DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is responsive to the claims filed 18 June 2026.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending and being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second pressure member must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character "105" has been used to designate both first pressure member and second pressure member.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 112.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 4-7 recites “the second pressure member”, should read “a second pressure member”.
Claim 13 lines 2-3 recite “a second compression member”, should read “a second pressure member”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rodenbusch (US 3,266,412).
Claim 1: Rodenbusch teaches an apparatus (fig. 1) configured bag packaging (This limitation is intended use; therefore, the apparatus merely needs to be capable to be used to compress and bundle bags.), comprising:
a compression chamber (A-annotated fig. 1) having a bottom (B-annotated fig. 1) and top (C-annotated fig. 1) defining an opening (D-annotated fig. 1) configured to receive a plurality of bags (This limitation is intended use; therefore, the apparatus merely needs to be capable to be used to compress and bundle bags.);
and a pressure member (8-fig. 1) disposed in the compression chamber over the bottom (see annotated fig. 1 showing 8 over the bottom B) and configured to translate horizontally (P-fig. 1) from a first position (fig. 1) to a second position (fig. 3) for urging a plurality of bags against the pressure member (1:70-2:9), the bags insertable into the opening at the top of the compression chamber (see fig. 1 showing the opening is capable of receiving items to be compressed).
Claim 2: Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pressure member is a first pressure member (8-fig. 1), the apparatus comprising:
a second pressure member (3-fig. 1).
Claim 3: Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the compression chamber further comprising:
a first end (E-annotated fig. 1); and
a second end (F-annotated fig. 1) opposite the first end (see fig. 1 showing E is opposite of F), wherein the first pressure member (8-fig.1) is constructed and arranged to translate from the first end (E-annotated fig. 1) of the compression chamber (A-annotated fig. 1) toward the second end (F-annotated fig. 1) of the compression chamber (fig. 3; 1:70-2:9).
Claim 4: Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 3, comprising the second pressure member (3-fig. 1) constructed and arranged in a fixed configuration at the second end of the compression chamber (1:62-69; see annotated figs. 1-3 showing 3 is fixed to the second end via 2 and not moving).
Claim 8: Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 6, the first pressure member (8-fig. 1) and the second pressure member (3-fig. 1) constructed and arrange to compress a plurality of bags or flexible containers (This limitation is intended use; therefore, the apparatus merely needs to be capable to be used to compress and bundle bags. Examiner further notes that the claims are drawn to an apparatus, the bags or flexible containers are not part of the apparatus itself.) interposing the first pressure member and the second pressure member (1:70-2:9).
Claim 9: Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first pressure member (8-fig. 1) and the second pressure member (3-fig. 1) are configured to accept the plurality of bags interposing the first pressure member and the second pressure member (This limitation is intended use; therefore, the apparatus merely needs to be capable to be used to compress and bundle bags. Examiner further notes that the claims are drawn to an apparatus, the bags or flexible containers are not part of the apparatus itself.) in the compression chamber if the first pressure member is in the open position (fig. 1; 1:70-2:9).
Claim 10: Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first pressure member (8-fig. 1) and the second pressure member (3-fig. 1) are configured to compress the plurality of bags (This limitation is intended use; therefore, the apparatus merely needs to be capable to be used to compress and bundle bags. Examiner further notes that the claims are drawn to an apparatus, the bags or flexible containers are not part of the apparatus itself.) interposing the first pressure member and the second pressure member in the compression chamber if the first pressure member is in the closed position (2:30-41; fig. 3).
Claim 11: Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the plurality of bags (This limitation is intended use; therefore, the apparatus merely needs to be capable to be used to compress and bundle bags. Examiner further notes that the claims are drawn to an apparatus, the bags or flexible containers are not part of the apparatus itself.) are compressed to form a compressed bag set (2:30-41; figs. 3 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodenbusch (US 3,266,412) in view of Gosslinghoff (US 7,200,976).
Claim 5: Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Rodenbusch does not expressly teach a second pressure member configured to translate from a first point at an open position and a second point at a closed position, wherein the first point is at the first end of the compression chamber.
However, Gosslinghoff teaches a second pressure member (10,11-fig.3) configured to translate from a first point at an open position and a second point at a closed position (5:61-6:8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Rodenbusch, by having first and second pressure members independently movable towards and away from each other, as taught by Gosslinghoff, so the stacks can be further compressed because pressure is imparted on both sides. Additionally, it has the added benefit of the stacked items being able to be moved within the chamber while in the compressed state before banding.
