DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Line 2, replace “comprise” with “include”. Legalese style language is not permitted within the abstract.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, and 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "said gripping surface of portions of said at least partially disposed plurality of pole members" in Lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "said gripping surface of portions of said at least partially disposed plurality of pole members" in Lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 494028 (Doyelle).
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Doyelle teaches: Claim 1 - a system for handling an object, comprising: a first arrangement of magnets (4); a second arrangement of magnets (6), wherein said second arrangement of magnets (6) and said first arrangement magnets (4) are movable relative to one another (the rotatable plate (5) moves magnets (6)); and a plurality of pole members (1), wherein said plurality of pole members (1) are (i) in a first magnetic interaction with said first arrangement of magnets (4) and (ii) in a second magnetic interaction with said second arrangement of magnets (6), wherein each pole member (1) of said plurality of pole members (1) is configured to transfer magnetic flux caused by said first magnetic interaction and said second magnetic interaction to said object, wherein one or more of said first arrangement of magnets (4) and said second arrangement of magnets (6) are configured to vary in position relative to one another to vary said first magnetic interaction, said second magnetic interaction, or both, to vary said magnetic flux transferred to said object, (Figures 1-4); Claim 2 - wherein in a first set of configurations of said first arrangement of magnets (4) and said second arrangement of magnets (6), said magnetic flux is “adapted to/capable of” lifting multiple objects (as said pate (5) is rotated it can position magnets (6) to generate maximum lift), including said object, wherein in a second set of configurations of said first arrangement of magnets (4) and said second arrangement of magnets (6), said magnetic flux is “adapted to/capable of” lifting only a single object (as said pate (5) is rotated it can position magnets (6) to generate mid-range lift), wherein said single object is said object, and wherein in a third set of configurations of said first arrangement of magnets (4) and said second arrangement of magnets (6), said magnetic flux is adapted to release said object (as said pate (5) is rotated it can position magnets (6) to generate lowest lift possible), (Figures 1-4).
Regarding Claims 22 and 23, Doyelle teaches: Claim 22 – a method for handling an object, comprising: (a) providing (1) a first arrangement of magnets (4), (2) a second arrangement of magnets (6), wherein said second arrangement of magnets (6) and said first arrangement magnets (4) are movable relative to one another (the rotatable plate (5) moves magnets (6)), and (3) a plurality of pole members (1), wherein said plurality of pole members (1) are (i) in a first magnetic interaction with said first arrangement of magnets (4) and (ii) in a second magnetic interaction with said second arrangement of magnets (6), wherein each pole member (1) of said plurality of pole members (1) is configured to transfer magnetic flux caused by said first magnetic interaction and said second magnetic interaction to said object; and (b) moving one or more of said first arrangement of magnets (4) and said second arrangement of magnets (6) to vary their position relative to one another to vary said first magnetic interaction, said second magnetic interaction, or both, to vary said magnetic flux transferred to said object, (Figures 1-4); Claim 23 - (A) adapting said magnetic flux to lift multiple objects, including said object (as said pate (5) is rotated it can position magnets (6) to generate maximum lift), by moving said first arrangement of magnets (4) and said second arrangement of magnets (6) into one configuration in a first set of configurations; or (B) adapting said magnetic flux to lift only a single object, wherein said single object is said object (as said pate (5) is rotated it can position magnets (6) to generate mid-range lift), by moving said first arrangement of magnets (4) and said second arrangement of magnets (6) into one configuration in a second set of configurations; or (C) adapting said magnetic flux to release said object (as said pate (5) is rotated it can position magnets (6) to generate lowest lift possible), by moving said first arrangement of magnets (4) and said second arrangement of magnets (6) into one configuration in a third set of configurations, (Figures 1-4).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 22-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2532615 (Naef et al.).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 5, Naef et al. teaches: Claim 1 - a system for handling an object, comprising: a first arrangement of magnets (32); a second arrangement of magnets (52), wherein said second arrangement of magnets (52) and said first arrangement magnets (32) are movable relative to one another (magnets (52) are rotatable); and a plurality of pole members (33, 34), wherein said plurality of pole members (33, 34) are (i) in a first magnetic interaction with said first arrangement of magnets (32) and (ii) in a second magnetic interaction with said second arrangement of magnets (52), wherein each pole member (33, 34) of said plurality of pole members (33, 34) is configured to transfer magnetic flux caused by said first magnetic interaction and said second magnetic interaction to said object, wherein one or more of said first arrangement of magnets (32) and said second arrangement of magnets (52) are configured to vary in position relative to one another to vary said first magnetic interaction, said second magnetic interaction, or both, to vary said magnetic flux transferred to said object, (Figures 1a-5); Claim 2 - wherein in a first set of configurations of said first arrangement of magnets (32) and said second arrangement of magnets (52), said magnetic flux is “adapted to/capable of” lifting multiple objects (as said magnets (52) are rotated to generate maximum lift), including said object, wherein in a second set of configurations of said first arrangement of magnets (32) and said second arrangement of magnets (52), said magnetic flux is “adapted to/capable of” lifting only a single object (as said magnets (52) are rotated to generate mid-range lift), wherein said single object is said object, and wherein in a third set of configurations of said first arrangement of magnets (32) and said second arrangement of magnets (52), said magnetic flux is adapted to release said object (as said magnets (52) are rotated to generate lowest lift possible), (Figures 1a-5); Claim 3 - a housing structure (10 and 20), wherein said housing structure (10 and 20) further comprises a gripping surface (20), and wherein said plurality of pole members (33 and 34) is at least partially disposed through said gripping surface (20), (Figures 1a-5); Claim 5 - wherein said at least partially disposed plurality of pole members (33 and 34) extend past said gripping surface (20), (Figures 1a-5).
