DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7 Applicant argues amendments overcome the prior art rejection of record, arguing Murray teaches endodontic treatment, whereas amended claims require periodontal treatment.
The Examiner respectfully notes no mention of either type of treatment in the claims as examined, making this argument unpersuasive. Further, the Examiner does not consider these to be “different fields” as Applicant states.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 is objected to for referring to “the collagen materials” with improper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20100203481 A1) hereinafter known as Murray in view of Bleier (US 20180140379 A1), further in view of Alovisi et al. (US 20240390275 A1) hereinafter known as Alovisi.
Regarding claims 1-2 Murray discloses a method of promoting periapical tissue healing and regeneration in a subject ([0053], Abstract) comprising:
contacting an apical or periapical site ([0023], Figures 1a-d shows the access to the apical and periapical area of the tooth) of tissue in the subject with a biocompatible material comprising Platelet Derived Growth Factor (PDGF) ([0070]),
but is silent with regards to whether the PDGF is recombinant or (claim 2) human recombinant,
and for the treated/healed/regenerated tissue being mineralized.
However, regarding claims 1-2 Bleier teaches PDGF for use in dental treatments can be human recombinant ([0146]. Murray and Bleier are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely dental treatments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Murray by having the PDGF be human recombinant as is taught by Bleier since the courts have held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success results in a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 (I)(E). In this case, the use of PDGF from any origin would have been obvious to try.
Further, regarding claims 1-2 Alovisi teaches that teeth undergoing root canals and treated with growth factors can be treating apical periodontitis (which involves mineralized tissue) ([0004]-[0006] endotontic treatments to treat apical periodontitis). Murray and Alovisi are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely dental treatments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of the Murray Bleier Combination to treat mineralized tissue arising from apical periodontitis with the root canal as is taught by Alovisi since this is a known origin of infected tissues which require treatment by root canal, and treatment of any damaged or diseased tissue in need of healing and regeneration via this method would have been obvious.
Regarding claims 3-5 the Murray Bleier Alovisi Combination teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Murray further discloses the biocompatible material comprises Type I collagen, Type II collagen, Type III collagen, bovine collagen, human collage, porcine collagen, equine collagen, avian collagen, gelatin hydrogels, fibrin gels, heparin, reverse phase polymers, PLA, PGA, PLGA, heparin-conjugated PLGA carriers, calcium phosphates, or R-TCP ([0043], [0048]).
Regarding claim 6 the Murray Bleier Alovisi Combination teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Murray further discloses administering antibiotics, or antifungals ([0044]).
Regarding claim 7 the Murray Bleier Alovisi Combination teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Murray further discloses the site is a site of an injury (Figure 1a; root canal due to injury).
Regarding claim 8 the Murray Bleier Alovisi Combination teaches the method of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Murray further discloses the injury is the result of a periodontal infection or surgery (Figure 1a; root canal surgery due to infection).
Regarding claim 9 the Murray Bleier Alovisi Combination teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Murray further discloses the biocompatible material contacts a tooth (Figure 1d).
Regarding claim 10 the Murray Bleier Alovisi Combination teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Murray further discloses the treated tissue is apical, periodontal, periradicular, interradicular, and or periapical ([0023], Figures 1a-d shows the access to the apical and periapical area of the tooth), and
Alovisi further teaches the mineralized tissue is apical ([0004]).
Regarding claim 11 the Murray Bleier Alovisi Combination teaches the method of claim 10 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Alovisi further teaches the mineralized tissue is periodontal tissue ([0004]).
Regarding claim 12 the Murray Bleier Alovisi Combination teaches the method of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Alovisi further teaches the injury (of Murray, which requires the root canal surgery) is the result of a dental infection or surgery ([0004] apical periodontitis is an infection).
Regarding claim 13 the Murray Bleier Alovisi Combination teaches the method of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Alovisi further teaches the injury (of Murray, which requires the root canal surgery) is the result of an endodontal infection or surgery ([0004] apical periodontitis is an infection).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 02/02/26