DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1—16 & 21—24 have been examined in this application. Claims 17—20 have been canceled. Claim 21—24 have been added. This communication is a Non Final. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 12/01/2022 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12 & 14—16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2019/0192367 A1 to Patmore (Patmore hereafter).
As per claim 11, Patmore teaches:
A patient support apparatus powering system (10—Fig.8; para [0020]), comprising: a frame (16—Fig.1; para [0025]); a patient support disposed on the frame (21—Fig.1; para [0025]); a wheel coupled to the frame and configured to engage a floor surface (40a-d—Fig.1; para [0026]); a controller (44—Fig.8; para [0031]); a rechargeable battery (46—Fig.8; para [0033]) coupled to a patient support apparatus and in communication with the controller (44—Fig.8; para [0033]); a receiving assembly coupled to the patient support (72—Fig.8; para [0056])
and including a locating feature operably coupled to the frame (80—Fig.3; para [0061]), wherein the receiving assembly is in communication with the rechargeable battery (46—Fig.9; para [0032]); a transmitting assembly operably coupled to the frame (50, 56—Fig.8; para [0041]) and including a complementary locating feature (80—Fig.3; para [0061]) configured to aid a caregiver in aligning the receiving assembly adjacent to the transmitting assembly such that the transmitting assembly is in electrical communication with the receiving assembly (60—Fig.3; para [0061]).
As per claim 12, Patmore teaches:
The patient support apparatus powering system of claim 11, wherein the rechargeable battery is configured to be recharged from said patient support apparatus powering system (46—Fig.9; para [0032]).
As per claim 14, Patmore teaches:
The patient support apparatus powering system of claim 11, wherein the locating feature (80—Fig.3; para [0061]) includes generally smooth surfaces (62—Fig.3) through which at least one of data and power are transferred from the transmitting assembly to the receiving assembly (para [0061]).
As per claim 15, Patmore teaches:
The patient support apparatus powering system of claim 11, wherein the transmitting assembly includes a transmitting planar surface (48, 50, 56—Fig.5; para [0041]: planar surface) and the receiving assembly includes a receiving planar surface that is in abutting contact with the transmitting planar surface (62, 72—Fig.5; para [0041]: planar surface), and wherein at least one of data and power are transferred through the transmitting planar surface to the receiving planar surface (80—Fig.3; para [0061]).
As per claim 16, Patmore teaches:
The patient support apparatus powering system of claim 15, further comprising: an indicator device operably coupled to at least one of the patient support apparatus (80—Fig.8; para [0061]), the rechargeable battery, the receiving assembly, and the transmitting assembly, wherein the indicator device sends a signal when the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly are in communication (80—Fig.8; para [0061]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1—8 & 10, 13 & 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2019/0192367 A1 to Patmore in view of U.S Patent Application 2019/0123598 A1 to Patmore et. al. (Patmore 598’ hereafter).
As per claim 1, Patmore teaches:
A power supply system for a facility (62—Fig.8; para [0056]), comprising: a patient support apparatus (10—Fig.8; para [0020]) including a controller (44—Fig.8; para [0031]) and a patient support (21—Fig.1; para [0025]);
a power source operably coupled to the patient support apparatus (46—Fig.8; para [0033]), wherein the controller is in communication with the power source (44—Fig.8; para [0033]); a transmitting assembly coupled to the patient support apparatus and the power source (50, 56—Fig.8; para [0041]);
a receiving assembly operably coupled to the patient support (72—Fig.8; para [0056]); and a locating feature (80—Fig.3; para [0061]) in communication with the controller of the patient support apparatus (para [0056]), wherein the locating feature is configured to aid in aligning the power source on the patient support apparatus to indicate when the receiving assembly is in communication with the transmitting assembly (para [0061]).
Patmore does not teach, wherein the transmitting assembly wirelessly communicates with the receiving assembly to power the patient support.
Patmore 598’ teaches, wherein the transmitting assembly wirelessly communicates with the receiving assembly to power the patient support (70—Fig.3; para [0046]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Patmore (directed to a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly) and Patmore 598’ (directed to a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly) and arrived at a power supply system provided with a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly provided with a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to transfer power to a power receiver assembly 76 on the patient transport apparatus as taught in Patmore 598’ (para [0047]).
As per claim 2, Patmore (as modified) teaches: The power supply system of claim 1.
Patmore does not teach, wherein the locating feature is configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly.
Patmore 598’ teaches, wherein the locating feature is configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly (L—Fig.4; para [0057]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Patmore (directed to a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly) and Patmore 598’ (directed to a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly) and arrived at a power supply system provided with a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly provided with a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to determine relative alignment between the power transmitter and the power receivers as taught in Patmore 598’ (para [0057]).
As per claim 3, Patmore (as modified) teaches:
The power supply system of claim 1, wherein the locating feature includes one of an audible, tactile (para [0061]), and visual indication that confirms communication between the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly (80—Fig.8; para [0061]).
As per claim 4, Patmore (as modified) teaches:
The power supply system of claim 1, wherein the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly are configured to communicate via capacitive coupling to charge the power source (para [0065]).
