DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 5/11/2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 14, and 16 have been amended. Claims 10-13 are canceled. New claims 23-25 have been added.
Claims 1, 3-9, 14-16 and 18-25 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that cited prior art Cheng and Hoang do not disclose the limitations of claims 9 and 22: “the terminal device needs to be connected to a third terminal, wherein a distance between the terminal device and the second terminal is less than a distance between the third terminal and the terminal device, a distance between the second terminal and the third terminal is less than a third threshold, and a signal strength of the second terminal and a signal strength of the third terminal are higher than a fourth threshold.” Arguing that Cheng merely discloses that the remote UE may transmit the discovery solicitation message, and may monitor the discovery message, but does not involve the scenario in which triggering of transmitting the discovery request message or monitoring of the discovery message is required, let alone any specific condition on such scenario. Further arguing that Hoang merely discloses that path selection is performed based on a certain threshold when the source WTRU needs to communicate with the destination WTRU. (Remarks Pg. 12-14)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the prior art Hoang at ¶0123 it states “the method may include making a determination to transmit the discovery messages based on any of the QoS criteria and the path measurement, e.g., prior to determining the transmission parameters.” And at ¶0126 it states “determining the path measurement may include determining the path measurement as a function (metric) of (i) the first measurements, or (ii) the second measurements, or (iii) at least one of the first measurements and at least one of the second measurements.” ¶0441 discloses that the first measurement may include a distance between the first and second WTRUs and the second measurements may include a distance between the second and third WTRUs. ¶0330 discloses that the WTRU prioritizes the path satisfying criteria such as distance in each hop of the path is smaller than a threshold. Taking Fig. 4 of Hoang into consideration, it can be seen that in order to satisfy this condition, that the hop between the source and relay would be a distance that is smaller than the distance from the source to the destination, which would mean that the distance between the source and the relay is less than a distance between the destination and source. This reads on the limitation of “wherein a distance between the terminal device and the second terminal is less than a distance between the third terminal and the terminal device”, as the language presented has been interpreted as describing a means for determining that a potential relay node is closer to the source node than the destination node. The reference also discloses at ¶0131 criteria based on a distance between the first and second WRTUs. Considering that the WTRU prioritizes the path with smallest hops possible, this reads on the limitation of “a distance between the second terminal and the third terminal is less than a third threshold. The first WTRU is considered the second terminal and the second WTRU is considered the third terminal. If the hop between them satisfies the condition of smallest hop, then the distance between them is considered as less than a third threshold.
Further, Hoang discloses at ¶0160 that the source WTRU receives RSRP measurements for a first hop and second hop, which involve the RSRP measurements for a relay node and destination node. The triggering of the discovery message transmission is based on the path measurements, which in ¶0160 is further compared to a minimum of the two RSRP measurements for each hop, and is therefore considered a fourth threshold. As such, Hoang reads on “a signal strength of the second terminal and a signal strength of the third terminal are higher than a fourth threshold” as the reference describes the combined RSRP of these hops involving each of these terminals satisfying a QoS criteria by meeting the minimum RSRP measurement.
Applicants’ further arguments with respect to claims 1, 14, 16, and 23-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 has been cancelled in this amendment, therefore the claim 21 may not be a dependent of claim 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the limitation “wherein the PDCP PDU is first goes to a Radio Link Control (RLC) layer” (line 7), the underlined “is” does not need to be within the claim language, and its presence may cause confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 depends on now canceled claim 13. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 21 is not clear. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets claim 21 to be dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 14-16, and 18- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2023/0328840 A1), hereinafter “Cheng”, in view of Wu et al. (US 2020/0245394 A1), hereinafter “Wu”, and further in view of Baek et al. (US 2021/0315057 A1), hereinafter “Baek”, and further in view of Zhang (US 2021/0258764 A1), hereinafter “Zhang”, and further in view of Ma et al. (US 2019/0190587 A1), hereinafter “Ma”.
Re. Claim 1, Cheng teaches the following limitations:
A relay discovery method, (¶0012 the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for selecting the second UE for relay communications between the UE and the base station, or between the UE and a third UE, or both, based on the discovery signal [i.e. method using discovery signal for relay UE])
and parsing, by the first terminal, the discovery message to determine whether to select the second terminal as its relay terminal, (¶0140-¶0141 Once the remote UE 115-b detects a candidate relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 115-a) based on the discovery messages, the remote UE 115-b may select the candidate relay to function as a relay based on a sidelink quality satisfying a threshold or that the candidate relay can provide a connectivity service requested by the remote UE 115-a as described herein. The remote UE 115-b may evaluate the former condition by performing measurements on the discovery messages received from the candidate relay UE 115-a, and it checks the latter condition by referring to a field (e.g., a relay service code) included in the discovery messages [i.e. checking fields (parsing) of the discovery message in order to determine and select a relay UE] provided by the candidate relay UE 115-a.)
wherein said parsing, by the first terminal, the discovery message to determine whether to select the second terminal as its relay terminal comprises: parsing, by the first terminal, the discovery message, (¶0140-¶0141 Once the remote UE 115-b detects a candidate relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 115-a) based on the discovery messages, the remote UE 115-b may select the candidate relay to function as a relay based on a sidelink quality satisfying a threshold or that the candidate relay can provide a connectivity service requested by the remote UE 115-a as described herein. The remote UE 115-b may evaluate the former condition by performing measurements on the discovery messages received from the candidate relay UE 115-a, and it checks the latter condition by referring to a field (e.g., a relay service code) included in the discovery messages [i.e. checking fields (parsing) of the discovery message in order to determine and select a relay UE] provided by the candidate relay UE 115-a.)
and according to information on services supported by the second terminal included in the discovery message, determining that the second terminal is available for serving as a relay for the first terminal, (¶0140-¶0141 Once the remote UE 115-b detects a candidate relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 115-a) based on the discovery messages, the remote UE 115-b may select the candidate relay to function as a relay based on a sidelink quality satisfying a threshold or that the candidate relay can provide a connectivity service requested by the remote UE 115-a as described herein. The remote UE 115-b may evaluate the former condition by performing measurements on the discovery messages received from the candidate relay UE 115-a, and it checks the latter condition by referring to a field (e.g., a relay service code) included in the discovery messages provided by the candidate relay UE 115-a. & ¶0144 Additionally or alternatively, the remote UE 115-b may select the relay UE 115-a for relay services based on the relay UE 115-a supporting a relay or connectivity service requested by the remote UE 115-b. [i.e. the remote UE (first terminal), based on a discovery message, determines a candidate relay UE (second terminal) can provide a requested service through checking a service code (information of services supported by relay) within the discovery message, and if it matches the connectivity service requested by the remote UE then it is selected as relay UE])
Yet, Cheng does not explicitly teach receiving, by a first terminal, a discovery message transmitted by a second terminal via a Sidelink Signaling Radio Bearer (SL SRB) on a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH),
However, in the analogous art, Wu teaches:
comprising: receiving, by a first terminal, a discovery message transmitted by a second terminal via a Sidelink Signaling Radio Bearer (SL SRB) (Fig. 5 & ¶0154 At 505, the UE 115-g may transmit an RRC message to the UE 115-h. For example, the RRC message may be a connection setup request message (e.g., RRCSLSetupRequest message). The connection setup request message may carry information, such as a UE capability (e.g., an AS layer capability (e.g., AS layer IEs) of the UE 115-g), a sidelink bearer configuration, QoS-related parameters, or a Tx profile parameter, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the RRC message may include (e.g., appended or encapsulated) an upper layer signaling message. The upper layer signaling message may be a discovery request message (e.g., a DISCOVER_TARGET_REQ message) to the UE 115-h. The UE 115-g may transmit the RRC message including the upper layer signaling message (e.g., a DISCOVER_TARGET_REQ message) on a sidelink radio bearer (e.g., SL SRB0). [i.e. UE 115-h (first terminal) receives a discovery message transmitted by UE 115-g (second terminal), via SL SRB0])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Wu’s teaching of a first terminal receiving a discovery message from a second terminal using a SL SRB, because it would allow the devices to exchange upper layer signaling messages related to direct link setup messages, which reduces processer utilization and latency. (see Wu ¶0159)
Yet, the references do not explicitly teach: and selecting the second terminal as its relay terminal when measuring that a radio signal strength of the second terminal is higher than a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is configured by a network.
