Detailed Action begins on Page 3
Table of Contents
Claim Objections 3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 3
Claims 24-30 and 32-42 3
Claim 43 12
Allowable Subject Matter 13
Citation of Relevant Art 13
Conclusion 14
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 25, it recites the limitation “wherein the first optical sensing system is configured to determine detect the rotational input” and this should only recite determine or detect, not “determine detect”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-30 and 32-42
Claims 24-30 and 32-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washizu et al. (US 20100079225 A1, hereinafter “Washizu”) in view of Ishiyama et al. (US 7292741 B2, hereinafter “Ishiyama”) and Mistry et al. (US 20140139422 A1, hereinafter “Mistry”).
Regarding Claim 24, Washizu discloses an electronic device comprising:
an enclosure defining an opening (61) along a side of the enclosure;
a processing element (27) positioned at least partially within the enclosure [0039];
a crown (56, 57) positioned along the side of the enclosure and extending through the opening in the enclosure, the crown configured to receive:
a rotational input comprising a rotation about a rotation axis (via element 55 [0051-0053]); and
a lateral input along a direction parallel to the rotation axis (via element 24 [0051-0053]);
a sensing system configured to detect the lateral input (24), wherein:
the wearable electronic device is responsive to the information received from the rotational input, and the lateral input [0052].
With respect to the preamble: the preamble of the claim has not been given any patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Pitney Bowes Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999), Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997), Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951) and MPEP 2111.02. In this case, none of the limitations following the preamble require the structure to be in a wearable electronic device.
Washizu does not disclose an optical sensor for detecting rotational input or a wireless communication system operatively coupled to the processing element and configured to receive information from a remote electronic device.
However, Ishiyama discloses an input device with a head and a stem configured to receive a rotational input and a translational input (Fig. 17, push button switch 55 and rotation input element 57), an optical sensor positioned within the enclosure and conigured to detect the rotational input (elements 57,65-68)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Washizu to replace the rotational switch with the optical sensor as suggested by Ishiyama because simply substituting one known means for detecting rotation of a push button/rotation input device with another provides the predictable result that the rotation of the device will be accurately detected.
Mistry teaches that a wearable electronic device may be paired with other remote devices [0213] by having a wirelesss communications system and connecting to a network or remote device through a personal area network such as WiFi, Bluetooth, NFC, or Zigbee so that the wearable device can be connected and receive information from a device such as smart phone or a smart tv [0213]. This wireless pairing allows a user to control the remote device with the wearable electronic device or to control the wearable electronic device with the remote device [0213].
From the disclosure of Mistry it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Washizu and Ishiyama to further include a wireless communications system as an additional means to control the device and the information displayed thereon like, this benefit being taught by Mistry, like the translation/rotational input already used to control the displayed information such that the wearable electronic device is responsive to the information received from a remote device.
Regarding Claim 25, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry as described in the paragraphs above further disclose the wearable device, wherein the optical sensor is configured to detect the rotational input in response to light reflected off the rotating component (stem), see Ishiyama [0008]
Regarding Claim 26, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry disclose the wearable electronic device of claim 24 and Washizu further discloses wherein the crown comprises: a crown body (56); and a shaft (57) coupled to the crown body and extending through the opening [fig. 2B].
Regarding Claim 27, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry disclose the wearable electronic device of claim 24 further comprising a microphone configured to detect inputs to the wearable electronic device, see Mistry [0089].
Regarding Claim 28, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry disclose the wearable electronic device of claim 24 and Washizu further discloses wherein the second sensing system comprises a force sensor (element 24 [0052,[0053]).
Regarding Claim 29, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry disclose the wearable electronic device of claim 24 and Washizu further discloses wherein: the second sensing system comprises a collapsible dome; and in response to the deformation caused by the translation input, the collapsible dome is configured to complete a circuit, see Washizu [0052],[0053] (element 24).
Regarding Claim 30, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry disclose the wearable electronic device of claim 29 and Washizu further discloses wherein the dome switch is configured to produce a haptic output in response to being actuated by the lateral input [0052, 0053] (i.e. when the button is pressed downwards against the collapsible dome switch 24).
Regarding Claim 32, Washizu discloses an electronic device comprising:
an enclosure (61);
a processing element (27) positioned at least partially within the enclosure [0039];
a crown (56, 57) positioned along the side of the enclosure and extending through the opening in the enclosure, and defining an
end surface and
a peripheral surface [fig. 2B];
a sensing system configured to detect
a rotational input applied to the crown(via element 55 [0051-0053]); and
a lateral/force input applied to the end surface of the crown (via element 24 [0051-0053]); wherein:
the electronic device is responsive to the information received from the rotational input, and the lateral input [0052].
