terminal 41 is inserted therein ([0045]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a through-hole to also be present in the terminal connector 22 of Lee ‘194, as suggested by Kim ‘427, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04), wherein the fastener, corresponding to the terminal body 21, is coupled to the groove channel by passing through the through holes of the internal terminal and the expansion terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the terminal structure in battery pack, as taught by Min ‘705, to ensure that a rechargeable battery is protected from electrical short-circuits between the electrode terminal 20 and the cap plate 51, as suggested by Lee ‘194 and Kim ‘427.
Min ‘705 does not disclose explicitly disclose that the flame blocking unit covers the opening part so that a flame generated inside the battery module is prevented from being discharged.
Abu-Isa ‘238 discloses a battery case having base and cover portions and optionally internal structural components made of an intumescent flame retardant polymeric composition that includes a base polymer and a fire resistant additive to produce a moldable material with good physical properties that burns at a slow rate, has a low heat release rate, and has intumescence to provide fire and heat shielding ([0017]). Flame retardant materials may be used for the battery case and for internal structural components, such as support plates, terminal edge protectors and terminal covers ([0017]). Further, the intumescent flame retardant polymeric compositions that are thermoplastic molding compositions can be injection molded, or otherwise suitably molded and shaped to a desired geometry or configuration for a battery component by thermal processes ([0017]). The flame retardant polymeric materials for the battery case act as a fire shield, and when exposed to intense fire, will not melt and drip, and will not burn through even after prolonged flame exposure ([0017]). Because the polymeric material will act as a true fire shield, it will not allow fire to go through and spread to neighboring objects.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the flame blocking unit of the battery pack, as taught by Min ‘705, is formed of a material having an intumescent flame retardant polymeric composition that is a thermoplastic molding composition, wherein the material can be injection molded to be shaped to a desired geometry or configuration for a battery component, as suggested by Abu-Isa ‘238, wherein the flame blocking unit formed of the referenced material acts as a fire shield and prevents the spread of fire to neighboring objects, so that a flame generated inside the battery module is prevented from being discharged at the opening part.
Regarding claim 9, Min ‘705 teaches the battery pack of claim 7, the blocking plate is formed by performing an insert injection molding such that the blocking plate surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the expansion terminal (the intumescent flame retardant polymeric compositions that are thermoplastic molding compositions can be injection molded, or otherwise suitably molded and shaped to a desired geometry or configuration for a battery component by thermal processes; [0017] of Abu-Isa ‘238), and is formed of a high heat resistant material having a volume change within 25% when the high heat resistant material is exposed at a temperature equal to or more than 200°C for 72 hours (the flame retardant polymeric materials for the battery case act as a fire shield, and when exposed to intense fire, will not melt and drip, and will not burn through even after prolonged flame exposure; [0017] of Abu-Isa ‘238).
Regarding claim 10, Min ‘705 teaches the battery pack of claim 7, wherein the blocking plate is formed such that an area of the blocking plate is larger than an area of the opening part so that the blocking plate covers the opening part from an outside of the casing (as shown in Fig. 1b, the upper insulator 63 has a plate part that has an area larger than an area of the opening formed in the cap plate 51 that covers the opening from an outside of the cap assembly 50 coupled to the case 40; Fig. 1b of Lee ‘194).
Regarding claim 14, Min ‘705 teaches the battery pack of claim 7, further comprising an external busbar which is connected to an external electrode and in which a through-hole where the fastener passes therethrough is formed, wherein the fastener is coupled to the casing by passing through the through-holes of the external busbar, the internal terminal, and the expansion terminal (a terminal connecting structure 180 may include an inter-module busbar 151 that provides electrical connection between adjacent battery modules, and a bolt 183 for coupling the inter-module busbar 151 with the terminal busbar 153 of each battery modules 100, wherein the bolt 183 may be fixed to the outer cover 165 through the screw hole of the nut 173, i.e., applying a force that couples the fastener to the casing; [0047] – [0048]; Figs. 4 & 5 of Min ‘705).
