DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The addition of a generic sensor system to determine the chemical composition of the material within the sample and to compare the found composition to a specific chemical composition is viewed as adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception as seen in MPEP 2106.05(g). This can also be viewed as using a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea as seen in MPEP 2106.05 (f).
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Kumar (US 20200368786 A1) and Gudmundsson (US 20240094133 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. It would be non-obvious to combine Gudmundsson and Kumar because Gudmundsson teaches away from Kumar and cannot obviously be combined to teach the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kumar (US 20200368786 A1) and Jamison (US 6579339 B1).
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Kumar (US 20200368786 A1) and Gauffin (Alloy content in steel scrap by use of random sampling analysis and its impact on the Electric arc furnace; 2014) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The combination does not explicitly teach “retrieving a sample of material scrap pieces from a container holding material scrap pieces, wherein all material scrap pieces within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition, wherein a number of material scrap pieces within the sample is a substantially small percentage of a total number of material scrap pieces within the container;” Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kumar (US 20200368786 A1) and Jamison (US 6579339 B1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to claim 1,
Step 2A Prong One:
The following bold limitations are considered abstract:
“A method comprising:
retrieving a sample of materials from a container, wherein all materials within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition, wherein the sample contains substantially less than a total amount of the materials within the container;
analyzing by a sensor system each material within the sample;
determining by the sensor system a chemical composition of each material within the sample;
and comparing by the sensor system the determined chemical composition of each material within the sample to the specific chemical composition,”
The above bolded limitations are directed to abstract ideas and would fall within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. Analyzing materials and comparing chemical compositions can be practically performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion. According to MPEP 2106.04 “The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012) ("‘[M]ental processes and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same). Accordingly, the "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.”
Step 2A Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements –
“retrieving a sample of materials from a container, wherein all materials within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition, wherein the sample contains substantially less than a total amount of the materials within the container; a sensor system,”
Examiner views these limitations amount to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
As such Examiner does NOT view that the claims
-Improve the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
-Apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP
2106.05(b)
-Effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
-Apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo.
Moreover, Examiner views the claims to be merely generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a container of generic sample materials as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(h). Furthermore, a sensor system is a generic device for collecting data and is seen as mere data gathering. Using the sensor system to compare data is viewed as using a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea as seen in MPEP 2106.05 (f).
Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Considering the claim as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know the practical application of the present invention since the claims do not apply or use the judicial exception in some meaningful way. As currently claimed, Examiner views that the additional elements do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, because the claim fails to recite clearly how the judicial exception is applied in a manner that does not monopolize the exception because the limitations “retrieving a sample of materials from a container, wherein all materials within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition, wherein the sample contains substantially less than a total amount of the materials within the container; a sensor system,” just tie the claim to finding the composition of a container of materials and does not impose a meaningful limitation describing what problem is being remedied or solved. Examiner further notes that such additional elements are viewed to be well known routine and conventional as evidenced by Kumar (US 20200368786 A1) and Jamison (US 6579339 B1).
With respect to claim 13,
Step 2A Prong One:
The following bold limitations are considered abstract:
“A method comprising:
retrieving a sample of material scrap pieces from a container holding material scrap pieces, wherein all material scrap pieces within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition, wherein a number of material scrap pieces within the sample is a substantially small percentage of a total number of material scrap pieces within the container;
analyzing by a sensor system each material scrap piece within the sample of material scrap pieces to classify each material scrap piece within the sample; and
determining by the sensor system whether the classification of each material scrap piece within the sample of material scrap pieces corresponds to the specific chemical composition.”
The above bolded limitations are directed to abstract ideas and would fall within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. Analyzing materials and determining whether composition data corresponds with a specific chemical composition can be practically performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion. According to MPEP 2106.04 “The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012) ("‘[M]ental processes and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same). Accordingly, the "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.”
Step 2A Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements –
“retrieving a sample of material scrap pieces from a container holding material scrap pieces, wherein all material scrap pieces within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition, wherein a number of material scrap pieces within the sample is a substantially small percentage of a total number of material scrap pieces within the container; a sensor system,”
Examiner views these limitations amount to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
As such Examiner does NOT view that the claims
-Improve the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
-Apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP
2106.05(b)
-Effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
-Apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo.
Moreover, Examiner views the claims to be merely generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a container of generic sample materials as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(h). Furthermore, a sensor system is a generic device for collecting data and is seen as mere data gathering. Using the sensor system to compare data is viewed as using a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea as seen in MPEP 2106.05 (f).
Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Considering the claim as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know the practical application of the present invention since the claims do not apply or use the judicial exception in some meaningful way. As currently claimed, Examiner views that the additional elements do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, because the claim fails to recite clearly how the judicial exception is applied in a manner that does not monopolize the exception because the limitations “retrieving a sample of material scrap pieces from a container holding material scrap pieces, wherein all material scrap pieces within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition, wherein a number of material scrap pieces within the sample is a substantially small percentage of a total number of material scrap pieces within the container; a sensor system,” just tie the claim to finding the composition of a container of materials and does not impose a meaningful limitation describing what problem is being remedied or solved. Examiner further notes that such additional elements are viewed to be well known routine and conventional as evidenced by Kumar (US 20200368786 A1) and Jamison (US 6579339 B1).
Dependent claims 2-12 and 14-26 when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea, as detailed below:
The claims are directed to analyzing the scrap materials using known methods which just loosely tie the claims to those fields. They also further limit the amount of material in the sample or the type of material in the sample or container. These represent additional elements but they are not enough to give the claims a practical application or make the claims significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, dependent claims 2-12 and 14-26 further limit the abstract idea with an abstract idea and thus the claims are still directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13, 16, 17, 19, and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 20200368786 A1) and Jamison (US 6579339 B1).
With respect to claim 1,
Kumar teaches,
A method comprising:
analyzing with a sensor system each material within the sample the materials to determine chemical compositions of each material within the sample; (Para. [0066] teaches “Machine learning often occurs in two stages, or phases. For example, first, training occurs offline in that the sorting system 100 is not being utilized to perform actual sorting of scrap pieces. In accordance with certain embodiments of the present disclosure, a portion of the system 100 may be utilized to train the machine learning system in that one or more homogenous sets of scrap pieces (i.e., having the same material composition (e.g., aluminum (cast or wrought))) are passed by the vision system 110 by the conveyor system 103 (and all such scrap pieces are not sorted, but may be collected in a common bin (e.g., bin 140)).”)
comparing the determined chemical compositions of each material within the sample to
the specific chemical composition. (Para. [0073] teaches “In the process blocks 1209 and 1210, for each scrap piece, the type of material is identified/classified based on the detected features. For example, the process block 1209 may be configured with a neural network employing one or more machine learning algorithms, which compare the extracted features with those stored in the knowledge base generated during the training stage, and assign the classification with the highest match to each of the scrap pieces based on such a comparison.” Para. [0008] teaches “The Aluminum Association is the authority that defines the allowable limits for aluminum alloy chemical composition. The data for the aluminum wrought alloy chemical compositions is published by the Aluminum Association in “International Alloy Designations and Chemical Composition Limits for Wrought Aluminum and Wrought Aluminum Alloys,” which was updated in January 2015, and which is incorporated by reference herein. In general, according to the Aluminum Association, the 1xxx series of wrought aluminum alloys is composed essentially of pure aluminum with a minimum 99% aluminum content by weight; the 2xxx series is wrought aluminum principally alloyed with copper (Cu); the 3xxx series is wrought aluminum principally alloyed with manganese (Mn); the 4xxx series is wrought aluminum alloyed with silicon (Si); the 5xxx series is wrought aluminum primarily alloyed with magnesium (Mg); the 6xxx series is wrought aluminum principally alloyed with magnesium and silicon; the 7xxx series is wrought aluminum primarily alloyed with zinc (Zn); and the 8xxx series is a miscellaneous category.” Para. [0049 teaches “A conveyor system 103 may be implemented to convey one or more streams of individual scrap pieces 101 (e.g., Twitch scrap) through the sorting system 100 so that each of the individual scrap pieces 101 can be tracked, classified, and sorted into predetermined desired groups.” Also see figures 3 and 4.)
Kumar does not explicitly teach,
retrieving a sample of materials from a container, wherein all materials within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition, wherein the sample contains substantially less than a total amount of the materials within the container; (However Kumar does show and teach that only a portion of the scrap is viewed by the vision system/AI/XRF at once as seen in Fig(s). [1 and 16a]. Para. [0049] further teaches “A conveyor system 103 may be implemented to convey one or more streams of individual scrap pieces 101 (e.g., Twitch scrap) through the sorting system 100 so that each of the individual scrap pieces 101 can be tracked, classified, and sorted into predetermined.” The streams of scrap pieces must come from some kind of container which contains more pieces than are viewed by the vision system at one time.)
