DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 8-10 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 15, “the receiver board fixing member…” should read “a receiver board fixing member…”.
Claim 5, line 2, “… a receiver board alignment member…” should read “…the receiver board alignment member”.
Claim 8, line 1, “… a receiver board alignment member…” should read “…the receiver board alignment member”.
Claim 9, line 1, “… a receiver board alignment member…” should read “…the receiver board alignment member”.
Claim 10, line 1, “… a receiver board alignment member…” should read “…the receiver board alignment member”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang (US 20150174715 A1, hereinafter “Kang”).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) receiver in which a receiver board is coupled integrally to a barrel having one side provided with a lens after the receiver board having one side on which a light detection element is mounted is aligned with the other side of the barrel, the apparatus comprising:
a base plate having a plate shape of which a length extends rearward (Kang; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0041], the apparatus for aligning the optical axes of lens including a displacement sensor 200; a lens clamper 300 [0042]; support block 800 to supports the substrate 15 to which the image sensor 14 is attached [0052]. All setup is fixed on the table (equivalent to a base plate));
a light source unit disposed at a rear side of an upper surface of the base plate (Kang; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0041], a displacement sensor 200 can be implemented with a non-contact sensor or a confocal displacement sensor configured to precisely measure displacement of the subject using a wavelength range of light; implies a displacement sensor 200 has a light source); and
a receiver alignment unit disposed to face the light source unit at a front side of the base plate (Kang; Fig. 1, Fig. 2A, 2B, Fig. 4, [0052], support block 800 supports the substrate 15 to which the image sensor 14 is attached; Fig. 3, [0016], showing a process of measuring a tilted state of an image sensor using a displacement sensor of the apparatus for aligning the optical axes of the lenses. This clearly shows that the receiver module disposed to face the light source (included in the displacement sensor 200)),
wherein:
the light source unit includes a light-emitting module including a light- emitting element configured to radiate light forward and a light-emitting module fixing member configured to fix the light-emitting module to the base plate (Kang; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0041], the displacement sensor 200 can be implemented with a non-contact sensor or a confocal displacement configured to precisely measure displacement of the precisely measurement displacement of the subject using a wavelength range of light. Furthermore, the displacement sensor 200 may be implement with a 2D or 3D displacement sensor configured to measurement the displacement while moving along the entire line or surface at a predetermined speed. It is clearly seen in the figure that the displacement sensor is attached to the base plate (table)); and
a receiver alignment unit includes an alignment plate having a plate shape, a barrel fixing member configured to fix the barrel to a front side of the alignment plate, the receiver board fixing member configured to fix the receiver board to the alignment plate such that the receiver board is disposed at a rear side of the barrel (Kang; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0052], the support block 800 (equivalent to an alignment plate) supports the substrate 15 to which the image sensor 14 is attached; Fig. 1, Fig. 4, [0031], the camera module 10 includes a substrate 15 (equivalent to receiver board fixing member) to which an image sensor 14 is attached, a lens holder 13 (equivalent to an alignment plate and a barrel fixing member) and a lens barrel 11; Fig 2A, 2B, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0056], based on the setup in Fig. 3, the displacement sensor 200 is on top of the support block 800; Fig. 4 also shows that lens barrel 11 is fixed on lens holder 13 disposed on top of the substrate 15 with image sensor 14 is attached. This setup has the same setup as claim limitation); and
a receiver board alignment member configured to couple the receiver board to the rear side of the barrel in a state in which the light reaches the light detection element to be perpendicular thereto (Kang; Fig. 1, [0042], based on the setup, it is clear that the substrate has image sensor 14 attached to it and the lens barrel 11 is position in the holder 13; Fig. 3, [0056], the displacement sensor 200 moves above the support block 800 (the setup of the image sensor 14 and lens barrel 11 and lens holder 13 in Fig. 4) to measure flatness characteristics of multiple point of the image sensor 14. Clearly, the light is perpendicular to the detector).
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the light source unit further includes a light-emitting module alignment member disposed between the light-emitting module fixing member and the base plate to control a movement path of the light of the light-emitting module (Kang; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0041], a displacement sensor 200 can be implemented with a non-contact sensor or a confocal displacement sensor configured to precisely measure displacement of the subject using a wavelength range of light (equivalent to light source unit). In other instances, the displacement sensor 200 may be implemented with a 2D or 3D displacement sensor configured to measure the displacement while moving along the entire line or surface at a predetermined speed. (equivalent to control the movement path of the light to be shiftable along a first axis extending in a lateral direction)); and
the light-emitting module alignment member controls the movement path of the light to be shiftable along a first axis extending in a lateral direction (same as above).
