DETAILED ACTION
In a communication received on 7 August 2026, the applicants amended claims 1, 8, and 15 and canceled clams 4, 11, and 18.
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-17 and 21-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baluja et al. (US 2008/0005271 A1) in view of Deodurg et al. (US 2022/0394039 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Baluja discloses: a method (i.e., executing a request-logging method in a communications device or service-provider intermediary in Baluja, ¶¶ [0007], [0027], [0032]) comprising:
wherein the identified first API key is used to identify a log corresponding to the first API key (i.e., requests can be stored in a per-user log and linked using criteria including the user or application in Baluja, ¶¶ [0041]-[0042]);
determining, by the proxy device, whether the log corresponding to the first API key exists (i.e., logging code checks whether data log 307 has already been created in Baluja, ¶ [0040]);
in response to determining that the log corresponding to the first API key does not exist, generating, by the proxy device, the log corresponding to the first API key (i.e., when no data log has been created, the first application requiring it creates data log 307 in Baluja, ¶ [0040]); and
adding, by the proxy device, information regarding the service request into an entry in the log corresponding to the first API key (i.e., log processor 203 records requests and applications write request or event information into entries of a user-linked data log in Baluja, ¶¶ [0027], [0032], [0041]).
Baluja discloses service carrier 105 receives device requests and relays them toward a requested data source through protocol translator (¶¶ [0025], [0027]). Baluja do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Deodurg, in order to reduce client handling of varied tokens and sensitive information through a single-entry API gateway (¶ [0019]), discloses:
receiving, at a proxy device, a registration request from a client, the registration request including a first API key (i.e., a client token request carries ClientID and secret credentials that identify and authenticate the client before gateway token processing in Deodurg, ¶¶ [0023], [0029]);
forwarding, by the proxy device, the registration request to a registration endpoint to perform an authentication process (i.e., after client-credential validation, API gateway 110 calls the backend application to obtain its token in Deodurg, ¶¶ [0024], [0029]);
receiving, at the proxy device, a registration response from the registration endpoint, wherein the registration response includes a first token generated using the first API key during the authentication process (i.e., after credential validation, API gateway 110 receives an application token from the backend before producing the client access token in Deodurg, ¶¶ [0023], [0026], [0029]);
modifying, by the proxy device, the first token by encrypting the first token together with the first API key to generate a modified first token (i.e., API gateway 110 encrypts a received application token into an access token that includes the client credentials and application credentials in Deodurg, ¶¶ [0026], [0029]);
modifying, by the proxy device, the registration response by replacing the first token with the modified first token (i.e., the gateway converts the received application token into an encrypted access token and returns the encrypted token in its place in Deodurg, ¶¶ [0026], [0029]);
forwarding, by the proxy device, the modified registration response including the modified first token to the client (i.e., API gateway 110 transmits the encrypted access token containing the client credentials and application token to the client in Deodurg, ¶¶ [0026], [0029]);
receiving, at the proxy device, a service request from the client, the service request including the modified first token (i.e., the client uses the encrypted access token in a later application call received through API gateway 110 in Deodurg, ¶¶ [0027], [0030]);
in response to receiving the service request from the client, decrypting, by the proxy device, the modified first token to identify the first API key (i.e., API gateway 110 decrypts the received encrypted token and extracts the embedded client credentials in Deodurg, ¶¶ [0027]-[0028], [0030]).
Based on Baluja in view of Deodurg, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Deodurg to improve upon those of Baluja in order to reduce client handling of varied tokens and sensitive information through a single-entry API gateway.
With respect to claim 8, the limitation(s) of claim 8 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 15, the limitation(s) of claim 15 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 21, Baluja discloses: the method of claim 1 (i.e., extending the request-logging method with further processing of stored request events in Baluja, ¶¶ [0007], [0032]), further comprising
storing, in the log corresponding to the first API key, historical information associated with multiple service requests received from the client. (i.e., successive requests are stored or appended to build a particular user's log, and logged data can be aggregated by user, application, or time in Baluja, ¶¶ [0041]-[0042]).
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baluja et al. (US 2008/0005271 A1) in view of Deodurg et al. (US 2022/0394039 A1), and further in view of Thakadu et al. (US 2014/0237594 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Baluja discloses: the method of claim 1 (i.e., extending the request-logging method with further processing of stored request events in Baluja, ¶¶ [0007], [0032]).
Baluja discloses applications write request and event data into data log 307 for later examination (¶¶ [0032], [0048]). Baluja and Deodurg do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Thakadu, in order to perform application-level intrusion detection on copied API-call data without disturbing the original service request (¶0017), discloses:
further comprising: processing the contents of the entry in accordance with one or more security threat algorithms to determine if the service request is a security threat (i.e., a monitoring server parses copied API-call names and parameters, selects applicable security rules, and determines whether the call violates those rules in Thakadu, ¶¶ [0024], [0030]-[0031]).
