Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communication filed 2/6/2026.
Amendments to claims 1, 15, 17, filed 2/6/2026, are acknowledged and accepted.
Response to Arguments
As a preliminary matter, Applicant spends pgs. 7-9 of the 2/6/2026 Remarks simply rehashing nonsubstantive arguments regarding their preference on how Ma is entered on form PTO-892. While Applicant continues to misinterpret the MPEP in this respect, as explained in the Final Rejection, Examiner nonetheless enters Ma’s patent as non-patent literature to indulge Applicant’s request and to allay any of their concerns or misapprehensions.
Applicant's remaining arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pgs. 9-11 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that the cited references do not disclose a first wire coupling portion connected to a side surface of the fixed frame, the side surface of the fixed frame facing the movable frame in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis of the camera module as amended into the new claim 1. However, in their arguments, Applicant has neglected much of the relevant geometry of Howarth’s support structure 4 with support plate 50, to which the claimed fixed frame was mapped. Applicant consequently argues a misrepresentative description of Howarth’s device – apparently baselessly assuming that the movable-plate-facing side of the support plate 50 is purely flat-facing along the optical axis, and that it is thus incapable of facing moving plate 60 (= movable frame) in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis as claimed. While Applicant refers to FIG. 2 in their arguments, they have apparently overlooked the fact that FIG. 2 illustrates support plate 50 with creases/contours drawn in proximity to crimps 51. These indicate upward curvature of support plate 50 (of the fixed frame) to accommodate moving plate 60, as well as the presence of fixed frame surface portions whose faces point substantially perpendicularly to the optical axis. Applicant’s arguments thus appear to rely largely on a misrepresentation/ misunderstanding of Howarth’s disclosure and are thus found to be unpersuasive.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the direction(s) perpendicular to the optical axis (claims 1, 15, 17), movement direction (claims 2, 14), external element (claim 7), and direction to bring the first and second wire couplers closer to each other (claim 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it consists of a single lengthy sentence that is difficult to parse, having improper list construction and excessive coordination (“A camera module includes a…, with…, and a driving wire…, and two coupling members…. wherein…, and the movable frame…, and the …”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The disclosure is further objected to because the specification contains numerous informalities and terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some informalities and unclear, inexact, or verbose terms used in the specification are listed as follows:
In ¶ 10, following line 1’s “In one general aspect,” is a copy/paste of the abstract. The text therefore suffers the same deficiencies described above
In ¶ 27, lines 1-3, “first and second couplers” are not consistent with any other structure described in the specification. This should apparently read “first and second tapered couplers”, corresponding to those introduced in ¶ 26
In ¶ 54, lines 1-3, Y- and Z-axes are apparently conflated with one another, which is not clear
In ¶s 104: “coupling members 84a and 84b… decrease in a direction in which the two coupling members 84a and 84b become closer to each other” is not clear
In ¶ 115, line 2, “made be made” is improper and likely should read “may be read”
Examiner notes that this list is not exhaustive, and reiterates that the specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Applicant' s specification should be provided in clear and proper idiomatic English and contain no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 and claim 15, on lines 5-6 for each claim, “a driving wire…” and “two coupling members” should be separated by a new line and indentation (following a semicolon for consistency), rather than by “, and” only. See 37 CFR 1.75(i) – “each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation”. As such, the “and” terminating the previous limitation on line 4 of either claim would produce improper list construction and should be struck from the sentence.
