DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 200355719 Y1).
Re claim 1, Kim shows a spray device (Figs. 1a, 2a, 3, 6a-6d), comprising:
a controller (B);
a mobile device (A), wherein the controller (B) is arranged on the mobile device and controls a movement of the mobile device;
a spray tank (D/8), comprising at least one liquid reservoir;
a sleeve (68/70) arranged on the spray tank;
a multi-angle spray pipe structure (E), arranged on the spray tank via the sleeve (68/70), raised or lowered (Figs. 6a & 6b) relative to the spray tank via the sleeve, and communicated (10) with the at least one liquid reservoir; and
a nozzle (92), arranged on the multi-angle spray pipe structure,
wherein an inlet end plane (Fig. 2a, at 70) is formed at an edge of an inlet end of the multi-angle spray pipe structure, an outlet end plane (at 86) is formed at an edge of an outlet end of the multi-angle spray pipe structure, and the inlet end plane and the outlet end plane intersect to form an included angle.
Re claim 2, Kim shows the multi-angle spray pipe structure is an elbow pipe (72 & 80).
Re claim 3, Kim shows an actuating mechanism (90), wherein the controller is electrically connected to the actuating mechanism to control the multi-angle spray pipe structure to rotate (Figs. 6c & 6d) relative to the spray tank.
Re claim 5, Kim shows the multi-angle spray pipe structure comprises a first rotary spray pipe (72) and a second rotary spray pipe (80), the first rotary spray pipe and the second rotary spray pipe each have an inlet end and an outlet end, the inlet end (at 70) of the first rotary spray pipe is formed in the sleeve, the outlet end (at 86) of the first rotary spray pipe is communicated with the inlet end (at 86) of the second rotary spray pipe (80), the first rotary spray pipe (72) is adapted to rotate (66) relative to the sleeve, and the second rotary spray pipe (80) is adapted to rotate (90) relative to the first rotary spray pipe (72).
Re claim 6, Kim shows an inlet end plane (at 70) is formed at an edge of the first rotary spray pipe (72), an outlet end plane (at 86) is formed at an edge of the outlet end of the first rotary spray pipe, and the inlet end plane of the first rotary spray pipe and the outlet end plane of the first rotary spray pipe intersect to form an included angle; an inlet end plane (at 86) is formed at an edge of the second rotary spray pipe (80), an outlet end plane (end of 92) is formed at an edge of the outlet end of the second rotary spray pipe, and the inlet end plane of the second rotary spray pipe and the outlet end plane of the second rotary spray pipe intersect to form an included angle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 200355719 Y1) in view of Lucco et al. (US Pat No 5,944,263).
Re claim 7, Kim discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach the multi-angle spray pipe structure further comprises a third rotary spray pipe, the third rotary spray pipe has an inlet end and an outlet end, the inlet end of the third rotary spray pipe is communicated with the outlet end of the second rotary spray pipe, the outlet end of the third rotary spray pipe is communicated with the nozzle, an inlet end plane is formed at an edge of the inlet end of the third rotary spray pipe, an outlet end plane is formed at an edge of the outlet end of the third rotary spray pipe, the inlet end plane of the third rotary spray pipe and the outlet end plane of the third rotary spray pipe intersect to form an included angle, and the third rotary spray pipe is adapted to rotate relative to the second rotary spray pipe.
However, Lucco et al. shows a multi-angle spray pipe structure (Fig. 1) comprising a third rotary spray pipe (12 – after a first, 44, and a second, 22), the third rotary spray pipe has an inlet end (top of 12 connected to 14) and an outlet end (bottom of 12 leading to 10), the inlet end of the third rotary spray pipe is communicated with the outlet end of the second rotary spray pipe (22), the outlet end (bottom of 12 leading to 10) of the third rotary spray pipe is communicated with the nozzle (100), an inlet end plane (at connection to 14) is formed at an edge of the inlet end of the third rotary spray pipe, an outlet end plane (at connection to 10) is formed at an edge of the outlet end of the third rotary spray pipe, the inlet end plane of the third rotary spray pipe and the outlet end plane of the third rotary spray pipe intersect to form an included angle, and the third rotary spray pipe is adapted to rotate (via 20) relative to the second rotary spray pipe (22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the device of Kim include a third rotary pipe as taught by Lucco et al. to provide further adjustability (Lucco – col. 4, lines 36-38).
Re claim 8, Kim as modified by Lucco et al. show at least one of the inlet end and the outlet end of the first rotary spray pipe (Kim – 72) is an inclined end opening, at least one of the inlet end and the outlet end of the second rotary spray pipe (Kim – 80) is an inclined end opening, and at least one of the inlet end and the outlet end of the third rotary spray pipe (Lucco – 12) is an inclined end opening.