Regarding claim 7, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the light source unit further includes a light-emitting module alignment member disposed between the light-emitting module fixing member and the base plate to control a movement path of the light of the light-emitting module (Kang; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0041], a displacement sensor 200 can be implemented with a non-contact sensor or a confocal displacement sensor configured to precisely measure displacement of the subject using a wavelength range of light (equivalent to light source unit). In other instances, the displacement sensor 200 may be implemented with a 2D or 3D displacement sensor configured to measure the displacement while moving along the entire line or surface at a predetermined speed. (equivalent to control the movement path of the light to be shiftable along a third axis extending in a vertical direction)); and
the light-emitting module alignment member controls the movement path of the light to be shiftable along a third axis extending in a vertical direction (same as above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, modified in view of Weiss et al. (US 20240241236 A1, hereinafter “Weiss”).
Regarding claim 2, Kang as modified above teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1.
Kang does not teach, wherein the detection element is provided as a plurality of detection elements, and the plurality of detection elements are disposed in a line on one surface of the receiver board.
Weiss teaches, wherein the detection element is provided as a plurality of detection elements, and the plurality of detection elements are disposed in a line on one surface of the receiver board (Weiss; Fig. 15A-15C, [0171]-[0174], an array 800 of sensing elements. Fig. 15D-15L, [0177]-[0193], disclosed the array 800 of sensing elements and an array of reflected beams which shows the different misalignment and the way to adjust it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the apparatus taught by Kang to include wherein the detection element is provided as a plurality of detection elements, and the plurality of detection elements are disposed in a line on one surface of the receiver board taught by Weiss with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the array 800 of sensing elements with an array of reflected beams to detect different misalignment and using optical element to adjust the misalignment (Weiss; [0171]-[0174], [0177]-[0193]).
Regarding claim 10, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
Kang does not teach, further comprising a receiver board alignment member configured to connect the receiver board fixing member to the alignment plate and control the receiver board to be movable along a fifth axis extending in a front- rear direction as a rotation axis.
Weiss disclosed in Fig. 14, paragraph [0129], mechanical alignment of opto-mechanical parts can be made by basically moving (translating or rotating) any opto-mechanical part in the system, where the selection of the exact part and degree of freedom depends on the sensitivity analysis to compensate for misalignments. The alignment can be obtained for example, by moving the sensor, tilting folding mirrors, moving or tilting lenses, shifting the collimator with respect to the laser source, dynamically controlling MEMS mirrors, etc.; [0131], Fig. 14 illustrates example of motion types that can be applied to compensate for optical unit misalignment including all linear motion 3 axes (792). In combine the mechanical alignment taught by Weiss with the apparatus taught by Kang predictably to move the sensor (receiving unit) in 3-dimension as claim limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the apparatus taught by Kang to include further comprising a receiver board alignment member configured to connect the receiver board fixing member to the alignment plate and control the receiver board to be movable along a fifth axis extending in a front- rear direction as a rotation axis taught by Weiss with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the mechanical alignment to realize the 3-dimensional movement to compensate for misalignment of the opto-mechanical part in the system (Weiss; [0129], [0131]).
Claim 14 is the method claim possesses nearly identical limitation to those of claim 1-2 and are thus rejected for the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 16, Kang as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 14, wherein the light source aligning operation includes:
a light-emitting module vertical aligning operation of, through a light-emitting module alignment member disposed between the base plate and a light-emitting module fixing member to which the light-emitting module is fixed, controlling the movement path of the light of the light-emitting module to be shiftable along an axis extending in a lateral direction to be parallel to the base plate or to be rotatable about the axis extending in the lateral direction (Kang; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0041], a displacement sensor 200 can be implemented with a non-contact sensor or a confocal displacement sensor configured to precisely measure displacement of the subject using a wavelength range of light (equivalent to light source unit). In other instances, the displacement sensor 200 may be implemented with a 2D or 3D displacement sensor configured to measure the displacement while moving along the entire line or surface at a predetermined speed. (equivalent to control the movement path of the light to be shiftable along an axis extending in a lateral direction); 3D displacement implies the displacement sensor 200 can perform shift movement either extending in a lateral direction to align in vertical alignment or shift movement extending in a vertical direction to align in horizontal alignment)); and
a light-emitting module horizontal aligning operation of controlling the movement path of the light of the light-emitting module to be shifted along an axis extending in a vertical direction (same as above).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, modified in view of Wang et al. (US 20220018947 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Kang does not teach, wherein the barrel fixing member fixes the barrel such that a length direction of the barrel is parallel to a length direction of the base plate.
