Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Examiner Note
The foreign application CN103545786B is cited using the page numbers from the screenshot of the Google Patents translation.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant's argument that “the electric leakage protection device recited by independent claim 1 addresses a problem which is not contemplated by the disclosure of Violo”, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “detects whether
there is leakage current flowing from an external device ( e.g., non-ground) into the pool apparatus”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant’s argument that “the "first input button 372" and "second input button374" are distinct from the "response device" recited by amended independent claim 1. For example, para. [0048] of Applicant's Specification provides that the response device "may be a device for heating or cooling water or other liquid held by the pool apparatus, such as a device that can generate mist of any of various smells, emit light, adjust the water volume, filter the water in the pool, generate air bubbles or water flow to provide a massage effect."” is not persuasive because the specific is providing examples of the response device with the recitation of “may be”. Therefore, the first and second input buttons would still meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of response device because it is a device, button, that provides a control output in response to an input.
In response to applicant’s amended claims filed 9/16/2025, the previous grounds of rejection is withdrawn because of the claim “the switch module being configured to break a power connection of a power supply line between the power interface and the at least one response device when the magnitude of the leakage current in the ground wire exceeds a predetermined threshold.” The new grounds of rejection are based on Wu, CN Patent 103545786 (hereinafter referred to as Wu) in view of Violo et al., US Patent 10855068 (hereinafter referred to as Violo) and in further view of Lin, CN Patent 111987692 (hereinafter referred to as Lin).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 16-17, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, CN Patent 103545786 (hereinafter referred to as Wu) in view of Violo et al., US Patent 10855068 (hereinafter referred to as Violo) and in further view of Lin, CN Patent 111987692 (hereinafter referred to as Lin).
In regards to claim 1, Wu teaches an electric leakage protection device (protective device of leakage current; [Title]), the electric leakage protection device being internally disposed within a control board (units 101-105) (Examiner’s Note: It is a common engineering design choice to put circuitry on a control board. Therefore, the units discussed by Wu are understood to reside on a control board.) and comprising: a leakage current detection module (leakage current isolation sampling unit 101 & full-wave rectification amplification unit 103; [Pg. 3, Det. Desc., Para. 4] & [Fig. 2]) configured to detect whether there is a leakage current (active leakage current; [Pg. 4, Para. 20]) in a ground wire (neutral wire N or zero line N; [Pg. 4, Para. 20] & [Fig. 2]); and a control circuit (relay control unit 105; [Pg. 3, Det. Desc., Para. 5] & [Fig. 2]) operatively connected to the leakage current detection module (implicit; [Fig. 2]), the leakage current detection module transmitting an electric leakage detection signal (rectified and amplified leakage current signal; [Pg. 3, Det. Desc., Para. 4]) to the control circuit in response to detecting the leakage current (implicit; [Pg. 3, Det. Desc., Para. 3-5]); wherein the control circuit is further configured to determine a magnitude (magnitude; [Pg. 3, Det. Desc., Para. 6]) of the leakage current in the ground wire based on the electric leakage detecting signal (implicit; [Pg. 3, Det. Desc., Para. 3-6]); and wherein the control circuit is further connected to at least one device (load; [Pg. 4, Para. 8] & [Fig. 2]), and the electric leakage protection device further comprises a switch module (relay; [Fig. 2]) coupled between a power interface (ac power source or AC input power supply; [Pg. 4, Para. 4 & 8] & [Fig. 2]) and the at least one device (load; [Pg. 4, Para. 4 & 8] & [Fig. 2]), the switch module being configured to break a power connection of a power supply line between the power interface and the at least one response device (implicit; [Pg. 4, Para. 4 & 8]) when the magnitude of the leakage current in the ground wire exceeds a predetermined threshold (exceeds the threshold; [Pg. 4, Para. 8]).
Wu does not teach the electric leakage protection device for a pool apparatus and the electric leakage protection device being internally disposed within the control board of the pool apparatus; wherein the control circuit is further connected to at least one response device of the pool apparatus; and the switch module being configured to break a power connection of a power supply line between the power interface and the at least one response device.
