Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/19/2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "Common DC bus", "Common AC bus", "inverter", "inverter input connectors", "inverter output connector", "controller mechanically coupled to the housing", "DC load", "decentralized control signals", "centralized control signals", "cooling device mechanically coupled to the housing and electrically coupled to the controller", "communication device mechanically coupled to the housing and electrically coupled to the controller", "mounting hardware coupled to the housing", "overcurrent and overvoltage protection circuit", "panel door", "sensor coupled to the panel door", "switch coupled to the common DC bus" must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Furthermore, components that lack a label or reference numeral can fail to identify the subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/577,626 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to converting DC power through an inverter to a grid by using controllers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. In light of the applicant’s specification and applicant’s drawings, there appears to be two different embodiments being claimed in claim 1 and a plurality of controllers which makes the claims confusing, matter of fact, four controllers are being claimed in claim 1. For purposes of examination, the examiner would analyze the claims as using a centralized and local controllers coupled to inverters and a grid.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. Furthermore, claim 1 is an omnibus type claim.
Claim 4 contains the trademark/trade name "Bluetooth". Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a communication standard and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Gerhardinger et al. (US 2014/0327314 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Gerhardinger teaches a housing to house the panels (202 of fig. 11 and see fig. 1c), inverters (206, 213s) are electrically coupled to the solar panels housing, a common DC bus labeled DC BUS (204), a common AC Bus (grid line) coupled to the grid via a transformer, inverters (206), local controllers (MPPTs, 207) and the centralized controller (PLC, 209) wherein the centralized controller (209) communicates with the local controllers via the DC bus or the inverter box. Gerhardinger teaches in (see para 0072, 0052-54) a circuit that uses the voltage and current to predict a maximum power point for the inverters to operate with.
Regarding claim 2, Gerhandinger teaches the common enclosure of claim 1, further comprising a cooling device (32 and para 39) mechanically coupled to the housing and electrically coupled to the MMPT controller.
Regarding claim 3, Gerhandinger teaches the common enclosure of claim 1, further comprising a communication device (para 39, 64 and 70) mechanically coupled to the housing and electrically coupled to the controller.
Regarding claim 7, Gerhandinger teaches the common enclosure of claim 1, further comprising an overcurrent (para 43) and overvoltage (para 45) protection circuit electrically coupled to the common DC bus and the common AC bus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerhardinger et al. (US 2014/0327314 A1) and further in view of Yoscovich et al. (US Pat 9,853,565).
Regarding claim 4, Gerhandinger teaches the common enclosure of claim 1, but is silent on the teaching of the communication device includes a Bluetooth communication device.
However, Yoscovich teaches of a communication device being a Bluetooth communication device (see Yoscovich col 14:18-22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gerhandinger to include the Bluetooth communication from Yoscovich to eliminate the need of communication cables or as a backup in the case the communication wires becomes damaged.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerhardinger et al. (US 2014/0327314 A1) and further in view of Sanders et al. (US 2017/0005515 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Gerhandinger teaches the common enclosure of claim 1, but is silent on the teaching of the housing is weather resistant.
However, Sanders teaches of an enclosure being weather resistant (see Sanders para 90).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gerhandinger to include the weather resistant design of Sanders to allow the solar power equipment to survive being outside with the solar panels.
Regarding claim 6, Gerhandinger teaches the common enclosure of claim 1, but is silent on the teachings of the mounting hardware.
However, Sanders teaches the use of mounting hardware coupled to the housing (see Sanders para 94).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerhardinger et al. (US 2014/0327314 A1) and further in view of Cosley et al. (US 2012/0176732 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Gerhandinger teaches the common enclosure of claim 1, but is silent on a panel door, door sensor or being able to disconnect power when the door is opened.
However, Cosley teaches a panel door rotatably coupled to the housing (see Cosley fig 3 element 108); a sensor coupled to the panel door and configured to sense the opening of the panel door (see Cosley fig 3 element 120 and para 53); and a switch coupled to the common DC bus, wherein the controller is electrically coupled to the sensor and the switch, and is configured to open the switch to disrupt power flow through the common DC bus (see Cosley para 53).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gerhardinger to include the door safety sensor from Cosley to add a layer of safety when people are working on the equipment. Door safety sensors can be found on many industrial devices.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerhardinger et al. (US 2014/0327314 A1), and further in view of Patarroyo et al. (US 2022/0077688 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Gerhandinger teaches the common enclosure of claim 1, wherein the centralized controller executes a polynomial droop control algorithm.
However, Patarroyo teaches a polynomial droop control method (68-70 and polynomial equations 28-29 as a polynomial is a mathematical expression consisting of variables and coefficients).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gerhandinger to include the droop control method of Patarroyo to reduce the need for communication between energy sources when the load changes.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA JAMES SWEET/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836