Wang teaches, wherein the barrel fixing member fixes the barrel such that a length direction of the barrel is parallel to a length direction of the base plate (Wang; Fig. 4, [0046], optical transceiver component 10 may include an emitting assembly 101, a beam splitting assembly 102, a reflector assembly 104, and a receiving assembly 103 (including a receiving board, a receiving board base 1031 and a focusing assembly 106 [0063]) fixed on a base 100; Fig. 6, [0023], shows similar design as Fig. 4 but in vertical direction; Both Fig. 4 and Fig. 6 shows to change the design from vertical to horizontal alignment which implies this system can be applied to Kang’s invention from vertical alignment of the receiver unit and barrel lens to a horizontal alignment of the receiver unit and barrel lens. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to realize the invention of Kang can be setup from vertical to horizontal including receiver unit and displacement sensor (including light source); [0065], during installation of receiving assembly 103, a laser beam may be first emitted into the first end of the focusing lens barrel 1061 to adjust the positions of the receiving board and the receiving board base1031. After the laser beam passes through the focusing assembly 106 and converges at the surface of the detector, the receiving board base 1031 and the focusing assembly 106 may be fixedly connected. The position of the focusing lens barrel 1061 may be adjusted thereafter. When the first end of the focusing lens barrel 1061 is aligned with the light exit port of the reflector assembly 104, the focusing assembly 106 and the reflector assembly 104 may be fixedly connected. From Fig. 4, it is clear that the lens barrel 1061 is fixed and the length direction of the barrel is parallel to a length direction of the base plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the apparatus taught by Kang to include wherein the barrel fixing member fixes the barrel such that a length direction of the barrel is parallel to a length direction of the base plate taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to make sure the barrel is align with the path of the radiation emitted by light source, predictably for align the lens barrel with the receiver unit which will be used for LIDAR sensor.
Claim(s) 5, 8-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, modified in view of Long et al. (CN 111780782 A, hereinafter “Long”).
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 4.
Kang does not teach, wherein the receiver board alignment member further includes a receiver board alignment member configured to connect the receiver board fixing member to the alignment plate and control the receiver board to be rotatable about a second axis extending in a vertical direction as a rotation axis.
Long disclosed in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0043]-[0044] with similar setup of the receiving unit as Kang in horizontal setup as following: the receiving unit 3 is mounted on the 1st mounting plate 511 by a 1st connecting mechanism 514; [0008], a laser alignment calibration device for calibrating a laser emitting unit and a laser receiving unit includes: a base, a 2D moving mechanism disposed on the base for positioning and installing the laser emitting unit and adjusting the displacement of the laser emitting unit in the X and Y axes directions; and a 3D zero-return offset mechanism (a rotary table 53 [0043]) disposed on the based opposite to the 2D moving mechanism for installing the laser receiving unit and fine-turning the yaw angle of the laser receiving unit in the X-Y planes, the pitch angle in Y-Z planes and the yaw angle in the X-Z planes. (implies 3D rotation of the receiving unit); detail of realizing the rotation of each axis can be seen in paragraphs [0043]-[0044], the 1st mounting base component 51 is mounted on the rotary table 53 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 on the 1st mounting base component 51 to yaw in the X-Z planes. The pitch component 54 adjusts the rotation of the rotary table 53 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 on the 1st mounting base component 51 to pitch in the Y-Z planes. The first yaw component 52 adjusts the rotation of the 1st mounting base component 51 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 to yaw in the X-Z planes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the apparatus taught by Kang to include wherein the receiver board alignment member further includes a receiver board alignment member configured to connect the receiver board fixing member to the alignment plate and control the receiver board to be rotatable about a second axis extending in a vertical direction as a rotation axis taught by Long with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using a 3D zero-return offset mechanism to rotate the receiver board in 3 different axes for receiver board alignment (Long; [0008], [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
Kang does not teach, further comprising a receiver board alignment member configured to connect the receiver board fixing member to the alignment plate and control the receiver board to be rotatable about a fourth axis extending in a lateral direction as a rotation axis.
