DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on (9 – 10 – 2025) has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks, see (Pgs. 9 – 10), filed on (10 – 28 – 2025), with respect to the amended feature(s) of claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hans Hagen (US 3799729 A) in view of Parsch Gilbert Thomas (US 3000056 A) or Pietro Vianello (EP 1958744 A1, hereinafter Vianello) in view of Hagen in view of Thomas
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 2, 4 – 5, 10 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hans Hagen (US 3799729 A, hereinafter Hagen) in view of Parsch Gilbert Thomas (US 3000056 A, hereinafter Thomas)Regarding claim(s) 1 & 18,
A rotatable mold apparatus comprising:
& 18a.) a first mold disposed on a first base structure and configured to move together with the first base structure;
& 18b.) a second mold disposed on a second base structure and configured to move together with the second base structure in order to couple to or decoupled from the first mold;
& 18c.) a drive device installed between the first mold and the first base structure and connected to the first mold; and
& 18d.) support devices rotatably supporting the first mold and the second mold on the first base structure and the second base structure, respectively,
& 18e.) wherein the drive device is configured to rotate the first mold relative to the first base structure in order to rotate the first mold and the second mold coupled to the first mold when the first mold and the second mold are in a mold-closed state,
& 18f.) wherein the drive device is configured to rotate the first mold and the second mold about a central point, which is the central point of an entirety of the first mold and the second mold in the mold-closed state, and
& 18g.) wherein the first mold and the second mold are set to a mold setting angle at which the first and second mold are rotatable by the drive device, and, while the set mold setting angle is maintained, the first mold and the first base structure are movable together, and
& 18h.) the second mold and the second base structure are movable together, thereby opening and closing the first mold and the second mold.
Hagen teaches the following:
, 1b.), 18a.) & 18b.) (Col. 3, lines 15 – 25) teaches that two parallel prongs or arms 14 the outer end portions of which carry driven stub shafts 5 rotatable about a common axis 8 which is
preferably normal to and crosses the axis 7 of the shaft 104. The stub shafts 5 support and rotate holding or carrying frames 9 for suitable molds (not shown). The frames 9 are provided with suspending or attaching devices 11 for molds. As such, the first blocks of the two parallel prongs or arms 14 may acts as applicant’s first base and second base structures, respectively that are integrally moved. Highlighting, that each prongs or arms 14 is found to provide an integral movement of rotation about axis 7 via shaft 104. Highlighting, (Figs. 1 – 3) shows the rotational molding or casting machine comprising the two carrying frames 9 and two prongs or arms 14, each respective prong or arm 14 acting as applicants first and second first base with a respective first and second mold on each base. It should be noted that while Hagen does not explicitly illustrate a mold half on its respective mold holder. However, it is understood that Hagen discloses (textually) placing a mold half on each respective mold holders with subsequent molding and demoulding operations.
, 1e.), 18c.) & 18e.) (Col. 3, lines 15 – 20) teaches that two parallel prongs or arms 14 the outer end portions of which carry driven stub shafts 5 rotatable about a common axis 8 which is preferably normal to and crosses the axis 7 of the shaft 104. The stub shafts 5 support and rotate holding or carrying frames 9 for suitable molds (not shown). Where the stub shafts 5 are found between each mold and their respective prongs or arms 14 and connected to a respective mold. (Col. 3, lines 27 – 33) teaches that the space between the two frames 9 of (Fig. 1) can accommodate a single mold or two or more molds. Such molds share the angular movements of the support 4 about the axis 7 and the angular movements of stub shafts 5 about the axis 8. (Col. 1, lines 5 – 10) notes the present invention relates to rotational casting or molding machines of the type wherein one or more open or closed molds are rotated about several axes to form hollow bodies of synthetic plastic material. As such, the stub shafts 5 may act as applicant’s drive device that is understood to be configured to rotate about the axis 8 such that the first mold and the second mold are rotated together when the first mold and the second mold are coupled to each other.
& 18d.) (Col. 3, lines 61 – End & Col. 4, lines 1 – 2) teaches that the shafts 116 are rotatable in the arms 14 of the support 4 and transmit torque to the respective stub shafts 5 by way of additional bevel gears 114a. The shafts 115, 116 are mounted in bearings 117a which are preferably similar to the bearings 117 for the shaft 112. Such bearings may include antifriction roller bearings. The stub shafts 5 are preferably mounted in stronger antifriction bearings 118 such as twin roller or ball bearings. As such, the antifriction bearings 118 are found to provide for a support devices that allows for rotatably supporting the first mold and the second mold which rotate about the axis 8 on the first base structure and the second base structure, respectively.
& 18f.) (Col. 1, lines 5 – 8) teaches that the present invention relates to rotational casting or molding machines of the type wherein one or more open or closed molds are rotated about several axes to form hollow bodies of synthetic plastic material. (Col. 3, lines 18 – 22) teaches that the stub shafts 5 support and rotate holding or carrying frames 9 for suitable molds (not shown) which can be made of copper, aluminum or other material having a high thermal conductivity. (Col. 3, lines 65 – End) teaches that the stub shafts 5 are preferably mounted in stronger antifriction bearings 118 such as twin roller or ball bearings. The exposed free ends of the stub shafts 5 carry retaining plates 16 which serve to support the inner ends of elastic connecting elements 10. As such, the stub shafts 5 / drive device is configured to rotate the first mold and the second mold about a central point, which is the central point of an entirety of the first mold and the second mold in the mold-closed state.
& 18g.) (Col. 1, lines 5 – 8) teaches that the present invention relates to rotational casting or molding machines of the type wherein one or more open or closed molds are rotated about several axes to form hollow bodies of synthetic plastic material. As such, the molds are understood to be in a closed and rotated at a setting angle at which the first and second mold are rotatable, and, while the set mold setting angle is maintained, the first mold and the first base structure are movable together, i.e., the molds are closed during molding / rotational molding.