Claim 6: Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Rodenbusch does not expressly teach a second pressure member configured to translate from a first point at an open position and a second point at a closed position, wherein the first point is at the first end of the compression chamber, wherein the second point is at the second end of the compression chamber.
However, Gosslinghoff teaches a second pressure member (10,11-fig.3) configured to translate from a first point at an open position and a second point at a closed position (5:61-6:8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Rodenbusch, by having first and second pressure members independently movable towards and away from each other, as taught by Gosslinghoff, so the stacks can be further compressed because pressure is imparted on both sides. Additionally, it has the added benefit of the stacked items being able to be moved within the chamber while in the compressed state before banding.
Claim 7: Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Rodenbusch does not expressly teach a second pressure member constructed and arranged in a translatable configuration at the second end of the compression chamber.
However, Gosslinghoff teaches a second pressure member (10,11-fig.3) constructed and arranged in a translatable configuration at the second end (5:61-6:8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Rodenbusch, by having first and second pressure members independently movable towards and away from each other, as taught by Gosslinghoff, so the stacks can be further compressed because pressure is imparted on both sides. Additionally, it has the added benefit of the stacked items being able to be moved within the chamber while in the compressed state before banding.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodenbusch (US 3,266,412) in view of Tendick (US 5,345,749).
Claim 12: Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 11.
Rodenbusch does not expressly teach a fastener disposed at a bottom of the chamber beneath the plurality of bags and configured to extend to surround and fasten the plurality of bags.
However, Tendick teaches a fastener (72-fig. 3) disposed at a bottom of the chamber beneath the plurality of bags (This limitation is intended use; therefore, the apparatus merely needs to be capable to be used to compress and bundle bags. Examiner further notes that the claims are drawn to an apparatus, the bags or flexible containers are not part of the apparatus itself.) and configured to extend to surround and fasten the plurality of bags (3:23-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Rodenbusch, by having a fastener in the bottom of the chamber before the items are loaded, as taught by Tendick, so the items to be bound do not to be rotated to be bound after the compression of the items has been completed, thus simplifying the process of binding the compressed items. Additionally, having the binder already in place ensures that when the items are bound, they are bound in their fully compressed state and does not lose any compression.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tendick (US 5,345,749) in view of Rodenbusch (US 3,266,412).
Claim 1, Tendick teaches an apparatus (10-fig.1) useful for bag packaging (1:6-9), comprising:
a compression chamber (A-annotated fig.3) having a bottom (C-annotated fig.1) and top (D-annotated fig.1) defining an opening (B-annotated fig.1); and
a pressure member (20-fig.1) disposed in the compression chamber and configured to translate from a first position (figs. 3,4, and 7 showings positions where the bags can be loaded) to a second position for urging a plurality of bags (100-fig.4) against the pressure member (figs. 5-6 showing the bags fully compressed, in a different position), the bags insertable into the opening at the top of the compression member (see fig.4 showing that 100 is insertable into the opening B at the top D and slide down to the bottom).
Tendick does not expressly teach a pressure member disposed in the compression chamber over the bottom and configured to translate horizontally from a first position to a second position.
However, Rodenbusch teaches a pressure member (8-fig.1) disposed in the compression chamber (A-annotated fig.1) over the bottom (B-fig.1) and configured to translate horizontally (1:70-2:9) from a first position (fig.1) to a second position (fig.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Tendick, by rotating the compression device ninety degree causing the pressure member to translate horizontally, as taught by Rodenbusch, so when larger items that weight more need to be compressed and strapped it would be easier to load the materials. Rodenbusch and Tendick are essentially the same machines having almost identical structure, the only difference is the machine is rotated ninety degrees, and both operate in the same manner with the same end result of material compressed and strapped.
Claim 2, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pressure member is a first pressure member (Tendick: 20-fig.1), the apparatus comprising:
a second pressure member (Tendick: 82-figs.1 and 3; Rodenbusch:3-fig.1).
Claim 3, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the compression chamber further comprising:
a first end (Tendick: 16-fig.1); and
a second end (Tendick: 82-fig.1) opposite the first end, wherein the first pressure member (Tendick: 20-fig.1) is constructed and arranged to translate from the first end of the compression chamber toward the second end of the compression chamber (Tendick: see figs. 3-7 showing 20 towards and away from 82; 2:34-41).
