This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on March 23, 2026. Claims 1, 3-5,7 and 8 are pending. Claims 2 and 6 have been cancelled. Claims 1,3,4 and 7 have been amended. Claims 7 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim 1 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandhi (US2020/0163333) in view of Moreira (US 2017/0247409) for the reasons set forth below.
Claims 3-5 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandhi (US2020/0163333) in view of Moreira (US 2017/0247409) and further in view of Sawan (WO 99/40791) for the reasons set forth below.
All other rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandhi (US2020/0163333) in view of Moreira (US 2017/0247409).
Gandhi teaches preparing antimicrobial compositions including with a allophane particle carriers (paragraph 0101) and copper antimicrobials (paragraph 0093) for use in medical applications or in food packaging films (porous membrane, paragraph 0007, 0025). Gandhi teaches a composite with the composition applied to or arranged on a substrate (base material) such as food or fiber or cloth (paragraph 0025), which meets the claimed limitation of antimicrobial porous membrane arranged on a base material. Gandhi teaches mixing the antimicrobial agent with the carrier, wherein after the mixing the carrier is still in particle form and antimicrobial agents are adsorbed directly on the surface of the particles (paragraph 0026). Gandhi teaches binders are optional (paragraph 0103) so direct application can occur without a holding agent. Gandhi teaches the allophane is porous thus application of an antimicrobial composition to the surface would allow penetration of the antimicrobial composition into the carrier.
Gandhi does not teach the addition of the abietane-type diterpenoids and does not teach abietic or dehydroabietic.
Moreira teaches surfaces coated with gels of abietane-type diterpenoid compounds such as abietic acid, and dehydroabietic acid that absorb on the surface and can be used in medical devices or food related surfaces (paragraphs 0003-0004, 0050, 0178-0179; 0181, 0183).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the antimicrobial coating and film compositions (porous membranes) applied on fabric or food substrates bases of Gandhi by incorporating antimicrobial abietic acid and dehydroabietic acids as the antimicrobial treatment on the allophane carrier surface as Moreira teach these are effective antimicrobial agents used in surface coatings for medical devices of food related surfaces and when they absorb onto the surface they provide antimicrobial benefits to the treated surface. Gandhi invites the inclusion of antimicrobial agents applied on to allophane particle with direct adsorption and formed into porous films that are wrapped or coated onto medical devices and food packaging. The coatings and films are porous and can accept the coating material to permit it to be adsorbed directly on the surface of the allophane particles without a holding material as Gandhi teaches using binders are optional.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandhi (US2020/0163333) in view of Moreira (US 2017/0247409) and further in view of Sawan (WO 99/40791).
Gandhi and Moreira are relied upon as set forth above.
Gandhi and Moreira do not teach inorganic salts and metal ions of silver of copper adsorbed on the surface particle.
Sawan teaches antimicrobial film coatings on surfaces advantageously comprise silver or copper salts to provide immediate antimicrobial disinfection to the surface (page 2, lines 14-20; page 5, lines 19-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the coatings of Gandhi and Moreira by adding the copper, silver or platinum salts which include ions of the metals to provide additional antimicrobial benefit to the treatments as Sawan teaches these salts provide immediate antimicrobial disinfection to the surface in a durably non-leaching manner. The salts would adsorb onto the surface of the porous allophane particles as this is a chemical interaction that occurs by combining the identical components together.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed regarding Gandhi and Moreira alone or further in view of Sawan have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner argues Gandhi teaches a composite with the composition applied to or arranged on a substrate (base material) such as food or fiber or cloth (paragraph 0025), which meets the broad claimed limitation of antimicrobial porous membrane arranged on a base material. Applicant has not defined “arranged on a base” so a simple wrapping meets this limitation. However Gandhi does teach a composite of the composition on a base such as a fabric, which is applicant’s intended structure. Gandhi teaches mixing the antimicrobial agent with the carrier, wherein after the mixing the carrier is still in particle form and antimicrobial agents are adsorbed directly on the surface of the particles (paragraph 0026). Gandhi teaches binders are optional (paragraph 0103) so direct application can occur without a holding agent. Gandhi teaches the allophane is porous thus application of an antimicrobial composition to the surface would allow penetration of the antimicrobial composition into the carrier. It would be obvious to incorporate known antimicrobial agents such as those disclosed by Moreira as these agents are taught to produce antimicrobial benefits to surfaces they are applied to. Using a known effective antimicrobial agent to apply to a surface to enhance the antimicrobial properties of that surface is obvious especially in a coating the inclusion of antimicrobial agents. Sawan is simply relied upon to demonstrate antimicrobial film coatings on surfaces advantageously comprise silver or copper salts to provide immediate antimicrobial disinfection to the surface, the structure is already taught by Gandhi in view of Moreira. Accordingly, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMINA S KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761