Regarding Claim(s) 1 & 18, Hagen is silent on details regarding the second mold and the second base structure are movable together, thereby opening and closing the first mold and the second mold. In analogous art for a rotation molding machine that provides for a first and second mold half to be and rotated during molding, Thomas suggests details regarding the second mold and the second base structure are movable together, thereby opening and closing the first mold and the second mold, and in this regard, Thomas teaches the following:
& 18h.) (Col. 1, lines 22 – 28) teaches after the material has been gelled and fused by the controlled application of heat, the rotation of the spider is stopped, and the spider is cooled to a degree where the molds can be opened and the finished article removed, whereupon the mold are readied for repeating the cycle. Where (Col. 5, lines 6 – 8) teaches that the drive connection between lower grid 15 and the machine spindle 113. As such, a drive device / machine spindle 113 is provided between the first mold and the first base structure / lower grid 15. With (Col. 5, lines 30 – 36) teaching that When the spider 10 is open, the hinge springs 88 are at maximum extension so that the hinge pin 80 is near the top of the elongate slots 84. The upper grid member 14 may thus be readily lowered in position over the lower grid 15. When the grids are closed, the threads 110 on the coupling member 108 will be ready for engagement with threads 125 of the coupling stud 122. As such, the mold halves 11a / 11 b and their respective base structure i.e., upper grid 14 and lower grid 15 are movable together, thereby providing for opening and closing the mold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to and rotating the molds about their axis of Hagen. By modifying the molding machine such that second mold and the second base structure are movable together, thereby opening and closing the first mold and the second mold, as taught by Thomas. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a second mold, and the second base structure are movable together as it provides for the molds halves to close such that the molding cycle can transpire and then can be opened and the finished article removed, whereupon the mold are readied for repeating the cycle, (Col. 1, lines 22 – 28). Highlighting, that the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143. Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first mold comprises a lower mold to be vertically moved up and down,
wherein the second mold comprises an upper mold to be vertically moved up and down, and
wherein a material to be molded is insertable between the lower mold and the upper mold when the first mold and the second mold are decoupled from each other.
Hagen teaches the following:
& b.) (Col. 3, lines 27 – 30) teaches that the space between the two frames 9 of (Fig. 1) can accommodate a single mold or two or more molds. (Col. 3, lines 12 – 13) teaches that the shaft 104 can be driven to rotate about an axis 7. Highlighting, as the molds are rotated about the axis 7, the molds are vertically moved up and down as the translate in a circular manner.
(Col. 1, lines 5 – 8) teaches that the present invention relates to rotational casting or molding machines of the type wherein one or more open or closed molds are rotated about several axes to form hollow bodies of synthetic plastic material. As such, the use of a single open mold for use in a rotational casting is understood to provide for a mold that has material to be molded that is insertable between one or more open molds used for the fabrication of article by rotational casting.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the support devices comprise:
a first support device disposed between the first base structure and the first mold to rotatably support the first mold on the first base structure; and
a second support device disposed between the second base structure and the second mold to rotatably support the second mold on the second base structure.
Hagen teaches the following:
& b.) (Col. 3, lines 61 – End & Col. 4, lines 1 – 2) teaches that the shafts 116 are rotatable in the arms 14 of the support 4 and transmit torque to the respective stub shafts 5 by way of additional bevel gears 114a. The shafts 115, 116 are mounted in bearings 117a which are preferably similar to the bearings 117 for the shaft 112. Such bearings may include antifriction roller bearings. The stub shafts 5 are preferably mounted in stronger antifriction bearings 118 such as twin roller or ball bearings. As such, the antifriction bearings 118 are found to provide for a support devices that allows for rotatably supporting the first mold and the second mold which rotate about the axis 8 on the first base structure and the second base structure, respectively.
Regarding claim(s) 5 & 10 as applied to claim 4 respectively,
Wherein the first support device comprises:
a first support block fixed to the first base structure;
a first guide block fixed to the first support block;
a first rotating block fixed to the first mold and coupled to the first support block and the first guide block; and
bearings interposed between the first rotating block and the first support block and between the first rotating block and the first guide block, the bearings to support the rotating first mold while sliding on the first support block and the first guide block.
Wherein the second support device comprises:
a second support block fixed to the second base structure;
a second guide block fixed to the second support block; and
a second rotating block fixed to the second mold and coupled to the second support block and the second guide block; and
bearings interposed between the second rotating block and the second support block and between the second rotating block and the second guide block, the bearings to support the rotating first mold while sliding on the second support block and the second guide block.
Hagen teaches the following:
& 10a.) (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61) teaches that the output shaft 102a of the driving unit 102 carries a gear 110 in mesh with a gear 111 on a shaft 112 which is rotatable in bearings 117 provided therefor in the interior of the shaft 104. A system of bevel gears 113 receives torque from the shaft 112 and transmits torque to two further shafts 115 which are
mounted in the web 40 of the support 4. The outer end portions of the shafts 115 transmit torque to shafts 116 by way of bevel gears 114. The shafts 116 are rotatable in the arms 14 of the support 4 and transmit torque to the respective stub shafts 5 by way of additional bevel gears 114a. As illustrated in (Fig. 2), the second block with shafts 116 is attached to the first block of the prongs or arms 14, with the bevel gears and shafts including the stub shafts 5 are shown to provide rotation of the respective mold halves. As such, the second block may act as applicant’s first and second support blocks fixed to their respective first and second base structure / rotatable in the prongs or arms 14, noting that the shafts 116 are found to be within and rotate within the prongs or arms 14.
& 10b.) (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61) teaches that the outer end portions of the shafts 115 transmit torque to shafts 116 by way of bevel gears 114 a. As such, the corner block may
act as applicant’s first and second guide blocks respectively, which they themselves are fixed to their second block, each of which is connected to the respective prongs or arms 14 / first and second base structures.
& 10c.) As illustrated, (Fig. 2) provides for a third block which acts as applicants first and second rotating block which are fixed to their respective first and second corner block acting as applicant’s first and second guide blocks which they themselves are coupled to the base structure comprised of the first block of arms / prongs 14.
& 10d.) As illustrated, (Fig. 2) provides for a first and second guide block fixed to their respective first and second support block which are themselves fixed to their respective first and second base structures. (Col. 3, lines 65 – End) teaches that the stub shafts 5 are preferably mounted in stronger antifriction bearings 118 such as twin roller or ball bearings. As such, bearings between the rotating sub shafts and support arms are understood to be provided as illustrated in (Fig. 2). (Col. 3, lines 62 – 65) teaches that shafts 115, 116 are mounted in bearings 117a which are preferably similar to the bearings 117 for the shaft 112. Such bearings may include antifriction roller bearings. As illustrated in (Fig. 2), bearings 117a are found between the rotating sub shafts and the next support segment / portion of the prongs or arms 14 with the bearings / roller bearings understood to slide / rotate on the second support block and the second guide block.
B.) Claim(s) 1 – 7 & 15 – 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pietro Vianello (EP 1958744 A1, hereinafter Vianello) in view of Hagen in view of ThomasRegarding claim(s) 1 & 18,
A rotatable mold apparatus comprising:
& 18a.) a first mold disposed on a first base structure and configured to move together with the first base structure;
& 18b.) a second mold disposed on a second base structure and configured to move together with the second base structure in order to couple to or decoupled from the first mold;
& 18c.) a drive device installed between the first mold and the first base structure and connected to the first mold; and
& 18d.) support devices rotatably supporting the first mold and the second mold on the first base structure and the second base structure, respectively,
& 18e.) wherein the drive device is configured to rotate the first mold relative to the first base structure in order to rotate the first mold and the second mold coupled to the first mold when the first mold and the second mold are in a mold-closed state,
& 18f.) wherein the drive device is configured to rotate the first mold and the second mold about a central point, which is the central point of an entirety of the first mold and the second mold in the mold-closed state, and
& 18g.) wherein the first mold and the second mold are set to a mold setting angle at which the first and second mold are rotatable by the drive device, and, while the set mold setting angle is maintained, the first mold and the first base structure are movable together, and
& 18h.) the second mold and the second base structure are movable together, thereby opening and closing the first mold and the second mold.
