DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/22/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 10/06/2025 responsive to the Office Action filed 06/04/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 99 and 100 have been amended. Claims 1, 2, 15, 20, 29, 88-90 and 98-100 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed 10/06/2025 in pages 6-16, with respect to claims 1 and 2 under 103 rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Applicant respectfully disagrees and submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be led by either Brown, Jr. or Clark to modify Brown, Jr. in the manner suggested. The suggested modification would fundamentally change the method of Brown, Jr. by replacing Brown, Jr.'s bulk substrate, such as a bed of granules or some other collection of a material, with a solidifiable or curable photopolymer of Clark. Such a change would involve fundamental process considerations that extend beyond simply replacing the bulk substrate with a photopolymerizable liquid.”,
“Applicant respectfully disagrees and submits that one skilled in the art would not be led to modify the method or device of Brown, Jr. including a bulk substrate, such as a bed of granules or some other collection of a material by replacing the first emission device 160 of Brown, Jr. with the non-focused beam (2) of a laser source (1) guided via a galvano scanner system with rotatable deflecting mirrors (4) onto a deflecting mirror (5) described in Pa. [0057] of Houbertz.”, and
“The Office Action provides no motivation for combining Brown, Jr., Clark, and Houbertz or modifying Brown, Jr. in the manner cited in view of Clark and Houbertz other than asserting that the three documents relate to same field of endeavor.”
These arguments are found to be unpersuasive because:
Brown, Jr. teaches that “Disclosed embodiments include the formation of a manufacturing part by a process in which three-dimensional patterns of excitation are produced in a bulk material, and the three-dimensional patterns intersect to cause interference. The interference is used to perform physical or chemical conversion of the bulk material into an article of manufacture having a geometry corresponding to a three-dimensional projection produced from the intersection of the three-dimensional patterns.” (Abstract), and further teaches that an additive manufacturing system may produce an article of manufacture using focused emissions (e.g., to cause photocatalysis) (Pa [0032]), the bulk substrate 14 may include any one or a combination of materials capable of undergoing a physical and/or chemical change as a result of interactions with the emissions generated by the system 12, such materials may include photo reactive materials, for example photocatalytic resins, and as more specific examples, the bulk substrate 14 may include a polymer resin (Pa [0034]). Thus, differing from the Applicant’s allegation that “Brown, Jr.'s bulk substrate is such as a bed of granules or some other collection of a material”, Brown, Jr. clearly teaches the photopolymerizable liquid but does not explicitly mention a photoinitiator. Furthermore, Brown, Jr. shows that the 3D article maintains its position within the bulk substrate during printing (Figs. 5, 7-12). In the same field of endeavor, a system and method for using three-dimensional (“3D”) volumetric display vector techniques, Clark teaches that a photo switchable, photo initiator is used for photo curing/to polymerize the object (Pa [0063]), and if the resin has a has viscosity (Thick Heavy Resin) the full part can be made while floating in the resin (Pa [0158]). Thus, it would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown Jr. with the teachings of Clark and substitute Clark’s viscous resin and photoinitiator for Brown’s photopolymerizable liquid in order to initiate the photopolymerization and make the full part while floating in the resin.
Brown, Jr. teaches a first optical projection of continuous excitation light (“166”) having a first axial thickness along a first projection axis and a second optical projection of continuous excitation light (“164”) having a second projection axis and a lateral dimension that is less than the first axial thickness (See the annotate Fig. 7 below), but is silent to a scanning system and a diffractive optical element in the second optical projection system. In the same field of endeavor, 3D lithography, Houbertz teaches that the non-focused beam (2) of a laser source (1) is guided via a galvano scanner system with rotatable deflecting mirrors (4) onto a deflecting mirror (5), which introduces the light into the focusing optics (6), this focusing optics can be moved in the Z-direction, the beam emerging from the focusing optics is focused on a suitable point or area of the material to be processed (7) (Pa [0057]), and one or more preferably optical components are then structured for this component, selected e.g. from waveguides, collimators, microlenses, gratings, diffractive optical elements (Pa [0068]). Thus, it would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown Jr. with the teachings of Houbertz and substitute the device including scanner system and diffractive optical elements for Brown’s first emission device 160 in order to focus the light on the liquid, since it has been held that The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed 10/06/2025 in pages 16-19, with respect to claims 15, 88, 20 and 89 under 103 rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Houbertz utilizes pulsed excitation. In contrast claims 20 and 89 include continuous excitation.”