Jamison teaches,
retrieving a sample of materials from a container, wherein the sample contains substantially less than a total amount of the materials within the container; (Col. 6 Ln(s). 46-60 teaches “(5) Typically, the various categories of copper scrap are delivered to the copper scrap recycling facility and are then physically segregated so as not to inadvertently commingle. Optionally, each lot of each category of copper scrap could then be further segregated by supplier or source. The reason for this is that there may be slight, or sometimes even significant, variations in chemical composition from lot to lot and from supplier to supplier. (6) A sample of each category of copper scrap is chemically analyzed, in accordance with generally known metallurgical techniques, so as to determine the composition and weight and/or weight percentage of the various contaminants contained therein. This is a representative analysis in that only a small sample is used to determine the chemical composition of the entire lot of that particular type of copper scrap.” (i.e. the lots are viewed as a container.))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar with retrieving a sample of materials from a container, wherein all materials within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition, wherein the sample contains substantially less than a total amount of the materials within the container such as that of Jamison.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Kumar, because splitting the amount of scrap analyzed at once would reduce the total weight of a sample and decrease the amount of time needed to analyze the sample. Furthermore, Jamison in Col. 2 teaches that the small sample analysis allows “the copper scrap recycling facility operator can quickly determine the relative quality of the particular category of copper scrap.” Therefore, one would be motivated to combine the prior art in order to more quickly analyze the material.
With respect to claim 2,
Kumar further teaches,
The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the materials within the container comprise Twitch. (Para. [0049] teaches “A conveyor system 103 may be implemented to convey one or more streams of individual scrap pieces 101 (e.g., Twitch scrap)”)
With respect to claim 3,
Kumar further teaches,
The method as recited in claim 2, wherein the analyzing the materials within the container is performed by an XRF system. (Para. [0109] teaches “As shown in FIG. 15B, this may be performed using a machine learning system (e.g., utilizing artificial intelligence), an x-ray fluorescence (“XRF”) system utilized within a sorting system (such as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 10,207,296, which is hereby incorporate by reference herein), or a combination of a machine learning system and an XRF system (e.g., by first sorting with the machine learning system and then with the XRF system).”)
With respect to claim 5,
Kumar further teaches,
The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the sensor system is a vision system implemented with an artificial intelligence system. (Para. [0109] teaches “As shown in FIG. 15B, this may be performed using a machine learning system (e.g., utilizing artificial intelligence), an x-ray fluorescence (“XRF”) system utilized within a sorting system (such as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 10,207,296, which is hereby incorporate by reference herein), or a combination of a machine learning system and an XRF system (e.g., by first sorting with the machine learning system and then with the XRF system).”)
With respect to claim 8,
Kumar further teaches,
The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the analyzing by the sensor system comprises determining by the sensor system a relative percentage of different elements contained within each material within the sample. (Para. [0067] teaches “Consequently, a machine learning system configured in accordance with certain embodiments of the present disclosure may be configured to sort between materials (e.g., scrap pieces) as a function of their respective material/chemical compositions. For example, such a machine learning system may be configured so that aluminum alloys can be sorted as a function of the percentage of a specified alloying material contained within the aluminum alloys.”)
With respect to claim 9,
Kumar further teaches,
The method as recited in claim 8, further comprising outputting by the sensor system whether the determination of the chemical composition of each material within the sample of materials indicates that one or more elements have a relative percentage outside of a percentage range of the specific chemical composition. (Para. [0073] teaches “For example, each of the N classifications may be assigned to one sorting bin, and the scrap piece under consideration is sorted into that bin that corresponds to the classification returning the highest probability larger than a predefined threshold. Within embodiments of the present disclosure, such predefined thresholds may be preset by the user. A particular scrap piece may be sorted into an outlier bin (e.g., sorting bin 140) if none of the probabilities is larger than the predetermined threshold.” Para. [0112] teaches “The scrap pieces not classified as copper may be conveyed past an XRF or AI system 1611, which may be configured to identify and classify those scrap pieces that contain a threshold amount of another material (e.g., a metal such as zinc, aluminum, brass, stainless steel, gold, silver, etc.).” As pieces are sorted into an outlier bin it follows that the sample must have been outside of a relative percentage range of the metals that are sorted. Para. [0009] teaches “The Aluminum Association also has a similar document for cast alloys. The 1xx series of cast aluminum alloys is composed essentially of pure aluminum with a minimum 99% aluminum content by weight; the 2xx series is cast aluminum principally alloyed with copper; the 3xx series is cast aluminum principally alloyed with silicon plus copper and/or magnesium; the 4xx series is cast aluminum principally alloyed with silicon; the 5xx series is cast aluminum principally alloyed with magnesium; the 6xx series is an unused series; the 7xx series is cast aluminum principally alloyed with zinc; the 8xx series is cast aluminum principally alloyed with tin; and the 9xx series is cast aluminum alloyed with other elements”)
With respect to claim 10,
Kumar further teaches,
The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the materials within the container are scrap metal pieces. (Para. [0111] teaches “configured to recognize and classify those scrap pieces composed of a threshold amount of copper.”)