Vianello teaches the following:
, 1b.), 18a.) & 18b.) (Abstract) teaches that the invention relates to a pressure die casting machine, in particular for manufacturing ceramic products, for example sanitary articles, comprising two mould holders (22) suitable for receiving each a respective half mould. Highlighting, (Fig. 3 & 7) shows the pressure die casting machine comprising the two mould holders (22), each respective mold holder 22 acting as applicant’s first and second first base with a respective first and second mold on each base. It should be noted that while Vianello does not explicitly illustrate a mold half on its respective mold holder. However, it is understood that Vianello discloses (textually) placing a mold half on each respective mold holders with subsequent molding and demoulding operations. ([0042]) teaches that the two half moulds close to form the mould along a substantially vertical contact plane. As explained before, this facilitates the filling and emptying of the mould for this type of articles. As such, each respective mold holder 22 with a respective first and second mold half is understood to couple and decoupled from each other.
& 18d.) ([0038]) teaches that each mould holder 22 is further supported by the respective slide 20 through an axial pin 262. With ([0036]) noting that each mould holder 22 is fixed to the respective slide 20 in adjustable manner. In other words, there are provided means 26 for locking the mould holders 22 to the respective slides 20 suitable for allowing a locking of the mould holder 22 in an angular position about axis Y particularly useful for facilitating the mould emptying. As such, the axial pins 262 may acts as applicants support device. In addition, ([0040]) teaches that that mould holders 22 may be of the type suitable for receiving equipment 34 for a quick mould change. Where the receiving equipment 34 may acts as applicants support device due to the rotation provided by two holes 261 diametrically opposite and selectable on the basis of the angular position or inclination to be imparted to mould holders 22.
Regarding Claim(s) 1 & 18, Vianello is silent on details regarding the drive device and the support devices rotatably supporting the respective molds. In analogous art for a rotation molding machine that provides for a first and second mold half to be rotated during molding, (Abstract), Hagen suggests details regarding the rotating block and implementing bearings and their placement, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
, 1e.), 18c.) & 18e.) (Col. 3, lines 15 – 20) teaches that two parallel prongs or arms 14 the outer end portions of which carry driven stub shafts 5 rotatable about a common axis 8 which is preferably normal to and crosses the axis 7 of the shaft 104. The stub shafts 5 support and rotate holding or carrying frames 9 for suitable molds (not shown). Where the stub shafts 5 are found between each mold and their respective prongs or arms 14 and connected to a respective mold. (Col. 3, lines 27 – 33) teaches that the space between the two frames 9 of (Fig. 1) can accommodate a single mold or two or more molds. Such molds share the angular movements of the support 4 about the axis 7 and the angular movements of stub shafts 5 about the axis 8. (Col. 1, lines 5 – 10) notes the present invention relates to rotational casting or molding machines of the type wherein one or more open or closed molds are rotated about several axes to form hollow bodies of synthetic plastic material. As such, the stub shafts 5 may act as applicant’s drive device that is understood to be configured to rotate about the axis 8 such that the first mold and the second mold are rotated together when the first mold and the second mold are coupled to each other.
& 18d.) (Col. 3, lines 61 – End & Col. 4, lines 1 – 2) teaches that the shafts 116 are rotatable in the arms 14 of the support 4 and transmit torque to the respective stub shafts 5 by way of additional bevel gears 114a. The shafts 115, 116 are mounted in bearings 117a which are preferably similar to the bearings 117 for the shaft 112. Such bearings may include antifriction roller bearings. The stub shafts 5 are preferably mounted in stronger antifriction bearings 118 such as twin roller or ball bearings. As such, the antifriction bearings 118 are found to provide for a support devices that allows for rotatably supporting the first mold and the second mold which rotate about the axis 8 on the first base structure and the second base structure, respectively.
& 18f.) (Col. 1, lines 5 – 8) teaches that the present invention relates to rotational casting or molding machines of the type wherein one or more open or closed molds are rotated about several axes to form hollow bodies of synthetic plastic material. (Col. 3, lines 18 – 22) teaches that the stub shafts 5 support and rotate holding or carrying frames 9 for suitable molds (not shown) which can be made of copper, aluminum or other material having a high thermal conductivity. (Col. 3, lines 65 – End) teaches that the stub shafts 5 are preferably mounted in stronger antifriction bearings 118 such as twin roller or ball bearings. The exposed free ends of the stub shafts 5 carry retaining plates 16 which serve to support the inner ends of elastic connecting elements 10. As such, the stub shafts 5 / drive device is configured to rotate the first mold and the second mold about a central point, which is the central point of an entirety of the first mold and the second mold in the mold-closed state.
& 18g.) (Col. 1, lines 5 – 8) teaches that the present invention relates to rotational casting or molding machines of the type wherein one or more open or closed molds are rotated about several axes to form hollow bodies of synthetic plastic material. As such, the molds are understood to be in a closed and rotated at a setting angle at which the first and second mold are rotatable, and, while the set mold setting angle is maintained, the first mold and the first base structure are movable together, i.e., the molds are closed during molding / rotational molding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By modifying the molding machine to include a rotatable support shaft / axial pin that is and provide bearings, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a support shaft / axial pin as it provides a means for connecting to a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to move the mold plates, (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61), and one would be motivated to implement bearings as described as they provide support and rotational movement to the various shafts used to move the mold halves (Col. 3, lines 62 – End).Regarding Claim(s) 1 & 18, Vianello as modified by Hagen is silent on details regarding the second mold and the second base structure are movable together, thereby opening and closing the first mold and the second mold. In analogous art for a rotation molding machine that provides for a first and second mold half to be and rotated during molding, Thomas suggests details regarding the second mold and the second base structure are movable together, thereby opening and closing the first mold and the second mold, and in this regard, Thomas teaches the following:
& 18h.) (Col. 1, lines 22 – 28) teaches after the material has been gelled and fused by the controlled application of heat, the rotation of the spider is stopped, and the spider is cooled to a degree where the molds can be opened and the finished article removed, whereupon the mold are readied for repeating the cycle. Where (Col. 5, lines 6 – 8) teaches that the drive connection between lower grid 15 and the machine spindle 113. As such, a drive device / machine spindle 113 is provided between the first mold and the first base structure / lower grid 15. With (Col. 5, lines 30 – 36) teaching that When the spider 10 is open, the hinge springs 88 are at maximum extension so that the hinge pin 80 is near the top of the elongate slots 84. The upper grid member 14 may thus be readily lowered in position over the lower grid 15. When the grids are closed, the threads 110 on the coupling member 108 will be ready for engagement with threads 125 of the coupling stud 122. As such, the mold halves 11a / 11 b and their respective base structure i.e., upper grid 14 and lower grid 15 are movable together, thereby providing for opening and closing the mold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello as modified by Hagen. By further modifying the molding machine such that second mold and the second base structure are movable together, thereby opening and closing the first mold and the second mold, as taught by Thomas. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a second mold, and the second base structure are movable together as it provides for the molds to close such that the molding cycle can transpire and then can be opened and the finished article removed, whereupon the mold are readied for repeating the cycle, (Col. 1, lines 22 – 28). Highlighting, that the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first mold comprises a lower mold to be vertically moved up and down,
wherein the second mold comprises an upper mold to be vertically moved up and down, and
wherein a material to be molded is insertable between the lower mold and the upper mold when the first mold and the second mold are decoupled from each other.
