DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of species Group (A1), each of a1, a2, a3, and a4 of Formula 1 is zero in the reply filed on 4/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2020/0251663 A1, hereafter Choi) in view of Jung et al. (“A New BODIPY Material for Pure Color and Long Lifetime Red Hyperfluorescence Organic Light-Emitting Diode”, ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 2021, vol. 13, page 17882-17891, hereafter Jung), Yamamoto et al. (US 2016/0181560 A1, hereafter Yamamoto), and Li et al. (US 2015/0162552 A1, hereafter Li).
Regarding claims 1-6 and 9-22, Choi discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising a first host, a second host, a first dopant, and a second dopant ([0007]).
Choi exemplifies an organic light emitting diode comprising a first electrode (ITO/Ag/ITO), an emitting layer (Compound H1-1, Compound H2-1, Compound D1-1, and Compound D2-1), and a second electrode (Ag:Mg) (Example 1 in [0181]-[0183]).
Choi teaches the first electrode can be a reflective electrode ([0061]), and the second electrode can be a transparent electrode ([0174]-[0175]).
Choi teaches Compound D2-25 as the second dopant ([0159]).
Jung discloses a compound (4tBuMB in Fig. 1a) used as a fluorescent dopant with a TADF sensitizer 4CzIPN in an organic light emitting diode (Abstract, Fig. 4a, and Fig. 5c). The 4CzIPN has identical structure as Compound D1-1 of Choi. Jung teaches that the compound has peak emission wavelength of 620 nm (Abstract).
Jung teaches that the compound 4tBuMB provides high PLQY with pure red region as compared to the reference compound which has identical structure as the Compound D2-25 of Choi (Abstract, page 17884, col. 1, under Results and Discussion).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the organic light emitting diode of Choi by substituting the first electrode with a reflective electrode, the second electrode with a transparent electrode, and the second dopant with Compound 4tBuMB of Jung, as taught by Choi and Jung.
The motivation of doing so would have been to 1) make a top emitting device, and 2) improved color purity with quantum efficiency, based on the teaching of Choi and Jung.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Each substitution of the electrodes and the second dopants would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung comprising a first electrode (reflective electrode), an emitting layer (Compound H1-1, Compound H2-1, Compound D1-1, and Compound 4tBuMB), and a second electrode (transparent electrode).
The device has a single light emitting layer.
Yamamoto discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising symmetric emissive layer architecture (Abstract, [0019]-[0020]) comprising two emitting parts each of which comprises three emitting layers (Fig. 5B). Yamamoto teaches that in one light emitting part at least one light emitting layer can comprise a phosphorescent dopant and at least one light emitting layer can comprise a fluorescent dopant ([0020]). Yamamoto teaches any color of emitting layers in the light emitting part including, for example, light blue/deep blue/light blue ([0047]).
Yamamoto teaches that the symmetric design provides improved color stability ([0043]).
Li discloses a compound PtN3N-ptb ([0055], Fig. 6) used as the dopant of an organic light emitting diode ([0004]). Li teaches that the peak emission wavelength of the compound Pt3N3N-ptb is around 600 nm (Fig. 6). An ordinary skill in the art would know that the compound 4tBuMB of Jung has brighter (or darker) red than the compound Pt3N3N-ptb.
Li teaches CBP can be used as the host material of the PtN3N-ptb ([0174]). CBP is encompassed by the first host compound of Formula 1 of Choi ([0007]-[0016]), indicating CBP can be used as a host in the device of Choi.
Li teaches the compound of Li provides stable and efficient red phosphorescence ([0004]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung by 1) substituting the first host Compound H1-1 of Choi (i.e. mCP) with CBP, and 2) adding light emitting layers each comprising red phosphorescent dopant of PtN3N-ptb of Li to make an organic light emitting diode having two light emitting parts, wherein each light emitting part comprises a fluorescent light emitting layer comprising Compound 4tBuMB sandwiched by two phosphorescent light emitting layers each comprising PtN3N-ptb and host CBP, as taught by Yamamoto and Li.