This argument is found to be unpersuasive because:
Houbertz teaches that one or more preferably optical components are then structured for this component, selected e.g. from waveguides, collimators, microlenses, gratings, diffractive optical elements (Pa [0068]), and one having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the collimator is one of optical components for narrowing a beam of particles or waves, thus it would help a beam of particles or waves to produce a beam of parallel rays regardless of type of light beam (e.g., continuous and pulse).
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed 10/06/2025 in pages 19-20, with respect to claims 29 and 90 under 103 rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Brown, Jr. is silent regarding spatial light modulators.”
This argument is found to be unpersuasive because:
Brown, Jr. teaches the dynamic templates 74 and 190 and further teaches that the dynamic template 74 may be considered to correspond to an acoustic and/or optical masking device, for example a device including one or more screens, the dynamic template 74, in a general sense, is configured to interact with an emission 76 of the emission device 72 and produce a focused or constrained emission 78 therefrom, and it should be noted that the dynamic template 74 may include any suitable device that is capable of blocking emissions 76 from the emission device 72 in certain areas while also simultaneously enabling certain of the emissions 76 to pass therethrough in other areas, or minimizing or reducing formation of emissions (Pa [0055]), and the dynamic template 74 may be considered somewhat analogous (at least from the manner in which it operates) to a liquid crystal display (Pa [0057]). Thus, one of ordinary skill int the art would appreciate that Brown, Jr. teaches spatial light modulators.
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed 10/06/2025 in pages 20-21, with respect to claims 98 and 99 under 103 rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Claim 98 further patentably distinguishes over Brown, Jr. in view of Clark and Houbertz in reciting the method of claim 1 wherein the first optical projection comprising the single cross-sectional plane of the three-dimensional object including illuminated portions includes a planar face orthogonal to its projection direction into the photopolymerizable liquid.” and “Claim 99 further patentably distinguishes over Brown, Jr. in view of Clark and Houbertz in reciting the method of claim 2 wherein the first optical projection comprising the single cross-sectional plane of the three-dimensional object including illuminated pixels includes a planar face orthogonal to its projection direction into the photopolymerizable liquid.”
These arguments are found to be unpersuasive because:
The annotated Fig. 7 below shows the single cross-sectional plane of the three-dimensional object including illuminated portions/ pixels.
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed 10/06/2025 in pages 21-23, with respect to claim 100 under 103 rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Matheu does not show generation of an optical projection comprises more than one partial light sheet of excitation light generated by a second optical projection system adapted to generate a Bessel beam.”
These arguments are found to be unpersuasive because:
Brown, Jr. teaches a first optical projection of continuous excitation light (“166”) having a first axial thickness along a first projection axis and a second optical projection of continuous excitation light (“164”) having a second projection axis and a lateral dimension that is less than the first axial thickness (See the annotate Fig. 7 below), but is silent to a second optical projection system adapted to generate a Bessel beam.
Matheu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches methods and systems for printing a three-dimensional (3D) material (Abstract) and teaches that Figs. 4A-4B demonstrates the placement of an optional beam expander prior to the axicon or tunable acoustic gradient (TAG) lens, this may allow for generation of a Bessel beam for the purpose of increased depth penetration in tissues and turbid media during printing without loss of focus fidelity, and this feature may improve depth of printing through turbid media or through already formed tissues without loss of power (Pa [0190]). Thus, it would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown Jr. with the teachings of Matheu and substitute the laser system for Brown’s first emission device 160 for the purpose of increased depth penetration in materials during printing without loss of focus fidelity, since it has been held that The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Applicant further argues that “Applicant respectfully disagrees and submits that one skilled in the art, would not be led to modify the method or device of Brown, Jr. related to writing in a bulk substrate, such as a bed of granules or some other collection of a material by replacing the first emission device 160 of Brown, Jr. with the non-focused beam (2) of a laser source (1) guided via a galvano scanner system with rotatable deflecting mirrors (4) onto a deflecting mirror (5) described in Pa. [0057] of Houbertz. However, even assuming for the sole purpose of argument Brown, Jr. and Houbertz were combined in the manner cited in the Office Action, such combination would not teach, suggest, or otherwise disclose the method recited in claim 100. The further citation of Houbertz further fails to overcome the other deficiencies of Brown, Jr and Clark.”