With respect to claim 11,
Kumar further teaches,
The method as recited in claim 10, wherein the scrap metal pieces are from end-of-life vehicles. Para. [0012] teaches “Moreover, as evidenced by the production and sale of the Ford F-150 pickup having a considerable increase in its body and frame parts composed of aluminum instead of steel, it is additionally desirable to recycle sheet metal scrap (e.g., wrought aluminum of certain alloy compositions), including that generated in the manufacture of automotive components from sheet aluminum. Recycling of the scrap involves re-melting the scrap to provide a body of molten metal that can be cast and/or rolled into useful aluminum parts for further production of such vehicles.”
With respect to claim 13,
Kumar teaches,
A method comprising:
analyzing by a sensor system each material scrap piece within the sample of material scrap pieces to classify each material scrap piece within the sample; (Para. [0066] teaches “Machine learning often occurs in two stages, or phases. For example, first, training occurs offline in that the sorting system 100 is not being utilized to perform actual sorting of scrap pieces. In accordance with certain embodiments of the present disclosure, a portion of the system 100 may be utilized to train the machine learning system in that one or more homogenous sets of scrap pieces (i.e., having the same material composition (e.g., aluminum (cast or wrought))) are passed by the vision system 110 by the conveyor system 103 (and all such scrap pieces are not sorted, but may be collected in a common bin (e.g., bin 140)).”)
determining whether the classification of each material scrap piece within the sample of material scrap pieces corresponds to the specific chemical composition. (Para. [0073] teaches “In the process blocks 1209 and 1210, for each scrap piece, the type of material is identified/classified based on the detected features. For example, the process block 1209 may be configured with a neural network employing one or more machine learning algorithms, which compare the extracted features with those stored in the knowledge base generated during the training stage, and assign the classification with the highest match to each of the scrap pieces based on such a comparison.” Para. [0008] teaches “The Aluminum Association is the authority that defines the allowable limits for aluminum alloy chemical composition. The data for the aluminum wrought alloy chemical compositions is published by the Aluminum Association in “International Alloy Designations and Chemical Composition Limits for Wrought Aluminum and Wrought Aluminum Alloys,” which was updated in January 2015, and which is incorporated by reference herein. In general, according to the Aluminum Association, the 1xxx series of wrought aluminum alloys is composed essentially of pure aluminum with a minimum 99% aluminum content by weight; the 2xxx series is wrought aluminum principally alloyed with copper (Cu); the 3xxx series is wrought aluminum principally alloyed with manganese (Mn); the 4xxx series is wrought aluminum alloyed with silicon (Si); the 5xxx series is wrought aluminum primarily alloyed with magnesium (Mg); the 6xxx series is wrought aluminum principally alloyed with magnesium and silicon; the 7xxx series is wrought aluminum primarily alloyed with zinc (Zn); and the 8xxx series is a miscellaneous category.” Para. [0049 teaches “A conveyor system 103 may be implemented to convey one or more streams of individual scrap pieces 101 (e.g., Twitch scrap) through the sorting system 100 so that each of the individual scrap pieces 101 can be tracked, classified, and sorted into predetermined desired groups.” Also see figures 3 and 4.)
Kumar does not explicitly teach,
retrieving a sample of material scrap pieces from a container holding material scrap pieces, wherein all material scrap pieces within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition wherein a number of material scrap pieces within the sample is a substantially small percentage of a total number of material scrap pieces within the container; (However Kumar does show and teach that only a portion of the scrap is viewed by the vision system/AI/XRF at once as seen in Fig(s). [1 and 16a]. Para. [0049] further teaches “A conveyor system 103 may be implemented to convey one or more streams of individual scrap pieces 101 (e.g., Twitch scrap) through the sorting system 100 so that each of the individual scrap pieces 101 can be tracked, classified, and sorted into predetermined.” The streams of scrap pieces must come from some kind of container which contains more pieces than are viewed by the vision system at one time.)