As per claim 5, Patmore (as modified) teaches: The power supply system of claim 1.
Patmore does not teach, wherein the locating feature includes a magnetic locating feature on one of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly that interacts with a complementary locating feature on the other of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly.
Patmore 598’ teaches, wherein the locating feature (L—Fig.4; para [0057]) includes a magnetic locating feature on one of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly that interacts with a complementary locating feature on the other of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly (para [0060—62]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Patmore (directed to a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly) and Patmore 598’ (directed to a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly locating feature includes a magnetic locating feature on one of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly that interacts with a complementary locating feature) and arrived at a power supply system provided with a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly provided with a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly locating feature includes a magnetic locating feature on one of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly that interacts with a complementary locating feature. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to determine relative alignment between the power transmitter and the power receivers as taught in Patmore 598’ (para [0057]).
As per claim 6, Patmore (as modified) teaches:
The power supply system of claim 1, wherein the locating feature includes a snap-fit connection (58—Fig.2 para [0052]) between the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly that locates the patient support relative to the patient support apparatus (para [0052]).
As per claim 7, Patmore (as modified) teaches:
The power supply system of claim 1, further comprising: an indicator device operably coupled to at least one of the patient support apparatus (80—Fig.8; para [0061]), the power source, the receiving assembly, and the transmitting assembly, wherein the indicator device illuminates when the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly are in communication (80—Fig.8; para [0061]).
As per claim 8, Patmore (as modified) teaches: The power supply system of claim 1.
Patmore does not teach, further comprising: a sensor operably coupled to the receiving assembly, wherein the sensor is configured to sense at least one of an electric field, a magnetic field, and an electromagnetic field emitted by the transmitting assembly.
Patmore 598’ teaches, further comprising: a sensor (S—Fig.5; para [0062]) operably coupled to the receiving assembly (S & R—Fig.5; para [0062]), wherein the sensor is configured to sense at least one of an electric field, a magnetic field, and an electromagnetic field emitted by the transmitting assembly (S & T—Fig.5; para [0062]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Patmore (directed to a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly) and Patmore 598’ (directed to a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly locating feature includes a magnetic locating feature on one of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly that interacts with a complementary locating feature) and arrived at a power supply system provided with a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly provided with a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly locating feature includes a magnetic locating feature on one of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly that interacts with a complementary locating feature. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to determine relative alignment between the power transmitter and the power receivers as taught in Patmore 598’ (para [0057]).
As per claim 10, Patmore (as modified) teaches:
The power supply system of claim 1, wherein an interface defined between the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly is smooth and free of any plug and receptacle power connection (para [0067]) thereby enhancing cleanability and reducing bioburden (para [0067]).
As per claim 13, Patmore (as modified) teaches:
The patient support apparatus powering system of claim 11.
Patmore does not teach, wherein the locating feature includes a magnetic locating feature that interacts with the complementary locating feature on the transmitting assembly.
Patmore 598’, wherein the locating feature (L—Fig.4; para [0057]) includes a magnetic locating feature that interacts with the complementary locating feature on the transmitting assembly (L&T—Fig.5; para [0060—62]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Patmore (directed to a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly) and Patmore 598’ (directed to a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly locating feature includes a magnetic locating feature on one of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly that interacts with a complementary locating feature) and arrived at a power supply system provided with a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly provided with a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly locating feature includes a magnetic locating feature on one of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly that interacts with a complementary locating feature. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to determine relative alignment between the power transmitter and the power receivers as taught in Patmore 598’ (para [0057]).
As per claim 21, Patmore teaches:
A power supply system for a facility (62—Fig.8; para [0056]), comprising: a patient support apparatus (10—Fig.8; para [0020]) including a controller (44—Fig.8; para [0031]) and a patient support supported on a frame (21—Fig.1; para [0025]); a power source operably coupled to the patient support apparatus (46—Fig.8; para [0033]), wherein the controller is in communication with the power source (44—Fig.8; para [0033]); a transmitting assembly coupled to the patient support apparatus and the power source(50, 56—Fig.8; para [0041]); a receiving assembly operably coupled to the patient support (72—Fig.8; para [0056]); and a locating feature (80—Fig.3; para [0061]) in communication with the controller of the patient support apparatus (para [0056]), wherein the locating feature is configured to aid in aligning the power source on the patient support apparatus to indicate when the receiving assembly is in communication with the transmitting assembly (para [0061]), wherein the locating feature includes: an engagement feature disposed on one of the patient support and the frame (30—Fig.2 para [0052]), the engagement feature including at least two sides (30—Fig.2 para [0052]); and a retention feature disposed on the other of the patient support and the frame (58—Fig.2 para [0052]), the retention feature configured to engage each of the at least two sides of the engagement feature (58—Fig.2 para [0052]).
Patmore does not teach, wherein the transmitting assembly wirelessly communicates with the receiving assembly to power the patient support.
Patmore 598’ teaches, wherein the transmitting assembly wirelessly communicates with the receiving assembly to power the patient support (70—Fig.3; para [0046]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Patmore (directed to a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly) and Patmore 598’ (directed to a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly) and arrived at a power supply system provided with a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly provided with a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to transfer power to a power receiver assembly 76 on the patient transport apparatus as taught in Patmore 598’ (para [0047]).