These arguments are found to be unpersuasive because Houbertz has not been cited in the rejection of claim 100.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 15, 20, 29, 88-90, 98 and 99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown, JR. (US 2016/0271875) in view of Clark (US 2021/0291460) and Houbertz et al. (US 2019/0193204) (All of record).
With respect to claim 1, Brown Jr. teaches a method of forming a three-dimensional object (Fig. 7), comprising:
a. providing a volume of a photopolymerizable liquid (“the bulk substrate”, “the bulk substrate 14 may include … such materials may include photo reactive materials, for example photocatalytic resins…a polymer resin”, Pa [0034]) included within a container (“the build chamber 124”) wherein at least a portion of the container is optically transparent so that the photopolymerizable liquid is accessible by excitation light (Fig. 7);
b. directing at least two optical projections of excitation light (“the first emission 164” and “the second emission 166”) into the volume of the photopolymerizable liquid (“The additional dynamic template 190, having the first pattern 194, may cause the second emission 166 to produce a first three dimensional projection within the bulk substrate 14, where the first three-dimensional projection corresponds to excitation of the material of the bulk substrate 14 in a particular region”, Pa [0092]; “The first emission 164 is, therefore, directed to the bulk substrate 14 through the second pattern 198”, Pa [0093]), the at least two optical projections of excitation light including a first optical projection of continuous excitation light (“166”) having a first axial thickness along a first projection axis (See the annotate Fig. 7 below) and a second optical projection of continuous excitation light (“164”) having a second projection axis and a lateral dimension that is less than the first axial thickness (See the annotate Fig. 7 below), wherein the first optical projection of excitation light comprises a single cross-sectional plane of the three-dimensional object including illuminated portions (“The additional dynamic template 190, having the first pattern 194, may cause the second emission 166 to produce a first three dimensional projection within the bulk substrate 14”, Pa [0092] and Fig. 7) and the second optical projection comprises more than one partial light sheet of excitation light generated by a second optical projection system (“a first emission device 160”) (“The first emission 164 … directed to the bulk substrate 14 through the second pattern 198”, Pa [0093] and See the annotate Fig. 7 below), wherein each of the first and second optical projections of excitation light is directed into the photopolymerizable liquid along its projection axis in a direction orthogonal to the other and the second projection of excitation light is orthogonal to the direction in which the first optical projection of excitation is directed into the volume (“the first and second emissions are directed into the build chamber 124 in crosswise intersecting directions to cause interference and/or to increase emission intensity in focal points or regions of the bulk substrate 14”, Pa [0093]), wherein the more than one partial light sheets included in the second optical projection are sized and aligned to intersect with illuminated portions included in the first optical projection and the excitation light of each projection has an excitation intensity and excitation wavelength so that local polymerization is achieved at locations in the volume at which the more than one partial sheets intersect with the illuminated portions of the first optical projection (“The first and second emissions 164, 166 may be optical, acoustic, or both, and may, in certain embodiments, individually or collectively be of sufficient energy, wavelength, etc., to cause physical and/or chemical changes in the material of the bulk substrate 14. The physical or chemical changes may, in turn, be sufficient to cause a portion of the article 20 to be formed.”, Pa [0083]; “the first and second emissions are directed into the build chamber 124 in crosswise intersecting directions to cause interference and/or to increase emission intensity in focal points or regions of the bulk substrate 14. In this way, one of the emissions (e.g., the second emission 166) serves to generate an excitation template, onto which the other emission (e.g., the first emission 164) is projected to produce a three-dimensional pattern of sufficient excitation energy to write all or a portion of the article 20 into the bulk substrate 14.”, Pa [0093] and Fig. 7), and wherein a cross-sectional layer formed at the intersection has an axial thickness along the first projection axis that is approximately the same as the lateral dimension of the second projection (“the first emission 164 and the second emission 166 would, together, overlap or cause overlapping interference to form a section 202 of the article of manufacture 20.”, Pa [0094] and See the annotate Fig. 7 below); and
c. repeating step b wherein the first and second optical projections of excitation light are directed to selected locations within the photopolymerizable liquid to form successive cross-sectional layers of the three-dimensional object, until the three-dimensional object is formed (“the first emission 164 and the second emission 166 would, together, overlap or cause overlapping interference to form a section 202 of the article of manufacture 20. Further, while the first and second emissions 164, 166 may remain static in certain configurations, in the illustrated embodiment, the dynamic template 74 adjusts the inclusions 132 and/or matrix 130 to move the second pattern 198 along a direction 200 so as to progressively form different sections (including section 202) of the article of manufacture 20.”, Pa [0094]).