Jamison teaches,
retrieving a sample of material scrap pieces from a container holding material scrap pieces, wherein all material scrap pieces within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition wherein a number of material scrap pieces within the sample is a substantially small percentage of a total number of material scrap pieces within the container; (Col. 6 Ln(s). 46-60 teaches “(5) Typically, the various categories of copper scrap are delivered to the copper scrap recycling facility and are then physically segregated so as not to inadvertently commingle. Optionally, each lot of each category of copper scrap could then be further segregated by supplier or source. The reason for this is that there may be slight, or sometimes even significant, variations in chemical composition from lot to lot and from supplier to supplier. (6) A sample of each category of copper scrap is chemically analyzed, in accordance with generally known metallurgical techniques, so as to determine the composition and weight and/or weight percentage of the various contaminants contained therein. This is a representative analysis in that only a small sample is used to determine the chemical composition of the entire lot of that particular type of copper scrap.” (i.e. the lots are viewed as a container.))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar with retrieving a sample of material scrap pieces from a container holding material scrap pieces, wherein all material scrap pieces within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition wherein a number of material scrap pieces within the sample is a substantially small percentage of a total number of material scrap pieces within the container such as that of Jamison.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Kumar, because splitting the amount of scrap analyzed at once would reduce the total weight of a sample and decrease the amount of time needed to analyze the sample. Furthermore, Jamison in Col. 2 teaches that the small sample analysis allows “the copper scrap recycling facility operator can quickly determine the relative quality of the particular category of copper scrap.” Therefore, one would be motivated to combine the prior art in order to more quickly analyze the material.
With respect to claim 16,
Kumar further teaches,
The method as recited in claim 13, wherein the material scrap pieces within the container are each composed of a specific aluminum alloy. (Abstract teaches “classification determining that the materials are composed of either wrought aluminum, extruded aluminum, or cast aluminum.”)
With respect to claim 17,
Kumar further teaches,
The method as recited in claim 13, wherein the sensor system is an XRF system. (Para. [0109] teaches “As shown in FIG. 15B, this may be performed using a machine learning system (e.g., utilizing artificial intelligence), an x-ray fluorescence (“XRF”) system utilized within a sorting system (such as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 10,207,296, which is hereby incorporate by reference herein), or a combination of a machine learning system and an XRF system (e.g., by first sorting with the machine learning system and then with the XRF system).”)
With respect to claim 19,
Kumar further teaches,
The method as recited in claim 13, wherein the sensor system is a vision system implemented with an artificial intelligence system. (Para. [0109] teaches “As shown in FIG. 15B, this may be performed using a machine learning system (e.g., utilizing artificial intelligence), an x-ray fluorescence (“XRF”) system utilized within a sorting system (such as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 10,207,296, which is hereby incorporate by reference herein), or a combination of a machine learning system and an XRF system (e.g., by first sorting with the machine learning system and then with the XRF system).”)
With respect to claim 23,
Kumar does not explicitly teach,
The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the materials within the container that are not within the sample are not analyzed for the comparison.
Jamison teaches,
wherein the materials within the container that are not within the sample are not analyzed for the comparison. (Col. 6 Ln(s). 46-60 teaches “(5) Typically, the various categories of copper scrap are delivered to the copper scrap recycling facility and are then physically segregated so as not to inadvertently commingle. Optionally, each lot of each category of copper scrap could then be further segregated by supplier or source. The reason for this is that there may be slight, or sometimes even significant, variations in chemical composition from lot to lot and from supplier to supplier. (6) A sample of each category of copper scrap is chemically analyzed, in accordance with generally known metallurgical techniques, so as to determine the composition and weight and/or weight percentage of the various contaminants contained therein. This is a representative analysis in that only a small sample is used to determine the chemical composition of the entire lot of that particular type of copper scrap.” (i.e. the lots are viewed as a container.))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar with retrieving a sample of materials from a container, wherein all materials within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition, wherein the sample contains substantially less than a total amount of the materials within the container such as that of Jamison.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Kumar, because splitting the amount of scrap analyzed at once would reduce the total weight of a sample and decrease the amount of time needed to analyze the sample. Furthermore, Jamison in Col. 2 teaches that the small sample analysis allows “the copper scrap recycling facility operator can quickly determine the relative quality of the particular category of copper scrap.” Therefore, one would be motivated to combine the prior art in order to more quickly analyze the material.
With respect to claim 24,
Kumar does not explicitly teach,
The method as recited in claim 13, wherein the material scrap pieces within the container that are not within the sample are not analyzed for the comparison.