However, in the analogous art, Baek teaches such limitations:
and selecting the second terminal as its relay terminal when measuring that a radio signal strength of the second terminal is higher than a first threshold, (¶0168 The remote terminal may select a relay terminal from the relay terminal list, based on a received signal strength (or received signal quality) of a radio link between the remote terminal and a discovered relay terminal and/or a function of the discovered relay terminal (e.g., function indicated by a service code). In this case, the remote terminal may select a relay terminal based on parameter(s) configured by the system information and/or the dedicated signaling message (e.g., RRC signaling message) of the base station. For example, the remote terminal may select a neighboring terminal that has transmitted a reference signal having an RSRP equal to or greater than the sidelink discovery threshold (e.g., minimum RSRP threshold) set in the step S502 as the relay terminal.)
wherein the first threshold is configured by a network. (¶0168 the remote terminal may select a relay terminal based on parameter(s) configured by the system information and/or the dedicated signaling message (e.g., RRC signaling message) of the base station. For example, the remote terminal may select a neighboring terminal that has transmitted a reference signal having an RSRP equal to or greater than the sidelink discovery threshold (e.g., minimum RSRP threshold) [i.e. RSRP threshold (first threshold) configured by base station (network)] set in the step S502 as the relay terminal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng and Wu’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Baek’s teaching of selecting a second terminal as a relay UE when it meets or exceeds a preconfigured threshold, because it would enable the device to determine a relay terminal for a remote terminal thereby improving service coverage and performance of the system. (see Baek ¶0025)
Although Cheng discloses a discovery message being received by a first terminal from a second terminal via a SL SRB, the references do not explicitly teach “on a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH),”
However, in the analogous art, Zhang teaches:
receiving, by a first terminal, a discovery message transmitted by a second terminal via a Sidelink Signaling Radio Bearer (SL SRB) on a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH), (Abstract: discovery messages are carried on either the PSCCH or the PSSCH or both. & ¶0048 UE 102 (or UE 104), during a subframe, wirelessly transmits a data message (e.g., a MAC PDU) on the PSSCH, wherein the data message includes a discovery message (e.g., a service data unit (SDU) of the data message may contain the discovery message). This configuration can be used to support the transmission of discovery messages with varied payload sizes, especially when the payload size is large and cannot be carried on PSCCH in one subframe. The discovery message can be multiplexed with other SL data on different logical channels in the same PSSCH MAC PDU.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, and Baek’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Zhang’s teaching of a discovery message being transmitted via PSSCH, because it would allow the discovery message to be multiplexed with sidelink data, which better utilizes transmission resources. (see Zhang ¶0048)
Although Wu describes a discovery message transmitted on SL SRB0, the references do not explicitly teach: wherein the SL SRB is different from SRB0 to SRB3;
However, in the analogous art, Ma teaches:
wherein the SL SRB is different from SRB0 to SRB3; (Fig. 4 & ¶0182 It may be understood that after the SRB 4 between the relay UE and the eNB is set up, the SRB 0 message between the remote UE and the eNB may be transmitted on the SRB 4. ¶ the relay UE sets up an SRB4 based on the SRB4 configuration information, to transmit a specific access network layer 2 message between the remote device and the network device)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, and Zhang’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Ma’s teaching of the SL SRB being different from SRB0 to SRB3, because it would allow the device to use SL SRB4 for messaging between two terminals (see Ma ¶0181-¶0182)
Re. Claim 3, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 1.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein said receiving, by the first terminal, the discovery message transmitted by the second terminal via the SL SRB (¶0083 A remote UE [i.e. a first terminal] may discover a relay UE based on discovery messages (also referred to as discovery signals) broadcasted from the relay UE and received at the remote UE [i.e. discovery message broadcasted (transmitted) by a relay UE (second terminal) and received by remote UE (first terminal)] as described herein. & ¶0115 the discovery procedure and/or connection establishment procedure is performed by using a signaling radio bearer (SRB) of the PC5 link. & ¶0108 The PC5 interface is a sidelink interface between the remote terminal and the relay terminal. [i.e. discovery procedure is performed using a SRB on a sidelink interface, therefore is considered a sidelink signaling radio bearer SL SRB])
further comprises: receiving, by the first terminal, a discovery announcement message transmitted periodically by the second terminal via the SL SRB. (¶0083 A remote UE may discover a relay UE based on discovery messages (also referred to as discovery signals) broadcasted from the relay UE and received at the remote UE & ¶0138 The remote UE 115-b may identify a presence of at least one suitable relay UE 115 to request relay service in its proximity based on the discovery messages. To enable identification, the relay UE 115-a may announce its presence by transmitting sidelink discovery messages periodically [i.e. remote UE (first terminal) receives transmitted discovery announcement messages transmitted by the relay UE (second terminal)] & ¶0115 the discovery procedure and/or connection establishment procedure is performed by using a signaling radio bearer (SRB) of the PC5 link. & ¶0108 The PC5 interface is a sidelink interface between the remote terminal and the relay terminal.)
Re. Claim 8, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 1.
Cheng further teaches:
further comprising: transmitting, by the first terminal, a discovery request message via the SL SRB, (¶0083 the remote UE may announce sidelink discovery solicitation messages to which a relay UE may respond. These discovery messages may include certain information that could be used by the remote UE or the relay UE, or both, to establish a sidelink (also referred to as a sidelink connection) used to relay transmissions to and from the base station [i.e. discovery solicitation messages (discovery request message) from a remote UE (first terminal) and received by relay UE (second terminal)] & ¶0115 the discovery procedure and/or connection establishment procedure is performed by using a signaling radio bearer (SRB) of the PC5 link. & ¶0108 The PC5 interface is a sidelink interface between the remote terminal and the relay terminal. [i.e. discovery procedure is performed using a SRB on a sidelink interface, therefore is considered a sidelink signaling radio bearer SL SRB])
wherein said receiving, by the first terminal, the discovery message transmitted by the second terminal via the SL SRB (¶0083 A remote UE may discover a relay UE based on discovery messages (also referred to as discovery signals) broadcasted from the relay UE and received at the remote UE [i.e. discovery message broadcasted (transmitted) by a relay UE (second terminal) and received by remote UE (first terminal)] as described herein. & ¶0115 the discovery procedure and/or connection establishment procedure is performed by using a signaling radio bearer (SRB) of the PC5 link. & ¶0108 The PC5 interface is a sidelink interface between the remote terminal and the relay terminal. [i.e. discovery procedure is performed using a SRB on a sidelink interface, therefore is considered a sidelink signaling radio bearer SL SRB])
comprises: receiving, by the first terminal, a discovery response message transmitted by the second terminal via the SL SRB. (¶0083 discovery messages (also referred to as discovery signals) & ¶0254-¶0257 Example 1: A method for wireless communication at a UE is described. & Example 2: The method of example 1, further comprising: monitoring a sidelink channel to receive a discovery signal from a second UE during an active duration of a discontinuous reception cycle based at least in part on the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration; and receiving the discovery signal from the second UE based at least in part on the monitoring. & Example 4: The method of examples 2 to 3, further comprising: broadcasting a discovery request message during the active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle based at least in part on the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration; monitoring the sidelink channel to receive a discovery response message from the second UE during the active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle; and receiving the discovery response message from the second UE based at least in part on the monitoring, the discovery signal comprising the discovery response message. [i.e. a remote UE (first terminal) receives discovery response message from a second UE (second terminal)])
Re. Claim 14, Cheng teaches the following limitations:
A relay discovery method, (¶0012 the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for selecting the second UE for relay communications between the UE and the base station, or between the UE and a third UE, or both, based on the discovery signal [i.e. method using discovery signal for relay UE])
such that the first terminal parses the discovery message to determine whether to select the second terminal as its relay terminal, (¶0140-¶0141 Once the remote UE 115-b detects a candidate relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 115-a) based on the discovery messages, the remote UE 115-b may select the candidate relay to function as a relay based on a sidelink quality satisfying a threshold or that the candidate relay can provide a connectivity service requested by the remote UE 115-a as described herein. The remote UE 115-b may evaluate the former condition by performing measurements on the discovery messages received from the candidate relay UE 115-a, and it checks the latter condition by referring to a field (e.g., a relay service code) included in the discovery messages [i.e. checking fields (parsing) of the discovery message in order to determine and select a relay UE] provided by the candidate relay UE 115-a.)
