DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 11/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
3. Applicant argues the amended claim(s) 1 is/are allowable over Shinohara et al. (US-20240308354-A1). Applicant continues, claim 1, as amended, recites “after a driving wheel has been stopped on a road surface such that the wheel speed is 0, a force due to the torque output from the driving motor is transmitted to the vehicle body through a motor housing and acts as a force which controls a movement of the vehicle body.” Shinohara does not disclose these features. In contrast, Shinohara describes a vehicle control device for generating “a driving force... by a driving device under a state in which a friction braking force is being generated when the vehicle is to be decelerated based on the physical quantity relating to the requested braking force.” See Shinohara, abstract. In other words, Shinohara describes generating a driving force when friction braking is occurring and “the vehicle is to be decelerated.” Id. Shinohara is completely silent as to a driving force applied after a vehicle has stopped. While Shinohara may contemplate changing an anti-jerk control torque based on a
difference between a target braking force and an actual braking force, Shinohara is completely silent as to applying a torque after a vehicle has stopped. See Shinohara, paragraph [0074]. Applicant continues, as described and illustrated in annotated FIG. 14 of Shinohara provided below, “when the target braking force is smaller than the actual braking force, the anti-jerk control torque is insufficient with respect to the actual braking force. As a result, strong shock at the stopping moment occurs.” Id. Further as described and illustrated in annotated FIG. 15 of Shinohara provided below, “as shown in FIG. 15, when the target braking force is larger than the actual braking force, the anti-jerk control torque is excessive for the actual braking force, and hence a braking distance becomes longer.” Id. Applicant concludes, Applicants respectfully submit that as consistently described in Shinohara, and as highlighted in annotated FIG. 15 of Shinohara, the anti-jerk control torque is applied while the vehicle wheel speed is more than 0, in other words, during a period of time when the vehicle wheel moves on a road surface, and not when the wheel is stopped on the road surface.
Annotated FIG. 15 of Shinohara by Applicant
4. However, FIG. 15 of Shinohara clearly illustrates that Anti-jerk control torque is applied when the vehicle is stopped. That is the anti-jerk torque is still applied “after a driving wheel has been stopped on a road surface such that the wheel speed in 0.” As such, Shinohara teaches “wherein, after a driving wheel has been stopped on a road surface such that the wheel speed in 0, a force due to the torque output from the driving motor is transmitted to the vehicle body through a motor housing and acts as a force which controls a movement of the vehicle body,” and the previous rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
5. As such, this argument is unpersuasive.
Annotated FIG. 15 of Shinohara by Examiner
6. Applicant argues independent claim(s) 15 includes limitations substantially similar to those of independent claim 1. For at least the same reasons as those discussed above with respect to claim 1, Shinohara fails to disclose one or more features of independent claim 15. Accordingly, claim 15 and corresponding dependent claim 20 are not anticipated by Shinohara for consistent reasons.
7. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
8. Applicant argues the dependent claim(s) is/are patentable by the virtue of their dependency on one of the independent claims and the additional features recited in the dependent claims.
9. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim and dependent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 15 and 20
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shinohara et al. (US-20240308354-A1).
In regards to claim 1
, Shinohara teaches A method of reducing a stop jerk of an electric vehicle, the method comprising: ([0001] The present invention relates to a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a vehicle control system. Figs. 1-2, [0035] In the electric vehicle 1, anti-jerk control is executed. The anti-jerk control aims to suppress uncomfortable vibration at a time of vehicle stop, to thereby reduce fatigue of an occupant, and outputs a torque corresponding to an actual braking force at the time of vehicle stop from the rear motor 7.)
acquiring, by a controller, vehicle state information through the electric vehicle state detection part; ([0010] Fig. 2 is a control block diagram of a vehicle control device (17) for executing anti-jerk control. The control device (17) acts as the controller. [0027] The wheels 2FL, 2FR, 2RL, and 2RR include wheel speed sensors (speed acquisition unit) 11FL, 11FR, 11RL, and 11RR which detect wheel speeds, respectively. [0031] The vehicle control device 17 acquires information from various types of sensors such as the rear wheel resolver 13, an accelerator pedal sensor 22 which detects an accelerator operation amount, a brake sensor 23 which detects a brake operation amount, and a gear position sensor 24, to thereby execute integrated control for the vehicle. [0038] The vehicle speed is calculated from output values of the wheel speed sensors 11 or the rear wheel resolver 13. The information from various types of sensor and the calculated information form the output of the sensors act as the vehicle state. The sensors act as the vehicle state detection parts.)