Violo teaches the electric leakage protection device for a pool apparatus (within confines of a swimming pool; [Col. 3, Ln. 1-8]) and the electric leakage protection device being internally disposed within the control board (implicit for the control board to be disposed inside of the circuit breaker where the protection device is taught; [Col. 3, Ln. 1-8] & [Fig. 2] of the pool apparatus (within confines of a swimming pool; [Col. 3, Ln. 1-8]).
Violo does not teach wherein the control circuit is further connected to the at least one response device; and the switch module being configured to break the power connection of the power supply line between the power interface and the at least one response device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in order to incorporate the electric leakage protection device for a pool apparatus and the electric leakage protection device being internally disposed within the control board of the pool apparatus as taught by Violo. The motivation for doing so would be to protect a user of the pool from being shocked b adding the safety device of Wu.
Lin teaches wherein the control circuit is further connected to at least one response device (load, LED load; [Pg. 7, Para. Last]) (load, Wu); and the switch module (relay, Wu) being configured to break the power connection of the power supply line between the power interface and the at least one response device (load, LED load; [Pg. 7, Para. Last]) (load, Wu) (Examiner’s Note: Applicant teaches that the response device can be one that emits light. An LED emits light and would be a part of the broadest reasonable interpretation of a response device.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu & Violo in order to incorporate wherein the control circuit is further connected to at least one response device of the pool apparatus; and the switch module being configured to break a power connection of a power supply line between the power interface and the at least one response device as taught by Lin. The load of Wu would be substituted with the load, LED load, as taught by Lin. The motivation for doing so would be to apply a known load to the load as taught by Wu.
In regards to claim 2, Wu teaches wherein the leakage current detection module comprises: a current transducer configured to sense the leakage current in the ground wire passing therethrough ([Pg. 3, Para. 18] & [Pg. 4, Para. 20] e.g., leakage current protection device, current transformer 120, ground wire PE, current transformer 125); a sampling circuit coupled to a current signal output end of the current transducer, and configured to obtain a sampling voltage signal ([Pg. 3, Para. 13] e.g., leakage current isolation sampling unit 101); a first filter circuit comprising an input end coupled to the sampling circuit, and configured to convert the sampling voltage signal into a processed voltage signal ([Pg. 3, Para. 18] e.g., filter capacitor 124); a bias circuit that outputs a direct-current bias voltage ([Pg. 4, Para. 13] e.g., voltage dividing resistors 138 & 139); an amplification processing circuit coupled to an output end of the first filter circuit and to an output end of the bias circuit and configured to amplify the processed voltage signal and thereby obtain an amplified voltage signal ([Pg. 3, Para. 13] e.g., full-wave rectification amplification unit 103); and a second filter circuit comprising an input end coupled to an output end of the amplification processing circuit and configured to convert the amplified voltage signal into the electric leakage detection signal ([Pg. 4, Para. 3] e.g., RC filter 141). The leakage current detection module is equivalent to the leakage current protection device. The current transducer is equivalent to the current transformer 120 & 125. The ground wire is equivalent to the neutral wire N. Wu says the neutral wire is equipotential to the ground wire PE ([Pg. 4, Para. 20]). Therefore, the neutral wire is another ground wire. The sampling circuit is equivalent to 101. The first filter is equivalent to 124. The bias circuit is equivalent to the voltage divider 138 & 139. The amplification circuit is equivalent to 103. The second filter is equivalent to 141.
In regards to claim 3, Wu teaches wherein the amplification processing circuit comprises: an amplification circuit coupled to the output end of the first filter circuit and to the output end of the bias circuit and configured to amplify the processed voltage signal and thereby obtain an amplified signal ([Pg. 3, Para.18] & [Fig. 2] e.g., leakage current isolation sampling unit 101, RC filter 141, voltage dividing resistors 138 & 139); and a third filter circuit comprising an input end coupled to an output end of the amplification circuit and configured to convert the amplified signal into the amplified voltage signal ([Pg. 4, Para. 3] e.g., signal out unit 104, RC filter 142). The third filter circuit is equivalent to RC filter 142. The signal output unit 104 outputs the amplified voltage signal.
