DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kruse (US 20200156271).
Regarding claim 1, Kruse discloses a blade assembly (cutter head 10; see paragraph [0034]) comprising: a bracket assembly that is connectable to a hair clipping appliance (bracket 16 is connectable to hair cutting machine 202; see paragraphs [0036-0038] and fig. 4), the bracket assembly having a bracket body, the bracket body having a first side member and a second side member extending from opposite sides of a middle member, the first side member and the second side member each forming free ends on sides opposite the middle member (lateral arms 24, 26 extend from transverse arm 22 and form free ends; see fig. 4); and a holder assembly that is connectable to a fixed clipper blade, the holder assembly having a blade holder that is connectable to the fixed clipper blade (bracket 16 is connected to lower blade 12 via bolts 18, 20; see paragraph [0036]), the bracket assembly having a section of the middle member of the bracket body that is shaped to receive the blade holder and lock the fixed clipper blade in place so that the holder assembly is removably connectable to the bracket assembly (cut-out 116 can receive sections 112, 122 of retaining member 110; see paragraph [0049] and fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein the blade holder has a holder body and a depression in the holder body that forms a cam (bracket 16 includes cut-out 116 which engages section 122; see paragraphs [0036, 0049]).
Examiner notes the entirety of paragraph [0049] has been interpreted as describing the action of a rotating cam which is intended to either engage or disengage, upon rotation, to retain or free form retention respectively, the blade holder assembly respective to the attachment of a hair clipping appliance.
Regarding claim 4, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 3 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein the blade holder is removably connectable to the fixed clipper blade (bracket 16 is detachable from lower blade 12; see paragraph [0036] and fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 3 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein the middle member of the bracket body is connected to a locking lever by a rotatable fastener so that the locking lever is rotatable relative to the bracket body (bracket 16 is connected to lever 100 by bolt 68; see paragraphs [0044, 0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 5 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein the bracket assembly has a cut out section through the middle member that is shaped to receive the blade holder of the bracket assembly (cut-out 116 can receive sections 112, 122 of retaining member 110; see paragraph [0049] and fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 6 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein the bracket body is bent on opposite sides of the middle member to form the first side member and the second side member (lateral arms 24, 26 extend from transverse arm 22 and form free ends; see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 7 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein the free end of the first side member has a first ridge and the free end of the second side member has a second ridge with the first ridge and the second ridge extending inward towards one another (angled edge sections 28, 30 extend towards one another; see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 6 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein the locking lever has a locking lever arm connected to a locking lever tab (see fig. 4), so that the locking lever is rotatable relative to the bracket body between a connected position where a portion of the locking lever tab extends to overlap the cut out section, and a disconnected position where the locking lever tab does not overlap and is outside of cut out section (lever 100 is rotatable when connected to bracket 16 but can also be disconnected; see paragraph [0046] and fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 8 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses the hair clipping appliance, wherein, to connect the bracket assembly to the hair clipping appliance, a taper arm is configured to be disconnected from the hair clipping appliance so that the first ridge is slidable in a first track of a first plate connected to the hair clipping appliance and the second ridge is slidable in a second track of a second plate connected to the hair clipping appliance (angled edge sections 28, 30 are secured by support 32 when cutter head 10 is attached to hair cutting machine 202; see paragraph [0032]), and a screw is connectable through the taper arm, through an opening of the bracket assembly, through an opening of the first plate, and the hair clipping appliance to maintain the bracket assembly on the hair clipping appliance (bolt 68 is inserted into lever 100 to secure bracket 16; see paragraph [0046] and fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 5 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein the bracket assembly is connectable to the hair clipping appliance by a connection selected from the group consisting of screws, adhesive, welding, and any combination thereof (bolt 68 passes through secures bracket 16 to hair cutting machine 202; see paragraphs [0044, 0046]).