Other informalities include instances listing multiple coordinated limitations that appear to share the same subordinating “wherein” term, yet whose separators include multiple coordinating conjunctions rather than a single terminal conjunction per the formal standard. See:
“wherein” on line 7 of claim 1, with multiply improper “, and” separators on each of lines 9, 12
“wherein” on line 7 of claim 15, with multiply improper “, and” separators on each of lines 9, 14
In claim 12, line 2, and claim 20, line 4, “an image sensor, or a lens barrel, …” should read “an image sensor, a lens barrel, …”
In claim 20, line 2, the semicolon is apparently spurious and should be removed
Claims not specifically addressed in the objections above inherit the objections of the claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, the term “small” on line 7 of claim 3 and line 15 of claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is therefore unclear what sizes would qualify as “small cross sections” or what structural requirements are imposed by the recitation that “portions having small cross sections thereof face each other” on line 7 of claim 3 and lines 15-16 of claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, lines 8-11 recite two instances of “the [first and] second tapered insertion space[s]” which lack proper antecedent bases. For examination purposes, lines 4-5 introducing “a second insertion space” shall be read as “a second tapered insertion space”.
Regarding claim 18, lines 2-4 recite two instances of “the first and second couplers” which lack proper antecedent bases. For examination purposes, the limitation shall be read as “the first and second tapered couplers” introduced in claim 17, lines 6-7.
Claims not specifically addressed in the rejection above inherit the indefiniteness of the claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howarth et al (US 20200271946 A1, hereinafter “Howarth”) in view of Ma et al (CN 206693717 U, hereinafter “Ma”).
Regarding claim 1, Howarth discloses (see FIGs. 1 and 2, both annotated below, and ¶s 24-39) a camera module (camera apparatus 1) comprising:
a fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) having an internal space;
a movable frame (moving plate 60) installed to be movable in the internal space of the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) and having at least one optical member (camera lens assembly 20) mounted thereon; and
a driving wire comprising a wire member (SMA actuator wires 80) made of a shape-memory alloy (= “SMA”),
wherein
the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) comprises a first wire coupling portion (crimps 51) connected to a side surface of the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50), the side surface of the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) facing the movable frame (moving plate 60) in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (O) of the camera module (camera apparatus 1), and the movable frame (moving plate 60) comprises a second wire coupling portion (crimps 61) connected to a side surface of the movable frame (moving plate 60), the side surface of the movable frame (moving plate 60) facing the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (O) of the camera module (camera apparatus 1), and
[AltContent: textbox (FIGs. 1 and 2 of Howarth are annotated to highlight various features.)]
the driving wire (SMA actuator wires 80) are inserted into the first wire coupling portion (crimps 51) and the second wire coupling portion (crimps 61), respectively, to connect the movable frame (moving plate 60) and the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) to each other (see also FIG. 3).
Howarth does not disclose:
two coupling members each coupled to the wire member and having a wedge shape,
the two coupling members of the driving wire are inserted into the first wire coupling portion and the second wire coupling portion, respectively, to connect the movable frame and the fixed frame to each other.
Howarth and Ma commonly relate to coupling/securing of shape memory alloy wires to accommodating frames.
Ma discloses (see FIGs. 1 and 5, annotated below, and ¶s 8, 42-44, 54-55):
two coupling members (end anchor plugs 72) each coupled to the wire member (shape memory alloy wire 4) and having a wedge shape,
[AltContent: textbox (FIGs. 1 and 5 of Ma are annotated to highlight various features)]the two coupling members (end anchor plugs 72) are inserted into the first wire coupling portion and the second wire coupling portion (end anchor rings 71, provided on both ends of shape memory alloy wire 4).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Howarth with Ma’s end anchor (rings/plugs), in order to provide a simple yet reliable coupling structure that is easy to implement (Ma ¶ 17).
Regarding claim 2, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Howarth further discloses (see ¶s 31-39; see also FIG. 3) wherein a length direction of the wire member (SMA actuator wires 80) extends in parallel with a movement direction (X and Y directions, orthogonal to optical axis O) of the movable frame (moving plate 60).
Regarding claim 3, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 2.
Ma further discloses (see the annotated FIG. 1+5 above) wherein:
the two coupling members (end anchor plugs 72) comprise a first coupling member (end anchor plug 72) inserted into the first wire coupling portion (end anchor ring 71) and having a cross-sectional area that decreases toward one side thereof, and a second coupling member (end anchor plug 72) inserted into the second wire coupling portion (end anchor ring 71) and having a cross-sectional area that decreases toward one side thereof, and
the first coupling member (end anchor plug 72) and the second coupling member (end anchor plug 72) are coupled to the wire member (shape memory alloy wire 4) so that respective portions having small cross sections thereof face each other.