With respect to the preamble: the preamble of the claim has not been given any patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Pitney Bowes Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999), Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997), Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951) and MPEP 2111.02. In this case, none of the limitations following the preamble require the structure to be in a wearable electronic device.
Washizu does not disclose an optical sensor for detecting rotational input or a wireless communication system operatively coupled to the processing element and configured to receive information from a remote electronic device.
However, Ishiyama discloses an input device with a head and a stem configured to receive a rotational input and a translational input (Fig. 17, push button switch 55 and rotation input element 57), an optical sensor positioned within the enclosure and configured to detect the rotational input (elements 57,65-68)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Washizu to replace the rotational switch with the optical sensor as suggested by Ishiyama because simply substituting one known means for detecting rotation of a push button/rotation input device with another provides the predictable result that the rotation of the device will be accurately detected.
Mistry teaches that a wearable electronic device may be paired with other remote devices [0213] by having a wirelesss communications system and connecting to a network or remote device through a personal area network such as WiFi, Bluetooth, NFC, or Zigbee so that the wearable device can be connected and receive information from a device such as smart phone or a smart tv [0213]. This wireless pairing allows a user to control the remote device with the wearable electronic device or to control the wearable electronic device with the remote device [0213].
From the disclosure of Mistry it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Washizu and Ishiyama to further include a wireless communications system as an additional means to control the device and the information displayed thereon like, this benefit being taught by Mistry, like the translation/rotational input already used to control the displayed information such that the wearable electronic device is responsive to the information received from a remote device.
Regarding Claim 33, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry as described in the paragraphs above further disclose wherein the optical sensor is configured to detect the rotational input based at least in part on light reflected from a component of the crown that rotates during the rotational input, see Ishiyama [0008].
Regarding Claim 34, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry as described in the paragraphs above further disclose wherein the component of the crown that rotates during the rotational input is a crown shaft that extends into the enclosure through a hole defined through the enclosure see Ishiyama [0008].
Regarding Claim 35, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry as described in the paragraphs above further wherein: the wearable electronic device further comprises a substrate (20) coupled to an interior surface of the enclosure [0037]; and the sensing system includes: a rotation sensing system coupled to the substrate; and a force sensing system coupled to the substrate as Washizu provides for the sensors coupled to the substrate [0047] .
Regarding Claim 36, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry as described in the paragraphs above further wherein the force sensing system is a dome switch, see Washizu [0052],[0053] (element 24).
Regarding Claim 37, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry as described in the paragraphs above further wherein: the information is first information; and the wireless communication system is further configured to send second information to the remote electronic device, see Mistry [0213] (control information both directions).
Regarding Claim 38, Washizu discloses an electronic device comprising:
an enclosure defining an opening (61) along a side of the enclosure;
a processing element (27) positioned at least partially within the enclosure [0039];
a crown (56, 57) configured to receive:
a rotational input comprising a rotation about a rotation axis (via element 55 [0051-0053]); and
a lateral input along a direction parallel to the rotation axis (via element 24 [0051-0053]);
the crown comprising
a crown body (56); and a shaft (57) coupled to the crown body and extending through the opening [fig. 2B]
a sensing assembly coupled to the interior side of the enclosure [fig. 2B] comprising a first sensor system for detecting the rotational input applied to the crown (via element 55 [0051-0053]); and a second sensing system configured to detect the lateral/force input applied to the end surface of the crown (via element 24) [0051-0053]
Washizu does not disclose an optical sensor or a first optical sensing system for detecting rotational input or a wireless communication system operatively coupled to the processing element and configured to receive information from a remote electronic device.
However, Ishiyama discloses an input device with a head and a stem configured to receive a rotational input and a translational input (Fig. 17, push button switch 55 and rotation input element 57), an optical sensor positioned within the enclosure and conigured to detect the rotational input (elements 57,65-68)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Washizu to replace the rotational switch with the optical sensor as suggested by Ishiyama because simply substituting one known means for detecting rotation of a push button/rotation input device with another provides the predictable result that the rotation of the device will be accurately detected.