Long disclosed in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0043]-[0044] with similar setup of the receiving unit as Kang in horizontal setup as following: the receiving unit 3 is mounted on the 1st mounting plate 511 by a 1st connecting mechanism 514; [0008], a laser alignment calibration device for calibrating a laser emitting unit and a laser receiving unit includes: a base, a 2D moving mechanism disposed on the base for positioning and installing the laser emitting unit and adjusting the displacement of the laser emitting unit in the X and Y axes directions; and a 3D zero-return offset mechanism (a rotary table 53 [0043]) disposed on the based opposite to the 2D moving mechanism for installing the laser receiving unit and fine-turning the yaw angle of the laser receiving unit in the X-Y planes, the pitch angle in Y-Z planes and the yaw angle in the X-Z planes. (implies 3D rotation of the receiving unit); detail of realizing the rotation of each axis can be seen in paragraphs [0043]-[0044], the 1st mounting base component 51 is mounted on the rotary table 53 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 on the 1st mounting base component 51 to yaw in the X-Z planes. The pitch component 54 adjusts the rotation of the rotary table 53 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 on the 1st mounting base component 51 to pitch in the Y-Z planes. The first yaw component 52 adjusts the rotation of the 1st mounting base component 51 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 to yaw in the X-Z planes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the apparatus taught by Kang to include further comprising a receiver board alignment member configured to connect the receiver board fixing member to the alignment plate and control the receiver board to be rotatable about a fourth axis extending in a lateral direction as a rotation axis taught by Long with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using a 3D zero-return offset mechanism to rotate the receiver board in 3 different axes for receiver board alignment (Long; [0008], [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
Kang does not teach, further comprising a receiver board alignment member configured to connect the receiver board fixing member to the alignment plate and control the receiver board to be rotatable about a fifth axis extending in a front- rear direction as a rotation axis.
Long disclosed in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0043]-[0044] with similar setup of the receiving unit as Kang in horizontal setup as following: the receiving unit 3 is mounted on the 1st mounting plate 511 by a 1st connecting mechanism 514; [0008], a laser alignment calibration device for calibrating a laser emitting unit and a laser receiving unit includes: a base, a 2D moving mechanism disposed on the base for positioning and installing the laser emitting unit and adjusting the displacement of the laser emitting unit in the X and Y axes directions; and a 3D zero-return offset mechanism (a rotary table 53 [0043]) disposed on the based opposite to the 2D moving mechanism for installing the laser receiving unit and fine-turning the yaw angle of the laser receiving unit in the X-Y planes, the pitch angle in Y-Z planes and the yaw angle in the X-Z planes. (implies 3D rotation of the receiving unit); detail of realizing the rotation of each axis can be seen in paragraphs [0043]-[0044], the 1st mounting base component 51 is mounted on the rotary table 53 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 on the 1st mounting base component 51 to yaw in the X-Z planes. The pitch component 54 adjusts the rotation of the rotary table 53 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 on the 1st mounting base component 51 to pitch in the Y-Z planes. The first yaw component 52 adjusts the rotation of the 1st mounting base component 51 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 to yaw in the X-Z planes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the apparatus taught by Kang to include further comprising a receiver board alignment member configured to connect the receiver board fixing member to the alignment plate and control the receiver board to be rotatable about a fifth axis extending in a front- rear direction as a rotation axis taught by Long with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using a 3D zero-return offset mechanism to rotate the receiver board in 3 different axes for receiver board alignment (Long; [0008], [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Kang does not teach, wherein the receiver alignment unit further includes an alignment plate alignment member configured to connect the alignment plate to the base plate and control the alignment plate to be rotatable about a sixth axis extending in a lateral direction as a rotation axis.