Vianello teaches the following:
& b.) (Abstract) teaches the mould holders are connected to respective support means (20) reciprocally moving between a relative separation position, suitable for the demoulding and drawing of the cast piece, and a relative approach position, wherein the two half moulds are closed along a contact plane for casting and emptying the mould. ([0030]) notes that both slides 20 are mobile for reciprocally approaching and separating along axis Y. As such, both a lower and upper mold half are provided, each mold have capable of moving up and down towards each other to open and close the mold cavity.
Regarding Claim 2, Vianello is silent on details regarding the molding material to be molded being insertable between the lower first mold and the second upper mold when the first mold and the second mold are decoupled. In analogous art as applied above, Hagen suggests details regarding the molding material to be molded being insertable between the lower first mold and the second upper mold when the first mold and the second mold are decoupled, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
(Col. 1, lines 5 – 8) teaches that the present invention relates to rotational casting or molding machines of the type wherein one or more open or closed molds are rotated about several axes to form hollow bodies of synthetic plastic material. As such, the use of a single open mold for use in a rotational casting is understood to provide for a mold that has material to be molded that is insertable between one or more open molds used for the fabrication of article by rotational casting.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By modifying the molds to allow for the molding material to be molded being insertable between the lower first mold and the second upper mold when the first mold and the second mold are decoupled, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to as it provides a means for the hollow mold to receive a charge of plastic material (e.g., thermoplastic material) which is distributed along its internal surface while the mold rotates about several axes to form a rotational casted article, (Col. 1, lines 9 – 13). Highlighting, that the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143. Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2,
Wherein the first base structure comprises a first base plate horizontally disposed below the first mold, and
wherein the second base structure comprises a second base plate horizontally disposed above the second mold.
Vianello teaches the following:
& b.) ([0040]) teaches that that mould holders 22 may be of the type suitable for receiving equipment 34 for a quick mould change. Where the receiving equipment 34 may acts as applicants respective first and second base plates.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the support devices comprise:
a first support device disposed between the first base structure and the first mold to rotatably support the first mold on the first base structure; and
a second support device disposed between the second base structure and the second mold to rotatably support the second mold on the second base structure.
Vianello teaches the following:
& b.) ([0038]) teaches that each mould holder 22 is further supported by the respective slide 20 through an axial pin 262. With ([0036]) noting that each mould holder 22 is fixed to the respective slide 20 in adjustable manner. In other words, there are provided means 26 for locking the mould holders 22 to the respective slides 20 suitable for allowing a locking of the mould holder 22 in an angular position about axis Y particularly useful for facilitating the mould emptying. As such, the axial pins 262 may acts as applicants first and second support device.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 4,
Wherein the first support device comprises:
a first support block fixed to the first base structure;
a first guide block fixed to the first support block;
a first rotating block fixed to the first mold and coupled to the first support block and the first guide block; and
bearings interposed between the first rotating block and the first support block and between the first rotating block and the first guide block, the bearings to support the rotating first mold while sliding on the first support block and the first guide block.
Vianello teaches the following:
([0037]) teaches that each mould holder 22 can therefore be fixed to the slide by fixing screws that screw in at least two holes 261 diametrically opposite and selectable on the
basis of the angular position or inclination to be imparted to mould holders 22. As illustrated in (Figs. 13 – 14), with (Fig. 14) recreated here. The first arrow highlights a support block fixed to the first base structure
As illustrated in (Figs. 13 – 14), with (Fig. 14) recreated here. The second arrow highlights a guide block fixed to the support block. Highlighting, the guide block is understood to be a portion of the slide 20 / support means 26.
([0038]) teaches that each mould holder 22 is further supported by the respective slide 20 through an axial pin 262. Highlighting, that the support and guide blocks are coupled to the axial pin 262.
Regarding Claim 5 as applied to claim 4, Vianello is silent on details regarding the structure of a first support device. In analogous art as applied above, Hagen suggests details regarding the structure of the first support device, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
As illustrated, (Fig. 2) provides for a third block which acts as applicants first and second rotating block which are fixed to their respective first and second corner block acting as applicant’s first and second guide blocks which they themselves are coupled to the base structure comprised of the first block of arms / prongs 14.
As illustrated, (Fig. 2) provides for a first and second guide block fixed to their respective first and second support block which are themselves fixed to their respective first and second base structures. (Col. 3, lines 65 – End) teaches that the stub shafts 5 are preferably mounted in stronger antifriction bearings 118 such as twin roller or ball bearings. As such, bearings between the rotating sub shafts and support arms are understood to be provided as illustrated in (Fig. 2). (Col. 3, lines 62 – 65) teaches that shafts 115, 116 are mounted in bearings 117a which are preferably similar to the bearings 117 for the shaft 112. Such bearings may include antifriction roller bearings. As illustrated in (Fig. 2) bearings 117a are found between the rotating sub shafts and the next support segment / portion of the prongs or arms 14.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By modifying the molding machine to include a rotatable support shaft / axial pin that is and provide bearings, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a support shaft / axial pin as it provides a means for connecting to a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to move the mold plates, (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61), and one would be motivated to implement bearings as described as they provide support and rotational movement to the various shafts used to move the mold halves (Col. 3, lines 62 – End).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5,
Wherein a support surface of the first support block comprises a curved surface having a shape of a concave arc,
wherein a plurality of first bearings is arranged on the arc along the support surface so that at least a portion of each of the first bearings protrudes from the support surface, and
wherein the first rotating block comprises a curved slide surface having a shape of a convex arc such that the first rotating block slides in a state in which the curved slide surface thereof is seated on the plurality of first bearings.
Vianello teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 7) and recreated here, the support surface is found to have a curved surface having a concave arc indicated by the first arrow.