Regarding claim 4, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Howarth further discloses wherein the first wire coupling portion (crimps 51), the second wire coupling portion (crimps 61), and the driving wire (SMA actuator wires 80) are made of a conductive material (see ¶ 33-35: support/moving plates 50/60 with crimps 51/61 are both made of metal. Alloys (i.e. shape memory alloy SMA actuator wires 80), in general, are also metals).
Regarding claim 5, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Ma further discloses wherein:
each of the two coupling members (end anchor plugs 72) comprises a tubular member having a conical pipe shape, and a filling member filled disposed in the tubular member (see annotated FIG. 5 below), and
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 5 of Ma is annotated to identify tubular and filling members)]the wire member (shape memory alloy wire 4) is fixed to the two coupling members (end anchor plugs 72) by penetrating through the respective filling members (see the earlier annotated FIG. 1+5).
Regarding claim 6, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Ma further discloses wherein:
each of the first and second wire coupling portions (end anchor rings 71) comprises an insertion space constituted by a through-hole to allow a corresponding one of the two coupling members (end anchor plugs 72) to be inserted thereinto, and
the insertion space has a cross-sectional area that decreases toward one side thereof.
(See the newly annotated FIG. 5 and/or the earlier annotated FIG. 1+5 above)
Regarding claim 7, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Howarth further discloses wherein the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) comprises a wiring (SMA actuator wires 80) electrically connected to the first wire coupling portion (crimps 51) and configured to be electrically connected to an external element (integrated circuit IC chip 30, which supplies SMA actuator wires 80 with drive signals; see ¶s 40-42).
Regarding claim 8, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Howarth further discloses wherein the movable frame (moving plate 60) comprises a wiring (flexures 67) electrically connecting the second wire coupling portion (crimps 61) to the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) (see ¶s 54-56). (Note also that, with ¶s 33-35, moving plate 60 having crimps 61 and flexures 67 are all made of metal; crimps 61 are therefore electrically connected to support structure 4 with support plate 50.)
Regarding claim 9, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Howarth further discloses wherein the movable frame (moving plate 60) comprises:
a seating portion on which the optical member (camera lens assembly 20) is mounted (see annotated FIG. 1+2 above); and
an elastic support portion (flexures 67) disposed between the seating portion and the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) (see annotated FIG. 1+2 above) and configured to be elastically deformed as the movable frame (moving plate 60) moves to provide a restoring force (“lateral biasing force” or “retaining force along the optical axis”; see ¶s 54-60) to the seating portion.
Regarding claim 10, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 9.
Howarth further discloses wherein the elastic support portion (flexures 67) comprises (see the annotated FIGs. 2+6 below):
a pillar portion extending from the seating portion toward the fixed frame;
a deformable portion extending from the pillar portion in parallel with the seating portion; and
a protruding portion extending from an end of the deformable portion toward the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50).
[AltContent: textbox (FIGs. 2 and 6 of Howarth are annotated to highlight various features)]
Regarding claim 11, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 10.
Howarth further discloses wherein the protruding portion is configured to remain in contact with the fixed frame (support frame 4 with support plate 50) regardless of whether or not the movable frame (moving plate 60) moves (see ¶s 54-62 and annotated FIGs 2+6 above; when camera apparatus 1’s SMA actuator assembly 40 is in an “assembled state… [there is] a pre-loading force that biases the support structure 4 [with support plate 50] and the movable element [moving plate 60] together” – i.e. they are in contact or “against each other whilst permitting the movement”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Howarth further discloses wherein the optical member (camera lens assembly 20) comprises a lens barrel (lens holder 23) (see ¶ 27 and the annotated FIG. 1+2 above).