determining, by the controller, whether a vehicle reaches a stop completion state after deceleration based on the acquired vehicle state information; ([0081] At the moment of stopping the vehicle speed becomes equal to or lower than the defined speed which is determining, by the controller, whether a vehicle reaches a stop completion state after deceleration based on the acquired vehicle state information.)
when the controller determines that the vehicle reaches the stop completion state, determining and generating a torque command for jerk reduction to offset and reduce a vehicle jerk after the stop based on vibration periods of longitudinal acceleration signals detected by a longitudinal acceleration sensor of the vehicle state detection part, the torque command corresponding to the vibration periods of the longitudinal acceleration signals, and (Fig. 7, [0037] A target braking force correction unit 31 receives an input of the target braking force, and outputs a post-correction target braking force obtained by multiplying the target braking force by a gain. The gain is a value obtained by adding a correction gain to an initial gain. The correction gain is calculated by a correction gain calculation unit (driving force correction unit) 35. [0048] A detection permission determination unit 3325 sets a detection permission flag to ON when the vehicle speed is equal to or lower than the defined speed and the brake is depressed which means the vehicle is about to reach the stop completion state. [0049] A jerk calculation unit 3326 applies pseudo-differentiation to the G sensor value (or may apply pseudo differentiation to the vehicle speed twice), and further passes the result of the pseudo differentiation through a low-pass filter, to thereby calculate the jerk. G sensor value acts as the longitudinal acceleration signal by a longitudinal acceleration sensor. [0051] When the detection permission flag is ON and the forgetting determination flag is OFF, a maximum jerk calculation unit 3328 calculates and holds the maximum jerk in this period. [0056] A correction gain calculation unit 35 receives inputs of the maximum jerk threshold value, the maximum jerk, the torque increase flag, the detection permission flag, the acceleration fluctuation width, and the torque decrease flag, and outputs the correction gain. Figs. 11-13, [0072] Fig. 13 is a time chart for showing an operation of the correction gain calculation unit 35. [0073] In a section 1, the maximum jerk at the time of vehicle stop exceeds the maximum jerk threshold value, and the torque increase flag TUF is set to ON. The acceleration fluctuation width also exceeds the acceleration fluctuation width threshold value, but the torque increase flag TUF is ON. Thus, the torque decrease flag TDF maintains OFF. In a section 2, the torque increase flag TUF is set to ON for the first time after the vehicle starts, and hence the initial step size output by the initial step size determination unit 354 is used to determine the correction gain. The torque increase flag TUF is ON this time, and hence the sign of the step size is set to plus, to thereby increase the correction gain. In a section 3, the torque increase flag TUF has once been set to ON, and hence the step size selected by the maximum step size calculation unit 358 is used to determine the correction gain. In the section 3, the sign of the correction gain is plus as is in the section 2, and hence the correction gain is increased. In a section 4, the acceleration fluctuation width exceeds the acceleration fluctuation width threshold value, and the torque increase flag TUF is not ON. Thus, the torque decrease flag TDF is set to ON. In the section 4, the correction gain is updated toward the direction different from that in the section 3, and hence the step size is halved, to thereby reduce the correction gain. As seen by Fig. 13, the acceleration and jerk are periodic and each section is a vibration period. As such, the torque for offsetting and reducing a vehicle jerk after the stop is based on vibration periods of longitudinal acceleration signals detected by a longitudinal acceleration sensor.)
controlling, by the controller, an operation of a driving motor according to the generated torque command for jerk reduction and offsetting and reducing the vehicle jerk due to a torque output from the driving motor and applied to the vehicle ([0035] The anti-jerk control aims to suppress uncomfortable vibration at a time of vehicle stop, to thereby reduce fatigue of an occupant, and outputs a torque corresponding to an actual braking force at the time of vehicle stop from the rear motor 7 which is controlling, by the controller, an operation of a driving motor according to the generated torque command for jerk reduction and offsetting and reducing the vehicle jerk due to a torque output from the driving motor and applied to the vehicle.)
wherein, after a driving wheel has been stopped on a road surface such that the wheel speed in 0, a force due to the torque output from the driving motor is transmitted to the vehicle body through a motor housing and acts as a force which controls a movement of the vehicle body. ([0026] The electric vehicle 1 includes a rear motor (driving device) 7 which outputs torques to the rear wheels 2RL and 2RR. The rear wheels 2RL and 2RR are also generally referred to as “driving wheels 2.” A power transmission between the rear motor 7 and the rear wheels 2RL and 2RR is executed through a speed reducer 8, a differential 10, and rear axles 6RL and 6RR. [0035] The anti-jerk control aims to suppress uncomfortable vibration at a time of vehicle stop, to thereby reduce fatigue of an occupant, and outputs a torque corresponding to an actual braking force at the time of vehicle stop from the rear motor 7 which is applying a force due to the torque output from the driving motor. The force generated by the driving motor of a vehicle is necessarily transmitted to the vehicle body through a motor housing. As mentioned above, vibration at a time of vehicle stop is suppressed. At a time of vehicle stop means the driving wheel is in a state of having been stopped on a road surface.)