Regarding claim 12, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 9 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein, when the holder assembly is connected to the bracket assembly, the blade holder is through the cut out section of the bracket body and the locking lever is in the connected position so that the locking lever tab engages with an incline plane of the cam of the blade holder and the locking lever tab is positioned in the cam between the blade holder and the fixed clipper blade (lever 100 is positioned through cut-out 116 to engage section 122 of retaining member 110; see paragraph [0049] and fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 12 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein, when the locking lever is in the connected position and the blade holder is connected to the fixed clipper blade, the fixed clipper blade is configured to pull down tightly against the bracket body so that a deflection of a back side of the bracket body provides tension to lock the fixed clipper blade in place (lower blade 12 is tightly secured to bracket 16 when connected with lever 100, such that lower blade 12 does not move without movement of lever 100; see paragraph [0044] and fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein the bracket assembly is slidable between a longest cutting position and the close cutting position controlled by a taper arm of the hair clipping appliance when connected to the hair clipping appliance (lever 100 is actuated to adjust bracket 16; see paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses the hair clipping appliance (hair cutting machine 202; see fig. 6), and wherein the hair clipping appliance has a taper arm that is removable so that the bracket assembly is slidable off the hair clipping appliance (lever 100 can be removed from hair cutting machine 202; see paragraphs [0044, 0050]).
Regarding claim 17, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 5 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein the bracket body has a tab that extends from a side of the bracket body that is opposite to a side of the bracket body connected to the locking lever (lateral arms 24, 26 – depending on which side lever 100 is affixed to; see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Kruse discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Kruse further discloses wherein the bracket assembly is connectable to a plurality of holder assemblies (bracket 16 can be connected to different retaining members 110; see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Kruse discloses a bracket assembly comprising: a blade bracket that is connectable to a hair clipping appliance, the blade bracket having a bracket body (bracket 16 is connectable to hair cutting machine 202; see paragraphs [0036-0038] and fig. 4), the bracket body having a first side member and a second side member extending from opposite sides of a middle member, the first side member and the second side member each forming free ends on sides opposite the middle member (lateral arms 24, 26 extend from transverse arm 22 and form free ends; see fig. 4); and a locking lever connected to the middle member of the blade bracket body by a rotatable fastener so that the locking lever is rotatable relative to the blade bracket (bracket 16 is connected to lever 100 by bolt 68; see paragraphs [0044, 0046]).
Regarding claim 20, Kruse discloses a holder assembly comprising: a blade holder (bracket 16; see paragraph [0036]) with a holder body and a depression in the holder body that forms a cam (bracket 16 includes cut-out 116 which engages section 122; see paragraphs [0036, 0049]), the blade holder being connectable to a fixed clipper blade (bracket 16 is connected to lower blade 12 via bolts 18, 20; see paragraph [0036]), the blade holder being removably connectable to a middle member of a bracket assembly that has a bracket body having a first side member and a second side member extending from opposite sides of the middle member, the first side member and the second side member each forming free ends on sides opposite the middle member (lateral arms 24, 26 extend from transverse arm 22 and form free ends; see fig. 4).
Examiner notes the entirety of paragraph [0049] has been interpreted as describing the action of a rotating cam which is intended to either engage or disengage, upon rotation, to retain or free form retention respectively, the blade holder assembly respective to the attachment of a hair clipping appliance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that Kruse does not explicitly disclose a blade holder connectable to the fixed clipper blade and a bracket assembly having a section of the middle member of the bracket body shaped to receive the blade holder and lock the fixed clipper blade in place, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, Applicant states that the fixed clipper blade of the instant invention may be removed from the bracket assembly without first moving the fasteners, thus there is no need to adjust the “zero gap” during reattachment, while the device of Kruse requires that a user adjust the “zero gap” each time the fixed blade is reconnected (see pg. 8 of remarks). Examiner notes that this is interpreted as intended use, and further does not appear to be recited in the claims – thus, this limitation is not required. As presently interpreted, Kruse recites the limitations of the claims as currently recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: WO 2010112135 to Niebergall, drawn to a hair clipping machine having interchangeable clipping assembly and clipping length adjusting device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724