Regarding claim 14, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Howarth further discloses wherein the first wire coupling portion (crimps 51) and the second wire coupling portion (crimps 61) are spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance in a movement direction (X and Y direction) of the movable frame (moving plate 60). (See ¶s 31-39 and FIGs. 1-3; the distance between crimps 51 and 61 for relaxed SMA wires will naturally be set at the time of device assembly, and it is therefore predetermined.)
Regarding claim 15, Howarth discloses (see annotated FIG. 1+2 above and ¶s 24-39) a camera module (camera apparatus 1) comprising:
a fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) having an internal space;
a movable frame (moving plate 60) installed to be linearly movable (i.e. along X and/or Y directions) in the internal space of the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50); and
a driving wire comprising a wire member (SMA actuator wires 80) made of a shape-memory alloy (= “SMA”), and two coupling members (i.e. SMA wire portions crimped by crimps 51 and 61) as parts of the wire member (SMA actuator wires 80),
wherein
one of the two coupling members is connected (via crimps 51) to a side surface of the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50), the side surface of the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) facing the movable frame (moving plate 60) in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (O) of the camera module (camera apparatus 1), and another one of the two coupling members is connected (via crimps 61) to a side surface of the movable frame (moving plate 60), the side surface of the movable frame (moving plate 60) facing the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (O) of the camera module (camera apparatus 1),
Howarth does not disclose:
the two coupling members fastened to the wire member,
each of the two coupling members has a cross-sectional area that decreases toward one side thereof, and
the two coupling members are disposed so that respective portions having small cross sections thereof face each other.
Howarth and Ma commonly relate to coupling/securing of shape memory alloy wires to accommodating frames.
Ma discloses (see the annotated FIG. 1+5 above and ¶s 8, 42-44, 54-55):
the two coupling members (end anchor plugs 72) fastened to the wire member (shape memory alloy wire 4),
each of the two coupling members (end anchor plug 72) has a cross-sectional area that decreases toward one side thereof, and
the two coupling members (end anchor plugs 72) are disposed so that respective portions having small cross sections thereof face each other.
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Howarth with Ma’s end anchor (rings/plugs), in order to provide a simple yet reliable coupling structure that is easy to implement (Ma ¶ 17).
Regarding claim 17, Howarth discloses (see annotated FIG. 1+2 above and ¶s 24-39) an optical image stabilizer (OIS) (SMA actuator arrangement 40) comprising:
a first wire coupler (crimps 51) disposed on a fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50);
a second wire coupler (crimps 61) disposed on a movable body (moving plate 60);
a shape memory alloy wire (SMA actuator wires 80) (see also FIG. 3),
wherein
the first wire coupler (crimps 51) is connected to a side surface of the fixed frame, the side surface of the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) facing the movable body (moving plate 60) in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (O) of the optical image stabilizer (OIS) (SMA actuator arrangement 40),
the second wire coupler (crimps 61) is connected to a side surface of the movable body (moving plate 60), the side surface of the movable body (moving plate 60) facing the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (O) of the optical image stabilizer (OIS) (SMA actuator arrangement 40), and
the shape memory alloy wire (SMA actuator wires 80) is configured to change shape in response to a current flowing through the shape memory alloy wire (SMA actuator wires 80) to move the movable body (moving plate 60) in a direction to bring the first and second wire couplers (crimps 51 and 61) closer to each other.
Howarth does not disclose:
the first wire coupler comprising a first tapered insertion space;
the second wire coupler comprising a second insertion space tapered toward the first wire coupler;
the shape memory alloy wire comprising a first tapered coupler and a second tapered coupler spaced apart from each other and tapered toward each other,
the first tapered insertion space is tapered toward the second tapered insertion space,
the first and second tapered couplers are engaged in the first and second tapered insertion spaces, respectively,
[AltContent: textbox (FIGs. 1 and 5 of Ma are newly annotated to highlight various features)]Howarth and Ma commonly relate to coupling/securing of shape memory alloy wires to accommodating frames.