Regarding Claims 22-24 and 26, Naef et al. teaches: Claim 22 – a method for handling an object, comprising: (a) providing (1) a first arrangement of magnets (32), (2) a second arrangement of magnets (52), wherein said second arrangement of magnets (52) and said first arrangement magnets (32) are movable relative to one another (magnets (52) are rotatable), and (3) a plurality of pole members (33, 34), wherein said plurality of pole members (33, 34) are (i) in a first magnetic interaction with said first arrangement of magnets (32) and (ii) in a second magnetic interaction with said second arrangement of magnets (52), wherein each pole member (33, 34) of said plurality of pole members (33, 34) is configured to transfer magnetic flux caused by said first magnetic interaction and said second magnetic interaction to said object; and (b) moving one or more of said first arrangement of magnets (32) and said second arrangement of magnets (52) to vary their position relative to one another to vary said first magnetic interaction, said second magnetic interaction, or both, to vary said magnetic flux transferred to said object, (Figures 1a-5); Claim 23 - (A) adapting said magnetic flux to lift multiple objects, including said object (as said magnets (52) are rotated to generate maximum lift), by moving said first arrangement of magnets (32) and said second arrangement of magnets (52) into one configuration in a first set of configurations; or (B) adapting said magnetic flux to lift only a single object, wherein said single object is said object (as said magnets (52) are rotated to generate mid-range lift), by moving said first arrangement of magnets (32) and said second arrangement of magnets (52) into one configuration in a second set of configurations; or (C) adapting said magnetic flux to release said object (as said magnets (52) are rotated to generate lowest lift possible), by moving said first arrangement of magnets (32) and said second arrangement of magnets (52) into one configuration in a third set of configurations, (Figures 1a-5); Claim 24 - a housing structure (10 and 20), wherein said housing structure (10 and 20) further comprises a gripping surface (20), and wherein said plurality of pole members (33 and 34) is at least partially disposed through said gripping surface (20), (Figures 1a-5); Claim 26 - wherein said at least partially disposed plurality of pole members (33 and 34) extend past said gripping surface (20), (Figures 1a-5).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 19, 22-24, 27 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 8,350,663 (Michael).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 6 and 19, Michael teaches: Claim 1 - a system for handling an object, comprising: a first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19); a second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19), wherein said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19) and said first arrangement magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) are movable relative to one another (discs 401a and 401b being rotatable with regards to one another); and a plurality of pole members (404a/405a, 404b/405b), wherein said plurality of pole members (404a/405a, 404b/405b) are (i) in a first magnetic interaction with said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and (ii) in a second magnetic interaction with said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b as seen in Figure 19), wherein each pole member (404a/405a, 404b/405b) of said plurality of pole members (404a/405a, 404b/405b) is configured to transfer magnetic flux caused by said first magnetic interaction and said second magnetic interaction to said object, wherein one or more of said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19) are configured to vary in position relative to one another to vary said first magnetic interaction, said second magnetic interaction, or both, to vary said magnetic flux transferred to said object, (Figure 19 specifically, but including the elements of Figures 9A-29); Claim 2 - wherein in a first set of configurations of said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19), said magnetic flux is “adapted to/capable of” lifting multiple objects (as said discs (401a/401b) containing said magnets are rotated to generate maximum lift), including said object, wherein in a second set of configurations of said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19), said magnetic flux is “adapted to/capable of” lifting only a single object (as said discs (401a/401b) containing said magnets are rotated to generate mid-range lift), wherein said single object is said object, and wherein in a third set of configurations of said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19), said magnetic flux is adapted to release said object (as said discs (401a/401b) containing said magnets are rotated to generate lowest lift possible), (Figure 19 specifically, but including the elements of Figures 9A-29); Claim 3 - a housing structure (such as (501), (502), (503a) and (503b) as seen in Figure 23B; wherein each of the discs (503a, 503b) as seen in Figure 23B is capable of being in the form of discs (401a/401b) as seen in Figure 19), wherein said housing structure (501, 502, 503a, 503b) further comprises a gripping surface (bottom surface of disc 503b which is the equivalent of disc 401b), and wherein said plurality of pole members (404a/405a, 404b/405b) is at least partially disposed through said gripping surface (bottom surface of disc 503b which is the equivalent of disc 401b), (Figures 19 and 23B specifically, but including the elements of Figures 9A-29); Claim 6 - wherein said housing structure (501, 502, 503a, 503b) further comprises compartments (portions of discs (401a) and (401b) that house the magnets and the housing structure (501 and 502) for holding the discs (401a/401b, 503a/503b)) that are substantially complementary in shape to house each magnet in said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b as seen in Figure 19), (Figures 19 and 23B specifically, but including the elements of Figures 9A-29); Claim 19 - wherein said system is integrated in a robotic system (described in at least Column 1, Lines 7-30), (Figures 9-29).
Regarding Claims 22-24, 27 and 40, Michael teaches: Claim 22 – a method for handling an object, comprising: (a) providing (1) a first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19), (2) a second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19), wherein said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19) and said first arrangement magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) are movable relative to one another (discs 401a and 401b being rotatable with regards to one another), and (3) a plurality of pole members (404a/405a, 404b/405b), wherein said plurality of pole members (404a/405a, 404b/405b) are (i) in a first magnetic interaction with said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and (ii) in a second magnetic interaction with said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19), wherein each pole member (404a/405a, 404b/405b) of said plurality of pole members (404a/405a, 404b/405b) is configured to transfer magnetic flux caused by said first magnetic interaction and said second magnetic interaction to said object; and (b) moving one or more of said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19) to vary their position relative to one another to vary said first magnetic interaction, said second magnetic interaction, or both, to vary said magnetic flux transferred to said object, (Figure 19 specifically, but including the elements of Figures 9A-29); Claim 23 - (A) adapting said magnetic flux to lift multiple objects, including said object (as said discs (401a/401b) containing said magnets are rotated to generate maximum lift), by moving said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19) into one configuration in a first set of configurations; or (B) adapting said magnetic flux to lift only a single object, wherein said single object is said object (as said discs (401a/401b) containing said magnets are rotated to generate mid-range lift), by moving said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19) into one configuration in a second set of configurations; or (C) adapting said magnetic flux to release said object (as said discs (401a/401b) containing said magnets are rotated to generate lowest lift possible), by moving said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b) as seen in Figure 19) into one configuration in a third set of configurations, (Figure 19 specifically, but including the elements of Figures 9A-29); Claim 24 - a housing structure (such as (501), (502), (503a) and (503b) as seen in Figure 23B; wherein each of the discs (503a, 503b) as seen in Figure 23B is capable of being in the form of discs (401a/401b) as seen in Figure 19), wherein said housing structure (501, 502, 503a, 503b) further comprises a gripping surface (bottom surface of disc 503b which is the equivalent of disc 401b), and wherein said plurality of pole members (404a/405a, 404b/405b) is at least partially disposed through said gripping surface (bottom surface of disc 503b which is the equivalent of disc 401b), (Figures 19 and 23B specifically, but including the elements of Figures 9A-29); Claim 27 - wherein said housing structure (501, 502, 503a, 503b) further comprises compartments (portions of discs (401a) and (401b) that house the magnets and the housing structure (501 and 502) for holding the discs (401a/401b, 503a/503b)) that are substantially complementary in shape to house each magnet in said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404a/405a) as seen in Figure 19) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets located within poles (404b/405b as seen in Figure 19), (Figures 19 and 23B specifically, but including the elements of Figures 9A-29); Claim 40 - wherein said system is integrated in a robotic system (described in at least Column 1, Lines 7-30), (Figures 9-29).