In regards to claim 2
, Shinohara teaches The method of claim 1, wherein, in the determining of whether the vehicle reaches the stop completion state, the controller determines whether a preset stop state enable condition is satisfied based on the acquired vehicle state information and wherein, when the preset stop state enable condition is satisfied, the controller determines that a current vehicle state reaches the stop completion state after the deceleration. ([0081] At the moment of stopping the vehicle speed becomes equal to or lower than the defined speed which is the stop completion state. As such, when the vehicle speed becomes equal to or lower than the defined speed, a preset stop state enable condition is satisfied based on the acquired vehicle state information.)
In regards to claim 5
, Shinohara teaches The method of claim 1, wherein, in the determining and generating of the torque command for jerk reduction, the controller applies a filter or a transfer function for noise removal to an acceleration signal input from the acceleration sensor to generate the torque command for jerk reduction. ([0044] A deceleration calculation unit 3321 differentiates the vehicle speed, and applies a low-pass filter for noise removal to a resulting derivative, to thereby calculate the deceleration of the vehicle. The G sensor value is used. [0049] A jerk calculation unit 3326 applies pseudo-differentiation to the G sensor value, and further passes the result of the pseudo differentiation through a low-pass filter, to thereby calculate the jerk which is determining and generating of the torque command for jerk reduction, by applying a filter for noise removal to an acceleration signal.)
In regards to claim 6
, Shinohara teaches The method of claim 5, wherein the filter or the transfer function having a natural frequency characteristic of a preset value is used in the controller. ([0049] A jerk calculation unit 3326 applies pseudo-differentiation to the G sensor value, and further passes the result of the pseudo differentiation through a low-pass filter. A low pass filter only passes signals below its cutoff frequency while attenuating all signals above it. By setting the cutoff frequency, which is the preset value, to a value that is below the frequency that causes vehicle jerk immediately after stopping the vehicle, or the natural frequency of the car, the jerk is reduced.)
In regards to claim 7
, Shinohara teaches The method of claim 6, wherein:
the controller uses a result value output through the filter or the transfer function as the torque command for jerk reduction; and (This limitation defines a closed loop system. [0049] A jerk calculation unit 3326 applies pseudo-differentiation to the G sensor value, and further passes the result of the pseudo differentiation through a low-pass filter. [0076] In the anti-jerk control, there is a method of not mathematically estimating the deviation, but detecting the deviation between the target braking force and the actual braking force, which occurs due to the temperature change and the like, from the physical quantities relating to the behavior of the vehicle at the time of vehicle stop, and feeding back the deviation to the anti-jerk control torque. Feeding back the physical quantities relating to the behavior of the vehicle means the systems is a closed loop system.)
the filter or the transfer function is configured to output the result value having the natural frequency characteristic including a frequency characteristic of the vehicle jerk, corresponding to a vehicle type, immediately after the stop. ([0049] A jerk calculation unit 3326 applies pseudo-differentiation to the G sensor value, and further passes the result of the pseudo differentiation through a low-pass filter. A low pass filter only passes signals below its cutoff frequency while attenuating all signals above it. By setting the cutoff frequency, which is the preset value, to a value that is below the frequency that causes vehicle jerk immediately after stopping the vehicle, or the natural frequency of the car, the jerk is reduced.)
In regards to claim 15
, Shinohara teaches An apparatus for reducing a stop jerk of an electric vehicle, the apparatus comprising: ([0001] The present invention relates to a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a vehicle control system. Figs. 1-2, [0035] In the electric vehicle 1, anti-jerk control is executed. The anti-jerk control aims to suppress uncomfortable vibration at a time of vehicle stop, to thereby reduce fatigue of an occupant, and outputs a torque corresponding to an actual braking force at the time of vehicle stop from the rear motor 7.)
a vehicle state detection part configured to detect vehicle state information; ([0010] Fig. 2 is a control block diagram of a vehicle control device (17) for executing anti-jerk control. The control device (17) acts as the controller. [0027] The wheels 2FL, 2FR, 2RL, and 2RR include wheel speed sensors (speed acquisition unit) 11FL, 11FR, 11RL, and 11RR which detect wheel speeds, respectively. [0031] The vehicle control device 17 acquires information from various types of sensors such as the rear wheel resolver 13, an accelerator pedal sensor 22 which detects an accelerator operation amount, a brake sensor 23 which detects a brake operation amount, and a gear position sensor 24, to thereby execute integrated control for the vehicle. [0038] The vehicle speed is calculated from output values of the wheel speed sensors 11 or the rear wheel resolver 13. The information from various types of sensor and the calculated information form the output of the sensors act as the vehicle state. The sensors act as the vehicle state detection parts.)
