DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 10-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson et al., US 2019/0130203 A1 in view of CN 112750315 A (hereinafter will be referred to as “CN ‘315”).
Regarding claim 1, Hudson teaches a bollard (100) for mounting a camera within the bollard (Figure 1), the bollard comprising:
a substantially hollow casing (behind window 112 as shown in Hudson’s Figure 2); and
a camera mount (elements behind window 112 that help to hold camera in position as shown in Figure 1) operable to attach a camera in use to an interior side of the substantially hollow casing, the camera mount comprising:
a holder (plate behind camera in Hudson’s Figure 6) for holding a camera in use; and
an attachment component (plate 138 in Hudson’s Figure 6) coupled to the holder and arranged to permit attachment of the camera mount to the bollard.
While Hudson fails to disclose that the camera is mounted at one a plurality of positions, CN ‘315 teaches a bollard onto which a camera is attached and discloses that there are multiple slots to selectively adjust the height of the camera (first paragraph on page 5 of English translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hudson’s bollard to be able to selectively adjust the height of the camera in view of CN ‘315’s disclosure to have a plurality of segments into which the camera can be inserted for the best position desired. The resulting combination includes a first mounting portion (area where the camera is mounted) within the interior of the bollard and arranged to permit mounting of the first camera at one of the plurality of first positions and the resulting combination includes the attachment component (plate 138; Hudson’s Figure 6) being couplable to the mounting portion at one of plurality of positions, thereby permitting mounting of the camera at one of the plurality of positions.
Regarding claim 4, the resulting combination includes a first window (Hudson’s 112) arranged to permit light (transparent or semi-transparent window; [0043]) to enter the interior of the bollard.
Regarding claim 6, Hudson further discloses that one camera is shown but two or more cameras can be provided to increase the areas being monitored by a particular bollard ([0055]). CN ‘315 further discloses a second camera positioned on the opposite side of the bollard to the first camera (CN ‘315’s Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bollard of the resulting combination to include a second camera mounted on the opposite side of the bollard to the first camera in view of CN ‘315’s disclosure and Hudson’s disclosure to be able to monitor a larger amount of area using only one bollard. The resulting combination makes obvious a second camera mounted within the bollard at one of a plurality of second positions in view of the resulting combination from claim 1 yielding a camera mounted within the bollard at one of a plurality of positions, since it has been held that duplication of parts for a multiplied effect is a matter of obviousness.
Regarding claim 7, the resulting combination from claim 6 includes the mounting portions being arranged to permit mounting of a first and second cameras in a back-to-back orientation (since the resulting combination includes a first and second cameras within the bollard with the cameras facing opposite directions).
Regarding claim 10, the resulting combination includes the attachment component (plate 138; Hudson’s Figure 6) being couplable to the mounting portion at one of a plurality of positions by aligning at least one of the one or more apertures (fore receiving bolts) of the attachment component with at least one of the one or more apertures of the first mounting component (clamp shown in Hudson’s Figure 6).
Regarding claim 11, the resulting combination includes the camera mount being configured to permit mounting of a camera in use in an orientation for receiving light (facing the window) entering the interior of the bollard via the window at a camera aperture of the camera (any camera must have a camera aperture to function properly).
Regarding claim 12, the resulting combination includes the window extending over a window area, with the camera mount being configured to permit mounting of a camera in use such that the aperture of the camera extends over at least a portion of the window area (shown in Hudson’s Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, the resulting combination includes the camera mount and mounting portion being configured to mount a camera, in use, in proximity with the window in order to maximize the amount of light directly received by the camera aperture and to minimize the amount of reflected light received by the camera (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, while the resulting combination fails to explicitly disclose that the camera is mounted to touch against the window, the Examiner took Official Notice in the previous office action that it is old and well-known for there to be glare which affects the photograph/image when a camera lens is facing a window. Applicant failed to challenge the Official Notice in their arguments. Under the guidelines of MPEP 2144.03, to adequately traverse Official Notice, an applicant must specifically point out the supposed errors in the Examiner's action including stating why the noticed fact is not considered to be common knowledge or well-known in the art. A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without any reference to the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice would be inadequate. Since applicant did not adequately traverse the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice, the facts are now considered to be admitted prior art (MPEP 2144.03). Applicant's traversal is considered inadequate because there was no reference to the Examiner's assertion of Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination to have the camera be mounted to touch against the window to mitigate issues from glare on the photograph/image.