Long disclosed in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0043]-[0044] with similar setup of the receiving unit as Kang in horizontal setup as following: the 1st mounting base component 51 includes: a 1st mounting plate 511 and a 2nd mounting plate 512 that are parallel to each other. The receiving unit 3 is mounted on the 1st mounting plate 511 by a 1st connecting mechanism 514; [0008], a laser alignment calibration device for calibrating a laser emitting unit and a laser receiving unit includes: a base, a 2D moving mechanism disposed on the base for positioning and installing the laser emitting unit and adjusting the displacement of the laser emitting unit in the X and Y axes directions; and a 3D zero-return offset mechanism (a rotary table 53 [0043]) disposed on the based opposite to the 2D moving mechanism for installing the laser receiving unit and fine-turning the yaw angle of the laser receiving unit in the X-Y planes, the pitch angle in Y-Z planes and the yaw angle in the X-Z planes. (implies 3D rotation of the receiving unit); detail of realizing the rotation of each axis can be seen in paragraphs [0043]-[0044], the 1st mounting base component 51 is mounted on the rotary table 53 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 on the 1st mounting base component 51 to yaw in the X-Z planes. The pitch component 54 adjusts the rotation of the rotary table 53 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 on the 1st mounting base component 51 to pitch in the Y-Z planes. The first yaw component 52 adjusts the rotation of the 1st mounting base component 51 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 to yaw in the X-Z planes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the apparatus taught by Kang to include wherein the receiver alignment unit further includes an alignment plate alignment member configured to connect the alignment plate to the base plate and control the alignment plate to be rotatable about a sixth axis extending in a lateral direction as a rotation axis taught by Long with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using a 3D zero-return offset mechanism to rotate the receiver board in 3 different axes for receiver board alignment (Long; [0008], [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 12, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Kang does not teach, wherein the receiver alignment unit further includes an alignment plate alignment member configured to connect the alignment plate to the base plate and control the alignment plate to be rotatable about a seventh axis extending in a vertical direction as a rotation axis.
Long disclosed in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0043]-[0044] with similar setup of the receiving unit as Kang in horizontal setup as following: the 1st mounting base component 51 includes: a 1st mounting plate 511 and a 2nd mounting plate 512 that are parallel to each other. The receiving unit 3 is mounted on the 1st mounting plate 511 by a 1st connecting mechanism 514; [0008], a laser alignment calibration device for calibrating a laser emitting unit and a laser receiving unit includes: a base, a 2D moving mechanism disposed on the base for positioning and installing the laser emitting unit and adjusting the displacement of the laser emitting unit in the X and Y axes directions; and a 3D zero-return offset mechanism (a rotary table 53 [0043]) disposed on the based opposite to the 2D moving mechanism for installing the laser receiving unit and fine-turning the yaw angle of the laser receiving unit in the X-Y planes, the pitch angle in Y-Z planes and the yaw angle in the X-Z planes. (implies 3D rotation of the receiving unit); detail of realizing the rotation of each axis can be seen in paragraphs [0043]-[0044], the 1st mounting base component 51 is mounted on the rotary table 53 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 on the 1st mounting base component 51 to yaw in the X-Z planes. The pitch component 54 adjusts the rotation of the rotary table 53 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 on the 1st mounting base component 51 to pitch in the Y-Z planes. The first yaw component 52 adjusts the rotation of the 1st mounting base component 51 to drive the laser receiving unit 3 to yaw in the X-Z planes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the apparatus taught by Kang to include wherein the receiver alignment unit further includes an alignment plate alignment member configured to connect the alignment plate to the base plate and control the alignment plate to be rotatable about a seventh axis extending in a vertical direction as a rotation axis taught by Long with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using a 3D zero-return offset mechanism to rotate the receiver board in 3 different axes for receiver board alignment (Long; [0008], [0043]-[0044]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, modified in view of Farmer et al. (US 20230139114 A1, hereinafter “Farmer”).
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a light-emitting module alignment member disposed between the light-emitting module fixing member and the base plate to control a movement path of the light of the light-emitting module (Kang; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0041], the displacement sensor 200 can be implemented with a non-contact sensor or a confocal displacement configured to precisely measure displacement of the precisely measurement displacement of the subject using a wavelength range of light. Furthermore, the displacement sensor 200 may be implement with a 2D or 3D displacement sensor configured to measurement the displacement while moving along the entire line or surface at a predetermined speed. It is clearly seen in the figure that the displacement sensor has a light source and is attached to the base plate (table)),
Kang does not teach,
wherein the light-emitting module alignment member controls the movement path of the light to be rotatable about a first axis extending in a lateral direction to be parallel to the base plate.