Brown Jr. teaches the photopolymerizable liquid (“the bulk substrate 14 may include … such materials may include photo reactive materials, for example photocatalytic resins…a polymer resin”, Pa [0034]) and the second optical projection of continuous excitation light (“164”) having a second projection axis and a lateral dimension that is less than the first axial thickness (See the annotate Fig. 7 above), but does not explicitly teach that (a) the photopolymerizable liquid includes a photopolymerizable component and a photoinitiator, and the photopolymerizable liquid has a viscosity suitable for keeping the object that is being printed suspended in the volume; and (b) the second optical projection system comprises a scanning system and a diffractive optical element.
As to (a), in the same field of endeavor, a method for producing three-dimensional objects, Clark teaches that a photo switchable, photo initiator is used for photo curing/to polymerize the object (Pa [0063]), and if the resin has a has viscosity (Thick Heavy Resin) the full part can be made while floating in the resin (Pa [0158]).
It would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown Jr. with the teachings of Clark and substitute Clark’s viscous resin and photoinitiator for Brown’s photopolymerizable liquid in order to initiate the photopolymerization and make the full part while floating in the resin.
As to (b), in the same field of endeavor, 3D lithography, Houbertz teaches that the non-focused beam (2) of a laser source (1) is guided via a galvano scanner system with rotatable deflecting mirrors (4) onto a deflecting mirror (5), which introduces the light into the focusing optics (6), this focusing optics can be moved in the Z-direction, the beam emerging from the focusing optics is focused on a suitable point or area of the material to be processed (7) (Pa [0057]), and one or more preferably optical components are then structured for this component, selected e.g. from waveguides, collimators, microlenses, gratings, diffractive optical elements (Pa [0068]).
It would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown Jr. with the teachings of Houbertz and substitute the device including scanner system and diffractive optical elements for Brown’s first emission device 160 in order to focus the light on the liquid, since it has been held that The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
With respect to claim 2, Brown Jr. teaches a method of forming a three-dimensional object (Fig. 7), comprising:
a. providing a volume of a photopolymerizable liquid (“the bulk substrate”, “the bulk substrate 14 may include …a polymer resin”, Pa [0034]; “In embodiments where the material of the substrate 14 is present in a solution, the material may be a solute of the solution, which may enable photocatalytic or other optically-driven processes (e.g., heating) to be used in accordance with the present disclosure.”, Pa [0035]) included within a container (“the build chamber 124”) wherein at least a portion of the container is optically transparent so that the photopolymerizable liquid is accessible by excitation light (Fig. 7);
b. selectively directing at least two optical projections of excitation light (“the first emission 164” and “the second emission 166”) into the volume of the photopolymerizable liquid (“The additional dynamic template 190, having the first pattern 194, may cause the second emission 166 to produce a first three dimensional projection within the bulk substrate 14, where the first three-dimensional projection corresponds to excitation of the material of the bulk substrate 14 in a particular region”, Pa [0092]; “The first emission 164 is, therefore, directed to the bulk substrate 14 through the second pattern 198”, Pa [0093]), the at least two optical projections of excitation light including a first optical projection of continuous excitation light (“166”) comprising a two-dimensional image comprising a single cross-sectional plane of the three-dimensional object including illuminated pixels (“The additional dynamic template 190, having the first pattern 194, may cause the second emission 166 to produce a first three dimensional projection within the bulk substrate 14”, Pa [0092] and See the annotate Fig. 7 below), the first optical projection having a first axial thickness along a first projection axis (See the annotate Fig. 7 below), and a second optical projection of continuous excitation light (“164”) comprising an array including more than one partial light sheet of excitation light generated by a second optical projection system (“a first emission device 