wherein that the first terminal parses the discovery message to determine whether to select the second terminal as its relay terminal comprises that: the first terminal parses the discovery message, (¶0140-¶0141 Once the remote UE 115-b detects a candidate relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 115-a) based on the discovery messages, the remote UE 115-b may select the candidate relay to function as a relay based on a sidelink quality satisfying a threshold or that the candidate relay can provide a connectivity service requested by the remote UE 115-a as described herein. The remote UE 115-b may evaluate the former condition by performing measurements on the discovery messages received from the candidate relay UE 115-a, and it checks the latter condition by referring to a field (e.g., a relay service code) included in the discovery messages [i.e. checking fields (parsing) of the discovery message in order to determine and select a relay UE] provided by the candidate relay UE 115-a.)
and according to information on services supported by the second terminal included in the discovery message, determines that the second terminal is available for serving as a relay for the first terminal, (¶0140-¶0141 Once the remote UE 115-b detects a candidate relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 115-a) based on the discovery messages, the remote UE 115-b may select the candidate relay to function as a relay based on a sidelink quality satisfying a threshold or that the candidate relay can provide a connectivity service requested by the remote UE 115-a as described herein. The remote UE 115-b may evaluate the former condition by performing measurements on the discovery messages received from the candidate relay UE 115-a, and it checks the latter condition by referring to a field (e.g., a relay service code) included in the discovery messages provided by the candidate relay UE 115-a. & ¶0144 Additionally or alternatively, the remote UE 115-b may select the relay UE 115-a for relay services based on the relay UE 115-a supporting a relay or connectivity service requested by the remote UE 115-b. [i.e. the remote UE (first terminal), based on a discovery message, determines a candidate relay UE (second terminal) can provide a requested service through checking a service code (information of services supported by relay) within the discovery message, and if it matches the connectivity service requested by the remote UE then it is selected as relay UE])
Yet, Cheng does not explicitly teach: comprising: transmitting, by a second terminal, a discovery message to a first terminal via a Sidelink Signaling Radio Bearer (SL SRB) on a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH),
However, in the analogous art, Wu teaches:
comprising: transmitting, by a second terminal, a discovery message to a first terminal via a Sidelink Signaling Radio Bearer (SL SRB) (Fig. 5 & ¶0154 At 505, the UE 115-g may transmit an RRC message to the UE 115-h. For example, the RRC message may be a connection setup request message (e.g., RRCSLSetupRequest message). The connection setup request message may carry information, such as a UE capability (e.g., an AS layer capability (e.g., AS layer IEs) of the UE 115-g), a sidelink bearer configuration, QoS-related parameters, or a Tx profile parameter, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the RRC message may include (e.g., appended or encapsulated) an upper layer signaling message. The upper layer signaling message may be a discovery request message (e.g., a DISCOVER_TARGET_REQ message) to the UE 115-h. The UE 115-g may transmit the RRC message including the upper layer signaling message (e.g., a DISCOVER_TARGET_REQ message) on a sidelink radio bearer (e.g., SL SRB0). [i.e. UE 115-h (first terminal) receives a discovery message transmitted by UE 115-g (second terminal), via SL SRB0])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Wu’s teaching of a first terminal receiving a discovery message from a second terminal using a SL SRB, because it would allow the devices to exchange upper layer signaling messages related to direct link setup messages, which reduces processer utilization and latency. (see Wu ¶0159)
Yet, the references do not explicitly teach: and selects the second terminal as its relay terminal when measuring that a radio signal strength of the second terminal is higher than a first threshold; wherein the first threshold is configured by a network.
However, in the analogous art, Baek explicitly discloses such limitations:
and selects the second terminal as its relay terminal when measuring that a radio signal strength of the second terminal is higher than a first threshold (¶0168 The remote terminal may select a relay terminal from the relay terminal list, based on a received signal strength (or received signal quality) of a radio link between the remote terminal and a discovered relay terminal and/or a function of the discovered relay terminal (e.g., function indicated by a service code). In this case, the remote terminal may select a relay terminal based on parameter(s) configured by the system information and/or the dedicated signaling message (e.g., RRC signaling message) of the base station. For example, the remote terminal may select a neighboring terminal that has transmitted a reference signal having an RSRP equal to or greater than the sidelink discovery threshold (e.g., minimum RSRP threshold) set in the step S502 as the relay terminal.)
wherein the first threshold is configured by a network. (¶0168 the remote terminal may select a relay terminal based on parameter(s) configured by the system information and/or the dedicated signaling message (e.g., RRC signaling message) of the base station. For example, the remote terminal may select a neighboring terminal that has transmitted a reference signal having an RSRP equal to or greater than the sidelink discovery threshold (e.g., minimum RSRP threshold) [i.e. RSRP threshold (first threshold) configured by base station (network)] set in the step S502 as the relay terminal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng and Wu’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Baek’s teaching of selecting a second terminal as a relay UE when it meets or exceeds a preconfigured threshold, because it would enable the device to determine a relay terminal for a remote terminal thereby improving service coverage and performance of the system. (see Baek ¶0025)
Although Cheng discloses a discovery message being received by a first terminal from a second terminal via a SL SRB, the references do not explicitly teach “on a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH),”
However, in the analogous art, Zhang teaches:
transmitting, by a second terminal, a discovery message to a first terminal via a Sidelink Signaling Radio Bearer (SL SRB) on a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) (Abstract: discovery messages are carried on either the PSCCH or the PSSCH or both. & ¶0048 UE 102 (or UE 104), during a subframe, wirelessly transmits a data message (e.g., a MAC PDU) on the PSSCH, wherein the data message includes a discovery message (e.g., a service data unit (SDU) of the data message may contain the discovery message). This configuration can be used to support the transmission of discovery messages with varied payload sizes, especially when the payload size is large and cannot be carried on PSCCH in one subframe. The discovery message can be multiplexed with other SL data on different logical channels in the same PSSCH MAC PDU.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, and Baek’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Zhang’s teaching of a discovery message being transmitted via PSSCH, because it would allow the discovery message to be multiplexed with sidelink data, which better utilizes transmission resources. (see Zhang ¶0048)
Although Wu describes a discovery message transmitted on SL SRB0, the references do not explicitly teach: wherein the SL SRB is different from SRB0 to SRB3;
However, in the analogous art, Ma teaches:
wherein the SL SRB is different from SRB0 to SRB3; (Fig. 4 & ¶0182 It may be understood that after the SRB 4 between the relay UE and the eNB is set up, the SRB 0 message between the remote UE and the eNB may be transmitted on the SRB 4. ¶ the relay UE sets up an SRB4 based on the SRB4 configuration information, to transmit a specific access network layer 2 message between the remote device and the network device)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, and Zhang’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Ma’s teaching of the SL SRB being different from SRB0 to SRB3, because it would allow the device to use SL SRB4 for messaging between two terminals (see Ma ¶0181-¶0182)
Re. Claim 15, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 14.
