DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 52, Applicant argued KIM Publication US 20190082495 A1 is not entitled to claim the filing date of its provisional-application US 62257725.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the KIM Publication clearly claims priority date of its provisional application, and ultimately its provisional application is relied as prior art.
Applicant further argued KIM Publication and its provisional fail to disclose “transmitting a second D2D message to the second WTRU based on receiving the rejection message from the network, the second D2D message indicating rejection cause information”.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the argued limitation is broad, and Applicant did not particularly argued Tenny. The claimed phrase “indicating” is broad unlike “including”, thus the argued limitation may be read as considering that the second D2D message is a relayed message of the received rejection message, both messages are result of and indicating an authentication failure (rejection cause) at the core network. Tenny discloses in [0039]: “A baseline behavior may involve the relay UE accepting the announced identity of the RD and assuming that authentication at the core network will take care of verification. If authentication fails in such a situation, the core network will reject the attach request of the RD and the RD should stop attempting to attach.” The term “the RD should stop attempting to attach” implies that the RD has been informed by a rejection signal from the core network via the relay UE, and the rejection signal or the relayed rejection signal indicating the rejection cause i.e. authentication failure at the core network.
If considering the second D2D message including (which is not in the claim) rejection cause information. KIM provisional (page 48) discloses upon authentication failure, the relay UE transmits a rejection signal with rejection cause information (i.e. authentication failure) to the RD. Tenny further discloses in [0038]: “the relay UE needs to be informed of the authentication result so that it can confirm or deny if the original admission decision regarding the RD is correct. Furthermore, there should be confirmation that the same identity is used in both procedures (RD identity confirmation at the relay UE and RD authentication at the core network)”, [0084]: “The relay UE checks the identity of the RD as provided in the authentication result against the identity of the RD as provided by the RD in the relay service request received from the RD”; the relay UE knows the authentication result (i.e. authentication failure (rejection) or successful) received from the core network, and the relay UE additionally ensures and authenticates the RD, if authentication fails (mismatch), attaching and sending the rejection cause information to the RD as taught by KIM would have been obvious to improve functionality and clarity of relay management.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 52-53 and 55-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenny (US 20170325270 A1) in view of BAGHEL (US 20170111754 A1 supported by us-provisional-application US 62242846 dated 20151016) and KIM (US 20190082495 A1 supported by us-provisional-application US 62257725 dated 20151120).
For claim 52. Tenny discloses A method implemented by a first wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (figure 16, first WTRU relay UE1607), the method comprising: establishing a device to device (D2D) communication link between the first WTRU and a second WTRU (figure 16, second WTRU 1605), wherein the first WTRU acts a relay to a network for the second WTRU; receiving a first D2D message from the second WTRU ([0095], figure 16, step 1622); sending a message to the network based on receiving the first D2D message from the second WTRU ([0095], figure 16, step 1624); receiving a rejection message from the network in response to the message (figure 16, step 1638; [0039]: “If authentication fails in such a situation, the core network will reject the attach request of the RD”, thus failed authentication at the core network=rejection in one embodiment; [0041]: “If the relay UE knows that the RD has failed authentication at the core network, the relay UE can immediately throttle the relay request”, thus failed authentication at the core network=rejection in one embodiment).
Tenny does not mention the first D2D message comprising a non-access stratum (NAS) message.
This teaching is disclosed by BAGHEL ([0082], [0091], figure 9 step 916).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by BAGHEL into the art of Tenny as to use NAS protocol for improving integrity and security.
Tenny and BAGHEL do not mention transmitting a second D2D message to the second WTRU based on receiving the rejection message from the network, the second D2D message indicating rejection cause information.
KIM discloses transmitting a second D2D message to the second WTRU (remote UE) based on a rejection message, the second D2D message indicating rejection cause information (figures 13, 14, 17, [0141], [0154]-[0156]; provisional-application US 62257725: page 48; rejection=authentication failure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by KIM into the art of Tenny as modified by BAGHEL as to send reject cause authentication failure to the remote UE (the second WTRU) based on receiving the authentication failure from the network, to improve functionality and management for the requesting/remote UEs.