a controller configured to, when it is determined that a vehicle reaches a stop completion state after the vehicle is decelerated based on the vehicle state information acquired through the vehicle state detection part ([0081] At the moment of stopping the vehicle speed becomes equal to or lower than the defined speed which is determining, by the controller, whether a vehicle reaches a stop completion state after deceleration based on the acquired vehicle state information.), determining and generating a torque command for jerk reduction to offset and reduce a vehicle jerk immediately after the stop based on vibration periods of longitudinal acceleration signals detected by a longitudinal acceleration sensor of the vehicle state detection part, the torque commands corresponding to the vibration periods of the longitudinal acceleration signals; and (Fig. 7, [0037] A target braking force correction unit 31 receives an input of the target braking force, and outputs a post-correction target braking force obtained by multiplying the target braking force by a gain. The gain is a value obtained by adding a correction gain to an initial gain. The correction gain is calculated by a correction gain calculation unit (driving force correction unit) 35. [0048] A detection permission determination unit 3325 sets a detection permission flag to ON when the vehicle speed is equal to or lower than the defined speed and the brake is depressed which means the vehicle is about to reach the stop completion state. [0049] A jerk calculation unit 3326 applies pseudo-differentiation to the G sensor value (or may apply pseudo differentiation to the vehicle speed twice), and further passes the result of the pseudo differentiation through a low-pass filter, to thereby calculate the jerk. G sensor value acts as the longitudinal acceleration signal by a longitudinal acceleration sensor. [0051] When the detection permission flag is ON and the forgetting determination flag is OFF, a maximum jerk calculation unit 3328 calculates and holds the maximum jerk in this period. [0056] A correction gain calculation unit 35 receives inputs of the maximum jerk threshold value, the maximum jerk, the torque increase flag, the detection permission flag, the acceleration fluctuation width, and the torque decrease flag, and outputs the correction gain. Figs. 11-13, [0072] Fig. 13 is a time chart for showing an operation of the correction gain calculation unit 35. [0073] In a section 1, the maximum jerk at the time of vehicle stop exceeds the maximum jerk threshold value, and the torque increase flag TUF is set to ON. The acceleration fluctuation width also exceeds the acceleration fluctuation width threshold value, but the torque increase flag TUF is ON. Thus, the torque decrease flag TDF maintains OFF. In a section 2, the torque increase flag TUF is set to ON for the first time after the vehicle starts, and hence the initial step size output by the initial step size determination unit 354 is used to determine the correction gain. The torque increase flag TUF is ON this time, and hence the sign of the step size is set to plus, to thereby increase the correction gain. In a section 3, the torque increase flag TUF has once been set to ON, and hence the step size selected by the maximum step size calculation unit 358 is used to determine the correction gain. In the section 3, the sign of the correction gain is plus as is in the section 2, and hence the correction gain is increased. In a section 4, the acceleration fluctuation width exceeds the acceleration fluctuation width threshold value, and the torque increase flag TUF is not ON. Thus, the torque decrease flag TDF is set to ON. In the section 4, the correction gain is updated toward the direction different from that in the section 3, and hence the step size is halved, to thereby reduce the correction gain. As seen by Fig. 13, the acceleration and jerk are periodic and each section is a vibration period. As such, the torque for offsetting and reducing a vehicle jerk after the stop is based on vibration periods of longitudinal acceleration signals detected by a longitudinal acceleration sensor.)
a driving motor configured to be operated according to the torque command for jerk reduction output from the controller and configured to output a torque for offsetting and reducing the vehicle jerk and apply the torque to the vehicle, ([0035] The anti-jerk control aims to suppress uncomfortable vibration at a time of vehicle stop, to thereby reduce fatigue of an occupant, and outputs a torque corresponding to an actual braking force at the time of vehicle stop from the rear motor 7 which is controlling, by the controller, an operation of a driving motor according to the generated torque command for jerk reduction and offsetting and reducing the vehicle jerk due to a torque output from the driving motor and applied to the vehicle.)