Cheng further teaches the following limitations:
further comprising: receiving, by the second terminal, a discovery request message transmitted by the first terminal via the SL SRB, (¶0083 the remote UE may announce sidelink discovery solicitation messages to which a relay UE may respond. These discovery messages may include certain information that could be used by the remote UE or the relay UE, or both, to establish a sidelink (also referred to as a sidelink connection) used to relay transmissions to and from the base station [i.e. discovery solicitation messages (discovery request message) from a remote UE (first terminal) and received by relay UE (second terminal)] & ¶0115 the discovery procedure and/or connection establishment procedure is performed by using a signaling radio bearer (SRB) of the PC5 link. & ¶0108 The PC5 interface is a sidelink interface between the remote terminal and the relay terminal. [i.e. discovery procedure is performed using a SRB on a sidelink interface, therefore is considered a sidelink signaling radio bearer SL SRB])
wherein said transmitting, by the second terminal, the discovery message to the first terminal via the SL SRB (¶0083 discovery messages (also referred to as discovery signals) & ¶0254-¶0257 Example 1: A method for wireless communication at a UE is described. & Example 2: The method of example 1, further comprising: monitoring a sidelink channel to receive a discovery signal from a second UE during an active duration of a discontinuous reception cycle based at least in part on the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration; and receiving the discovery signal from the second UE based at least in part on the monitoring. [i.e. a remote UE (first terminal) receives discovery message (transmitted) from a second UE (second terminal)])
further comprises: transmitting, by the second terminal, a discovery response message to the first terminal via the SL SRB. (¶0083 discovery messages (also referred to as discovery signals) & ¶0254-¶0257 Example 1: A method for wireless communication at a UE is described. & Example 2: The method of example 1, further comprising: monitoring a sidelink channel to receive a discovery signal from a second UE during an active duration of a discontinuous reception cycle based at least in part on the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration; and receiving the discovery signal from the second UE based at least in part on the monitoring. & Example 4: The method of examples 2 to 3, further comprising: broadcasting a discovery request message during the active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle based at least in part on the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration; monitoring the sidelink channel to receive a discovery response message from the second UE during the active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle; and receiving the discovery response message from the second UE based at least in part on the monitoring, the discovery signal comprising the discovery response message. [i.e. a remote UE (first terminal) receives discovery response message (transmitted) from a second UE (second terminal)])
Re. Claim 16, Cheng teaches the following limitations:
A terminal device (Fig. 2 & ¶0084 Upon detecting a candidate relay UE, based on the discovery messages, the remote UE may select the candidate relay UE to function as a relay based on a sidelink quality satisfying a threshold or that the candidate relay UE can provide a connectivity service requested by the remote UE, or the like. & ¶0092 A UE 115 may include or may be referred to as a mobile device, a wireless device, a remote device, a handheld device, or a subscriber device, or some other suitable terminology, where the “device” may also be referred to as a unit, a station, a terminal, or a client, among other examples. The UEs 115 described herein may be able to communicate with various types of devices, such as other UEs 115 that may sometimes act as relays)
comprising a processor and a memory, (¶0206 FIG. 11 shows a diagram of a system 1100 including a device 1105 in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1105 may be an example of or include the components of device 805, device 905, or a UE 115 as described herein. The device 1105 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including a UE communications manager 1110, an I/O controller 1115, a transceiver 1120, an antenna 1125, memory 1130, and a processor 1140.)
wherein the memory has a computer program stored thereon, (¶0214 The processor 1140 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory)
and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to: (¶0214 The processor 1140 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1130) to cause the device 1105 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting DRX for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems).)
and parse the discovery message to determine whether to select the second terminal as its relay terminal. (¶0140-¶0141 Once the remote UE 115-b detects a candidate relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 115-a) based on the discovery messages, the remote UE 115-b may select the candidate relay to function as a relay based on a sidelink quality satisfying a threshold or that the candidate relay can provide a connectivity service requested by the remote UE 115-a as described herein. The remote UE 115-b may evaluate the former condition by performing measurements on the discovery messages received from the candidate relay UE 115-a, and it checks the latter condition by referring to a field (e.g., a relay service code) included in the discovery messages [i.e. checking fields (parsing) of the discovery message in order to determine and select a relay UE] provided by the candidate relay UE 115-a.)
wherein the processor is further configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to: parse the discovery message, (¶0141 The remote UE 115-b may evaluate the former condition by performing measurements on the discovery messages received from the candidate relay UE 115-a, and it checks the latter condition by referring to a field (e.g., a relay service code) included in the discovery messages [i.e. checking fields (parsing) of the discovery message in order to determine and select a relay UE] provided by the candidate relay UE 115-a. & ¶0214 The processor 1140 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1130) to cause the device 1105 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting DRX for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems).)
and according to information on services supported by the second terminal included in the discovery message, determine that the second terminal is available for serving as a relay for the first terminal, (¶0140-¶0141 Once the remote UE 115-b detects a candidate relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 115-a) based on the discovery messages, the remote UE 115-b may select the candidate relay to function as a relay based on a sidelink quality satisfying a threshold or that the candidate relay can provide a connectivity service requested by the remote UE 115-a as described herein. The remote UE 115-b may evaluate the former condition by performing measurements on the discovery messages received from the candidate relay UE 115-a, and it checks the latter condition by referring to a field (e.g., a relay service code) included in the discovery messages provided by the candidate relay UE 115-a. & ¶0144 Additionally or alternatively, the remote UE 115-b may select the relay UE 115-a for relay services based on the relay UE 115-a supporting a relay or connectivity service requested by the remote UE 115-b. [i.e. the remote UE (first terminal), based on a discovery message, determines a candidate relay UE (second terminal) can provide a requested service through checking a service code (information of services supported by relay) within the discovery message, and if it matches the connectivity service requested by the remote UE then it is selected as relay UE])
Yet, Cheng does not explicitly teach: receive a discovery message transmitted by a second terminal via a Sidelink Signaling Radio Bearer (SL SRB) on a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH),
However, in the analogous art, Wu teaches:
receive a discovery message transmitted by a second terminal via a Sidelink Signaling Radio Bearer (SL SRB) (Fig. 5 & ¶0154 At 505, the UE 115-g may transmit an RRC message to the UE 115-h. For example, the RRC message may be a connection setup request message (e.g., RRCSLSetupRequest message). The connection setup request message may carry information, such as a UE capability (e.g., an AS layer capability (e.g., AS layer IEs) of the UE 115-g), a sidelink bearer configuration, QoS-related parameters, or a Tx profile parameter, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the RRC message may include (e.g., appended or encapsulated) an upper layer signaling message. The upper layer signaling message may be a discovery request message (e.g., a DISCOVER_TARGET_REQ message) to the UE 115-h. The UE 115-g may transmit the RRC message including the upper layer signaling message (e.g., a DISCOVER_TARGET_REQ message) on a sidelink radio bearer (e.g., SL SRB0). [i.e. UE 115-h (first terminal) receives a discovery message transmitted by UE 115-g (second terminal), via SL SRB0])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Wu’s teaching of a first terminal receiving a discovery message from a second terminal using a SL SRB, because it would allow the devices to exchange upper layer signaling messages related to direct link setup messages, which reduces processer utilization and latency. (see Wu ¶0159)
Yet, the references do not explicitly teach: and select the second terminal as its relay terminal when measuring that a radio signal strength of the second terminal is higher than a first threshold; wherein the first threshold is configured by a network.
However, in the analogous art, Baek explicitly discloses such limitations:
and select the second terminal as its relay terminal when measuring that a radio signal strength of the second terminal is higher than a first threshold (¶0168 The remote terminal may select a relay terminal from the relay terminal list, based on a received signal strength (or received signal quality) of a radio link between the remote terminal and a discovered relay terminal and/or a function of the discovered relay terminal (e.g., function indicated by a service code). In this case, the remote terminal may select a relay terminal based on parameter(s) configured by the system information and/or the dedicated signaling message (e.g., RRC signaling message) of the base station. For example, the remote terminal may select a neighboring terminal that has transmitted a reference signal having an RSRP equal to or greater than the sidelink discovery threshold (e.g., minimum RSRP threshold) set in the step S502 as the relay terminal.)
wherein the first threshold is configured by a network. (¶0168 the remote terminal may select a relay terminal based on parameter(s) configured by the system information and/or the dedicated signaling message (e.g., RRC signaling message) of the base station. For example, the remote terminal may select a neighboring terminal that has transmitted a reference signal having an RSRP equal to or greater than the sidelink discovery threshold (e.g., minimum RSRP threshold) [i.e. RSRP threshold (first threshold) configured by base station (network)] set in the step S502 as the relay terminal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng and Wu’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Baek’s teaching of selecting a second terminal as a relay UE when it meets or exceeds a preconfigured threshold, because it would enable the device to determine a relay terminal for a remote terminal thereby improving service coverage and performance of the system. (see Baek ¶0025)
Although Cheng discloses a discovery message being received by a first terminal from a second terminal via a SL SRB, the references do not explicitly teach “on a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH),”
However, in the analogous art, Zhang teaches:
receiving, by a first terminal, a discovery message transmitted by a second terminal via a Sidelink Signaling Radio Bearer (SL SRB) on a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH), (Abstract: discovery messages are carried on either the PSCCH or the PSSCH or both. & ¶0048 UE 102 (or UE 104), during a subframe, wirelessly transmits a data message (e.g., a MAC PDU) on the PSSCH, wherein the data message includes a discovery message (e.g., a service data unit (SDU) of the data message may contain the discovery message). This configuration can be used to support the transmission of discovery messages with varied payload sizes, especially when the payload size is large and cannot be carried on PSCCH in one subframe. The discovery message can be multiplexed with other SL data on different logical channels in the same PSSCH MAC PDU.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, and Baek’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Zhang’s teaching of a discovery message being transmitted via PSSCH, because it would allow the discovery message to be multiplexed with sidelink data, which better utilizes transmission resources. (see Zhang ¶0048)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the SL SRB is different from SRB0 to SRB3;
However, in the analogous art, Ma teaches:
wherein the SL SRB is different from SRB0 to SRB3; (Fig. 4 & ¶0182 It may be understood that after the SRB 4 between the relay UE and the eNB is set up, the SRB 0 message between the remote UE and the eNB may be transmitted on the SRB 4. ¶ the relay UE sets up an SRB4 based on the SRB4 configuration information, to transmit a specific access network layer 2 message between the remote device and the network device)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, and Zhang’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Ma’s teaching of the SL SRB being different from SRB0 to SRB3, because it would allow the device to use SL SRB4 for messaging between two terminals (see Ma ¶0181-¶0182)
Re. Claim 18, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 16.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to: (¶0214 The processor 1140 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1130) to cause the device 1105 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting DRX for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems).)