160”) (“The first emission 164 … directed to the bulk substrate 14 through the second pattern 198”, Pa [0093] and See the annotate Fig. 7 below), the second projection having a second projection axis and a lateral dimension that is less than the first axial thickness (See the annotate Fig. 7 below), wherein each of the first and second optical projections of excitation light is directed into the volume of the photopolymerizable liquid in a direction orthogonal to the direction of the other and the second projection of excitation light is orthogonal to the direction in which the first optical projection of excitation is directed into the volume (“the first and second emissions are directed into the build chamber 124 in crosswise intersecting directions to cause interference and/or to increase emission intensity in focal points or regions of the bulk substrate 14”, Pa [0093]), wherein the more than one partial light sheets included in the second optical projection are sized and aligned to intersect with illuminated portions included in the first optical projection and each optical projection of excitation light has an excitation intensity and excitation wavelength so that local polymerization is achieved at locations in the volume at which a partial light sheet of excitation light intersects with illuminated pixels included in the first optical projection (“The first and second emissions 164, 166 may be optical, acoustic, or both, and may, in certain embodiments, individually or collectively be of sufficient energy, wavelength, etc., to cause physical and/or chemical changes in the material of the bulk substrate 14. The physical or chemical changes may, in turn, be sufficient to cause a portion of the article 20 to be formed.”, Pa [0083]; “the first and second emissions are directed into the build chamber 124 in crosswise intersecting directions to cause interference and/or to increase emission intensity in focal points or regions of the bulk substrate 14. In this way, one of the emissions (e.g., the second emission 166) serves to generate an excitation template, onto which the other emission (e.g., the first emission 164) is projected to produce a three-dimensional pattern of sufficient excitation energy to write all or a portion of the article 20 into the bulk substrate 14.”, Pa [0093]), and wherein a cross-sectional layer formed at the intersection has an axial thickness along the first projection axis that is approximately the same as the lateral dimension of the second projection (“the first emission 164 and the second emission 166 would, together, overlap or cause overlapping interference to form a section 202 of the article of manufacture 20.”, Pa [0094] and See the annotate Fig. 7 below); and
c. repeating step b to form successive layers of the three-dimensional object one cross-sectional layer at a time until the three-dimensional object is formed (“the first emission 164 and the second emission 166 would, together, overlap or cause overlapping interference to form a section 202 of the article of manufacture 20. Further, while the first and second emissions 164, 166 may remain static in certain configurations, in the illustrated embodiment, the dynamic template 74 adjusts the inclusions 132 and/or matrix 130 to move the second pattern 198 along a direction 200 so as to progressively form different sections (including section 202) of the article of manufacture 20.”, Pa [0094]).
Brown Jr. teaches the photopolymerizable liquid (“the bulk substrate 14 may include … such materials may include photo reactive materials, for example photocatalytic resins…a polymer resin”, Pa [0034]), but does not explicitly teach that (a) the photopolymerizable liquid includes a photopolymerizable component and a photoinitiator, and the photopolymerizable liquid has a viscosity suitable for keeping the object that is being printed suspended in the volume; and (b) a second optical projection system comprises a scanning system and a diffractive optical element.
As to (a), in the same field of endeavor, a method for producing three-dimensional objects, Clark teaches that a photo switchable, photo initiator is used for photo curing/to polymerize the object (Pa [0063]), and if the resin has a has viscosity (Thick Heavy Resin) the full part can be made while floating in the resin (Pa [0158]).
It would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown Jr. with the teachings of Clark and substitute Clark’s viscous resin and photoinitiator for Brown’s photopolymerizable liquid in order to initiate the photopolymerization and make the full part while floating in the resin.