wherein, when the driving wheel is in a state of having been stopped on a road surface, a force due to the torque output from the driving motor is transmitted to the vehicle body through a motor housing and acts as a force which controls a movement of the vehicle body. ([0026] The electric vehicle 1 includes a rear motor (driving device) 7 which outputs torques to the rear wheels 2RL and 2RR. The rear wheels 2RL and 2RR are also generally referred to as “driving wheels 2.” A power transmission between the rear motor 7 and the rear wheels 2RL and 2RR is executed through a speed reducer 8, a differential 10, and rear axles 6RL and 6RR. [0035] The anti-jerk control aims to suppress uncomfortable vibration at a time of vehicle stop, to thereby reduce fatigue of an occupant, and outputs a torque corresponding to an actual braking force at the time of vehicle stop from the rear motor 7 which is applying a force due to the torque output from the driving motor. The force generated by the driving motor of a vehicle is necessarily transmitted to the vehicle body through a motor housing. As mentioned above, vibration at a time of vehicle stop is suppressed. At a time of vehicle stop means the driving wheel is in a state of having been stopped on a road surface.)
In regards to claim 20
, Shinohara teaches The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the acceleration sensor includes a longitudinal acceleration sensor configured to detect longitudinal acceleration of the vehicle and output an acceleration signal, which is an electrical signal according to the detected value. ([0027] The electric vehicle 1 includes a G sensor (vehicle behavior acquisition unit) 5 which detects an acceleration in a front-rear direction of the vehicle. That is, the G sensor is a longitudinal acceleration sensor. [0049] A jerk calculation unit 3326 applies pseudo-differentiation to the G sensor value, and further passes the result of the pseudo differentiation through a low-pass filter, to thereby calculate the jerk. G sensor value acts as the longitudinal acceleration signal by a longitudinal acceleration sensor.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 3
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (US-20240308354-A1) in view of Hoshino et al. (WO-2020230302-A1) and further in view of Byeon et al. (KR-20070027805-A) and further in view of Kurita et al. (JP-2011027072-A).
In regards to claim 3
, Shinohara teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the stop state enable condition includes:
a first condition in which a brake pedal input value is greater than or equal to a predetermined pedal input reference value; ([0031] The vehicle control device 17 acquires information from various types of sensors such as the rear wheel resolver 13, an accelerator pedal sensor 22 which detects an accelerator operation amount, a brake sensor 23 which detects a brake operation amount, and a gear position sensor 24, to thereby execute integrated control for the vehicle. Inherently, stopping the vehicle encompasses using the brake pedal. Applicant’s disclosure has not provided any details on the predetermined pedal input reference value. By setting the predetermined pedal input reference value to zero when the brake pedal is not pressed, as soon as the brake pedal is pressed, the condition of the brake pedal input value being greater than or equal to a predetermined pedal input reference value, is satisfied.)
a second condition in which a wheel speed of the driving wheel is less than or equal to a predetermined speed reference value; ([0038] The vehicle speed is calculated from output values of the wheel speed sensors 11 or the rear wheel resolver 13. [0081] At the moment of stopping the vehicle speed becomes equal to or lower than the defined speed. As mentioned above, the vehicle speed is calculated based on the wheel speed. As such, when the vehicle speed becomes equal to or lower than the defined speed the wheel speed also less than or equal to a predetermined speed reference value.)
Shinohara does not teach a third condition in which an upward inclination of acceleration is in a state of rapidly rising a predetermined inclination reference value or more;
a fourth condition after occurrence of a micro-reverse rotation state of the driving motor in which a driving motor speed is in a negative (-) speed state in which a gear stage is at a forward D stage; and
a fifth condition in which the vehicle speed has a history of reaching a predetermined reference speed after a previous stop state enable condition satisfaction state is released.
However, Hoshino teaches the change in G at the torque switching timing at time t3 is not smooth (see FIG. 11A(c)), and this causes a peak P where the jerk j(t) temporarily becomes high near time t3 (see FIG. 11A(d)) ([0080], Fig. 11A). Applicant’s disclosure has not provided any details on the upward inclination of acceleration and the predetermined inclination reference value. The upward inclination of acceleration was interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Applicant’s specification and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art as the jerk value. As seen by Figure 1 below (Fig. 11A), the jerk is rapidly rising. By setting the predetermined inclination reference value to a value between 0 and the peak value (P in Figure 1), the upward inclination of acceleration is in a state of rapidly rising above a predetermined inclination reference value and the condition above is satisfied.