As illustrated in (Fig. 14) the axial pin block comprises a curved slide surface. Accordingly, while it is understood that Vianello teaches a support surface of the support block comprises a curved surface. However, if it is determined that Vianello does not teach the aforementioned features. The case law for change of shape may be recited. Where, it has been held that a mere change in shape without affecting the functioning of the part would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47; Eskimo Pie Corp. v, Levous et aI., 3 USPQ 23.
Regarding Claim 6 as applied to claim 5, Vianello is silent on implementing bearings and their placement. In analogous art as applied above, Hagen suggests details regarding implementing bearings and their placement, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 2), the bearings 117, 117a & 118 are depicted as a plurality of bearings that are arranged along the support surface so that at least a portion of each of the first bearings protrudes from the support surface.
As illustrated in (Fig. 2), the stub shaft 5 is found to have a curved slide surface having a shape of a convex arc such that the stub shaft 5 slides in a state in which the curved slide surface thereof is seated on the plurality of first bearings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By modifying the molding machine to include a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin as it provides for rotation of the respective mold halves, (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 6,
Wherein the first rotating block comprises an arc-shaped guide groove, and
wherein the first guide block comprises a second bearing to be inserted into and coupled to the guide groove so as to support the first rotating block.
Vianello teaches the following:
([0038]) teaches that a locking member 266 also constitutes a safety device that constrains mould holder 22 to the respective slide 20. As illustrated in (Fig. 14) the locking member is found within an arc-shaped guide groove of the axial pin.
Regarding Claim 7 as applied to claim 6, Vianello is silent on implementing bearings and their placement. In analogous art as applied above, Hagen suggests details regarding implementing bearings and their placement, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 2), the bearings 118 are depict as a plurality of bearings arranged along the support surface so that at least a portion of each of the first bearings protrudes from the support surface, while a second set of bearings is found interior along a curved slide surface and supporting the stub shaft 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By modifying the molding machine to include a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin as it provides for rotation of the respective mold halves, (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61). Accordingly, the case law for the rearrangement of parts may be recited. Where, it has generally been recognized by the courts that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400, MPEP 2144.Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 4, Wherein the second support device comprises:
a second support block fixed to the second base structure;
a second guide block fixed to the second support block; and
a second rotating block fixed to the second mold and coupled to the second support block and the second guide block; and
bearings interposed between the second rotating block and the second support block and between the second rotating block and the second guide block, the bearings to support the rotating first mold while sliding on the second support block and the second guide block.
Vianello teaches the following:
([0037]) teaches that each mould holder 22 can therefore be fixed to the slide by fixing screws that screw in at least two holes 261 diametrically opposite and selectable on the basis of the angular position or inclination to be imparted to mould holders 22. As illustrated in (Figs. 13 – 14), with (Fig. 14) recreated here. The first arrow highlights a support block fixed to the first base structure
As illustrated in (Figs. 13 – 14), with (Fig. 14) recreated here. The second arrow highlights a guide block fixed to the support block. Highlighting, the guide block is understood to be a portion of the slide 20 / support means 26.
([0038]) teaches that each mould holder 22 is further supported by the respective slide 20 through an axial pin 262.
Regarding Claim 10 as applied to claim 4, Vianello is silent on the structure of the second support. In analogous art as applied above, Hagen suggests details regarding the structure of the second support, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
As illustrated, (Fig. 2) provides for a third block which acts as applicants first and second rotating block which are fixed to their respective first and second corner block acting as applicant’s first and second guide blocks which they themselves are coupled to the base structure comprised of the first block of arms / prongs 14.
As illustrated, (Fig. 2) provides for a first and second guide block fixed to their respective first and second support block which are themselves fixed to their respective first and second base structures. (Col. 3, lines 65 – End) teaches that the stub shafts 5 are preferably mounted in stronger antifriction bearings 118 such as twin roller or ball bearings. As such, bearings between the rotating sub shafts and support arms are understood to be provided as illustrated in (Fig. 2). (Col. 3, lines 62 – 65) teaches that shafts 115, 116 are mounted in bearings 117a which are preferably similar to the bearings 117 for the shaft 112. Such bearings may include antifriction roller bearings. As illustrated in (Fig. 2) bearings 117a are found between the rotating sub shafts and the next support segment / portion of the prongs or arms 14.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By modifying the molding machine to include a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin as it provides for rotation of the respective mold halves, (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 10,
Wherein a support surface of the second support block comprises a curved surface having a shape of a concave arc,
wherein a plurality of first bearings is arranged on the arc along the support surface so that at least a portion of each of the first bearings protrudes from the support surface, and
wherein the second rotating block comprises a curved slide surface having a shape of a convex arc such that the second rotating block slides in a state in which the curved slide surface thereof is seated on the plurality of first bearings.
Vianello teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 7) and recreated here, the support surface is found to have a curved surface having a concave arc indicated by the first arrow.
As illustrated in (Fig. 14), the axial pin block comprises a curved slide surface.
Regarding Claim 11 as applied to claim 10, Vianello is silent on implementing bearings and their placement. In analogous art as applied above, Hagen suggests details regarding implementing bearings and their placement, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 2), the bearings 117, 117a & 118 are depicted as a plurality of bearings that are arranged along the support surface so that at least a portion of each of the first bearings protrudes from the support surface.
As illustrated in (Fig. 2) the stub shaft 5 is found to have a curved slide surface having a shape of a convex arc such that the stub shaft 5 slides in a state in which the curved slide surface thereof is seated on the plurality of first bearings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By further augmenting the molding machine to include a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin as it provides for rotation of the respective mold halves, (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 11,
Wherein the second rotating block comprises an arc-shaped guide groove, and
wherein the second guide block comprises a second bearing to be inserted into and coupled to the guide groove so as to support the second rotating block.
Vianello teaches the following:
([0038]) teaches that a locking member 266 also constitutes a safety device that constrains mould holder 22 to the respective slide 20. As illustrated in (Fig. 14) the locking member is found within an arc-shaped guide groove of the axial pin.
Regarding Claim 12 as applied to claim 11, Vianello is silent on implementing bearings and their placement. In analogous art as applied above, Hagen suggests details regarding implementing bearings and their placement, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 2) the bearings 118 are depict as a plurality of bearings arranged along the support surface so that at least a portion of each of the first bearings protrudes from the support surface, while a second set of bearings is found interior along a curved slide surface and supporting the stub shaft 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By modifying the molding machine to include a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin as it provides for rotation of the respective mold halves, (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61). Accordingly, the case law for the rearrangement of parts may be recited. Where, it has generally been recognized by the courts that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400, MPEP 2144.Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the drive device comprises:
a screw shaft horizontally disposed to be supported on the first base structure by a bracket, the screw shaft configured to receive a rotating force;
a nut engaged with the screw shaft;
a moving block fixed to the nut to move together with the nut;
a guide rail disposed on the first base structure and parallel to the screw shaft,
wherein the moving block is coupled to the guide rail such that a movement of the moving block is guided by the guide rail; and
a pivot shaft disposed on the first mold,
wherein the pivot shaft coupled to the moving block allows the first mold to rotate in response to the movement of the moving block.