The motivation of doing so would have been to improve color stability, efficiency and lifetime, based on the teaching of Yamamoto and Li.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The modification provides Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung, Yamamoto, and Li comprising a first electrode (anode, reflective electrode), a first emitting part, a second emitting part, a second electrode (cathode, transparent electrode), wherein the first emitting part has a structure of a first emitting layer (CBP, PtN3N-ptb), a second emitting layer (CBP, Compound H2-1, Compound D1-1, and Compound 4tBuMB), and a first emitting layer (CBP, PtN3N-ptb); and the second emitting part has a structure of a third emitting layer (CBP, PtN3N-ptb), a fourth emitting layer (CBP, Compound H2-1, Compound D1-1, and Compound 4tBuMB), and a third emitting layer (CBP, PtN3N-ptb); and the CBP, PtN3N-ptb, D1-1, and 4tuMB are each the first, the second, the third, and the fourth compound and are same as Applicant’s Compounds H1, PD1, TD2, and FD1, respectively, meeting all the limitations of claims 1-6 and 9-19.
The Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung, Yamamoto, and Li reads on the claimed limitations above but fails to teach the properties of the device: 1) a difference between a first emission peak and a second emission peak in the fourth emitting layer is greater than a difference between a first emission peak and a second emission peak in the third emitting layer (claim 20), and 2) (i) the difference between the first emission peak and the second emission peak in the fourth emitting layer is 50 nm or less, and the difference between the first emission peak and the second emission peak in the third emitting layer is less than 30 nm or (ii) a first full width at half maximum of the fourth emitting layer is 35 nm or less and a second full width half maximum of the third emission layer is smaller than the first full with at half maximum (claim 21).
It is reasonable to presume that Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung, Yamamoto, and Li inherently possesses the claimed properties 1) and 2) .
Support for said presumption is found in the use of like materials which result in the claimed property.
The instant specification states that the organic light emitting diode according to the instant invention wherein 1) a difference between a first emission peak and a second emission peak in the fourth emitting layer is greater than a difference between a first emission peak and a second emission peak in the third emitting layer ([0013]), and 2) the difference between the first emission peak and the second emission peak in the fourth emitting layer is 50 nm or less, and the difference between the first emission peak and the second emission peak in the third emitting layer is less than 30 nm ([0014]) and a first full width at half maximum of the fourth emitting layer is 35 nm or less and a second full width half maximum of the third emission layer is smaller than the first full with at half maximum ([0015]).
The emissive spectra are determined by the light emitting material of the light emitting layers of an organic light emitting diode. The light emitting materials and the host materials of the Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung, Yamamoto, and Li each has identical structure as Applicant’s specific embodiments of H1, PD1, TD2, and FD1 in the device have identical structural features as Applicant’s device ([0008]). Therefore, the Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung, Yamamoto, and Li possesses the properties 1) and 2), meeting all the limitations of claims 20-21.
The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung, Yamamoto, and Li is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977). Reliance upon inherency is not improper even though the rejection is based on Section 103 instead of 102. In re Skoner, et al. (CCPA) 186 USPQ 80.
Choi in view of Jung, Yamamoto, and Li does not disclose a specific display device comprising a red pixel region comprising the Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung, Yamamoto, and Li; however, Choi does teach a display device comprising a pixel containing the organic light emitting device of Choi ([0034]). Choi further teaches a display device (DD in Fig. 2 and [0053]) comprising a substrate (the rectangular plate DD in Fig. 2) and pixels PXA1, PXA2, and PXA3, wherein Choi the pixels are configured to emit blue, red, and green light ([0056]). Choi teaches that at least one of pixels include an organic light emitting diode ([0058]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung, Yamamoto, and Li by incorporating it into the red pixel region of a display device, as taught by Choi.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide a display device, based on the teaching of Choi.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung, Yamamoto, and Li emits red light, because both fluorescent and phosphorescent dopant emits red light. The substitution of red emitting organic light emitting diodes in the red pixel of a display device would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides an organic light emitting display device comprising a substrate comprising a red pixel region, a green pixel region, and a blue pixel region, wherein the Organic light emitting diode of Choi as modified by Jung, Yamamoto, and Li is disposed in the red pixel region, meeting all the limitations of claims 22.
Conclusion
/SEOKMIN JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786