Farmer disclosed in Fig. 1C, paragraph [0037], the dual-axis flexure member 106 defines a first flexure based on channels 112A, 112B that separate a flex region 112 C in the dual-axis flexure member 106. The first flexure provides rotation about an axis 120. The dual axis flexure member 106 defines a second flexure based on a groove 122 that permits rotation about an axis 124. Since the light travels in the direction of 107 axis, the axis 124 will be the lateral direction and parallel to the base plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the apparatus taught by Kang to include wherein the light-emitting module alignment member controls the movement path of the light to be rotatable about a first axis extending in a lateral direction to be parallel to the base plate taught by Farmer with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the dual-axis flexure member 106 to realize the rotation in vertical direction and lateral direction of the light emitting direction predictably for adjusting the light emission direction.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, modified in view of Weiss, in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 15, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 14.
Kang does not teach, in the barrel fixing operation, the barrel is fixed to the barrel fixing member such that a length direction of the barrel is parallel to a length direction of the base plate.
Wang teaches, in the barrel fixing operation, the barrel is fixed to the barrel fixing member such that a length direction of the barrel is parallel to a length direction of the base plate (Wang; Fig. 4, [0046], optical transceiver component 10 may include an emitting assembly 101, a beam splitting assembly 102, a reflector assembly 104, and a receiving assembly 103 (including a receiving board, a receiving board base 1031 and a focusing assembly 106 [0063]) fixed on a base 100; Fig. 6, [0023], shows similar design as Fig. 4 but in vertical direction; Both Fig. 4 and Fig. 6 shows to change the design from vertical to horizontal alignment which implies this system can be applied to Kang’s invention from vertical alignment of the receiver unit and barrel lens to a horizontal alignment of the receiver unit and barrel lens. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to realize the invention of Kang can be setup from vertical to horizontal including receiver unit and displacement sensor (including light source); [0065], during installation of receiving assembly 103, a laser beam may be first emitted into the first end of the focusing lens barrel 1061 to adjust the positions of the receiving board and the receiving board base1031. After the laser beam passes through the focusing assembly 106 and converges at the surface of the detector, the receiving board base 1031 and the focusing assembly 106 may be fixedly connected. The position of the focusing lens barrel 1061 may be adjusted thereafter. When the first end of the focusing lens barrel 1061 is aligned with the light exit port of the reflector assembly 104, the focusing assembly 106 and the reflector assembly 104 may be fixedly connected. From Fig. 4, it is clear that the lens barrel 1061 is fixed and the length direction of the barrel is parallel to a length direction of the base plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the apparatus taught by Kang to include having one surface on which a plurality of light detection elements taught by Weiss, include in the barrel fixing operation, the barrel is fixed to the barrel fixing member such that a length direction of the barrel is parallel to a length direction of the base plate taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to make sure the barrel is align with the path of the radiation emitted by light source, predictably for align the lens barrel with the receiver unit which will be used for LIDAR sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other feature:
wherein the alignment plate alignment member rotates about a center point of an optical stop area of the lens of the barrel.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other feature:
a barrel aligning operation of, through an alignment plate alignment member disposed between the base plate and an alignment plate to which the barrel fixing member is coupled, controlling the alignment plate to be rotatable about an axis extending in a lateral direction and an axis extending in a vertical direction as rotation axes such that an extending direction in which the barrel extends forward is parallel to a path of light radiated from the light-emitting element; and
a receiver board aligning operation of, through a receiver board alignment member configured to connect the receiver board fixing member to the alignment plate, aligning the receiver board to align a movement path of the light radiated from the light-emitting element with the light detection element of the receiver board.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other feature:
wherein the receiver aligning operation further includes a viewing angle checking operation of, through an alignment plate alignment member which controls an alignment plate to be rotatable such that the barrel rotates about a center point of an optical stop area of the lens of the barrel, wherein the alignment plate supports the barrel fixing member to which the barrel is fixed and the receiver board fixing member to which the receiver board is fixed, checking whether the light reaches the light detection element in a state in which the movement path of the light is aligned.
Prior art of the record alone or as combine fails to teach or render obvious claims 13, 17 and 19 as whole.
Claims 18 and 20 are dependent upon the allowable independent claim 17 and 19.
Conclusion
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645