Figure 1- Jerk or upward inclination of acceleration
Byeon teaches when the driver brakes to stop a vehicle, the car accelerates in the opposite direction to the driving direction due to deceleration during the braking period, and the car body and human body are subject to a force that pulls them toward the driving direction due to inertial force. However, since the vehicle is an elastic body, the restoring force of the elastic body is applied immediately after the above-mentioned moment, causing the vehicle body and human body to be thrown backwards again, causing shock and jerk phenomena ([6:80], Fig. 1). As mentioned above the vehicle is moving forward while the driver is braking. While the gear stage is at a forward D stage, immediately after stopping the vehicle the car moves backwards which is the occurrence of a micro-reverse rotation state of the driving motor in which a driving motor speed is in a negative (-) speed state in which a gear stage is at a forward D stage
Kurita teaches the history that the engine is started after the idling stop and the vehicle speed is equal to or higher than a predetermined value is referred to as a travel history, and is expressed by setting a travel history flag inside the idle stop device (Page 2) which is the fifth condition in which the vehicle speed has a history of reaching a predetermined reference speed after a previous stop. The predetermined value acts as the predetermined reference speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control device and the vehicle control method of Shinohara, by incorporating the teachings of Hoshino and Byeon and Kurita, such that the predetermined inclination reference value is set to a value between 0 and the peak value to detect rapidly rising acceleration and the occurrence of the jerk phenomena where the vehicle moves in the opposite direction of the gear state after stopping is checked and the travel history of the vehicle is used to check whether the engine has a history of being started after the idling stop where the vehicle speed has been equal to or higher than a predetermined value.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Hoshino, to reduce the sensation of sudden stopping felt by the occupant when the vehicle is stopped ([0005]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the ride quality for the occupant to become smoother and more comfortable.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Byeon, to exhibits a superior effect of improving the ride comfort and safety ([6:365]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the passenger to feel safe in the car.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Kurita, to accomplish a fuel saving effect and an exhaust gas reduction effect in a traffic jam (Page 4) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicle to be environmentally friendly.
14. Claim(s) 4
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (US-20240308354-A1) in view of Hoshino et al. (WO-2020230302-A1) and further in view of Byeon et al. (KR-20070027805-A) and further in view of Kurita et al. (JP-2011027072-A) and further in view of Kaminade et al. (US-20210039665-A1).
In regards to claim 4
, Shinohara, as modified by Hoshino and Byeon and Kurita, teaches The method of claim 3.
Further, Hoshino teaches the second torque target value Tm2 is calculated from the viewpoint of smooth deceleration when the electric vehicle is about to come to a stop ([0029]). When the vehicle speed V reaches the switchover vehicle speed Vsw, the final motor torque command value Tm is switched from the first torque target value Tm1 to the second torque target value Tm2 ([0059]-[0060]) which encompasses determining that the stop state enable condition is satisfied.
Shinohara, as modified by Hoshino and Byeon and Kurita, does not teach wherein, only when an elapsed time of a state in which all of the first to fifth conditions are satisfied is within a predetermined set time.
However, Kaminade teaches a vehicle control apparatus and method for controlling a travel state of a vehicle ([0002]) which includes determining that a first condition, an operation velocity condition, and a second condition are satisfied. The operation velocity condition or the first condition is satisfied when an operation velocity which is an amount of change in the operation amount per unit time is equal to or higher than a predetermined positive operation velocity threshold. The second condition is satisfied when the operation amount becomes equal to or larger than a predetermined positive first operation amount threshold within a predetermined first time threshold from a time point at which the first condition is satisfied ([0028]) which is an elapsed time of a state in which all of the first to second conditions are satisfied within a predetermined set time. By using the method above and substituting the first and second conditions with the conditions in claim 3, it is verified that the first to fifth conditions are satisfied within a predetermined set time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control device and the vehicle control method of Shinohara, as already modified by Hoshino and Byeon and Kurita, by incorporating the teachings of Hoshino and Kaminade, such that the stop state enable condition is satisfied when all conditions are met within a predetermined first time threshold from a time point at which the first condition is satisfied.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Hoshino in regards to claim 3.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Kaminade, to execute the driving force suppression control at an appropriate timing ([0010]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the jerk phenomena to be suppressed in a timely manner.
15. Claim(s) 8, and 16
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (US-20240308354-A1) in view of Hoshino et al. (WO-2020230302-A1).
In regards to claim 8
, Shinohara teaches The method of claim 1.
Shinohara does not teaches wherein, in the determining and generating of the torque command for jerk reduction, a lead or lag torque command for jerk reduction is determined and generated, the phase of the lead or lag torque command being adjusted by a preset phase value with respect to the acceleration signal input from the acceleration sensor.