Claim 4, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 3, comprising the second pressure member (Tendick: 82-fig.1) constructed and arranged in a fixed configuration at the second end of the compression chamber (Tendick: 2:4-8).
Claim 7, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 3, comprising the first pressure member (Tendick: 20-fig.1) constructed and arranged in a translatable configuration at the second end (Tendick: 82-fig.1) of the compression chamber (Tendick: see figs. 6-7 showing 20 moving away from 82 towards 16).
Claim 12, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 11, comprising:
a fastener (Tendick: 72-fig.3) disposed at a bottom of the chamber beneath the plurality of bags and configured to extend to surround and fasten the plurality of bags (Tendick: 3:23-35).
Claim 13, Tendick teaches a method useful for comprising a plurality of bags (1:6-9) using an apparatus (10-fig.1) comprising a compression chamber (A-annotated fig.1), a first pressure member (20-fig.1) and a second compression member (82-figs. 1 and 3), the first pressure member (20-fig.1) configured to translate from a first position (16-fig.1) to a second position (82-fig.1), the method comprising:
causing providing the compression chamber (fig.1);
causing setting the first pressure member (20-fig.3) to a first position (fig.3);
causing inserting a plurality of bags or flexible containers (100-fig.4) into the compression chamber by an opening (B-annotated fig.1) defined by a top (D-annotated fig.1) of the compression chamber (see fig.4 showing that 100 is insertable into the opening B at the top D and slide down to the bottom), the bags interposing the first pressure member (20-fig.3) in the first position (fig.3) and the second pressure member (82-fig.3; 3:23-35]; and
causing translation of the first pressure member (20-fig.4) toward the second pressure member (82-fig.4) whereby the plurality of bags (100-fig.4) are compressed between the first pressure member and the second pressure member (figs.5-6; 3:23-45).
Tendick does not expressly teach causing horizontal translation of the first pressure member toward the second pressure member and the translation in a direction parallel to a bottom of the compression chamber.
However, Rodenbusch teaches causing horizontal translation of the first pressure member (8-fig.1) toward the second pressure member (3-fig.1) and the translation in a direction parallel to a bottom of the compression chamber (1:70-2:9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Tendick, by rotating the compression device ninety degree causing the pressure member to translate horizontally, as taught by Rodenbusch, so when larger items that weight more need to be compressed and strapped it would be easier to load the materials. Rodenbusch and Tendick are essentially the same machines having almost identical structure, the only difference is the machine is rotated ninety degrees, and both operate in the same manner with the same end result of material compressed and strapped.
Claim 14, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch teaches the method of claim 13, comprising:
compressing the plurality of bags (Tendick: 100-fig.4) to form a compressed bag set (Tendick: 106-fig.6) having reduced size relative to the plurality of bags preceding the compressing (Tendick: 3:40-45).
Claim 15, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch teaches the method of claim 14, comprising:
fastening (Tendick: 72 and 104-fig.6) the compressed bag set (Tendick: 106-fig.6) after the compressing (Tendick: 3:36-39).
Claim 16, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch teaches the method of claim 15, comprising:
providing fasteners (Tendick: 72-fig.3) in the compression chamber before the inserting the plurality of bags (Tendick: 3:23-35).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tendick (US 5,345,749) in view of Rodenbusch (US 3,266,412), and further in view of Gosslinghoff (US 7,200,976).
Claim 5, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch does not teach expressly teach a second pressure member configured to translate from a first point at an open position and a second point at a closed position.
However, Gosslinghoff teaches a second pressure member (10,11-fig.3) configured to translate from a first point at an open position and a second point at a closed position (5:61-6:8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Tendick and Rodenbusch, by having first and second pressure members independently movable towards and away from each other, as taught by Gosslinghoff, so the stacks can be further compressed because pressure is imparted on both sides. Additionally, it has the added benefit of the stacked items being able to be moved within the chamber while in the compressed state before banding.
Claim 6, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch does not teach expressly teach a second pressure member configured to translate from a first point at an open position and a second point at a closed position.