Re claim 9, Kim as modified by Lucco et al. show an actuating mechanism, wherein the actuating mechanism comprises a first actuating member (Kim – 66), a second actuating member (Kim – 90), the controller (Kim – B) is electrically connected to the first actuating member and the second actuating member, the first actuating member (Kim – 66) is arranged at an abutting joint position of the first rotary spray pipe (Kim – 72) and the sleeve (Kim – 68/70), the second actuating member (Kim – 90) is arranged at an abutting joint position of the second rotary spray pipe (Kim – 80) and the first rotary spray pipe (Kim – 72), so as to respectively control rotation of the first rotary spray pipe (Kim – 72), the second rotary spray pipe (Kim – 80) and the third rotary spray pipe (Lucco – 12).
Kim as modified by Lucco et al. does not teach a third actuating member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a third actuating member, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 200355719 Y1) in view of Villeneuve et al. (US Pub No 2021/0113873 A1).
Re claim 10, Kim discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach the nozzle comprises an outer frame, a plurality of connecting rods and a plurality of scattered pieces, one end of each of the connecting rods is arranged on the outer frame of the nozzle, and the other end of each of the connecting rods is correspondingly connected to a respective one of the scattered pieces.
However, Villeneuve et al. show a nozzle (Figs. 5 & 11) that comprises an outer frame (134/186), a plurality of connecting rods (131) and a plurality of scattered pieces (130), one end of each of the connecting rods (131) is arranged on the outer frame (134/186) of the nozzle, and the other end of each of the connecting rods (131) is correspondingly connected to a respective one of the scattered pieces (130).
The substitution of one known element (nozzle in Kim) for another (nozzle as shown in Villeneuve) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since the substitution of the nozzle shown in Kim would have yielded predictable results, namely, a tapered discharge port in Kim to provide direction for the blower (Kim – p. 6, lines 30-32; Villeneuve – paragraph 0082).
Re claim 11, Kim as modified by Villeneuve et al. show the nozzle further comprises an inner frame (Villeneuve – 189), one end of each of the scattered pieces (Villeneuve - 130) is pivotally arranged on the inner frame of the nozzle (Villeneuve – paragraph 0110), and the connecting rods (Villeneuve – 131) are adapted to control opening and closing degrees of the scattered pieces (Villeneuve – 130).
Re claim 12, Kim as modified by Villeneuve et al. show the outer frame (Villeneuve – 134/186) is provided with a plurality of first joints (Villeneuve – 185), each of the scattered pieces (Villeneuve – 130) is provided with a second joint (Villeneuve – 183), each of the connecting rods is provided with a plurality of installation holes (Villeneuve – 181/182), a spherical top end (Villeneuve - rounded section of 183) radially stretches outwards from each of the first joints (Villeneuve – 185) and the second joint (Villeneuve – 183) of each of the scattered pieces, and the connecting rods (Villeneuve – 181) are rotatably connected to the spherical top ends via the installation holes (Villeneuve – paragraphs 0109 & 0110).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 200355719 Y1) in view of An (WO 2014051300 A1).
Re claim 13, Kim discloses all aspects of the claimed invention including a hose nozzle (96) that is adapted to rotate and move together with the multi-angle spray pipe structure (E) but does not teach the at least one liquid reservoir comprises a first liquid reservoir and a second liquid reservoir, the multi-angle spray pipe structure is communicated with the first liquid reservoir, the spray device further comprises a hose nozzle, the hose nozzle is arranged on the spray tank and is adapted to rotate and move together with the multi-angle spray pipe structure, and the hose nozzle is communicated with the second liquid reservoir.
However, An shows a spray device with a liquid reservoir which comprises a first liquid reservoir (Fig. 3, left 120) and a second liquid reservoir (right 120), a spray pipe structure (130) is communicated (133) with the first liquid reservoir (120), the spray device further comprises a hose nozzle (150), and the hose nozzle (150) is communicated with the second liquid reservoir (120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to modify the liquid reservoir of Kim to be two liquid reservoirs as taught by An to have access to different types of fluids (An – paragraph 53).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s explanation of Kim, specifically that “the configuration and function of the blower E is completely different from the multi-angle spray pipe of the amended claim 1” it should be noted that other than a recitation of a liquid reservoir and that the spray pipe structure is communicated with the liquid reservoir, there is no further configuration or function recited in amended claim 1 that precludes the configuration present in Kim.
Further, applicant’s state that the rotation support plate and the friction reducing member of Kim cannot be extended or compressed relative to the turbo blower housing, however this in no way reflects what is claimed nor is this language present in the claims.
Next, applicant’s state that neither the rotation support plate 68 nor the friction reducing member 70 is related to spraying liquid, however similar to what’s stated above, there is no claim language requiring this function or even description of liquid flowing through the claimed sleeve.
As no further structural recitations of the sleeve are present, there is no language present that precludes components 68 and 70 from being equated to the claimed sleeve. Furthermore, as directly demonstrated by figures 6a and 6b, rotation support plate 68 and friction reducing member 70 are necessary intermediate components for raising and lowering the height of the multi-angle spray pipe structure present in Kim. In other words, Kim explicitly shows “a multi-angle spray pipe structure, arranged on the spray tank via the sleeve, raised or lowered relative to the spray tank via the sleeve” as claimed.
In light of these remarks, all prior art rejections shall be maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752