Jamison teaches,
wherein the materials within the container that are not within the sample are not analyzed for the comparison. (Col. 6 Ln(s). 46-60 teaches “(5) Typically, the various categories of copper scrap are delivered to the copper scrap recycling facility and are then physically segregated so as not to inadvertently commingle. Optionally, each lot of each category of copper scrap could then be further segregated by supplier or source. The reason for this is that there may be slight, or sometimes even significant, variations in chemical composition from lot to lot and from supplier to supplier. (6) A sample of each category of copper scrap is chemically analyzed, in accordance with generally known metallurgical techniques, so as to determine the composition and weight and/or weight percentage of the various contaminants contained therein. This is a representative analysis in that only a small sample is used to determine the chemical composition of the entire lot of that particular type of copper scrap.” (i.e. the lots are viewed as a container.))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar with retrieving a sample of materials from a container, wherein all materials within the container are expected to have a specific chemical composition, wherein the sample contains substantially less than a total amount of the materials within the container such as that of Jamison.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Kumar, because splitting the amount of scrap analyzed at once would reduce the total weight of a sample and decrease the amount of time needed to analyze the sample. Furthermore, Jamison in Col. 2 teaches that the small sample analysis allows “the copper scrap recycling facility operator can quickly determine the relative quality of the particular category of copper scrap.” Therefore, one would be motivated to combine the prior art in order to more quickly analyze the material.
With respect to claims 25 and 26,
Kumar does not explicitly teach,
wherein every one of the materials within the container is expected to have the specific chemical composition.
Jamison teaches,
wherein every one of the materials within the container is expected to have the specific chemical composition. (Col. 6 Ln(s). [46-50] teach “Typically, the various categories of copper scrap are delivered to the copper scrap recycling facility and are then physically segregated so as not to inadvertently commingle. Optionally, each lot of each category of copper scrap could then be further segregated by supplier or source.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar wherein every one of the materials within the container is expected to have the specific chemical composition such as that of Jamison.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Kumar, because using a homogenous scrap sample would allow a machine learning system to be trained to identify scrap from any input as is taught in Kumar Para. [0066].
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 20200368786 A1) and Jamison (US 6579339 B1) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Gillner (US 20190091729 A1)
With respect to claim 4,
Kumar does not explicitly teach,
The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the sensor system is performed by a LIBS system.
Gillner teaches,
wherein the sensor system is performed by a LIBS system. (Para. [0006] teaches “In order to sort various aluminum alloys alloy-specifically, one or more alloy elements of the individual scrap fragments must be determined. For this purpose, systems for laser-induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS) or X-ray fluorescence (XRF) are typically used.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison wherein the sensor system is performed by a LIBS system such as that of Gillner.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison, because according to Para. [0045] of Gillner “In this way, for example, the ratio of the contents determined by the LIBS system at the analysis depth determined through the laser of the LIBS system, may be used practically as a fingerprint to obtain the surface composition information of a particular alloy.” Therefore, it would be obvious to combine the prior art in order to obtain surface composition information.
With respect to claim 18,
The combination of Kumar and Jamison does not explicitly teach,
The method as recited in claim 13, wherein the sensor system is a LIBS system.
Gillner teaches,
wherein the sensor system is performed by a LIBS system. (Para. [0006] teaches “In order to sort various aluminum alloys alloy-specifically, one or more alloy elements of the individual scrap fragments must be determined. For this purpose, systems for laser-induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS) or X-ray fluorescence (XRF) are typically used.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison wherein the sensor system is performed by a LIBS system such as that of Gillner.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison, because according to Para. [0045] of Gillner “In this way, for example, the ratio of the contents determined by the LIBS system at the analysis depth determined through the laser of the LIBS system, may be used practically as a fingerprint to obtain the surface composition information of a particular alloy.” Therefore, it would be obvious to combine the prior art in order to obtain surface composition information.
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 20200368786 A1) and Jamison (US 6579339 B1) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Jean (US 20210063327 A1).
With respect to claim 6,
The combination of Kumar and Jamison does not explicitly teach,
wherein a number of materials within the sample is less than 50%, less than 40%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 10%, less than 5%, or less than 1% of a total number of the materials within the container.
Jean teaches,
wherein a number of the materials within the sample is less than 50%, less than 40%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 10%, less than 5%, or less than 1% of a total number of the materials within the container. (Para. [0043] teaches “In some embodiments, a subset of the particles 124 (e.g., 10% or less) may be analyzed and may be sufficient to provide a good representation of the sample of particles 124 as a whole. For example, input data 128 acquired for the subset may be normalized to reflect/estimate the results for the whole sample of particles 124. The analysis of a subset of particles 124 may reduce processing time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison wherein a number of the materials within the sample is less than 50%, less than 40%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 10%, less than 5%, or less than 1% of a total number of the materials within the container such as that of Jean.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison, because splitting the amount of scrap analyzed at once would reduce the total weight of the sample. Jean also further teaches in Para. [0043] that a subset of materials analyzed would reduce processing time and the more the sample size is reduced the less the processing time.