Mistry teaches that a wearable electronic device may be paired with other remote devices [0213] by having a wirelesss communications system and connecting to a network or remote device through a personal area network such as WiFi, Bluetooth, NFC, or Zigbee so that the wearable device can be connected and receive information from a device such as smart phone or a smart tv [0213]. This wireless pairing allows a user to control the remote device with the wearable electronic device or to control the wearable electronic device with the remote device [0213].
From the disclosure of Mistry it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Washizu and Ishiyama to further include a wireless communications system as an additional means to control the device and the information displayed thereon like, this benefit being taught by Mistry, like the translation/rotational input already used to control the displayed information such that the wearable electronic device is responsive to the information received from a remote device.
Regarding Claim 39, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry as described in the paragraphs above further disclose wherein the optical sensor is configured to detect the rotational input based at least in part on light reflected from a component of the crown that rotates during the rotational input, see Ishiyama [0008].
Regarding Claim 40, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry as described in the paragraphs above further disclose wherein the component of the crown that rotates during the rotational input is a crown shaft that extends into the enclosure through a hole defined through the enclosure see Ishiyama [0008].
Regarding Claim 41, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry as described in the paragraphs above further wherein the lateral input causes the shaft to move along the direction parallel to the rotation axis, see Washizu [fig. 2B] (i.e. when the button is pressed downwards against the collapsible dome switch 24)).
Regarding Claim 42, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry as described in the paragraphs above further wherein: the wearable electronic device further comprises a substrate (20) coupled to an interior surface of the enclosure [0037]; and the sensing system includes: a rotation sensing system coupled to the substrate; and a force sensing system (second sensor) coupled to the substrate as Washizu provides for the sensors coupled to the substrate [0047].
Claim 43
Claim 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to claim 38 above, and further in view of Ferri (US 2013/0163395) and Otani et al. (US 20080185272 A1, hereinafter “Otani”).
Regarding Claim 43, Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry do not specifically disclose the tactile switch is configured to produce a haptic output when the collapsible dome deforms; and the haptic output is propagated through the stem to the head of the input device.
However, Ferri discloses an input device where a tactile switch is configured to produce a haptic output when the collapsible dome deforms; and the haptic output is propagated through the stem to the head of the input device, see Fig. 1A, 2, [0037]. Similarity, Otani discloses providing a click in a rotating knob to provide the operator the click feedback feeling which enhances the feeling when rotating the knob [0003, 0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the tactile switch of Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry to include haptic feedback as suggested by Ferri because doing so allows the user to know when the switch is in either the activating position or the resting position and also the haptic clicking feedback of Otani for enhancing the feeling of the rotational input.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 31,Washizu, Ishiyama, and Mistry disclose the wearable device according to claim 24 and Mistry further provides for touch sensitive areas on a wearable electronic device but does not provide for a touch-sensitive display configured to receive a touch input and provide a graphical output in addition to the graphical output being responsive to the rotational input, the lateral input, and the information received from the remote electronic device all in a single device. Additional prior art fails to provide sufficient motivation for a combination with all of these limitations.
Citation of Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tanaka et al. (US 20090115748 A1) discloses an inputting device includes an actuator that can move and rotate, a rotation sensor for detecting a rotation of the actuator, a movement sensor for detecting that the actuator moves to a predetermined position, and a rotation suppressor for preventing the actuator from rotating when the actuator moves to the predetermined position and for allowing the actuator to rotate when the actuator is not positioned at the predetermined position. This input device prevents erroneous operation and performs various operations.
Born et al. (US 7404667 B2) discloses a magnetic control device for a timepiece comprises a sealed tube which comprises a blind end inserted into an opening of the timepiece, whereas the other end of the tube opens towards the outside, and a control stem is provided in order to slide inside the tube, the control stem carries a magnet which is displaced integrally with the stem inside the tube.
Gauthey et al. (US 7286063 B2) discloses a method that relates to the input of a security code by means of a touch screen of an electronic device such as a watch for access to a specific function, an apparatus or a given location, the touch screen comprises control keys, which can be activated by a manual action of a user using a finger or a stylus. Each key is linked to a microprocessor unit of the electronic device.
Lang (US 20020101457 A1) discloses a user interface for small computing devices taht includes a display screen and a bezel encircling the display screen, the bezel is adapted to move relative to the display screen in one or more axes. For example, the bezel may be rotated about the display screen, pivoted about a pivot point, or moved in a planar direction.
Conclusion
/KEVIN ANDREW JOHNSTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/REGIS J BETSCH/SPE, Art Unit 2844