Vianello teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 12) of Vianello and recreated here. A second arrow is shown to indicate a screw shaft on the first base structure bracket, the bracket indicated by the first arrow.
As illustrated in (Fig. 12) of Vianello and recreated here. A third arrow is shown to indicate a nut engaged with the screw shaft.
([0035]) teaches that the movement system 24 comprises a worm screw 241 actuable in rotation by a motor 242. As illustrated in (Fig. 12) of Vianello and recreated here, the motor is found to be a moving block fixed to the nut and moves together with the nut.
& e.) ([0035]) teaches that actuating the worm screw (via the motor) in one direction causes the shifting of slides 20 in directions opposite to each other. Slides 20 slide on roller recirculation runner system 243. As such, the recirculation runner system 243 acts as applicant’s guide rails, which are found parallel to the screw shaft. Additionally, the movement provided by the motor to the worm screw for moving the slides 20 is understood to be guided by the recirculation runner system 243.
Regarding Claim 15 as applied to claim 1, Vianello is silent on implementing a pivot shaft and the pivot shaft coupled to the moving block. In analogous art for a rotation molding machine that provides for a first and second mold half to be rotated open, closed and rotated, Hagen suggests details regarding implementing a pivot shaft and the pivot shaft coupled to the moving block, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
& g.) (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61) teaches that the output shaft 102a of the driving unit 102 carries a gear 110 in mesh with a gear 111 on a shaft 112 which is rotatable in bearings 117 provided therefor in the interior of the shaft 104. A system of bevel gears 113 receives torque from the shaft 112 and transmits torque to two further shafts 115 which are mounted in the web 40 f the support 4. The outer end portions of the shafts 115 transmit torque to shafts 116 by way of bevel gears 114. The shafts 116 are rotatable in the arms 14 of the support 4 and transmit torque to the respective stub shafts 5 by way of additional bevel gears 114a. As illustrated in (Fig. 2) the driving units are coupled to various shafts 112 / 115 and bevel gears 113 / 114 providing for rotation of the respective mold halves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By further augmenting the molding machine to include a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin as it provides for rotation of the respective mold halves, (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61).Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15,
Further comprising:
a handle on the screw shaft to apply a rotating force thereto; or
a motor shaft connected to the screw shaft to apply a rotating force thereto.
Vianello teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 12) of Vianello and recreated here. A second arrow is shown to indicate a screw shaft, at the distal right end of the shaft (opposite the motor) is a fourth arrow indicate a handle on the screw shaft.
It should be noted that only one limitation amongst (a) or (b) is required. Accordingly, ([0035]) teaches that a worm screw 241 actuable in rotation by a motor 242. As such, a connection / shaft between the motor and screw is understood to exist allowing to apply a rotating force.
Regarding Claim 16 as applied to claim 15, Vianello is silent on details regarding implementing a pivot shaft and the pivot shaft coupled to the moving block. In analogous art for a rotation molding machine that provides for a first and second mold half to be rotated open, closed and rotated, Hagen suggests details regarding implementing a pivot shaft and the pivot shaft coupled to the moving block, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
(Col. 3, lines 51 – 61) teaches that the output shaft 102a of the driving unit 102 carries a gear 110 in mesh with a gear 111 on a shaft 112 which is rotatable in bearings 117 provided therefor in the interior of the shaft 104. A system of bevel gears 113 receives torque from the shaft 112 and transmits torque to two further shafts 115 which are mounted in the web 40 f the support 4. The outer end portions of the shafts 115 transmit torque to shafts 116 by way of bevel gears 114. The shafts 116 are rotatable in the arms 14 of the support 4 and transmit torque to the respective stub shafts 5 by way of additional bevel gears 114a. As illustrated in (Fig. 2) the output shaft 102a of the driving unit 102 carries a gear 110 in mesh with a gear 111 on a shaft 112 provides for a motor shaft connected to the screw shaft a providing for rotation of the respective mold halves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By modifying the molding machine to include a series of shafts and bevel gears in particular the output shaft 102a of the driving unit 102 carries a gear 110 in mesh with a gear 111 on a shaft 112, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin as it provides for rotation of the respective mold halves, (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15,
Wherein the moving block has a vertically extending recess, and
wherein the pivot shaft is rotatably inserted into the recess of the moving block and is movable along the vertically extending recess of the moving block.
Regarding Claim 17 as applied to claim 15, Vianello is silent on details regarding the moving block and the pivot shaft, and the pivot shaft coupled to the moving block. In analogous art as applied above, Hagen suggests details regarding implementing a pivot shaft and the pivot shaft coupled to the moving block, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
& b.) (Col. 3, lines 51-55) teaches that the output shaft 102a of the driving unit 102 carries a gear 110 in mesh with a gear 111 on a shaft 112 which is rotatable in bearings 117 provided therefor in the interior of the shaft 104. Highlighting, as shown, the output shaft 102a namely a shaft 112 is provided within a vertically extending recess, allowing for the output shaft 102a namely a shaft 112 to be movable along the vertically extending recess.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 16, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 18,
Wherein the support devices comprise
a first support device and a second support device,
wherein the first support device is disposed between the first base structure and the first mold to rotatably support the first mold on the first base structure, and
wherein the first support device comprises
a first support block fixed to the first base structure,
a first guide block fixed to the first support block,
a first rotating block fixed to the first mold and coupled to the first support block and the first guide block and
bearings interposed between the first rotating block and the first support block and between the first rotating block and the first guide block, the bearings to support the rotating first mold while sliding on the first support block and the first guide block.
Vianello teaches the following:
& b.) ([0038]) teaches that each mould holder 22 is further supported by the respective slide 20 through an axial pin 262. With ([0036]) noting that each mould holder 22 is fixed to the respective slide 20 in adjustable manner. In other words, there are provided means 26 for locking the mould holders 22 to the respective slides 20 suitable for allowing a locking of the mould holder 22 in an angular position about axis Y particularly useful for facilitating the mould emptying. As such, the axial pins 262 may acts as applicants first and second support device.
([0037]) teaches that each mould holder 22 can therefore be fixed to the slide by fixing screws that screw in at least two holes 261 diametrically opposite and selectable on the
basis of the angular position or inclination to be imparted to mould holders 22. As illustrated in (Figs. 13 – 14), with (Fig. 14) recreated here. The first arrow highlights a support block fixed to the first base structure
As illustrated in (Figs. 13 – 14), with (Fig. 14) recreated here. The second arrow highlights a guide block fixed to the support block. Highlighting, the guide block is understood to be a portion of the slide 20 / support means 26.
([0038]) teaches that each mould holder 22 is further supported by the respective slide 20 through an axial pin 262. Highlighting, that the support and guide blocks are coupled to the axial pin 262.