With respect to claim 7,
The combination of Kumar and Jamison does not explicitly teach,
The method as recited in claim 1, wherein a number of the materials within the sample is less than 5% of a total number of the materials within the container.
Jean teaches,
wherein a number of the materials within the sample is less than 5% of a total number of the materials within the container. (Para. [0043] teaches “In some embodiments, a subset of the particles 124 (e.g., 10% or less) may be analyzed and may be sufficient to provide a good representation of the sample of particles 124 as a whole. For example, input data 128 acquired for the subset may be normalized to reflect/estimate the results for the whole sample of particles 124. The analysis of a subset of particles 124 may reduce processing time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison wherein a number of the materials within the sample is less than 5% of a total number of the materials within the container such as that of Jean.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison, because even though Jean only gives 10% as an MPEP 2144.05 states “"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Jean also further teaches in Para. [0043] that a subset of materials analyzed would reduce processing time and the more the sample size is reduced the less the processing time.
With respect to claim 14,
The combination of Kumar and Jamison does not explicitly teach,
wherein the number of material scrap pieces within the sample is less than 50%, less than 40%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 10%, less than 5%, or less than 1% of the total number of the material scrap pieces within the container.
Jean teaches,
wherein a number of the materials within the sample is less than 50%, less than 40%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 10%, less than 5%, or less than 1% of a total number of the materials within the container. (Para. [0043] teaches “In some embodiments, a subset of the particles 124 (e.g., 10% or less) may be analyzed and may be sufficient to provide a good representation of the sample of particles 124 as a whole. For example, input data 128 acquired for the subset may be normalized to reflect/estimate the results for the whole sample of particles 124. The analysis of a subset of particles 124 may reduce processing time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison wherein a number of the materials within the sample is less than 50%, less than 40%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 10%, less than 5%, or less than 1% of a total number of the materials within the container such as that of Jean.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison, because splitting the amount of scrap analyzed at once would reduce the total weight of the sample. Jean also further teaches in Para. [0043] that a subset of materials analyzed would reduce processing time and the more the sample size is reduced the less the processing time.
With respect to claim 15,
The combination of Kumar and Jamison does not explicitly teach,
The method as recited in claim 13, wherein a number of the material scrap pieces within the sample is less than 5% of the total number of the material scrap pieces within the container.
Jean teaches,
wherein a number of the materials within the sample is less than 5% of a total number of the materials within the container. (Para. [0043] teaches “In some embodiments, a subset of the particles 124 (e.g., 10% or less) may be analyzed and may be sufficient to provide a good representation of the sample of particles 124 as a whole. For example, input data 128 acquired for the subset may be normalized to reflect/estimate the results for the whole sample of particles 124. The analysis of a subset of particles 124 may reduce processing time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison wherein a number of the materials within the sample is less than 5% of a total number of the materials within the container such as that of Jean.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison, because even though Jean only gives 10% as an MPEP 2144.05 states “"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Jean also further teaches that a subset of materials analyzed would reduce processing time and the more the sample size is reduced the less the processing time.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 20200368786 A1), Jamison (US 6579339 B1), and Jean (US 20210063327 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Wirick (US 20210009169 A1).
With respect to claim 12,
The combination of Kumar and Jamison does not explicitly teach,
The method as recited in claim 6, wherein the container is an ISO shipping container.
Wirick further teaches,
wherein the container is an ISO shipping container. (Para. [0004] teaches “In the railroad art, rolling stock has become very specialized with cars specific for transporting automobiles (vehicle carriers), shipping containers (well cars), bulk commodities open top gondola for hauling coal, ballast, coke, wood chips, ore, sand, scrap metal and construction debris, and aggregate, bulk commodities closed top hoppers for hauling grain, sand, cement, potash, soda ash, DDG, and roofing granules, bulk commodities open top hoppers for products similar to open top gondola, tanker cars and more. Railcars typically have a very long useful life of 50+ years of potential service.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kumar, Jamison, and Jean wherein the container is an ISO shipping container such as that of Wirick.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Kumar, Jamison, and Jean because it would allow the metal scrap being shipped to stay in the container that it is shipped in. reducing the cost and hassle of moving the material to another container.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 20200368786 A1) and Jamison (US 6579339 B1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Wirick (US 20210009169 A1) and Robertson (US 5020084 A).
With respect to claim 20,
The combination of Kumar and Jamison does not explicitly teach,
The method as recited in claim 13, wherein the container is an ISO shipping container, and wherein the sample is less than 20 pounds of material scrap pieces.