In regards to claim 4, Wu teaches wherein the amplification processing circuit comprises: an amplification circuit, coupled to the output end of the first filter circuit and to the output end of the bias circuit and configured to amplify the processed voltage signal to obtain an amplified signal ([Pg. 3, Para.18] & [Fig. 2] e.g., leakage current isolation sampling unit 101, RC filter 141, voltage dividing resistors 138 & 139); and a buffer circuit comprising an input end coupled to an output end of the amplification circuit and configured to convert the amplified signal into the amplified voltage signal ([Pg. 5, Para. 3] e.g., comparator 140, hardware protection threshold, outputs a low level). The buffer circuit is equivalent to the function comparator 140 completes.
In regards to claim 5, Wu teaches wherein the amplification processing circuit comprises: an amplification circuit, coupled to the output end of the first filter circuit and to the output end of the bias circuit and configured to amplify the processed voltage signal to obtain an amplified signal ([Pg. 3, Para.18] & [Fig. 2] e.g., leakage current isolation sampling unit 101, RC filter 141, voltage dividing resistors 138 & 139); and a third filter circuit comprising an input end coupled to an output end of the amplification circuit and configured to convert the amplified signal into a processed amplified signal ([Pg. 4, Para. 3] e.g., signal out unit 104, RC filter 142); and a buffer circuit comprising an input end coupled to an output end of the third filter circuit and configured to convert the processed amplified signal into the amplified voltage signal ([Pg. 5, Para. 3] e.g., comparator 140, hardware protection threshold, outputs a low level). The third filter circuit is equivalent to RC filter 142. The signal output unit 104 outputs the amplified voltage signal. The buffer circuit is equivalent to the function comparator 140 completes.
In regards to claim 6, Wu teaches wherein the amplification processing circuit comprises: an amplification circuit coupled to the output end of the first filter circuit and to the output end of the bias circuit and configured to amplify the processed voltage signal and thereby obtain the amplified voltage signal ([Pg. 3, Para. 18] & [Fig. 2] e.g., full-wave rectification amplification unit 103, signal output unit 104, relay control unit 105, filter capacitor 124, comparator 140). The amplification circuit is 103. The first filter circuit is equivalent to 124. The obtaining of the amplified voltage signal is completed by the signal output unit 104. The buffer circuit is equivalent to the function comparator 140 completes.
In regards to claim 7, Wu does not teach the electric leakage protection device according to claim 1, further comprising an alarm module, wherein the control circuit is further connected to the alarm module and configured to control the alarm module to output an alarm.
Violo teaches of the protection device further comprising an alarm module, wherein the control circuit is further connected to the alarm module and configured to control the alarm module to output an alarm ([Col. 8, Ln. 14-18] e.g., ground fault status signal, auxiliary bonding jumper 248, audible alarm). The ground fault status signal goes to the current monitoring device 252 (as taught in claim 1) which generates the audible alarm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate the electric leakage protection device according to claim 1, further comprising an alarm module, wherein the control circuit is further connected to the alarm module and configured to control the alarm module to output an alarm as taught by Violo. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a known method of system feedback to a user.
In regards to claim 8, Wu does not teach of the electric leakage protection device according to claim 1, further comprising an operation panel of a pool apparatus, wherein the control circuit is operatively connected to the operation panel and thereby receives a control command that is input by a user by means of the operation panel.
Violo teaches of the protection device further comprising an operation panel of a pool apparatus, wherein the control circuit is operatively connected to the operation panel and thereby receives a control command that is input by a user by means of the operation panel ([Col. 11, Ln. 32-39] e.g., ground fault monitoring system 300, ground fault output interface, current monitoring device 352, electrical service panel 310, first input button 372, second input button 374). The operation panel is equivalent to the electrical service panel 310. The electrical service panel contains the current monitoring device 352, which is equivalent to the control circuit, that may be attached to the pool. A control command can be the ground fault signal. The first input button and second input button are user inputs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate the electric leakage protection device according to claim 1, further comprising an operation panel of a pool apparatus, wherein the control circuit is operatively connected to the operation panel and thereby receives a control command that is input by a user by means of the operation panel as taught by Violo. The motivation for doing so would be to have user feedback in the system.
