DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Persson (2004/0226564) in view of Flagler et al. (2015/0174353).
Regarding claim 1, Persson teaches a trachea cannula for laryngectomized and/or tracheotomized persons (fig. 2) comprising a cannula tube part (10) a connector part (17, 18) and at least two supporting wings (12) for fastening a strap (19), wherein the supporting wings (12) are disposed on the connector part (17), wherein the connector part (17, 18) comprises a first conical part (fig. 4 shows an internal conical part adjacent tube 10) and a second conical part (18), wherein the first conical part (interior conical part) is disposed on the cannula tube (10) and widens away from the cannula tube part (as shown in fig. 4, the conical part widens upward) and wherein the second conical part (18) is disposed on the first conical part and widens towards the first conical part (as shown in fig. 2, the external conical part 18 is located on and widens towards the interior conical part).
Persson substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the connector part and tube part are formed as one piece. However, Flagler teaches the tube (12) and connector part (20, 24) are formed as one piece ([0028] lines 1-10, [0026] lines 1-15, [0034] lines 1-20 disclose over molding and injection molding to form the cannula connected as one piece). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the cannula of Persson to be formed as one piece as taught by Flagler to provide the advantage of enhanced ease in cleaning since there would be less crevices at connection points.
Regarding claim 2, Persson discloses the first conical part (interior) and the second conical part (exterior part) are adjacent to each other via a transition region (as shown in fig. 4, there is created a transition region around flange 17).
Regarding claim 3, Persson discloses the supporting wings (12) are disposed substantially in the transition region (as shown in fig. 4, the wings 12 are in the transition region).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Persson discloses the connector and tube part are formed by injection molding together in one production step ([0034] lines 1-20 of Flagler disclose that the parts are formed together as one piece via injection molding without requiring an additional fusing step).
Claim(s) 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Persson in view of Flagler, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramdohr et al. (2019/0184120).
Regarding claim 4, Persson substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the supporting wings are curved. However, Ramdohr discloses curved wings (8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wings of Persson to be curved as taught by Ramdohr to provide the advantage of enhanced accommodation of a user’s anatomy less likely to interfere with clothing since the wings stick out less.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Persson teaches (see fig. 1 of Ramdohr) wherein a radius of a curve of each of the supporting wings (8) can be disposed substantially in a transverse plane (as shown, the radius is substantially in a transverse plane).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Persson teaches (see fig. 1 of Ramdohr) the supporting wings (8) extend distally and laterally from a connection point on the connector part (as shown, the wings extend backward and laterally from the center connection point).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Persson teaches (see fig. 1 of Ramdohr ) an end of the supporting wings (8) facing away from the connection point (center) comprises a distance to a frontal plane (xy plane) on which a transition point arranged in the transition region is arranged (as shown a point is arranged in the transition region at a distance from the frontal plane).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Persson teaches (see fig. 1 of Ramdohr) wherein the distance (from the frontal plane) corresponds approximately to a width of at least one strap recess (as shown in fig. 2 of Ramdohr the strap recess extends approximately the distance) arranged in the supporting wings.
Regarding claim 9, Persson substantially teaches the claimed invention except for in that at least the cannula tube part comprises a hardness of about 60 Shore-A to about 80 Shore-A according to DIN ISO 7619-1 (2012-02). However, Ramdohr teaches a hardness of about 60 Shore-A to about 80 Shore-A ([0023] discloses 60-70 shore A which is within the claimed range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured the tube of Persson to have hardness with in the claimed range as taught by Ramdohr to provide the advantage of softness and flexibility for enhanced patient comfort and safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 2nd paragraph that figs. 2 nd 4 of Persson are different embodiments. Examiner respectfully disagrees. [0013]-[0016] of Perssons disclose that figs .4 is a plan view of the same embodiment. Thus Persson teaches the limitation as claimed.
Applicant argues on page 6 last paragraph through page 7 3rd paragraph that Persson does not teach the newly added limitations. However, Examiner notes that Flagler is now relied on. Thus the combination of Persson and Flagler teach the limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LaToya M Louis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785