The remaining limitations of claim 18 are similar to the limitations of Claim 8, therefore the rejection is also similar.
Re. Claim 19, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 14.
Cheng further teaches:
A terminal device, (Fig. 2 & ¶0084 Upon detecting a candidate relay UE, based on the discovery messages, the remote UE may select the candidate relay UE to function as a relay based on a sidelink quality satisfying a threshold or that the candidate relay UE can provide a connectivity service requested by the remote UE, or the like. & ¶0092 A UE 115 may include or may be referred to as a mobile device, a wireless device, a remote device, a handheld device, or a subscriber device, or some other suitable terminology, where the “device” may also be referred to as a unit, a station, a terminal, or a client, among other examples. The UEs 115 described herein may be able to communicate with various types of devices, such as other UEs 115 that may sometimes act as relays [i.e. relay UE (terminal device)])
comprising a processor and a memory, (¶0206 FIG. 11 shows a diagram of a system 1100 including a device 1105 in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1105 may be an example of or include the components of device 805, device 905, or a UE 115 as described herein. The device 1105 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including a UE communications manager 1110, an I/O controller 1115, a transceiver 1120, an antenna 1125, memory 1130, and a processor 1140.)
wherein the memory has a computer program stored thereon, (¶0214 The processor 1140 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory)
and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform the method according to claim 14. (¶0214 The processor 1140 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1130) to cause the device 1105 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting DRX for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems).)
Re. Claim 20, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 19.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to: (¶0214 The processor 1140 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1130) to cause the device 1105 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting DRX for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems).)
receive a discovery request message transmitted by the first terminal via the SL SRB, (¶0083 the remote UE may announce sidelink discovery solicitation messages to which a relay UE may respond. These discovery messages may include certain information that could be used by the remote UE or the relay UE, or both, to establish a sidelink (also referred to as a sidelink connection) used to relay transmissions to and from the base station [i.e. discovery solicitation messages (discovery request message) from a remote UE (first terminal) and received by relay UE (second terminal)] & ¶0115 the discovery procedure and/or connection establishment procedure is performed by using a signaling radio bearer (SRB) of the PC5 link. & ¶0108 The PC5 interface is a sidelink interface between the remote terminal and the relay terminal. [i.e. discovery procedure is performed using a SRB on a sidelink interface, therefore is considered a sidelink signaling radio bearer SL SRB])
wherein the processor is further configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to: transmit a discovery response message to the first terminal via the SL SRB. (¶0083 discovery messages (also referred to as discovery signals) & ¶0254-¶0257 Example 1: A method for wireless communication at a UE is described. & Example 2: The method of example 1, further comprising: monitoring a sidelink channel to receive a discovery signal from a second UE during an active duration of a discontinuous reception cycle based at least in part on the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration; and receiving the discovery signal from the second UE based at least in part on the monitoring. & Example 4: The method of examples 2 to 3, further comprising: broadcasting a discovery request message during the active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle based at least in part on the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration; monitoring the sidelink channel to receive a discovery response message from the second UE during the active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle; and receiving the discovery response message from the second UE based at least in part on the monitoring, the discovery signal comprising the discovery response message. [i.e. a remote UE (first terminal) receives discovery response message from a second UE (second terminal)])
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma, and further in view of Koziol et al. (WO 2018/0071517 A1, previously cited in PTO-892 filed 3/27/2025), hereinafter referred to as Koziol.
Re. Claim 4, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 3.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the discovery announcement message comprises at least a transmission period.
However, in the analogous art, Koziol explicitly teaches such a limitation:
the discovery announcement message comprises at least a transmission period. (¶0064 the remote UE 110 can optionally monitor (block 365) for the response in the subsequent time periods if provided in the relay discovery message [i.e. transmission period provided with relay discovery announcement] or configured by the network or according to specified behavior. Concerning these time periods, the time period here refers to the reoccurring or recurrence of the targeted resource(s) within a discovery time period.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Koziol’s teaching of a discovery announcement message comprising a transmission period, because it would decrease power consumption by only monitoring for transmission during a specific period of time. (see Koziol ¶0039)
Re. Claim 5, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, Ma, and Koziol teaches claim 4.
Koziol further teaches:
further comprising: receiving, by the first terminal, the discovery announcement message from the second terminal periodically via the SL SRB based on the transmission period after obtaining the transmission period. (¶0064 the remote UE [i.e. first terminal] 110 can optionally monitor (block 365) for the response in the subsequent time periods if provided in the relay discovery message [i.e. receiving/monitoring during transmission period based on received transmission period information] or configured by the network or according to specified behavior. & ¶0053 Currently in order to perform relay discovery, the remote UE 110 can use either Model A or Model B discovery as described in "3GPP TS 23.303, Proximity-based services (ProSe); Stage 2". Each of these models requires a remote UE [i.e. first terminal] 110 to listen to a sidelink discovery channel [i.e. a SL SRB] and detect Discovery Announcement or Discovery Response messages in the discovery resource pool (e.g., meaning time/frequency resources dedicated to sidelink discovery), which is either pre- configured on the UE 110 or provided to the UE 110 from the network (e.g., the eNB 170) by the means of broadcast or dedicated signaling.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, Ma’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Koziol’s teaching of a discovery announcement message being transmitting and received during a transmission period after obtaining the transmission period, because it would decrease power consumption by only monitoring for transmission during a specific period of time. (see Koziol ¶0039)
Re. Claim 6, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, Ma, and Koziol teaches claim 4.
Koziol further teaches:
wherein the transmission period is equal to a period of radio resources on which the discovery announcement message is transmitted. (¶0064 the remote UE 110 can optionally monitor (block 365) for the response in the subsequent time periods if provided in the relay discovery message [i.e. transmission period provided with relay discovery announcement] or configured by the network or according to specified behavior. Concerning these time periods, the time period here refers to the reoccurring or recurrence of the targeted resource(s) within a discovery time period.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Koziol’s teaching of a transmission period being equal to a period of radio resources required for transmitting an announcement message, because it would decrease power consumption by only monitoring for transmission during a specific period of time. (see Koziol ¶0039)
Re. Claim 7, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, Ma, and Koziol teaches claim 6.
Koziol further teaches:
wherein the period of the radio resources is a period of pre-configured radio resources configured by a network, or a period of radio resources obtained autonomously by the second terminal. (¶0064 the remote UE 110 can optionally monitor (block 365) for the response in the subsequent time periods if provided in the relay discovery message or configured by the network [i.e. pre-configured radio resources by a network] or according to specified behavior. Concerning these time periods, the time period here refers to the reoccurring or recurrence of the targeted resource(s) within a discovery time period. [i.e. period of radio resources])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Koziol’s teaching of a period of radio resources being a period of radio resources pre-configured by the network, because it would decrease power consumption by only monitoring for transmission during a specific period of time. (see Koziol ¶0039)
Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma, and further in view of Hoang et al. (US 2023/0300713 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hoang.