Regarding Claim 19 as applied to claim 18, Vianello is silent on details regarding the structure of a first support device. In analogous art as applied above, Hagen suggests details regarding the structure of the first support device, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
As illustrated, (Fig. 2) provides for a third block which acts as applicants first and second rotating block which are fixed to their respective first and second corner block acting as applicant’s first and second guide blocks which they themselves are coupled to the base structure comprised of the first block of arms / prongs 14.
As illustrated, (Fig. 2) provides for a first and second guide block fixed to their respective first and second support block which are themselves fixed to their respective first and second base structures. (Col. 3, lines 65 – End) teaches that the stub shafts 5 are preferably mounted in stronger antifriction bearings 118 such as twin roller or ball bearings. As such, bearings between the rotating sub shafts and support arms are understood to be provided as illustrated in (Fig. 2). (Col. 3, lines 62 – 65) teaches that shafts 115, 116 are mounted in bearings 117a which are preferably similar to the bearings 117 for the shaft 112. Such bearings may include antifriction roller bearings. As illustrated in (Fig. 2) bearings 117a are found between the rotating sub shafts and the next support segment / portion of the prongs or arms 14.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By modifying the molding machine to include a rotatable support shaft / axial pin that is and provide bearings, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a support shaft / axial pin as it provides a means for connecting to a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to move the mold plates, (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61), and one would be motivated to implement bearings as described as they provide support and rotational movement to the various shafts used to move the mold halves (Col. 3, lines 62 – End).
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 18,
Wherein the drive device comprises:
a screw shaft horizontally disposed to be supported on the first base structure by a bracket, the screw shaft configured to receive a rotating force;
a nut engaged with the screw shaft;
a moving block fixed to the nut to move together with the nut;
a guide rail disposed on the first base structure and parallel to the screw shaft,
wherein the moving block is coupled to the guide rail such that a movement of the moving block is guided by the guide rail; and
a pivot shaft disposed on the first mold,
wherein the pivot shaft coupled to the moving block allows the first mold to rotate in response to the movement of the moving block.
Vianello teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 12) of Vianello and recreated here. A second arrow is shown to indicate a screw shaft on the first base structure bracket, the bracket indicated by the first arrow.
As illustrated in (Fig. 12) of Vianello and recreated here. A third arrow is shown to indicate a nut engaged with the screw shaft.
([0035]) teaches that the movement system 24 comprises a worm screw 241 actuable in rotation by a motor 242. As illustrated in (Fig. 12) of Vianello and recreated here, the motor is found to be a moving block fixed to the nut and moves together with the nut.
& e.) ([0035]) teaches that actuating the worm screw (via the motor) in one direction causes the shifting of slides 20 in directions opposite to each other. Slides 20 slide on roller recirculation runner system 243. As such, the recirculation runner system 243 acts as applicant’s guide rails, which are found parallel to the screw shaft. Additionally, the movement provided by the motor to the worm screw for moving the slides 20 is understood to be guided by the recirculation runner system 243.
Regarding Claim 20 as applied to claim 18, Vianello is silent on implementing a pivot shaft and the pivot shaft coupled to the moving block. In analogous art for a rotation molding machine that provides for a first and second mold half to be rotated open, closed and rotated, Hagen suggests details regarding implementing a pivot shaft and the pivot shaft coupled to the moving block, and in this regard, Hagen teaches the following:
& g.) (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61) teaches that the output shaft 102a of the driving unit 102 carries a gear 110 in mesh with a gear 111 on a shaft 112 which is rotatable in bearings 117 provided therefor in the interior of the shaft 104. A system of bevel gears 113 receives torque from the shaft 112 and transmits torque to two further shafts 115 which are mounted in the web 40 f the support 4. The outer end portions of the shafts 115 transmit torque to shafts 116 by way of bevel gears 114. The shafts 116 are rotatable in the arms 14 of the support 4 and transmit torque to the respective stub shafts 5 by way of additional bevel gears 114a. As illustrated in (Fig. 2), the driving units are coupled to various shafts 112 / 115 and bevel gears 113 / 114 providing for rotation of the respective mold halves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello. By further augmenting the molding machine to include a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin, as taught by Hagen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a series of shafts and bevel gears connecting the motor to the rotatable support shaft / axial pin as it provides for rotation of the respective mold halves, (Col. 3, lines 51 – 61).
C.) Claim(s) 8 – 9 & 13 – 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vianello in view of Hagen in view of Thomas and in further view of Peng et al. (CN 108906978 A, hereinafter Peng).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 5,
Further comprising an indicator on the first guide block and
a scale on the first mold such that a pointer of the indicator indicates a graduation of the scale corresponding to an angle to which the first mold is currently rotated.
Regarding Claim 8 as applied to claim 5, Vianello as modified by Hagen and Thomas is silent on implementing an indicator to determine the angle of a mold. In analogous art for a molding machine that provides for a first and second mold half that may open and close and the molding surface may be found at an angle, Peng suggests details regarding implementing an indicator to determine the angle of the mold, and in this regard, Peng teaches the following:
([0011]) teaches the level measuring mechanism includes a guide rail, a first slider, a connecting rod, a supporting cross bar and a level. Where the level measuring mechanism acts as applicant’s indicator.
([0034]) teaches as workbench 7 is tilted at this time. The inclination of the workbench 7 can be adjusted until the processing end surface of the workpiece to be processed is in a horizontal position and contacts the level 95. As such, the level 95 is understood to be a scale with a pointer corresponding to an angle to which the molding surface is currently angled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello as modified by Hagen and Thomas. By further augmenting the mold to include a level measuring mechanism that comprises a level, as taught by Peng. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a level measuring mechanism that comprises a level as it provides a means for measuring the level / inclination of the molding surface, ([0034]). Accordingly, while it is understood that Peng provides an indicator and scale found on a molding surface. However, if it is determined that Peng does not teach the aforementioned placement of the indicator and scale. The case law for the rearrangement of parts may be recited. Where, it has generally been recognized by the courts that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400, MPEP 2144.Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8,
Wherein the indicator has a hole through which a bolt extends and
the first mold has a fastening hole to which the bolt is fastened such that, in a state in which the rotation of the first mold and the second mold is completed,
the first mold is fixed to the indicator by the bolt and fastened to the fastening hole of the first mold.
Regarding Claim 9 as applied to claim 8, Vianello as modified by Hagen and Thomas is silent on implementing an indicator. In analogous art for a rotation molding machine that provides for a first and second mold half to be rotated open, closed and rotated, Peng suggests details regarding implementing an indicator, and in this regard, Peng teaches the following:
([0011]) teaches the level measuring mechanism includes a guide rail, a first slider, a connecting rod, a supporting cross bar and a level. The supporting cross bar is connected to the level by bolts 5. As such, the measuring mechanism includes holes with bolts 5.