As per claim 22, Patmore (as modified) teaches
The power supply system of claim 21, wherein the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly are configured to communicate via capacitive coupling to charge the power source (para [0065]).
As per claim 23, Patmore (as modified) teaches
The power supply system of claim 21, further comprising: an indicator device operably coupled to at least one of the patient support apparatus (80—Fig.8; para [0061]), the power source, the receiving assembly, and the transmitting assembly, wherein the indicator device illuminates when the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly are in communication (80—Fig.8; para [0061]).
As per claim 24, Patmore(as modified) teaches The power supply system of claim 21.
Patmore does not teach, further comprising: a sensor operably coupled to the receiving assembly, wherein the sensor is configured to sense at least one of an electric field, a magnetic field, and an electromagnetic field emitted by the transmitting assembly.
Patmore 598’ teaches, further comprising: a sensor (S—Fig.5; para [0062]) operably coupled to the receiving assembly (S & R—Fig.5; para [0062]), wherein the sensor is configured to sense at least one of an electric field, a magnetic field, and an electromagnetic field emitted by the transmitting assembly (S & T—Fig.5; para [0062]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Patmore (directed to a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly) and Patmore 598’ (directed to a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly locating feature includes a magnetic locating feature on one of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly that interacts with a complementary locating feature) and arrived at a power supply system provided with a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly provided with a locating feature configured to guide the receiving assembly into communication with the transmitting assembly locating feature includes a magnetic locating feature on one of the receiving assembly and the transmitting assembly that interacts with a complementary locating feature. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to determine relative alignment between the power transmitter and the power receivers as taught in Patmore 598’ (para [0057]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2019/0192367 A1 to Patmore in view of U.S Patent Application 2019/0123598 A1 to Patmore 598’ in view of U.S Patent Application 2019/0262201 A1 to Borgman et al. (Borgman hereafter).
As per claim 9, Patmore (as modified) teaches: The power supply system of claim 1.
Patmore does not teach, wherein the patient support includes a microclimate management system.
Borgman teaches, wherein the patient support includes a microclimate management system (para [0247]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Patmore (directed to a patient support and a receiving and transmitting assembly) and Borgman (directed to a patient support provided with a microclimate system configured to cool and dry the interface between the patient and the bed) and arrived at a power supply system provided with a patient support a microclimate system configured to cool and dry the interface between the patient and the bed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a microclimate system configured to cool and dry the interface between the patient and the bed as taught in Borgman (para [0247]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 1, filed 03/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7 and 10 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over is made in view of U.S Patent Application 2019/0192367 A1 to Patmore in view of U.S Patent Application 2019/0123598 A1 to Patmore 598’.
Applicant’s Arguments:
Regarding the Non-Final Rejection filed on 12/10/2025, the Applicant argues,
Regarding claim 1, Patmore '367 is primarily directed to transferring power/data to an external electronic device, such as a smartphone, by way of a charging device on a patient support apparatus. However, Patmore '367 fails to disclose "a receiving assembly operably coupled to the patient support, wherein the transmitting assembly wirelessly communicates with the receiving assembly to power the patient support," as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Patmore '367 fails to disclose "a receiving assembly coupled to the patient support and including a locating feature operably coupled to the frame, wherein the receiving assembly is in communication with the rechargeable battery," as set forth in claim 11. Patmore '367 also fails to disclose "a transmitting assembly operably coupled to the frame and including a complementary locating feature configured to aid a caregiver in aligning the receiving assembly adjacent to the transmitting assembly such that the transmitting assembly is in electrical communication with the receiving assembly."
Examiner's Response to Arguments:
The examiner respectfully disagrees to the Applicant’s Arguments for the following reasons:
1) Regarding claim 1, The examiner relies on the teachings of U.S Patent Application 2019/0192367 A1 to Patmore in view of U.S Patent Application 2019/0123598 A1 to Patmore 598’ to form the basis of the rejection. The examiner highlights Patmore 598; discloses a receiving assembly operably coupled to the patient support, wherein the transmitting assembly wirelessly communicates with the receiving assembly to power the patient support (Patmore 598’ 70-Fig.3; para [0046]).
2) Regarding claim 11, the examiner maintains that Patmore teaches "a transmitting assembly operably coupled to the frame and including a complementary locating feature configured to aid a caregiver in aligning the receiving assembly adjacent to the transmitting assembly such that the transmitting assembly is in electrical communication with the receiving assembly’ as described in Patmore (Fig.8; para [0073]).
3)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent Application 2019/0015276 A1 to Bhimavarapu (Bhimavarapu hereafter) teaches A patient support apparatus includes a frame, a patient support surface, one or more force sensors that detect weight on the patient support surface, a recharger, and a controller.
U.S Patent Application 2016/0013837 A1 to Howell (Howell hereafter) teaches Patient care equipment includes a wireless coupler that transfers power and/or data between an architectural unit and the patient care equipment.
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 05/31/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673