For claim 53. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the method of claim 52, Tenny discloses wherein the NAS message comprises a tracking area update (TAU) message ([0095]: The relay service request includes RD 1605 sending a relay service request with a TAU message to relay UE 1607).
For claim 55. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the method of claim 52, Tenny discloses wherein the second D2D message indicates that the second WTRU is to re-connect to the network ([0043], [0057], [0061], [0068], [0069], figure 16, step 1638 relaying accept messages periodically or on a time base).
For claim 56. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the method of claim 52, Tenny discloses wherein the first D2D message and the second D2D message correspond to respective PC5 messages ([0035]).
For claim 57. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the method of claim 52, Tenny discloses wherein the first D2D message and the second D2D message correspond to respective sidelink messages ([0035]).
For claim 58. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the method of claim 52, Tenny discloses further comprising: performing a D2D WTRU discovery procedure to discover the second WTRU ([0057], [0075]).
For claim 59. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the method of claim 52, Tenny discloses wherein the message sent to the network comprises an identity of the second WTRU ([0052], [0095], globally unique temporary ID (GUTI) of RD).
For claim 60. Tenny discloses A first wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (figure 16, first WTRU relay UE1607) comprising a processor and memory, the processor and memory configured to: establish a device to device (D2D) communication link between the first WTRU and a second WTRU (figure 16, second WTRU 1605), wherein the first WTRU is configured to act as a relay to a network for the second WTRU; receive a first D2D message from the second WTRU ([0095], figure 16, step 1622); send a message to the network based on receiving the first D2D message from the second WTRU ([0095], figure 16, step 1624); receive a rejection message from the network in response to the message (figure 16, step 1638; [0039]: “If authentication fails in such a situation, the core network will reject the attach request of the RD”, thus failed authentication at the core network=rejection in one embodiment; [0041]: “If the relay UE knows that the RD has failed authentication at the core network, the relay UE can immediately throttle the relay request”, thus failed authentication at the core network=rejection in one embodiment).
Tenny does not mention the first D2D message comprising a non-access stratum (NAS) message.
This teaching is disclosed by BAGHEL ([0082], [0091], figure 9 step 916).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by BAGHEL into the art of Tenny as to use NAS protocol for improving integrity and security.
Tenny and BAGHEL do not mention transmit a second D2D message to the second WTRU based on receiving the rejection message from the network, the second D2D message indicating rejection cause information.
KIM discloses transmitting a second D2D message to the second WTRU (remote UE) based on a rejection message, the second D2D message indicating rejection cause information (figures 13, 14, 17, [0141], [0154]-[0156]; provisional-application US 62257725: page 48; rejection=authentication failure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by KIM into the art of Tenny as modified by BAGHEL as to send reject cause authentication failure to the remote UE (the second WTRU) based on receiving the authentication failure from the network, to improve functionality and management for the requesting/remote UEs.
For claim 61. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the first WTRU of claim 60, Tenny discloses wherein the NAS message comprises a tracking area update (TAU) message ([0095]: The relay service request includes RD 1605 sending a relay service request with a TAU message to relay UE 1607).
For claim 62. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the first WTRU of claim 60, Tenny discloses wherein the second D2D message indicates that the second WTRU is to re-connect to the network ([0043], [0057], [0061], [0068], [0069], figure 16, step 1638 relaying accept messages periodically or on a time base).
For claim 63. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the first WTRU of claim 60, Tenny discloses wherein the first D2D message and the second D2D message correspond to respective PC5 messages ([0035]).
For claim 64. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the first WTRU of claim 60, Tenny discloses wherein the first D2D message and the second D2D message correspond to respective sidelink messages ([0035]).
For claim 65. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the first WTRU of claim 60, Tenny discloses further comprising: performing a D2D WTRU discovery procedure to discover the second WTRU ([0057], [0075]).
For claim 66. Tenny in combination with BAGHEL and KIM substantially teaches the first WTRU of claim 60, Tenny discloses wherein the message sent to the network comprises an identity of the second WTRU ([0052], [0095], globally unique temporary ID (GUTI) of RD).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 54 and 67 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims 54 and 67 are allowable over the prior art of record because none of the references, either alone or in combination, discloses or renders obvious the claims 54 and 67.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
December 4, 2025
/JINSONG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643