Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
It is noted that the text of withdrawn claims 1-5 and 13 are not recited in the claims version filed 01/20/2026, and it is not clear if the claims are still pending but withdrawn, or canceled. According to MPEP 714 [R-07.2022](c): Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
In order to advance the prosecution, no notice of improper amendment/response will be sent, and claims 1-5 and 13 remain considered as pending but withdrawn.
Claim 14 is newly added.
Claims 6-12 and 14 are under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quaghebeur (BE 1019681 A5, published 09/04/2012, hereafter Quaghebeur) and further in view of Ashihara (Occurance, Biosynthesis and Metabolism of Theanine (y-Glutamyl-L-ethylamide) in Plants: A Comprehensive Review, published 01/31/2015, hereafter Ashihara). Additionally, the following evidentiary reference is added: Zhi-Wei Liu et al. (hereafter Liu)
As evidenced by Liu, D-theanine can only be produced industrially and L-theanine is the theanine produced by green tea plants (introduction, lines 2-5). Therefore, any mention of theanine from tea plants is referencing L-theanine.
Quaghebeur teaches the use of L-amino acids, specifically the use of a single amino acid, for the purpose of influencing life in crops (abstract). Claim 2 of Quaghebeur teaches that the composition will increase the yield of crops (according to the claim limitations of instant claim 6). Quaghebeur lists the following amino acid group to be selected from: glutamine, asparagine, histidine, arginine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid and lysine (claim 1). Quaghebeur teaches the application of the composition to both the plant itself and the surrounding soil (page 3; according to the limitations of instant claim 7). It further describes spraying as the preferred application of the composition to crops and teaches the use of the composition during growing season(page 9 and page 11, example 3 respectively; according to the limitations of instant claim 7). Additionally, Quaghebeur teaches the composition further comprising a fertilizer (page 9; according to the limitations of instant claim 7). Claim 1 of Quaghebeur teaches the application of composition from 0.5g per hecacre up to 250g per hecacre which is equivalent to approximately 12.15g per acre up to approximately 101.21g per acre (overlapping the limitations of instant claims 10-12). Lastly, Quaghebeur teaches two treatments at the start of the growing season, and further teaches a method of multiple applications during the growing season (page 11, example 3; according to the limitations of instant claim 8). Quaghebeur teaches the stimulation of the yield of tomato plants (page 2, last paragraph; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Quaghebeur teaches the formulation increases both the yield and coloring of apples (page 11, example 3; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14).
Quaghebeur fails to explicitly teach an amino acid, salt, or derivative with the chemical formula of HO2CCH(NH2)CH2CH2CONHR, such as L-theanine (instant and independent claim 6).
Ashihara teaches the theanine is an analogue of glutamine (page 1, introduction, paragraph 1; according to the limitations of claim 6). Furthermore, Ashihara teaches that theanine works the same as arginine in the detoxification of ammonia in plants (page 6, function of theanine in planta). It further explains some plants, like tea plants, prefer ammonia ions as an inorganic nitrogen source for growth and the theanine breaks down to the ammonia to produce the nitrogen source for the plant (page 3, supply of inorganic nitrogen for theanine synthesis; according to the limitations of claim 6). Lastly, Ashihara teaches that plants naturally hydrolyze theanine to produce glutamic acid (page 5, catabolism of theanine, paragraph 1).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would apply a compound with the structure of the claimed application to plants as outlined by Quaghebeur in view of Ashihara. Quaghebeur outlines the use of L-amino acids as plant promoting compositions to be applied to plants or soil two or more times during the growing season. As mentioned above, the prior art teaches theanine, specifically L-theanine as evidenced by Liu, which is a compound of formula 1 as instant claimed when R is an alkyl, specifically ethyl, as taught by the instant specification on page 6 lines 6-11. Although Quaghebeur does not describe the explicit use of theanine, Ashihara describes the function and importance of theanine in a plant to break down ammonia to provide the plant nitrogen thus promoting plant growth. Ashihara further outlines that not only is theanine an analogue of glutamine, an amino acid taught in Quaghebeur, but it is also teaches that theanine hydrolyzes to create glutamic acid, another amino acid option in the composition disclosed in Quaghebeur. Thus, it would be obvious to substitute the L-amino acid taught in Quaghebeur for the L-amino acid, L-theanine, mentioned in Ashihara. Simple substitution of one known amino acid for another is within purview of the skilled artisan and would yield predictable results. Additionally, it would be of obviousness to apply, specifically spray, an L-amino acid plant promoting composition to a plant directly or to the surrounding soil in order to promote growth as described in Quaghebeur and according to the limitations of claim 7. The MPEP 2144.05 (I) states that when ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facia of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would be of prima facia obvious to use a plant promoting solution in the concentrations disclosed in claims 10-12 as those concentrations overlap the range disclosed in Quaghebeur. Thus, it would be obvious to apply an L-amino acid compound with the chemical formula HO2CCH(NH2)CH2CH2CONHR, such as theanine, in the disclosed concentrations to plants in order to promote plant metabolism.