Claim(s) 1, 15, 17, 18, 22, 36, 38, 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2018/200948 (Morton et al.).
Regarding Claims 1, 15, 17 and 18, Morton et al. teaches: Claim 1 - a system for handling an object, comprising: a first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (312)); a second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (314)), wherein said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (314)) and said first arrangement magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (312)) are movable relative to one another (layers (312) and (314) moving relative to one another as seen in Figures 31-33); and a plurality of pole members (350), wherein said plurality of pole members (350) are (i) in a first magnetic interaction with said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (312)) and (ii) in a second magnetic interaction with said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (314)), wherein each pole member (350) of said plurality of pole members (350) is configured to transfer magnetic flux caused by said first magnetic interaction and said second magnetic interaction to said object, wherein one or more of said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (312)) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (314)) are configured to vary in position relative to one another to vary said first magnetic interaction, said second magnetic interaction, or both, to vary said magnetic flux transferred to said object, (Figures 24-37); Claim 15 – sensors (described in at least paragraph [00138]) for detecting a distance between said plurality of pole members (350) and said object (17), (Figures 24-37); Claim 17 – a tunable actuation system (the actuator as described in at least paragraph [0024]) that moves said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (312)), said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (314)), or both (Figures 24-37); Claim 18 – a controller (the logic control unit having operations described in at least paragraphs [0017]-[0024]) operably coupled to said proximity sensors and said tunable actuation system (the actuator as described in at least paragraph [0024]), (Figures 24-37).
Regarding Claims 22, 36, 38, and 39, Morton et al. teaches: Claim 22 – a method for handling an object, comprising: (a) providing (1) a first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (312)), (2) a second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (314)), wherein said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (314)) and said first arrangement magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (312)) are movable relative to one another (layers (312) and (314) moving relative to one another as seen in Figures 31-33), and (3) a plurality of pole members (350), wherein said plurality of pole members (350) are (i) in a first magnetic interaction with said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (312)) and (ii) in a second magnetic interaction with said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (314)), wherein each pole member (350) of said plurality of pole members (350) is configured to transfer magnetic flux caused by said first magnetic interaction and said second magnetic interaction to said object; and (b) moving one or more of said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (312)) and said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (314)) to vary their position relative to one another to vary said first magnetic interaction, said second magnetic interaction, or both, to vary said magnetic flux transferred to said object, (Figures 24-37); Claim 36 – sensors (described in at least paragraph [00138]) for detecting a distance between said plurality of pole members (350) and said object (17), (Figures 24-37); Claim 38 – a tunable actuation system (the actuator as described in at least paragraph [0024]) that moves said first arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (312)), said second arrangement of magnets (such as magnets (330) in layer (314)), or both (Figures 24-37); Claim 39 – a controller (the logic control unit having operations described in at least paragraphs [0017]-[0024]) operably coupled to said proximity sensors and said tunable actuation system (the actuator as described in at least paragraph [0024]), (Figures 24-37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 494028 (Doyelle) in view of FR 2891267 (Lacour et al.).
Regarding Claims 3, 4, 24 and 25, Doyelle teaches the system as described above, in addition to teaching: Claims 3 and 24 – a housing structure (7), (Figures 1-4). Doyelle does not teach: wherein said housing structure further comprises a gripping surface, and wherein said plurality of pole members is at least partially disposed through said gripping surface (Claims 3 and 24); and wherein said gripping surface is substantially flush with said gripping surface of portions of said at least partially disposed plurality of pole members (Claims 4 and 25). However, Lacour et al. teaches: Claims 3 and 24 – a housing (AA), wherein said housing structure further comprises a gripping surface (BB), and a plurality of pole members (CC) is at least partially disposed through said gripping surface (BB), (Annotated Figure 4a Below); Claims 4 and 25 - wherein said gripping surface (BB) is substantially flush with said gripping surface of portions of said at least partially disposed plurality of pole members (CC), (Annotated Figure 4a Below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Doyelle to have wherein said housing structure further comprises a gripping surface, and wherein said plurality of pole members is at least partially disposed through said gripping surface (Claims 3 and 24); and wherein said gripping surface is substantially flush with said gripping surface of portions of said at least partially disposed plurality of pole members (Claims 4 and 25) as taught by Lacour et al. for the purposes of providing a more flush gripping surface on the system of Doyelle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA E RODDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642