Re. Claim 9, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 8.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein the first terminal triggers transmission of the discovery request message or monitors the discovery message (¶0083-¶0084 A remote UE may discover a relay UE based on discovery messages (also referred to as discovery signals) broadcasted from the relay UE and received at the remote UE as described herein. In another example, the remote UE may announce sidelink discovery solicitation messages to which a relay UE may respond. [i.e. remote UE (first terminal) triggers transmission of discovery solicitation messages (discovery request message)] & While in the power saving mode, the remote UE may power-ON appropriate circuitry for some period to monitor a wireless channel for discovery messages from other UEs. [i.e. remote UE (first terminal) can also monitor for discovery messages])
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: in the following case: the first terminal needs to be connected to a third terminal, wherein a distance between the first terminal and the second terminal is less than a distance between the third terminal and the first terminal, a distance between the second terminal and the third terminal is less than a third threshold, and a signal strength of the second terminal and a signal strength of the third terminal are higher than a fourth threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Hoang teaches such limitations:
in the following case: the first terminal needs to be connected to a third terminal, (¶0331 as illustrated in FIG. 4, a destination WTRU has two paths between a source WTRU and the destination WTRU from which to select. [i.e. source WTRU (first terminal) needs connected to destination WTRU (third terminal)])
wherein a distance between the first terminal and the second terminal is less than a distance between the third terminal and the first terminal, (¶0155-¶0157 In various embodiments, the one or more sidelink measurements may include a first sidelink measurement associated with the first hop. In various embodiments, the one or more sidelink measurements may include a second sidelink measurement associated with the second hop. the first sidelink measurement may include any of a CQI, an RSRP, an RSRQ, a pathgain, a pathloss, a distance between the first sidelink relay and the first WTRU. & ¶0235 the sidelink relay may receive a location of a source WTRU and/or a destination WTRU, and may determine whether to act as a relay for that source WTRU and/or destination WTRU based on a distance to the source WTRU and/or the destination WTRU. & ¶0315 the WTRU may relay [i.e. a second terminal (a relay terminal)] the message if the distance between the WTRU and the source WTRU [i.e. distance between second terminal and first terminal] and/or the distance between the WTRU and the destination WTRU is larger than one (pre-)configured threshold and/or smaller than another (pre-)configured threshold. [i.e. a scenario where a WTRU operating as relay (a second terminal) and the source (first terminal) is less than a threshold, the threshold being defined in further citations] & ¶0330-¶0332 A WTRU may prioritize the path with a smaller number of hops. For example, the WTRU may prioritize a path having smaller number of hops if other criteria are satisfied. The other criteria may include any of the following: (i) a sidelink measurement in each hop of the path is larger than a threshold; and (ii) a distance in each hop of the path is smaller than a threshold. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, a destination WTRU has two paths between a source WTRU and the destination WTRU from which to select. The first path is a direct link (i.e., a single hop) between the source and the destination WTRUs. The second path is via a relay WTRU (e.g., two hops). The WTRU prioritizes the direct link path if the sidelink measurements between the source and destination WTRUs are satisfied (e.g., are larger than) a threshold. The WTRU may prioritize one path over another based on combined sidelink measurements of a plurality of hops in a path. For example, the WTRU may prioritize the path having the lowest/highest value combined sidelink measurements of the hops in the path. & ¶0350 The WTRU may determine the sidelink measurement of a path, for example, based on one or more sidelink measurements of some or all hops of the path. [i.e. WTRU will be chosen as relay when the path based on sidelink measurements has the lowest value (distance), which can include only considering some or all of the hops in the path (e.g. only the first hop being considered in measurement). Therefore, relay selection and discovery message transmission/monitoring is based on the distance of the first hop (between first and second terminal) being less than the distance between the first and third terminal, as depicted in Fig. 4 where the Source (first terminal) needs connected to the Destination (third terminal)])
a distance between the second terminal and the third terminal is less than a third threshold, (¶0315 the WTRU may relay the message if the distance between the WTRU and the source WTRU and/or the distance between the WTRU and the destination WTRU is larger than one (pre-)configured threshold and/or smaller than another (pre-)configured threshold. [i.e. distance between the relay WTRU (second terminal) and destination WTRU (third terminal) is smaller (less than) a (pre-)configured threshold (third threshold)])
and a signal strength of the second terminal and a signal strength of the third terminal are higher than a fourth threshold. (¶0125-¶0126 the method may include triggering transmission of the discovery messages based on the QoS and the path measurement. determining the path measurement may include determining the path measurement as a function (metric) of (i) the first measurements, or (ii) the second measurements, or (iii) at least one of the first measurements and at least one of the second measurements. In various embodiments, the function may be any of a minimum RSRP [i.e. a fourth threshold, a minimum measure of signal strength of the first and second measurements for triggering a relay discovery message] and a maximum RSRP. & ¶0156 the second sidelink measurement may include any of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a reference signal receive power (RSRP), & ¶0157 the first sidelink measurement may include any of a CQI, an RSRP, [i.e. first and second measurements include RSRP, which is a measure of signal strength] & ¶0156 the second sidelink measurement may include any of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a reference signal receive power (RSRP), & ¶0157 the first sidelink measurement may include any of a CQI, an RSRP, [i.e. first and second measurements include RSRP, which is a measure of signal strength] & ¶0160 the source WTRU may receive, from a sidelink relay, RSRP measurements of a first hop between the source WTRU and sidelink relay and a second hop between sidelink relay and the destination WTRU. In various embodiments, the source WTRU may trigger relay (re)selection on condition that the combined RSRP measurements satisfy the QoS-dependent condition (e.g., based on a minimum of the two RSRP measurements). [i.e. meeting the minimum of the two RSRP is considered fourth threshold, the first hop RSRP measurements are considered signal strength of second terminal as it involves the relay, and the second hop RSRP measurements are considered signal strength of a third terminal as it involves the destination])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Hoang’s teaching of the first terminal connecting to a third terminal based on distance thresholds and where a signal strength of the second terminal and signal strength of the third terminal are higher than a threshold, because it would enable the device to send/receive a relay discovery message for using the second terminal as a relay in a scenario where the distance between the first and second terminal is less than the distance between the first and third terminal, so as to efficiently select a sidelink relay terminal in order to ensure service continuity and avoid service interruption. (see Hoang ¶0119-¶0121)
Re. Claim 22, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 16.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein the terminal device triggers transmission of the discovery request message or monitors the discovery message (¶0083-¶0084 A remote UE may discover a relay UE based on discovery messages (also referred to as discovery signals) broadcasted from the relay UE and received at the remote UE as described herein. In another example, the remote UE may announce sidelink discovery solicitation messages to which a relay UE may respond. [i.e. remote UE (first terminal) triggers transmission of discovery solicitation messages (discovery request message)] & While in the power saving mode, the remote UE may power-ON appropriate circuitry for some period to monitor a wireless channel for discovery messages from other UEs. [i.e. remote UE (first terminal) can also monitor for discovery messages])
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: in the following case: the first terminal needs to be connected to a third terminal, wherein a distance between the first terminal and the second terminal is less than a distance between the third terminal and the first terminal, a distance between the second terminal and the third terminal is less than a third threshold, and a signal strength of the second terminal and a signal strength of the third terminal are higher than a fourth threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Hoang teaches such limitations:
in the following case: the terminal needs to be connected to a third terminal, (¶0331 as illustrated in FIG. 4, a destination WTRU has two paths between a source WTRU and the destination WTRU from which to select. [i.e. source WTRU (first terminal) needs connected to destination WTRU (third terminal)])