Regarding claim 18, Min ‘705 teaches the battery pack of claim 7, wherein the casing comprises a top cover coupled to the casing from an upper portion of the casing such that the battery assembly is covered (module case 135 has a top portion that covers the cell assembly; [0037] & Fig. 1 of Min ‘705), and at least one venting hole is formed in the top cover such that gas or a flame generated inside the battery module is vented to the outside through an upper portion of the battery module (advantageously, a plurality of vent holes 24 are provide in the cover portion 20 of the battery case 10 to allow the evolved gases to escape form the top of the battery case 10; [0020] of Abu-Isa 238).
Regarding claim 19, Min ‘705 teaches the battery pack of claim 18, wherein the top cover further comprises a venting sheet coupled to a lower portion of the top cover such that a lower portion of the venting hole is covered, and the venting sheet is provided with a venting line which is formed in a portion corresponding to the venting hole so that the portion corresponding to the venting hole bursts when a pressure of gas generated inside the battery module reaches a predetermined pressure (upon exposure to high thermal conditions, a pressure build-up within the interior compartment 18 enclosed by the battery case 10; the one or more vent holes 24 and/or 26 in the battery case reduce the pressure build-up by allowing those gases to escape; a gas-permeable membrane, corresponding to the venting sheet, may be provided in conjunction with the vent holes 24, 26 to permit gases to escape while prevented fluids and/or solid particles from escaping; [0020] of Abu-Isa 238).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210265705 A1 (Min ‘705) in view of US 20110183194 A1 (Lee ‘194), US 20120276427 A1 (Kim ‘427), and US 20050170238 A1 (Abu-Isa ‘238), and further in view of US 20130130100 A1 (Kurata ‘100).
Regarding claim 11, Min ‘705 teaches the flame blocking unit of claim 1, wherein the blocking plate comprises:
a plate part formed such that an area of the plate part is larger than an area of the opening part so that the blocking plate covers the opening part from an outside of the casing (as shown in Fig. 1b of Lee ‘194, the horizontal plate part of the upper insulator 63 is larger than an area of the opening formed in the cap plate 51 that covers the opening from an outside of the cap plate 51); and
a fitting part which is formed on a surface where the plate part and the casing are in contact with each other and which protrudes such that the fitting part corresponds to an inner surface shape of the opening part (as shown in Fig. 1b of Lee ‘194, a vertical portion of the upper insulator 63 extends downward from the horizontal plate part and contacts the inner surface of the opening formed in the cap plate 51).
Lee ‘194 discloses that the first nut 64 is disposed on the upper insulator 63 at a center thereof on the upper surface plate part, however, Lee ‘194 does not disclose an expansion terminal accommodating part which is positioned at a center of the plate part and which is formed in a hole shape that accommodates the expansion terminal therein.
Kurata ‘100 discloses a closed type rectangular nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery, wherein a positive electrode terminal 63 ([0115]) is connected to a positive electrode internal lead 70 through an insulating gasket 65 ([0134]). As shown in Fig. 23, the flange section 65b of the insulating gasket 65 has an accommodating portion sized and shaped to accommodate the head section 63 b of the positive electrode terminal 63 ([0133]).
Therefore, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the shape of the upper insulator 63 of the first sealing portion 60, as taught by Lee ‘194, corresponding to the blocking plate, to have a flange section 65b formed that is sized and shaped to accommodate the first nut 64 in a hole shaped opening formed therein, as suggested by Kurata ‘100, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claims 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210265705 A1 (Min ‘705) in view of US 20110183194 A1 (Lee ‘194), US 20120276427 A1 (Kim ‘427), and US 20050170238 A1 (Abu-Isa ‘238), and further in view of US 20220094003 A1 (Jo ‘003 – with a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) effective filing date of September 22, 2021).