& c.) ([0011]) teaches the guide rail 91 is installed on the side of the body away from the (air) path of the molding system. Highlighting, it is understood that the guide rail 91 of the level measuring mechanism is installed in such a way that it avoids contact with the molding bodies in their travel path. ([0011]) continues that one end of the connecting rod 93 away is installed on the supporting cross bar and the other end is installed on guide rail 91 via slider 92. Where the guide rail 91 acts as a fastening hole. Highlighting, through the connecting rod 93 and slider 92 the bolts are found to be connected to guide rail 91. ([0035]) noting that the supporting cross bar 94 is connected to the level 95 by bolts 5. As such, while several parts / names are utilized to described the connection between the level 95 by bolts 5 to the molding body. The case law for making integral may be recited. Where, the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be obvious. It has been held to be within the general skill of one working in the art to make plural parts unitary or integral, In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 133 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Lockhart, 90 USPQ 214, MPEP 2144.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis and case laws that was used previously for claim 8, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 10,
Further comprising
an indicator on the second guide block and
a scale on the second mold such that a pointer of the indicator indicates a graduation of the scale corresponding to an angle to which the second mold is currently rotated.
Regarding Claim 13 as applied to claim 10, Vianello as modified by Hagen and Thomas is silent on implementing an indicator to determine the angle of a mold. In analogous art for a molding machine that provides for a first and second mold half that may open and close and the molding surface may be found at an angle, Peng suggests details regarding implementing an indicator to determine the angle of the mold, and in this regard, Peng teaches the following:
([0011]) teaches the level measuring mechanism includes a guide rail, a first slider, a connecting rod, a supporting cross bar and a level. Where the level measuring mechanism acts as applicant’s indicator.
([0034]) teaches as workbench 7 is tilted at this time. The inclination of the workbench 7 can be adjusted until the processing end surface of the workpiece to be processed is in a horizontal position and contacts the level 95. As such, the level 95 is understood to be a scale with a pointer corresponding to an angle to which the first mold is currently angled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for a molding machine comprising two mould holders suitable for receiving each a respective half mould and the mould holders are connected to respective support means used for reciprocally between an open and closed position, suitable for the demoulding and fabrication of the cast piece, and rotating the molds about their axis of Vianello as modified by Hagen and Thomas. By further augmenting the mold to include a level measuring mechanism that comprises a level, as taught by Peng. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a level measuring mechanism that comprises a level as it provides a means for measuring the level / inclination of the molding surface, ([0034]). Accordingly, while it is understood that Peng provides an indicator and scale found on a molding surface. However, if it is determined that Peng does not teach the aforementioned placement of the indicator and scale. The case law for the rearrangement of parts may be recited. Where, it has generally been recognized by the courts that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400, MPEP 2144.
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 13,
Wherein the indicator has a hole through which a bolt extends and
wherein the second mold has a fastening hole to which the bolt is fastened such that, in a state in which the rotation of the first mold and the second mold is completed,
the second mold is fixed to the indicator by the bolt extending through the hole of the indicator and fastened to the fastening hole of the second mold.
Regarding Claim 14 as applied to claim 13, Vianello as modified by Hagen and Thomas is silent on implementing an indicator. In analogous art for a rotation molding machine that provides for a first and second mold half to be rotated open, closed and rotated, Peng suggests details regarding implementing an indicator, and in this regard, Peng teaches the following:
([0011]) teaches the level measuring mechanism includes a guide rail, a first slider, a connecting rod, a supporting cross bar and a level. The supporting cross bar is connected to the level by bolts 5. As such, the measuring mechanism includes holes with bolts 5.
& c.) ([0011]) teaches the guide rail 91 is installed on the side of the body away from the (air) path of the molding system. Highlighting, it is understood that the guide rail 91 of the level measuring mechanism is installed in such a way that it avoids contact with the molding bodies in their travel path. ([0011]) continues that one end of the connecting rod 93 away is installed on the supporting cross bar and the other end is installed on guide rail 91 via slider 92. Where the guide rail 91 acts as a fastening hole. Highlighting, through the connecting rod 93 and slider 92 the bolts are found to be connected to guide rail 91. ([0035]) noting that the supporting cross bar 94 is connected to the level 95 by bolts 5. As such, while several parts / names are utilized to describe the connection between the level 95 by bolts 5 to the molding body. The case law for making integral may be recited. Where, the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be obvious. It has been held to be within the general skill of one working in the art to make plural parts unitary or integral, In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 133 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Lockhart, 90 USPQ 214, MPEP 2144.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis and case laws that was used previously for claim 13, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
John Edward Orme (US 3555615 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that the invention relates to a machine for making articles of plastics material by rotational moulding. the machine has a number of mould carriers on which hollow moulds can be mounted. the mould carriers are supported in the machine in such a way they can be rotated about a plurality of axes so that plastics material charged into a mould on a mould carrier can be caused to flow over the interior surface of the mould.
Orlando Johnson (US 1921925 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that the principal object of the invention is to provide a dental flask with securing means whereby 5 the various sections of the flask will be securely held in proper alignment. A further object is to produce a device wherein a steady pressure will be maintained during the molding operation. A further object is to produce a device which is economical to manufacture.
Claude et al. (US 2624072 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that this invention relates to method of making `hollow articles of substantially uniform wall .thickness .out of plasticized heat setting resins. Certain resins of the general class comprising the polymers and the copolymers of vinyl Chloride, vinyl acetate, and similar materials, when suitably plasticized and `set or cured by heat.
Richard Nonweiler (US 3309439 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) a method of manufacturing an expanded polystyrene foam product comprising: charging a free-flowing molding composition into a casting mold having heat-conducting walls, with said composition comprising: expandable polystyrene beads.
Harry Schroeder (US 3611506 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that high temperature steel centrifugal casting spiders have a different rate of expansion than the aluminum molds mounted thereon. the invention deals with means whereby the spiders when closed define a rigid structure between which aluminum mold halves are supported for freedom of expansion yet so closed that flashing on the molded product at the parting line between mold halves is virtually.
John Beattie (US 2745138 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that this invention relates to the manufacture of plastic lenses from monomeric materials and comprises an improvement over the invention of my Patent No. 2,542,386, of February 20, 1951. By the practice of the patented invention, each plastic lens was cast and polymerized in an individual mold made up of two parallel curved glass molding surfaces held together in a peripheral gasket by a spring.
Macmillan et al. (US 3015846 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that the present invention relates to improvements in molding apparatus for casting hollow plastic articles from a thermoplastic material and particularly to supports for holding a plurality of molds While casting hollow plastic articles.
William P Engler (US 3657941 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) a coupling unit is provided for the transmission of electricity, gas, liquids, vacuum pressure, or other media around a rotating bend in complex machinery. The unit has particular utility in conjunction with rotational molding apparatus and shall be described in such an environment.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743