In regards to claim 9, Wu does not teach wherein the operation panel comprises a display screen.
Violo teaches wherein the operation panel comprises a display screen ([Col. 11, Ln. 32-39] e.g., LCD display 356a, current monitoring device 352, LED indicators 356b). The display screen is equivalent to the LCD display 356a. The control circuit is equivalent to the current monitoring device 352.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate wherein the operation panel comprises a display screen as taught by Violo. The motivation for doing so would be to have a user feedback as part of the system.
In regards to claim 10, Wu does not teach wherein the control circuit is communicatively connected to the display screen through serial communication.
Violo teaches wherein the control circuit is communicatively connected to the display screen through serial communication ([Col. 13, Ln. 1-3] e.g., auxiliary connection link 342, wired connection). Serial communication is a form of wired communication. Therefore, the wired connection is equivalent to the serial communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate wherein the control circuit is communicatively connected to the display screen through serial communication as taught by Violo. The motivation for doing so would be to have a known communication method for the user feedback system.
In regards to claim 11, Wu does not teach wherein the control circuit transmits fault information associated with the ground wire to the display screen, and thereby controls the display screen to display the fault information.
Violo teaches wherein the control circuit transmits fault information associated with the ground wire to the display screen, and thereby controls the display screen to display the fault information ([Col. 11, Ln. 32-35] e.g., ground fault output interface, current monitoring device, electrical service panel, ground fault status). The control circuit is equivalent to the current monitoring device. The display screen is equivalent to the ground fault output interface and claim 9 above discusses the LCD display and LED indicators. The fault information is equivalent to the ground fault status.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate wherein the control circuit transmits fault information associated with the ground wire to the display screen, and thereby controls the display screen to display the fault information as taught by Violo. The motivation for doing so would be to have a known communication method for the user feedback system to be aware of faults and clear faults.
In regards to claim 12, Wu does not teach wherein the control circuit is configured to connect to an external device via a wireless network, and to thereby receive a control command that is input by a user from the external device via the wireless network.
Violo teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to connect to an external device via a wireless network, and to thereby receive a control command that is input by a user from the external device via the wireless network ([Col. 9, Ln. 52-56] e.g., control monitoring device 252, auxiliary device 290, wireless data communication interface, wireless data 55). The control circuit is equivalent to the control monitoring device 252.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate wherein the control circuit is configured to connect to an external device via a wireless network, and to thereby receive a control command that is input by a user from the external device via the wireless network as taught by Violo. The motivation for doing so would be to have a known communication method for the user feedback system to be aware of faults and clear faults.
In regards to claim 13, Wu does not teach wherein the control circuit transmits fault information associated with the ground wire to the external device via the wireless network.
Violo teaches wherein the control circuit transmits fault information associated with the ground wire to the external device via the wireless network ([Col. 9, Ln. 56-59] e.g., auxiliary device 290, ground fault status, remote, current monitoring device 252). The control circuit is equivalent to the current monitoring device 252.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate wherein the control circuit transmits fault information associated with the ground wire to the external device via the wireless network as taught by Violo. The motivation for doing so would be to have a known communication method for the user feedback system to be aware of faults and clear faults.
In regards to claim 16, Wu does not teach wherein the pool apparatus further comprises an operation panel, and the control circuit is connected to the operation panel of the pool apparatus and is thereby configured to receive a control command that is input by a user by means of the operation panel.