Wirick teaches,
wherein the container is an ISO shipping container. (Para. [0004] teaches “In the railroad art, rolling stock has become very specialized with cars specific for transporting automobiles (vehicle carriers), shipping containers (well cars), bulk commodities open top gondola for hauling coal, ballast, coke, wood chips, ore, sand, scrap metal and construction debris, and aggregate, bulk commodities closed top hoppers for hauling grain, sand, cement, potash, soda ash, DDG, and roofing granules, bulk commodities open top hoppers for products similar to open top gondola, tanker cars and more. Railcars typically have a very long useful life of 50+ years of potential service.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison wherein the container is an ISO shipping container such as that of Wirick.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison, because it would allow the metal scrap being shipped to stay in the container that it is shipped in. reducing the cost and hassle of moving the material to another container.
The combination of Kumar, Jamison, and Wirick does not explicitly teach,
wherein the sample is less than 20 pounds of material scrap pieces.
Robertson teaches,
wherein the sample is less than 20 pounds of material scrap pieces. (Col. 2 Ln(s). [21-27] teach “X-ray fluorescence techniques have been employed to analyze gold ores but these generally use the gold L band which does not give the sensitivity required for measurement of the one part per million level of gold which is critical. Small samples effectively of a few grams are the maximum that can be used in these known machines.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kumar, Jamison, and Wirick wherein the sample is less than 20 pounds of material scrap pieces such as that of Robertson.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify he combination of Kumar, Jamison, and Wirick because, according to Col. 2 Ln(s). [21-27] of Robertson a few grams are the maximum sample size for an XRF system.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 20200368786 A1) and Jamison (US 6579339 B1) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Bitton (US 20210010103 A1).
With respect to claim 21,
The combination of Kumar and Jamison does not explicitly teach,
The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the container is labeled to contain the materials each having the specific chemical composition, and wherein the comparison provides a confirmation whether all of the materials within the container have the specific chemical composition.
Bitton teaches,
wherein the container is labeled to contain the materials each having the specific chemical composition, and wherein the comparison provides a confirmation whether all of the materials within the container have the specific chemical composition. Para. [0064] teaches “For example, a large sealed bag or sealed container containing the larger shot blasted pieces can be provided with the composition estimate, and possibly an uncertainty factor, written on the bag or container, or on a label affixed to the bag or container. In some examples, in step 212, the larger shot blasted pieces, together with an indication of the composition estimate of the smaller shot blasted pieces obtained in step 210, are provided for the use in manufacturing an aluminum alloy wheel. For example, a large sealed bag or sealed container containing the smaller shot blasted pieces can be provided with the composition estimate, and possibly an uncertainty factor, written on the bag or container, or on a label affixed to the bag or container.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison wherein the container is labeled to contain the materials each having the specific chemical composition, and wherein the comparison provides a confirmation whether all of the materials within the container have the specific chemical composition such as that as Bitton.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison because it would ensure the correct scrap is used. If the container is unlabeled no one would know what the container contains without further analysis. If the label does not match the composition, then it could lead to the wrong scrap being used.
With respect to claim 22,
The combination of Kumar and Jamison does not explicitly teach,
The method as recited in claim 13, wherein the container is labeled to contain the material scrap pieces each having the specific chemical composition, and wherein the determination provides a confirmation whether all of the material scrap pieces within the container have the specific chemical composition.
Bitton teaches,
wherein the container is labeled to contain the material scrap pieces each having the specific chemical composition, and wherein the determination provides a confirmation whether all of the material scrap pieces within the container have the specific chemical composition. (Para. [0064] teaches “For example, a large sealed bag or sealed container containing the larger shot blasted pieces can be provided with the composition estimate, and possibly an uncertainty factor, written on the bag or container, or on a label affixed to the bag or container. In some examples, in step 212, the larger shot blasted pieces, together with an indication of the composition estimate of the smaller shot blasted pieces obtained in step 210, are provided for the use in manufacturing an aluminum alloy wheel. For example, a large sealed bag or sealed container containing the smaller shot blasted pieces can be provided with the composition estimate, and possibly an uncertainty factor, written on the bag or container, or on a label affixed to the bag or container.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison wherein the container is labeled to contain the materials each having the specific chemical composition, and wherein the comparison provides a confirmation whether all of the materials within the container have the specific chemical composition such as that as Bitton.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Kumar and Jamison because it would ensure the correct scrap is used. If the container is unlabeled no one would know what the container contains without further analysis. If the label does not match the composition, then it could lead to the wrong scrap being used.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrew Schechter can be reached on 571-272-2302. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JOSHUA L FORRISTALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/LINA CORDERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857