However, Hoshino teaches The lag processing unit B212 performs first-order lag processing based on the filter expressed by the equation (1) on the vehicle speed converted value to obtain the vehicle speed V(t) ([0067], Equation 1). Tm2 is obtained by multiplying the motor rotation speed ωm by a fixed gain Kvf and performing first-order delay processing with a time constant τ on the value obtained ([0078]) which encompasses generating lead or lag torque command for jerk reduction. Phase shift or delay by using the time constant τ is adjusting the phase by a preset phase value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control device and the vehicle control method of Shinohara, by incorporating the teachings of Hoshino, such that the lag processing unit of Hoshino is used on the vehicle speed, which is directly related to the acceleration of vehicle, and first-order delay processing is performed with a time constant on the obtained value of acceleration.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Hoshino in regards to claim 3.
In regards to claim 16
, Shinohara teaches The apparatus of claim 15.
Claim 16 recites an apparatus having substantially the same features of claim 8 above, therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
16. Claim(s) 9
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (US-20240308354-A1) in view of Hoshino et al. (WO-2020230302-A1) and further in view of Bang (US-8874297-B2).
In regards to claim 9
, Shinohara, as modified by Hoshino, teaches The method of claim 8.
Shinohara, as modified by Hoshino, does not teach wherein the torque command for jerk reduction is determined and generated to have the same period as the acceleration signal.
However, Bang teaches an anti-jerk compensation torque generator 260 configured to apply a preset gain to the vibration component in which a phase is delayed for the preset time to generate an anti-jerk compensation torque (Fig. 5, Col 6, lines 49-52). The phase delay unit 250 of the motor controller 200 delays a phase of the vibration component passing through the high pass filter 240 as shown in Fig. 8 (Col 8, lines 24-26). As illustrated by Figure 2 below (Fig. 8), the period of the compensation torque and the acceleration signal are the same.
Figure 2- Anti-jerk compensation torque
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control device and the vehicle control method of Shinohara, as already modified by Hoshino, by incorporating the teachings of Bang, such that the period of the compensation torque and the acceleration signal are the same.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Bang, improving ride comfort (Col 4, lines 63-64) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the passengers find the car more reliable.
17. Claim(s) 10
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (US-20240308354-A1) in view of Hoshino et al. (WO-2020230302-A1) and further in view of Kang (US-20210362722-A1).
In regards to claim 10
, Shinohara, as modified by Hoshino, teaches The method of claim 8.
Further, Hoshino teaches The lag processing unit B212 performs first-order lag processing based on the filter expressed by the equation (1) on the vehicle speed converted value to obtain the vehicle speed V(t) ([0067], Equation 1). Tm2 is obtained by multiplying the motor rotation speed ωm by a fixed gain Kvf and performing first-order delay processing with a time constant τ on the value obtained ([0078]) which encompasses generating lead or lag torque command for jerk reduction. Phase shift or delay by using the time constant τ is adjusting the phase by a preset phase value.
Shinohara, as modified by Hoshino, does not teach which maximizes an offset effect of the vehicle jerk immediately after the stop through a preceding test and an evaluation process with respect to the same vehicle type.
However, Kang teaches an anti-jerk control method, when the anti-jerk control is performed according to the total weight of a vehicle, surges in various conditions is effectively alleviated, and a surge suppression effect is maximized ([0033]) which encompasses maximizing an offset effect of the vehicle jerk. Each value in Table 1 to 12 is changed according to vehicle characteristics, and thus is required to be set based on data obtained from conducting preliminary tests and evaluations for associated vehicles ([0160], Tables 1-12) which encompasses the preceding test and an evaluation process with respect to the same vehicle type.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control device and the vehicle control method of Shinohara, as already modified by Hoshino, by incorporating the teachings of Hoshino and Kang, such that anti-jerk control is in a manner that the surge suppression effect is maximized and the vehicle characteristics is set based on data obtained from conducting preliminary tests and evaluations for associated vehicles.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Hoshino in regards to claim 3.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Kang, to reduce surge vibration of electric vehicles, thereby reducing a driver's fatigue and improving the safety of cargo ([0021]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the road to become safer for the vehicles and other drivers.
18. Claim(s) 11-14 and 17-19
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (US-20240308354-A1) in view of Hoshino et al. (WO-2020230302-A1) and further in view of Cho (US-20230202308-A1).
In regards to claim 11
, Shinohara, as modified by Hoshino, teaches The method of claim 8.
Shinohara, as modified by Hoshino, does not teach wherein the torque command for jerk reduction is determined and generated as a value out of a preset backlash torque range in a torque range including a zero torque.