As to (b), in the same field of endeavor, 3D lithography, Houbertz teaches that the non-focused beam (2) of a laser source (1) is guided via a galvano scanner system with rotatable deflecting mirrors (4) onto a deflecting mirror (5), which introduces the light into the focusing optics (6), this focusing optics can be moved in the Z-direction, the beam emerging from the focusing optics is focused on a suitable point or area of the material to be processed (7) (Pa [0057]), and one or more preferably optical components are then structured for this component, selected e.g. from waveguides, collimators, microlenses, gratings, diffractive optical elements (Pa [0068]).
It would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown Jr. with the teachings of Houbertz and substitute the device including scanner system and diffractive optical elements for Brown’s first emission device 160 in order to focus the light on the liquid, since it has been held that The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
With respect to claims 15 and 88, Brown Jr. as applied to claims 1 and 2 further teaches that the first optical projection is generated by a first optical projection system (“a second emission device 162”, Pa [0083]), but does not explicitly teach a first optical projection system including collimated excitation light source.
Houbertz as applied in the combination regarding claims 1 and 2 teaches that one or more preferably optical components are then structured for this component, selected e.g. from waveguides, collimators, microlenses, gratings, diffractive optical elements (Pa [0068]).
It would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown Jr. with the teachings of Houbertz and substitute the device including collimators for Brown’s second emission device 162 in order to focus the light on the liquid, since it has been held that The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
With respect to claims 20 and 89, Houbertz as applied in the combination regarding claims 1 and 2 teaches that the second optical projection is generated by a second optical projection system comprising a collimated light source (“one or more preferably optical components are then structured for this component, selected e.g. from waveguides, collimators, microlenses, gratings, diffractive optical elements”, Pa [0068]).
With respect to claims 29 and 90, Brown Jr. as applied to claims 1 and 2 further teaches that the first optical projection is generated by a first optical projection system comprising a spatial light modulator (“an additional dynamic template 190”, Pa [0091]; “the dynamic template 74 may be considered somewhat analogous (at least from the manner in which it operates) to a liquid crystal display.”, Pa [0057]).
With respect to claim 98, Brown Jr. as applied to claim 1 further teaches that the first optical projection comprising the single cross-sectional plane of the three-dimensional object including illuminated portions includes a planar face orthogonal to its projection direction into the photopolymerizable liquid (See the annotated Fig. 7 below).
With respect to claim 99, Brown Jr. as applied to claim 2 further teaches that the first optical projection comprises the two-dimensional planar image comprising the single cross-sectional plane of the three-dimensional object including illuminated pixels includes a planar face orthogonal to its projection direction into the photopolymerizable liquid (See the annotated Fig. 7 above).
Claim 100 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown, JR. (US 2016/0271875) in view of Clark (US 2021/0291460) and Matheu (US 2018/0257297) (All of record).
With respect to claim 100, Brown Jr. teaches a method of forming a three-dimensional object (Fig. 7), comprising:
a. providing a volume of a photopolymerizable liquid (“the bulk substrate”, “the bulk substrate 14 may include … such materials may include photo reactive materials, for example photocatalytic resins…a polymer resin”, Pa [0034]) included within a container (“the build chamber 124”) wherein at least a portion of the container is optically transparent so that the photopolymerizable liquid is accessible by excitation light (Fig. 7);
b. selectively directing at least two optical projections of excitation light (“the first emission 164” and “the second emission 166”) into the volume of the photopolymerizable liquid (“The additional dynamic template 190, having the first pattern 194, may cause the second emission 166 to produce a first three dimensional projection within the bulk substrate 14, where the first three-dimensional projection corresponds to excitation of the material of the bulk substrate 14 in a particular region”, Pa [0092]; “The first emission 164 is, therefore, directed to the bulk substrate 14 through the second pattern 198”, Pa [0093]), the at least two optical projections of excitation light including a first optical projection of continuous excitation light (“166”) having a first axial thickness along a first projection axis (See the annotate Fig. 7 below) and a second optical projection of continuous excitation light (“164”) having a second projection axis (See the annotate Fig. 7 below), wherein the first optical projection of excitation light comprises a two-dimensional image comprising a single cross-sectional plane of the three-dimensional object including illuminated portions (“The additional dynamic template 190, having the first pattern 194, may cause the