This action is responsive to the amendment filed on October 14, 2025.
Claims 1-12 and 14 are pending. Claim 13 was previously cancelled. Claims 3 and 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to nonelected species. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claim 14 is newly added.
The rejection of claims 1-2 and 4-9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Specification
The disclosure stands objected to because of the following informalities: the glucan compound represented by the structure on page 3, line 1; page 6, line 24; and page 11, line 12 (3 occurrences) contains the variables “R1” and “R1” however only R1 is defined. Could it be that all of the R groups in the structure should read as “R1,” or “R1” definition is missing?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al (US 2020/0131281), hereinafter “Guan.”
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5 and 9, Guan teaches compositions comprising a graft copolymer that comprises: (i) a backbone comprising an alpha-1,3-glucan ether or ester compound, and (ii) one or more alpha-1,3-glucan side chains comprising at least about 50% alpha-1,3 glycosidic linkages; and their use in various applications (see abstract), such as household products (see paragraph [0120]), like fabric care products (see paragraph [0126]), for example, liquid laundry detergent composition which may be aqueous (see paragraphs [0128]-[0129] and [0175]). The graft copolymer can be present in a composition, such as an aqueous composition or dry composition at about, 0.01 to 99 wt%, for example, an aqueous composition can comprise about 0.1 -2.5 wt% graft copolymer (see paragraph [0111]). The backbone of the graft copolymer in some aspects can comprise an alpha-1,3-glucan ester compound, and the degree of substitution (DoS) of the alpha-1,3-glucan ester with one or more acyl groups can be about 0.001 to about 3.0 (see paragraph [0076]), wherein the backbone is construed to contain about 6 or more glucose units and having similar branching points. Guan also teaches that the acyl groups esterified to an alpha-1,3-glucan backbone includes acetyl, as one of the suitable selections; or aryl acyl groups, e.g. benzoyl, or two or more different types of acyl groups (see paragraphs [0077]-[0079]). The detergent composition typically comprises one or more surfactants (see paragraph [0130]). Exemplary heavy duty laundry detergent compositions comprise a detersive surfactant from 10%-40% wt/wt (see paragraph [0148]). Guan, however, fails to specifically disclose the acyl groups esterified to the alpha-1,3-glucan backbone which are acetyl and aryl acyl, like benzoyl as recited in claims 1-2, 4-5.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected acetyl and aryl acyl, like benzoyl, as the specific acyl groups esterified to the alpha-1,3-glucan backbone because Guan specifically desires at least two different types of acyl groups esterified to the alpha-1,3-glucan backbone, and the acetyl and benzoyl are some of the suitable selections of acyl groups as taught by Guan.
Regarding claim 6, Guan teaches the features as discussed above. In addition, Guan teaches that one example of the DoS of the alpha-1,3-glucan ester with one or more acyl groups is 0.05-0.8 (see paragraphs [0006] and [0076] and [0071]).
Regarding claim 7, Guan teaches the features as discussed above. In addition, Guan teaches other acyl groups esterified to an alpha-1,3-glucan backbone, other than acetyl, for example undecanoyl (which reads on a = 9 in the formula (c)), dodecanoyl, tridecanoyl, tetradecanoyl; (myristyl), pentadecanoyl, hexadecanoyl (palmityl), heptadecanoyl or octadecanoyl (stearyl, which reads on a = 16 in the formula (c)), (see paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 8, Guan teaches the features as discussed above. In addition, Guan teaches that the detergent composition may additionally comprise one or more enzymes (see paragraph [0139]).
Regarding claim 14, Guan teaches the features as discussed above. In addition, Guan teaches that the alpha-1,3-glucan backbone is linear (see paragraphs [0017] and [0021).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on October 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the obviousness rejection based upon Guan, Applicant argues that Guan fails to disclose, teach, or suggest a laundry product comprising a detersive surfactant at 10 to 40 percent by weight of the laundry detergent and polyalpha-1,3-glucan ester compound at 0.1 to 10 percent by weight of the laundry detergent composition.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments because, as stated in paragraph 7 above, the graft copolymer is used in various applications (see abstract), such as household products (see paragraph [0120]), like fabric care products (see paragraph [0126]), for example, liquid laundry detergent composition which may be aqueous (see paragraphs [0128]-[0129] and [0175]); and an aqueous composition, for example, can comprise about 0.1 -2.5 wt% graft copolymer (see paragraph [0111]), and an exemplary heavy duty laundry detergent compositions comprise a detersive surfactant from 10%-40% wt/wt (see paragraph [0148]), wherein the proportions of the graft polymer and surfactant read on the proportions recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761