Regarding claim 16, the resulting combination includes at least one surface of the bollard being planar (the top, as shown in Hudson’s Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 17, while the resulting combination fails to disclose that the mounting portion of the bollard comprises a planar surface, Hudson further discloses that the cylindrical body 106 of the bollard can be other tubular shapes besides circular such as square or other cross-sectional shapes ([0044]). In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting portion (Hudson’s 124, Figure 6) to be a tubular square instead of a cylinder since the change in shape is a matter of design choice that does not affect the function of the bollard. The resulting combination yields the mounting portion of the bollard comprising a planar surface.
Regarding claim 18, while the resulting combination fails to disclose that the mounting portion of the bollard comprises a planar surface, Hudson further discloses that the cylindrical body 106 of the bollard can be other tubular shapes besides circular such as square or other cross-sectional shapes ([0044]). In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting portion (Hudson’s 124, Figure 6) to be a tubular square instead of a cylinder since the change in shape is a matter of design choice that does not affect the function of the bollard. The resulting combination yields the planar surface (square tubular 124 after modification) of the bollard receives the camera mount.
Regarding claim 19, while the resulting combination includes Hudson’s window 112 but the window is not planar, Hudson further discloses that the cylindrical body 106 of the bollard can be other tubular shapes besides circular such as square or other cross-sectional shapes ([0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bollard of the resulting combination to be a square tubular instead of cylindrical in view of Hudson’s further disclosure. The resulting combination includes the window being planar.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson in view of CN ‘315 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Moran et al., US 11,164,452 B2.
Regarding claim 5, while the resulting combination fails to disclose that a second window is arranged to permit light having an infrared wavelength to enter the interior of the bollard, Moran teaches a bollard with a camera and discloses providing supplemental infrared light to aid the cameras’ sight (column 4 line 65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resulting combination to include a second window arranged to permit light having an infrared wavelength to enter the interior of the bollard in view of Moran’s disclosure to be able to aid the camera’s sight.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson in view of CN ‘315 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kapadia et al., US 10,741,065 B2.
Regarding claim 8, while the resulting combination fails to disclose an electric vehicle charger, Kapadia discloses a system and method for enforcing plug-in electric vehicle parking and using cameras to monitor vehicles to see if a parked vehicle is not charging from the electric vehicle service equipment system (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bollard of the resulting combination from claim 1 to include an electric vehicle charger in view of Kapadia’s disclosure that cameras can be used to monitor electric vehicle charging systems.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s main argument (on the pages numbered “6” and “7”) is that CN ‘315 teaches an externally-mounted support and that one of ordinary skill in the art would need to take steps that go beyond normal routine design because one of ordinary skill in the art “would need to make decisions about how the mount of CN-315 is to be secured to the inner pole of Hudson, how to position the mount of CN-315 relative to the window of Hudson…”, etc. However, this is an argument of bodily incorporation. The combination in the rejection does not require moving CN ‘315’s mount to be inside Hudson’s bollard. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In the rejection, CN ‘315 was relied on for the concept of having multiple slots to selectively adjust the height of a camera to modify Hudson’s camera which is already located inside of the bollard. Regarding Applicant’s argument that the combination of Hudson and CN ‘315 would create redundant camera mounts, this argument is not persuasive because that is not what the resulting combination would yield; again, the rejection does not require moving CN ‘315’s mount to Hudson.
Applicant does not provide arguments for the dependent claims, only relying on the argument for independent claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE J CHU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671