second emission 166 to produce a first three dimensional projection within the bulk substrate 14”, Pa [0092] and Fig. 7) and the second optical projection comprises more than one partial light sheet of excitation light generated by a second optical projection system (“a first emission device 160”) (“The first emission 164 … directed to the bulk substrate 14 through the second pattern 198”, Pa [0093] and See the annotate Fig. 7 below), wherein each of the first and second optical projections of excitation light is directed into the photopolymerizable liquid along its projection axis in a direction orthogonal to the other and the second projection of excitation light is orthogonal to the direction in which the first optical projection of excitation is directed into the volume (“the first and second emissions are directed into the build chamber 124 in crosswise intersecting directions to cause interference and/or to increase emission intensity in focal points or regions of the bulk substrate 14”, Pa [0093]), wherein the more than one partial light sheets included in the second optical projection are sized and aligned to intersect with illuminated portions included in the first optical projection so that local polymerization is achieved at locations in the volume at which the partial sheets and the illuminated portions of the first optical projection intersect (“The first and second emissions 164, 166 may be optical, acoustic, or both, and may, in certain embodiments, individually or collectively be of sufficient energy, wavelength, etc., to cause physical and/or chemical changes in the material of the bulk substrate 14. The physical or chemical changes may, in turn, be sufficient to cause a portion of the article 20 to be formed.”, Pa [0083]; “the first and second emissions are directed into the build chamber 124 in crosswise intersecting directions to cause interference and/or to increase emission intensity in focal points or regions of the bulk substrate 14. In this way, one of the emissions (e.g., the second emission 166) serves to generate an excitation template, onto which the other emission (e.g., the first emission 164) is projected to produce a three-dimensional pattern of sufficient excitation energy to write all or a portion of the article 20 into the bulk substrate 14.”, Pa [0093] and Fig. 7); and
c. repeating step b, wherein the first and second optical projections of excitation light are directed to selected locations within the photopolymerizable liquid to form successive cross-sectional layers of the three-dimensional object, until the three-dimensional object is formed (“the first emission 164 and the second emission 166 would, together, overlap or cause overlapping interference to form a section 202 of the article of manufacture 20. Further, while the first and second emissions 164, 166 may remain static in certain configurations, in the illustrated embodiment, the dynamic template 74 adjusts the inclusions 132 and/or matrix 130 to move the second pattern 198 along a direction 200 so as to progressively form different sections (including section 202) of the article of manufacture 20.”, Pa [0094]).
Brown Jr. teaches the photopolymerizable liquid (“the bulk substrate 14 may include … such materials may include photo reactive materials, for example photocatalytic resins…a polymer resin”, Pa [0034]) and the second optical projection of continuous excitation light (“164”) having a second projection axis and a lateral dimension that is less than the first axial thickness (See the annotate Fig. 7 above), but does not explicitly teach that (a) the photopolymerizable liquid includes a photopolymerizable component and a photoinitiator, and the photopolymerizable liquid has a viscosity suitable for keeping the object that is being printed suspended in the volume; and (b) the second optical projection system is adapted to generate a Bessel beam.
As to (a), in the same field of endeavor, a method for producing three-dimensional objects, Clark teaches that a photo switchable, photo initiator is used for photo curing/to polymerize the object (Pa [0063]), and if the resin has a has viscosity (Thick Heavy Resin) the full part can be made while floating in the resin (Pa [0158]).
It would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown Jr. with the teachings of Clark and substitute Clark’s viscous resin and photoinitiator for Brown’s photopolymerizable liquid in order to initiate the photopolymerization and make the full part while floating in the resin.
As to (b), in the same field of endeavor, three-dimensional printing, Matheu teaches that Figs. 4A-4B demonstrates the placement of an optional beam expander prior to the axicon or tunable acoustic gradient (TAG) lens, this may allow for generation of a Bessel beam for the purpose of increased depth penetration in tissues and turbid media during printing without loss of focus fidelity, and this feature may improve depth of printing through turbid media or through already formed tissues without loss of power (Pa [0190]).
It would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown Jr. with the teachings of Matheu and substitute the laser system for Brown’s first emission device 160 for the purpose of increased depth penetration in materials during printing without loss of focus fidelity, since it has been held that The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUNJU KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742