Ma discloses (see the newly annotated FIG. 1+5 above and ¶s 8, 42-44, 54-55):
the first wire coupler (end anchor ring 71) comprising a first tapered insertion space;
the second wire coupler (end anchor ring 71) comprising a second insertion space tapered toward the first wire coupler (end anchor ring 71);
the shape memory alloy wire (4) comprising a first tapered coupler (end anchor plug 72) and a second tapered coupler (end anchor plug 72) spaced apart from each other and tapered toward each other,
the first tapered insertion space is tapered toward the second tapered insertion space,
the first and second tapered couplers (end anchor plugs 72) are engaged in the first and second tapered insertion spaces, respectively,
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Howarth with Ma’s end anchor (rings/plugs), in order to provide a simple yet reliable coupling structure that is easy to implement (Ma ¶ 17).
Regarding claim 18, modified Howarth discloses the OIS of claim 17.
Ma further discloses wherein:
each of the first and second couplers comprises a tube having a conical pipe shape, and a filler disposed in the tube (see newly annotated FIG. 5 below), and
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 5 of Ma is newly annotated to identify the tube and filler)]the shape memory alloy wire (4) is fixed to the first and second couplers by penetrating through the respective fillers (see the newly annotated FIG. 1+5 above).
Regarding claim 19, modified Howarth discloses the OIS of claim 17.
Howarth also discloses the OIS further comprising (see annotated FIG. 1+2 above and ¶s 54-60) an elastic support (flexures 67) disposed between the movable body (moving plate 60) and the fixed frame (support structure 4 with support plate 50) and configured to elastically deform as the movable body (moving plate 60) moves to provide a restoring force (“lateral biasing force” or “retaining force along the optical axis”) to the movable body (moving plate 60).
Regarding claim 20, modified Howarth discloses (see annotated FIG. 1+2 above) a camera module (camera apparatus 1) comprising:
the optical image stabilizer (OIS) (SMA actuator arrangement 40) of claim 17; and
an optical member (camera lens assembly 20) disposed on the movable body (moving plate 60),
wherein the optical member (camera lens assembly 20) comprises a lens barrel (lens holder 23).
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howarth in view of Ma, as applied respectively to claims 1 and 15 above, and in further view of Howarth and Brown (US 20150304561 A1, hereinafter “Howarth2”).
Regarding claim 13, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Howarth also discloses the camera module further comprising the driving wire (SMA actuator wires 80) electrically connected to an external element (integrated circuit IC chip 30; see ¶s 40-42).
Modified Howarth does not explicitly disclose a cable electrically connected to the driving wire and configured to be electrically connected to an external element.
Howarth and Howarth2 share first authors and commonly relate to shape memory actuators for camera modules.
Howarth2 explicitly discloses (see FIGs. 8, 21-22 and ¶s 87-89, 134-142) a cable (second insulator layer 59 with flexible printed circuit FPC) electrically connected to the driving wire (SMA actuator wires 80) and configured to be electrically connected to an external element (IC circuit/chip 30).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Howarth using Howarth2’s flexible printed circuit, in order to solve the difficulties associated with routing electrical connections (Howarth2 ¶ 64).
Regarding claim 16, modified Howarth discloses the camera module of claim 15.
Modified Howarth does not explicitly disclose the camera module further comprising a wiring connected to the driving wire for use as an electrical path for applying a current to the wire member.
Howarth and Howarth2 share first authors and commonly relate to shape memory actuators for camera modules.
Howarth2 explicitly discloses (see FIGs. 8, 21-22 and ¶s 87-89, 134-142) the camera module further comprising a wiring (second insulator layer 59 with flexible printed circuit FPC) connected to the driving wire (SMA actuator wires 80) for use as an electrical path for applying a current (“drive signals”) to the wire member (SMA actuator wires 80).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Howarth using Howarth2’s flexible printed circuit, in order to solve the difficulties associated with routing electrical connections (Howarth2 ¶ 64).
Conclusion
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872