However, Gosslinghoff teaches a second pressure member (10,11-fig.3) configured to translate from a first point at an open position and a second point at a closed position (5:61-6:8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Tendick and Rodenbusch, by having first and second pressure members independently movable towards and away from each other, as taught by Gosslinghoff, so the stacks can be further compressed because pressure is imparted on both sides. Additionally, it has the added benefit of the stacked items being able to be moved within the chamber while in the compressed state before banding.
Claim 8, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch and Gosslinghoff teaches the apparatus of claim 6, the first pressure member (Tendick: 20-fig.1) and the second pressure member (Tendick: 82-fig.1) constructed and arrange to compress a plurality of bags or flexible containers interposing the first pressure member and the second pressure member (Tendick: 3:23-35).
Claim 9, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch and Gosslinghoff teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first pressure member (Tendick: 20-fig.1) and the second pressure member (Tendick: 82-fig.1) are configured to accept the plurality of bags interposing the first pressure member and the second pressure member in the compression chamber if the first pressure member is in the open position (Tendick: 3:23-45; figs. 3-7).
Claim 10, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch and Gosslinghoff teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first pressure member (Tendick: 20-fig.1) and the second pressure member (Tendick: 82-fig.1) are configured to compress the plurality of bags interposing the first pressure member and the second pressure member in the compression chamber if the first pressure member is in the closed position (Tendick: 3:23-45; figs. 3-7).
Claim 11, Tendick as modified by Rodenbusch and Gosslinghoff teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the plurality of bags are compressed to form a compressed bag set (Tendick: 106-fig.7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments:
(1) “Applicant submits that no additional modification to the drawings and specification is required to understand the meaning of the second pressure member recited in, for example, claim 2.” (Remarks p.6)
(2) “Applicant submits that this is incorrect claim interpretation. Applicant's claim recite features that are "configured to" be constructed or arranged in a specific manner to achieve a specific result. These recitations do not contemplate potential useage. Rather, these configured to" recitations inform and define structure necessary to an understanding of the claimed combination of features as a whole.” (Remarks p. 6-7)
(3) “The Office Action states that ''Rodenbusch does and is what Examiner relies on to each [a horizontally translating pressure member." Applicant argued, however, that there is no disclosed reason for modifying Tendick' s arrangement in view of Rodenbusch. While the Examiner alleges "[t]here is motivation to combine Tendick and Rodenbusch 'by rotating the compression device ninety degree[ s] cuasing the pressure member to translate horizontally," that is not motivation. That is merely the Examiner's supplied theory for how Tendick could, in view the Examiner's view, be modified. This is quintessential hindsight reasoning.” (Remarks p. 8)
(4) “Further, it is unreasonable to ignore the differences in the art of bag and flexible container packaging and the wire and rigid container processing systems of the applied art. The Office Action ignores Applicant's arguments concerning these differences and others.” (Remarks p. 8)
Examiner’s responses:
(1) Per 37 C.F.R. 1.83(a), “The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention”. Therefore the claimed subject matter of a second pressure member should be shown and labeled in the drawings for understanding of the claimed invention.
(2) “During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim. See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963) (The claims were directed to a core member for hair curlers and a process of making a core member for hair curlers. The court held that the intended use of hair curling was of no significance to the structure and process of making.); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962) (statement of intended use in an apparatus claim did not distinguish over the prior art apparatus). To satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein” (MPEP §2111.02(II)).
In the presently filed claims, the intended use limitation of “configured for bag packaging” and “configured to receive a plurality of bags” does not result in a structural difference, therefore the intended use limitation is not limiting and the prior art structure merely has to be capable of performing the intended use limitation. Rodenbusch is capable of packaging bags and has the same structure as the presently filed claims, therefore the 35 USC §102 rejection is maintained for claim 1 and dependents.
(3) Examiners motivation combine in the rejection is “so when larger items that weight more need to be compressed and strapped it would be easier to load the materials. Rodenbusch and Tendick are essentially the same machines having almost identical structure, the only difference is the machine is rotated ninety degrees, and both operate in the same manner with the same end result of material compressed and strapped.” (Examiner’s answer p.13). Applicant merely recited what Examiner suggested to modify of the primary reference not the actual motivation.
(4) As stated in Examiner’s response above under (2), the limitation of “configured for bag packaging” is an intended use limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATIE L GERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/SHELLEY M SELF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3731