However, Cho teaches the anti jerk control is performed in the motor control unit 220. The motor control unit 220 reduces the impact by driving/regenerative switching when the driving system passes through the driveline backlash region to prevent the occurrence of vibration ([0047]). The backlash region acts as the preset backlash torque range in a torque range including a zero torque.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control device and the vehicle control method of Shinohara, as already modified by Hoshino, by incorporating the teachings of Cho, such that the anti jerk control is performed when the driving system passes through the driveline backlash region to prevent the occurrence of vibration.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Cho, to effectively reduce vibration and improve drivability ([0011]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the ride to be smooth.
In regards to claim 12
, Shinohara, as modified by Hoshino and Cho, teaches The method of claim 11.
Further, Hoshino teaches the motor controller determines a final motor torque command value Tm based on the detection values of various sensors, and operates the inverter to control the power supplied to the electric motor so that the electric motor realizes an actual output torque based on this final motor torque command value Tm ([0013]) which encompasses determining a final motor torque in any direction inclining when the current gear stage is a forward stage. The gradient torque estimator calculates a second motor torque estimate value by applying a low-pass filter to the previous final torque command value ([0048]). As mentioned above, a low-pass filter is used to calculate the second motor torque. The output of a low-pass filter has the same direction as its input. Therefore, when the acceleration signal is in a positive (+) direction, then all command values will have positive (+) values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control device and the vehicle control method of Shinohara, as already modified by Hoshino and Cho, by further incorporating the teachings of Hoshino, such that actual output torque is calculated by applying a low-pass filter to the previous final torque command value.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Hoshino in regards to claim 3.
In regards to claim 13
, Shinohara, as modified by Hoshino and Cho, teaches The method of claim 11.
Further, Hoshino teaches the motor controller determines a final motor torque command value Tm based on the detection values of various sensors, and operates the inverter to control the power supplied to the electric motor so that the electric motor realizes an actual output torque based on this final motor torque command value Tm ([0013]) which encompasses determining a final motor torque in any direction inclining when the current gear stage is a forward stage. The gradient torque estimator calculates a second motor torque estimate value by applying a low-pass filter to the previous final torque command value ([0048]). As mentioned above, a low-pass filter is used to calculate the second motor torque. The output of a low-pass filter has the same direction as its input. Therefore, when the acceleration signal is in a negative (-) direction, then all command values will have negative (-) values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control device and the vehicle control method of Shinohara, as already modified by Hoshino and Cho, by further incorporating the teachings of Hoshino, such that actual output torque is calculated by applying a low-pass filter to the previous final torque command value.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Hoshino in regards to claim 3.
In regards to claim 14
, Shinohara, as modified by Hoshino and Cho, teaches The method of claim 11.
Further, Hoshino teaches the stop-time control includes a first jerk adjustment process that adjusts the jerk of the electric vehicle to a predetermined upper limit, so that the deceleration and jerk of the electric vehicle have a profile that decreases asymptotically toward zero as the vehicle speed decreases ([0006]) which encompasses the torque offset gradually decreases and the command value gradually converges to zero with the passage of time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control device and the vehicle control method of Shinohara, as already modified by Hoshino and Cho, by further incorporating the teachings of Hoshino, such that the stop-time control includes a first jerk adjustment process so that the deceleration and jerk of the electric vehicle have a profile that decreases asymptotically toward zero.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Hoshino in regards to claim 3.
In regards to claim 17
, Shinohara, ad modified by Hoshino, teaches The apparatus of claim 16.
Claim 17 recites an apparatus having substantially the same features of claim 11 above, therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 11.
In regards to claim 18
, Shinohara, ad modified by Hoshino and Cho, teaches The apparatus of claim 17.
Claim 18 recites an apparatus having substantially the same features of claim 12 above, therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 12.
In regards to claim 19
, Shinohara, ad modified by Hoshino and Cho, teaches The apparatus of claim 17.
Claim 19 recites an apparatus having substantially the same features of claim 13 above, therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 13.
Conclusion
19. The prior art made of record
and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bang et al. (US-20140336885-A1) teaches a method and system for controlling anti-jerk in order to reduce vibration of a vehicle.
Park et al. (US-20110112709-A1) teaches an anti-jerk control apparatus and method for a Hybrid Electric Vehicle.
Hoshiya (US-20200139986-A1) teaches A drive force control system for a vehicle having a motor and a battery that allows a driver to sense a satisfactory acceleration even if an output torque of a motor is restricted.
Non-patent Literature Kim et al. “Anti-Jerk Controller Design with a Cooperative Control Strategy in Hybrid Electric Vehicle” teaches a method for vibration suppression in the drivetrain of HEV(Hybrid Electric Vehicle).
Non-patent Literature Wang et al. “A Real-Time Vibration Suppression Strategy in Electric Vehicles” teaches a strategy for vibration suppression of an electric vehicle.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661