Provisional Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 6-8, 10-12, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6-8 and 10-11 of copending Application No. 17/956221. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 6-8 of application 17/956221 teaches a method for augmenting the urea cycle in a plant using a urea cycle augmenting composition comprising amino acids, specifically L-arginine, L-ornithine, L-aspartic acid, L-citrulline, L-argininosuccinic acid, and agmatine, or salts or derivatives thereof; and applying an amount of the composition to one or both of a seed and a plant growing from the seed sufficient to augment the urea cycle of the plant (claim 6). The specification teaches that augmenting the urea cycle results in improved plant growth and yield (page 4-5, lines 33 and 1-3 respectively). Claim 7 teaches the method of applying the composition to a plurality of plants by one or more of: soaking the seeds; spraying the soil proximate to the plants at time of planting of the seeds; praying soil proximate to the plants at time of planting of the seeds, spraying soil proximate to the plants during the growing season, spraying foliage of the plants during the growing season, and incorporation of the composition into a fertilizer solution used for fertigation of the plants during the growing season. Claim 8 teaches an additional step of between 1 and 5 applications of the composition. Claims 10 and 11 of application 17/956221 teach the application of the urea cycle augmenting composition to at specific rates. As described above, the specification for 17/956221 outlines that augmenting the urea cycle results in improved plant growth and yield (page 4-5, lines 33 and 1-3 respectively) which reads on the instant method. Claim 10 teaches an application rate equivalent between of 5.0 g and 1000g of amino acids while claim 11 teaches an application rate equivalent between 10g and 60g of amino acids.
Although 17985221 teaches that augmenting the urea cycle it fails to teach an L-amino acid explicitly being used as a plant metabolism promoter, but it clearly teaches that augmenting urea cycle improves plant growth which overlaps with the instant claims. Additionally, 17985221 fails to teach the exact rate equivalents as the present application but teach overlapping amounts.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant claimed invention overlaps with claim the compositions and rate equivalents in17985221. As described above in the claim interpretation, the claims of the current application teach the method of applying a non-specific L-amino acid. Although, application 17985221 does not explicit teach the method of using an L-amino acid for a plant growth promoter, it does teach that augmenting the urea cycle improves plant growth with L-amino acid. Therefore, it would be of obviousness to use an L-amino acid as a plant metabolism promoter as outlined in claims 6-8 and 10-12 of the instant application because 17985221 teaches one method in which L-amino acids promote metabolism. Furthermore, claims 7-8 of both applications teach the same methods and quantities of applying the composition to plants. The MPEP 2144.05 (I) states that a prima facia case of obviousness exists when ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed in the prior art. The ranges of both applications lie within or overlap each other thus making it obvious to claim both sets of ranges. Therefore, this is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 01/20/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
In regards to Applicant’s arguments against “Section 1 of the Office Action”, Applicant argues that the primary reference does not disclose the same amino acid required by the claim, and argues that the reference teaches away from the use of the type of amino acid required by the claim. Applicant then argues that Ashihara is directed towards tea plants and the instant claims recite “non-tea plants”.
In regards to Applicant’s argument that the primary reference does not disclose the same amino acid as the instant claim 6, it is first noted that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Further, it is further reiterated that Quaghebeur teaches the use of glutamine and arginine to improve plant growth (claims 1-2) and Ashihara, the secondary reference, teaches that arginine and theanine work the same, thus providing motivation to substitute one for another. Further, it is noted although Applicant’s instant application teaches the use of “non-proteinogenic amino acids”, applicant has not provided any data to demonstrate why proteinogenic amino acids would not function in the same capacity. The MPEP 2111.03(III) states “applicant has the burden of showing that the introduction of additional steps or specific components which would materially change the characteristics of the claimed invention.” In summary, Applicants have failed to properly demonstrate how and which additional components materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed composition.
In regards to Applicant’s argument against Ashihara, Applicant is again reminded that that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Ashihara is cited to cure the deficiencies of Quaghebeur, and as demonstrated above teach that that arginine and theanine work the same within plants thus providing the motivation to substitute one for another absent Applicant providing evidence otherwise.
In summary the examiner is not persuaded by Applicant’s arguments, and the rejections of record are maintained.
In regards to Applicant’s arguments against “Section 2 of the Office Action”, Applicant again argues that the non-statutory double patenting rejections are premature cannot be fully addressed at this time. Applicant further requests withdrawal of the rejection until the issue becomes ripe. A request withdraw the rejection until the issue becomes ripe remains an improper response to a double patenting rejection. Furthermore, the claims in the copending application 17/956,221 are broad and thus encompass both tea and non-tea plants. Since Applicants fail to properly respond to the rejections of record, the double patenting rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/A.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/ISIS A GHALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611