Regarding claim 15, Min ‘705 teaches the battery pack of claim 7, wherein the busbar assembly further comprises: a tab bus into which cell tabs having the same polarity are inserted and which electrically connects the inserted cell tabs to each other (the busbar assembly may be configured such that a busbar 151 is fixed towards the outside on a busbar frame 155 located on the side of the direction in which an electrode lead of the cell assembly is drawn out; the electrode lead of the cell assembly may be electrically connected to the busbar 151 through a slit formed in the busbar frame 155; [0037] & Fig. 2 of Min ‘705); and
an insulating member which is formed of an electrically insulative material and which supports and fixes the internal terminal and the tab bus (an insulating frame 160 having an insulating cover 163 located adjacent to the busbar assembly 150; [0037] & Fig. 2; the insulating cover 163, the outer cover 165, and the busbar frame 155 constituting the insulating frame 160 may be made of non-conductive injected materials; [0038]; the outer cover 165 allows the terminal busbar fixed to the busbar assembly 150 to expose while coupling with the insulating cover 163 and the busbar assembly 150; [0047] of Min ‘705).
However, Min ‘705 does not disclose that the insulating member is provided with a first partition wall which protrudes from a space between the tab bus and an adjacent tab bus and which vertically partitions the tab bus and the adjacent tab bus from each other.
Jo ‘003 discloses a battery module assembly 500 having a front plate 200 ([0042]). The front plate 200 may include an upper frame 201, a lower frame 202, a partition wall member 203 connected the upper frame 201 to the lower frame 202, and a bus bar assembly 207 ([0046]). A second bus bar 207B may be insulated form the first bus bar 207A by a first partition wall 203A ([0062] & Fig. 6). A third bus bar 207C may be insulated from the second bus bar 207B by a second partition wall 203B ([0064] & Fig. 6). A further bus bar 207D may be insulated from the third bus bar 207C by a third partition wall 203C ([0066] & Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the insulating member of the battery pack, as taught by Min ‘705, includes a first partition wall which protrudes form a space between the tab bus and an adjacent tab bus and which vertically partitions the tab bus and the adjacent tab bus from each other, to insulate the tab bus and the adjacent tab bus from each other, as suggested by Jo ‘003.
Regarding claim 16, Min ‘705 teaches the battery pack of claim 15, wherein the insulating member further comprises a second partition wall which horizontally protrudes from a lower portion of the first partition wall (the bus bar assembly 207 may include four bus bars 207A to 207D which are disposed between the upper frame 201 and the lower frame 202, corresponding to the second partition wall, and are partitioned by the partition wall members 203 connecting the upper frame 201 to the lower frame 202; [0057] & Fig. 6 of Jo ‘003).
Regarding claim 17, Min ‘705 teaches the battery pack of claim 16, wherein the casing comprises a front cover coupled to the casing from a first side of the battery assembly in the longitudinal direction (battery module 100 includes an insulating frame 160 on at least one side of a module case 135, the insulating frame having an outer cover 165; [0037]; Figs. 1 & 2 of Min ‘705), the battery module further comprises an insulating part which is disposed between the front cover and the busbar assembly and which is formed of an electrically insulative material (the insulating frame 160 having an insulating cover 163 formed between the outer cover 165 and the busbar assembly 150; [0037] & Fig. 2; the insulating cover 163, the outer cover 165, and the busbar frame 155 constituting the insulating frame 160 may be made of non-conductive injected materials; [0038] of Min ‘705), and the first partition wall and the second partition wall protrude such that the first partition wall and the second partition wall are in close contact with the insulating part (as shown in Fig. 6 of Jo ‘003, the partition wall member 203 and the lower frame 202 are connected and protrude from the front plate 200, and when combined, the partition walls would be in close contact with the insulating cover 163 of Min ‘705).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 2, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments directed to Choi are moot, because Choi is no longer relied on in this Office action.
Applicant additionally argues that Kurata ‘100 relates to a terminal structure of a single prismatic battery cell, and the present invention relates to terminal of a battery module. However, applicant’s argument is not persuasive, because a terminal structure in a battery module and a terminal structure in a battery is analogous art. Further, Kurata ‘100 is relied on to modify the shape of the upper insulator 63 of the first sealing portion 60, as taught by Lee ‘194, corresponding to the blocking plate, to have a flange section 65b formed that is sized and shaped to accommodate the first nut 64 in a hole shaped opening formed therein.
Conclusion
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725