Based on Baluja in view of Deodurg, and further in view of Thakadu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Thakadu to improve upon those of Baluja in order to perform application-level intrusion detection on copied API-call data without disturbing the original service request.
With respect to claim 9, the limitation(s) of claim 9 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 16, the limitation(s) of claim 16 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 22, Baluja discloses: the method of claim 1 (i.e., extending the request-logging method with further processing of stored request events in Baluja, ¶¶ [0007], [0032])
Baluja discloses applications write request and event data into data log 307 for later examination (¶¶ [0032], [0048]). Baluja and Deodurg do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Thakadu, in order to perform application-level intrusion detection on copied API-call data without disturbing the original service request (¶0017), discloses: wherein adding information regarding the service request comprises storing at least one of a geographic origin of the client or request-specific parameter values associated with the service request (i.e., stored API-call data includes parameters, source and destination IP addresses, and user identifiers, and security rules can evaluate request parameters and call locations in Thakadu, ¶¶ [0017], [0030]).
Based on Baluja in view of Deodurg, and further in view of Thakadu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Thakadu to improve upon those of Baluja in order to perform application-level intrusion detection on copied API-call data without disturbing the original service request.
With respect to claim 23, Baluja discloses: the method of claim 2 (i.e., extending the request-logging method with further processing of stored request events in Baluja, ¶¶ [0007], [0032])
Baluja discloses applications write request and event data into data log 307 for later examination (¶¶ [0032], [0048]). Baluja and Deodurg do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Thakadu, in order to perform application-level intrusion detection on copied API-call data without disturbing the original service request (¶0017), discloses: further comprising denying the service request when the one or more security threat algorithms determine that a threshold number of service requests associated with the first API key has been exceeded within a predetermined time interval (i.e., API usage and counts are identified by API key, FrequencyTest holds a call after more than fifty calls in one hour, and a failing call may be blocked or deleted in Thakadu, ¶¶ [0026], [0031], [0039]).
Based on Baluja in view of Deodurg, and further in view of Thakadu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Thakadu to improve upon those of Baluja in order to perform application-level intrusion detection on copied API-call data without disturbing the original service request.
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baluja et al. (US 2008/0005271 A1) in view of Deodurg et al. (US 2022/0394039 A1), and further in view of Jeon et al. (US 2017/0161486 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Baluja discloses data logs are memory portions that store events and can be linked by user or application (¶¶ [0032], [0041]). Baluja and Deodurg do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Jeon, in order to retain user-mapped token-creation information so later requests can be authenticated (¶ [0036]), discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising:
creating a new entry in a table associated with the proxy device; and (i.e., an authentication database stores table records associating each device with an issued token, secret key, cryptographic function, timestamp, and count in Jeon, ¶¶ [0035], [0060])
mapping the first API key to the first token in the new entry. (i.e., a table row associates an issued general API token with a secret authentication key, read under BRI as the claimed API key, and the identified user device in Jeon, ¶ [0035]).
Based on Baluja in view of Deodurg, and further in view of Jeon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Jeon to improve upon those of Baluja in order to retain user-mapped token-creation information so later requests can be authenticated.
With respect to claim 10, the limitation(s) of claim 10 are similar to those of claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
With respect to claim 17, the limitation(s) of claim 17 are similar to those of claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baluja et al. (US 2008/0005271 A1) in view of Deodurg et al. (US 2022/0394039 A1) and Thakadu et al. (US 2014/0237594 A1), and further in view of Jeon et al. (US 2017/0161486 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Baluja discloses applications write request and event data into data log 307 for later examination (¶¶ [0032], [0048]). Baluja and Deodurg do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Thakadu, in order to perform application-level intrusion detection on copied API-call data without disturbing the original service request (¶0017), discloses: the method of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the one or more security threat algorithms process the time stamp data to determine whether excessive API service requests are being received (i.e., FrequencyTest checks whether more than fifty same-name API calls arrived within one hour and places the excessive call on hold in Thakadu, ¶¶ [0025]-[0026]).
Based on Baluja in view of Deodurg, and further in view of Thakadu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Thakadu to improve upon those of Baluja in order to perform application-level intrusion detection on copied API-call data without disturbing the original service request.
Baluja discloses data logs are memory portions that store events and can be linked by user or application (¶¶ [0032], [0041]). Baluja, Deodurg, and Thakadu do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Jeon, in order to retain user-mapped token-creation information so later requests can be authenticated (¶ [0036]), discloses: adding time stamp data into the entry corresponding to the first API key (i.e., the authentication table stores a reference timestamp with each issued-token mapping and API requests carry a current timestamp in Jeon, ¶¶ [0032], [0035]).
Based on Baluja in view of Deodurg and Thakadu, and further in view of Jeon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Jeon to improve upon those of Baluja in order to retain user-mapped token-creation information so later requests can be authenticated.
With respect to claim 14, the limitation(s) of claim 14 are similar to those of claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sherman Lin
10/23/2026
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447