Violo teaches wherein the pool apparatus further comprises an operation panel, and the control circuit is connected to the operation panel of the pool apparatus and is thereby configured to receive a control command that is input by a user by means of the operation panel ([Col. 11, 32-39] e.g., ground fault monitoring system 300, ground fault output interface, current monitoring device 352, electrical service panel 310, LCD display 356a, first input button 372, second input button 374). The operation panel is equivalent to the electrical service panel 310. The control circuit is equivalent to the current monitoring device 352. The control command can be the output of the first or second input button. The buttons also indicate the ability to accept user input.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate wherein the pool apparatus further comprises an operation panel, and the control circuit is connected to the operation panel of the pool apparatus and is thereby configured to receive a control command that is input by a user by means of the operation panel as taught by Violo. The motivation for doing so would be to have a known communication method for the user feedback system to be aware of faults and clear faults.
In regards to claim 17, Wu teaches wherein the pool apparatus (within confines of swimming pool, Violo) further comprises at least one response device (LED load, Lin), and the control circuit is further connected to the at least one response device (LED load, Lin) (implicit, the relay control unit 105 is connected to the load through the leakage current detection device and the relay; [Fig. 2]); and the electric leakage protection device further comprises a switch module (relay, Wu), coupled between a power source (ac power source, Wu) and the at least one response device (load, Wu) (LED load, Lin), and is configured to control (disconnected; [Pg. 4, Para. 8]) power connection of a power supply line (line L; [Fig. 2]) between the power source (AC input power; [Pg. 4, Para. 8]) and the at least one response device (implicit; [Pg. 4, Para. 8]), wherein the control circuit transmits a switch control signal (drive the relay; [Pg. 4, Para. 4]) to the switch module according to the electric leakage detection signal (magnitude of the leakage current; [Pg. 3, Det. Desc., Para. 8]) and is thereby configured to control the switch module to establish or break the power connection (disconnected; [Pg. 4, Para. 8]).
In regards to claim 19, Wu teaches the electric leakage protection device further comprising: a current transducer communicatively coupled to the ground wire, such that the current transducer senses the leakage current in the ground wire passing therethrough ([Pg. 4, Para. 20] & [Fig. 2] e.g., ground wire PE, neutral wire N, current transformer 120 &125); and at least one response device communicatively coupled to the control circuit ([Pg. 3, Para. 18] & [Fig. 1] e.g., leakage current, current transformer 120, signal output unit 104, relay control unit 105, leakage current signal, input port of a precision operational amplifier); wherein the control circuit disconnects power from the at least one response device when the leakage current in the ground wire sensed by the current transducer exceeds a predetermined threshold ([Pg. 4, Para. 8] e.g., leakage current, “load is disconnected”, “exceeds the threshold”, protection signal, relay, AC power supply). The current transducer is equivalent to the current transformer 120 & 125. The ground wire is equivalent to the neutral wire N. Wu says the neutral wire is equipotential to the ground wire PE ([Pg. 4, Para. 20]). Therefore, the neutral wire is another ground wire. The response device is equivalent to the signal output unit 104. The control circuit is equivalent to the relay control unit 105.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, CN Patent 103545786 (hereinafter referred to as Wu) in view of Violo et al., US Patent 10855068 (hereinafter referred to as Violo) and in further view of Lin, CN Patent 111987692 (hereinafter referred to as Lin) and in further view of Huang et al., US Patent 10578662 (hereinafter referred to as Huang).
In regards to claim 18, Wu, Violo, & Lin do not teach wherein the pool body comprises one of an inflatable massage pool body, a rigid massage pool body, and a frame pool body.
Huang teaches wherein the pool body comprises one of an inflatable massage pool body, a rigid massage pool body, and a frame pool body ([Col. 13, Ln. 16-22] & [Claim 31] e.g., air-filled pool, air-filled chamber, plurality of inner drawstring structures, recreational pool). An air-filled pool is another name for an inflatable pool. The plurality of inner drawstring structures and air-filled chambers can provide a massage function. A recreational pool has a rigid body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Violo, & Lin in order to incorporate wherein the pool body comprises one of an inflatable massage pool body, a rigid massage pool body, and a frame pool body as taught by Huang. Huang substitutes Violo’s suggestion of application to a pool with Huang’s teaching of a pool body comprised of at least a massage pool body, a rigid massage pool body, or a frame pool body. The motivation for doing so is because these extra features in a pool would possibly require a need of an electronic circuit with electronic leakage protection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838