wherein a distance between the first terminal and the second terminal is less than a distance between the third terminal and the first terminal, (¶0155-¶0157 In various embodiments, the one or more sidelink measurements may include a first sidelink measurement associated with the first hop. In various embodiments, the one or more sidelink measurements may include a second sidelink measurement associated with the second hop. the first sidelink measurement may include any of a CQI, an RSRP, an RSRQ, a pathgain, a pathloss, a distance between the first sidelink relay and the first WTRU. & ¶0235 the sidelink relay may receive a location of a source WTRU and/or a destination WTRU, and may determine whether to act as a relay for that source WTRU and/or destination WTRU based on a distance to the source WTRU and/or the destination WTRU. & ¶0315 the WTRU may relay [i.e. a second terminal (a relay terminal)] the message if the distance between the WTRU and the source WTRU [i.e. distance between second terminal and first terminal] and/or the distance between the WTRU and the destination WTRU is larger than one (pre-)configured threshold and/or smaller than another (pre-)configured threshold. [i.e. a scenario where a WTRU operating as relay (a second terminal) and the source (first terminal) is less than a threshold, the threshold being defined in further citations] & ¶0330-¶0332 A WTRU may prioritize the path with a smaller number of hops. For example, the WTRU may prioritize a path having smaller number of hops if other criteria are satisfied. The other criteria may include any of the following: (i) a sidelink measurement in each hop of the path is larger than a threshold; and (ii) a distance in each hop of the path is smaller than a threshold. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, a destination WTRU has two paths between a source WTRU and the destination WTRU from which to select. The first path is a direct link (i.e., a single hop) between the source and the destination WTRUs. The second path is via a relay WTRU (e.g., two hops). The WTRU prioritizes the direct link path if the sidelink measurements between the source and destination WTRUs are satisfied (e.g., are larger than) a threshold. The WTRU may prioritize one path over another based on combined sidelink measurements of a plurality of hops in a path. For example, the WTRU may prioritize the path having the lowest/highest value combined sidelink measurements of the hops in the path. & ¶0350 The WTRU may determine the sidelink measurement of a path, for example, based on one or more sidelink measurements of some or all hops of the path. [i.e. WTRU will be chosen as relay when the path based on sidelink measurements has the lowest value (distance), which can include only considering some or all of the hops in the path (e.g. only the first hop being considered in measurement). Therefore, relay selection and discovery message transmission/monitoring is based on the distance of the first hop (between first and second terminal) being less than the distance between the first and third terminal, as depicted in Fig. 4 where the Source (first terminal) needs connected to the Destination (third terminal)])
a distance between the second terminal and the third terminal is less than a third threshold, (¶0315 the WTRU may relay the message if the distance between the WTRU and the source WTRU and/or the distance between the WTRU and the destination WTRU is larger than one (pre-)configured threshold and/or smaller than another (pre-)configured threshold. [i.e. distance between the relay WTRU (second terminal) and destination WTRU (third terminal) is smaller (less than) a (pre-)configured threshold (third threshold)])
and a signal strength of the second terminal and a signal strength of the third terminal are higher than a fourth threshold. (¶0123-¶0126 the method may include triggering transmission of the discovery messages based on the QoS and the path measurement. determining the path measurement may include determining the path measurement as a function (metric) of (i) the first measurements, or (ii) the second measurements, or (iii) at least one of the first measurements and at least one of the second measurements. In various embodiments, the function may be any of a minimum RSRP [i.e. a fourth threshold, a minimum measure of signal strength of the first and second measurements for triggering a relay discovery message] and a maximum RSRP. & ¶0156 the second sidelink measurement may include any of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a reference signal receive power (RSRP), & ¶0157 the first sidelink measurement may include any of a CQI, an RSRP, [i.e. first and second measurements include RSRP, which is a measure of signal strength] & ¶0160 the source WTRU may receive, from a sidelink relay, RSRP measurements of a first hop between the source WTRU and sidelink relay and a second hop between sidelink relay and the destination WTRU. In various embodiments, the source WTRU may trigger relay (re)selection on condition that the combined RSRP measurements satisfy the QoS-dependent condition (e.g., based on a minimum of the two RSRP measurements). [i.e. meeting the minimum of the two RSRP is considered fourth threshold, the first hop RSRP measurements are considered signal strength of second terminal as it involves the relay, and the second hop RSRP measurements are considered signal strength of a third terminal as it involves the destination])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Hoang’s teaching of the first terminal connecting to a third terminal based on distance thresholds and where a signal strength of the second terminal and signal strength of the third terminal are higher than a threshold, because it would enable the device to send/receive a relay discovery message for using the second terminal as a relay in a scenario where the distance between the first and second terminal is less than the distance between the first and third terminal, so as to efficiently select a sidelink relay terminal in order to ensure service continuity and avoid service interruption. (see Hoang ¶0119-¶0121)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma, and further in view of Back et al. (US 2023/0164536 A1, previously cited in PTO-892 filed 3/27/2025), hereinafter referred to as Back.
Re. Claim 21, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma, and Back teach claim 13.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein that the first terminal uses a radio configuration parameter broadcasted by the network device when the first terminal is within the coverage of the network device comprises at least one of: (¶0158 A resource pool may be a reception resource pool or a transmission resource pool, or a combination thereof. These may be either signaled by a base station 105 for an in coverage case, or preconfigured for an out-of-coverage case. In the example of FIG. 4, the discovery resource pool 425 may be a reception resource pool. The discovery resource pool 425 may be a set of time and frequency resources assigned to the remote UE 115-g for sidelink operations, and more specifically for monitoring the discovery messages 420.)
or the first terminal uses a radio resource and parameter broadcasted by the network device . (¶0007 The apparatus may include means for transmitting sidelink DRX information to a base station while operating in a connected mode, receiving a message including a sidelink DRX configuration from the base station based on the sidelink DRX information, and operating according to the sidelink DRX configuration. & ¶0152 In the example of FIG. 3, the UE 115-e may be operating in a connected mode. That is, the UE 115-b may to begin with having a direct connection (e.g., via a Uu interface) with the base station 105-b. & ¶0157-¶0158 The remote UE 115-g may monitor a discovery resource pool 425 for the one or more broadcasted discovery messages 420 during the active DRX duration 410. & A resource pool may be a reception resource pool or a transmission resource pool, or a combination thereof. These may be either signaled by a base station 105 for an in coverage case, or preconfigured for an out-of-coverage case. & ¶0177 The UE communications manager 815 may transmit sidelink DRX information to a base station while operating in a connected mode, receive a message including a sidelink DRX configuration from the base station based on the sidelink DRX information, and operate according to the sidelink DRX configuration.)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, Ma, and further in view of Hwang (US 2023/0199681 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Hwang”.
Re. Claim 23, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not teach: the SL SRB is identified with a Logical Channel Identity (LCID) selected from 20 to 63.
However, in the analogous art, Hwang teaches:
the SL SRB is identified with a Logical Channel Identity (LCID) selected from 20 to 63. (¶0191 Table 9 illustrates mapping of indices and LCID values for a sidelink-shared channel (SL-SCH) according to an embodiment. [i.e. Table 9 includes indexes 20-60, 61, 62, and 63 that are mapped to the SL-SCH which is considered equivalent to mapping the indexes to a SL SRB])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Hwang’s teaching of the SL SRB being identified with a LCID value that is between 20 and 63, because it would enable the terminal to establish an SL-SCH and its relationship to LCID when selecting transmission beam and resources when a new SL SRB needs created. (see Hwang ¶0191)
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, Ma, and further in view of Fu (US 2022/0408450 A1), hereinafter “Fu”, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0314669 A1), hereinafter “Lee”.
Re. Claim 24, Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer and a Radio Link Control (RLC) layer are transparent,
However, in the analogous art, Fu teaches:
wherein a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer and a Radio Link Control (RLC) layer are transparent, (¶0013 The LTE D2D relay technology uses a layer 3 based relay method. In this relay method, in the process that the relay node obtains the data of the source node, the relay node does not distinguish whether the data is transmitted to the relay node or the remote node in layer 1 (physical layer) and layer 2 (Medium Access Control, MAC) layer, Radio Link Control (RLC) layer and Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, [i.e. layer 2 includes RLC layer and PDCP layer] but decodes and delivers the data to Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer, determines the destination node for the data by the processing in an higher layer (such as RRC layer, Application Server (AS) layer, V2X layer or application layer), and generates the data to be transmitted to the relay node. Similarly, during the process that the relay node transmits the data of the source node to the remote node, neither layer 1 nor layer 2 distinguishes whether the data comes from the source node or from the relay node, instead, the higher layer from the remote node distinguishes and processes the data. Therefore, for sidelink transmission with or without relay enabled, the behavior of UEs below layer 3 in LTE D2D is basically the same, that is, the relay transmission in LTE D2D is transparent to layer 1 and layer 2. [i.e. the PDCP and RLC layer constitute layer 2 which are transparent])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, Ma’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Fu’s teaching of a PDCP and RLC layer being transparent, because it would allow sidelink transmission with or without relay enabled to be transparent to layer 1 and layer 2. (see Fu ¶0013)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and an RLC Transparent Mode (TM) is used.
However, in the analogous art, Lee teaches:
and an RLC Transparent Mode (TM) is used. (¶0095 The RLC sublayer belong to L2. The RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes, i.e. transparent mode (TB), unacknowledged mode (UM), and acknowledged mode (AM), in order to guarantee various quality of services (QoS) required by radio bearers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, Ma, and Fu’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Lee’s teaching of an RLC transparent mode being used, because it would allow the device to guarantee quality of service required by different radio bearers. (see Lee ¶0095)
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng combined with Wu, Baek, Zhang, Ma, and further in view of Yi et al. (US 2023/0036160 A1), hereinafter “Yi”, and further in view of Kim (US 20200344629 A1), hereinafter “Kim”, and further in view of Nagasaka et al. (US 2018/0220326 A1), hereinafter “Nagasaka”.
Re. Claim 25, Cheng combined with Baek Wu, Zhang, and Ma teaches claim 8.
Cheng further teaches:
wherein the discovery message or the discovery request message is carried in a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Unit (PDU); (¶0127 The wireless communications system 100 may be a packet-based network that operates according to a layered protocol stack. In the user plane, communications at the bearer or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer may be IP-based. & ¶0135 A UE 115 supporting sidelink communications my provide sidelink communications using a protocol stack as described herein. A remote UE 115-b may generate data traffic to be transmitted to the relay UE 115-a. This user data traffic may be packetized at an IP layer in an IP packet. The IP packet then passes down to access stratum (AS) layers. The functions of the AS layers for sidelink communications are described as follows. A packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the AS layers may support header compression of a received IP service data unit to reduce a size of an IP packet header of the IP packet. The PDCP layer may establish a sidelink radio bearer (SLRB) to carry data traffic over a sidelink (e.g., the sidelink connection 205-a between the remote UE 115-b and the relay UE 115-a). & ¶0137 The remote UE 115-b may discover the relay UE 115-a based on discovery messages broadcasted from the remote UE 115-b or discovery message received from the rely UE 115-a. [i.e. discovery messages for sidelink relays are transmitted in the system using packet-based network communication where the PDCP for user data traffic is IP-based])
wherein the PDCP PDU is first goes to a Radio Link Control (RLC) layer, (¶0127 The wireless communications system 100 may be a packet-based network that operates according to a layered protocol stack. In the user plane, communications at the bearer or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer may be IP-based. A Radio Link Control (RLC) layer may perform packet segmentation and reassembly to communicate over logical channels. & ¶0135 A UE 115 supporting sidelink communications my provide sidelink communications using a protocol stack as described herein. A remote UE 115-b may generate data traffic to be transmitted to the relay UE 115-a. This user data traffic may be packetized at an IP layer in an IP packet. The IP packet then passes down to access stratum (AS) layers. The functions of the AS layers for sidelink communications are described as follows. [i.e. series of steps for IP packet passing down through AS layers] A packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the AS layers may support header compression of a received IP service data unit to reduce a size of an IP packet header of the IP packet. The PDCP layer may establish a sidelink radio bearer (SLRB) to carry data traffic over a sidelink (e.g., the sidelink connection 205-a between the remote UE 115-b and the relay UE 115-a). An RLC layer may be an unacknowledged mode (UM) radio link control (RLC) supported for the sidelink communication. [i.e. as IP packet passes down through the AS layers, the IP packet at PDCP layer is used for establishing the SLRB and is where the packet is considered a PDCP packet, then passes down to next layer which is RLC layer, here expressed as being unacknowledged mode RLC where packet segmentation occurs])
and the PDCP PDU is transmitted in an Unacknowledged Mode (UM); (¶0135 A UE 115 supporting sidelink communications my provide sidelink communications using a protocol stack as described herein. A remote UE 115-b may generate data traffic to be transmitted to the relay UE 115-a. This user data traffic may be packetized at an IP layer in an IP packet. The IP packet then passes down to access stratum (AS) layers. The functions of the AS layers for sidelink communications are described as follows. [i.e. series of steps for IP packet passing down through AS layers] A packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the AS layers may support header compression of a received IP service data unit to reduce a size of an IP packet header of the IP packet. The PDCP layer may establish a sidelink radio bearer (SLRB) to carry data traffic over a sidelink (e.g., the sidelink connection 205-a between the remote UE 115-b and the relay UE 115-a). An RLC layer may be an unacknowledged mode (UM) radio link control (RLC) supported for the sidelink communication. [i.e. sidelink communication (the packets being transmitted) is done with RLC in Unacknowledged Mode (UM), therefore the PDCP PDU would be transmitted in the Unacknowledged Mode])
Zhang further teaches:
and the MAC PDU is transmitted on the PSSCH according to radio resources; (¶0048 In configuration 3, UE 102 (or UE 104), during a subframe, wirelessly transmits a data message (e.g., a MAC PDU) on the PSSCH, wherein the data message includes a discovery message (e.g., a service data unit (SDU) of the data message may contain the discovery message). & ¶0049 The receiving UE obtains this SCI by blindly searching a search space for the SCI as is known in the art. The control resource set (CORESET) or PSCCH resource pool configuration and the search space configuration for PSCCH scheduling PSSCH carrying discovery messages can be either configured by the network or pre-configured. [i.e. PSCCH schedules resources for the MAC PDU to be transmitted on the PSSCH])
wherein the radio resources comprise configuration information of a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH). (¶0035 in FIG. 1B, UE 102, may transmit on the PSCCH an SCI 124 comprising scheduling information (SI), where the SCI 124 is transmitted before the MAC PDU is transmitted & ¶0049 The data message carrying the discovery message and/or other data message is scheduled by PSCCH. [i.e. resources for discovery message are scheduled by PSCCH] That is, for example, before the data message (e.g., MAC PDU) is wirelessly transmitted by the UE, the UE wirelessly transmits SCI on the PSCCH, wherein the SCI comprises the information that a receiving UE will need to find and decode the data message.)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the PDCP PDU uses a format having a sequence number length of 12 bits, and does not contain Message Authentication Code - Integrity (MAC-I) information related to integrity protection;
However, in the analogous art, Yi teaches:
wherein the PDCP PDU uses a format having a sequence number length of 12 bits, (¶0203 FIG. 12 shows a structure of SN-less PDCP Data PDU according to the present disclosure. Especially, it is assumed that PDCP SN (sequence number) field is assumed to be 12 bits, the D/C field is set to 1 to indicate that this PDU is a Data PDU)
and does not contain Message Authentication Code - Integrity (MAC-I) information related to integrity protection; (¶0204 Comparing FIG. 12 with FIG. 11, it is shown that SNI field of the SN-less PDCP PDU is set to 1, and represents that there is no SN field in the PDU. Further, since the ciphering and the integrity protection are not applied to the PDCP SDU, the SN-less PDCP Data PDU does not include the Message Authentication Code-Integrity (MAC-I))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, and Ma’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Yi’s teaching of the PDCP PDU not containing MAC-I, because it would allow saving on transmission overhead when integrity protection is not applied. (see Yi ¶0204)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: the PDCP PDU uses a format having a sequence number length of 6 bits.
However, in the analogous art, Kim teaches:
the PDCP PDU uses a format having a sequence number length of 6 bits, (¶183 The gNB may allocate a bearer identifier (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) to each bearer by using the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message, and may indicate a PDCP layer configuration, an RLC layer configuration, a MAC layer configuration, and a PHY layer configuration for each bearer. Also, the gNB may configure a length (e.g., 12 bits or 18 bits) of a PDCP sequence number used in the PDCP layer for each bearer and may configure a length (e.g., 6 bits, 12 bits, or 18 bits) of an RLC sequence number used in the RLC layer [i.e. the PDCP PDU uses a 6 bit sequence length in RLC layer])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, Ma, and Li’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Kim’s teaching of the PDCP PDU using a 6-bit sequence number length, because it would allow the network device to indicate a PDCP and RLC layer configuration for configuration of bearers. (see Kim ¶0183-¶0184)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and the PDCP PDU is then converted into a Medium Access Control (MAC) PDU at a MAC layer,
However, in the analogous art, Nagasaka teaches:
and the PDCP PDU is then converted into a Medium Access Control (MAC) PDU at a MAC layer, (¶0071 In the SCG path, the RLC entity 23 receives the PDCP PDU distributed by the PDCP entity 12 as an RLC SDU, converts the RLC SDU into an RLC PDU, and outputs the RLC PDU to the MAC entity 32. The MAC entity 32 receives the RLC PDU output from the RLC entity 23 as a MAC SDU, converts the MAC SDU into a MAC PDU, [i.e. the PDCP PDU is converted to MAC PDU at the MAC layer after being converted at the RLC layer] and transmits the MAC PDU to the SeNB 200S via the physical layer entity)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Cheng, Wu, Baek, Zhang, Ma, Li, and Kim’s invention of Discontinuous reception for sidelink communications in wireless communications systems to include Nagasaka’s teaching of converting the PDCP PDU to a MAC PDU at the MAC layer, because it would enable the MAC layer to perform priority control of data and to determine a transport format of uplink and downlink. (see Nagasaka ¶0046)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417